Rent Call of Juarez: The Cartel for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Juarez: The Cartel

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
3.9

1857 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a great game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jul 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

25 out of 34 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game was a big disappiontment, the graphics were kinda PS2 ish, looked kinda like a Wii game with the graphics. The game play was kinda choppy but it wasnt a total loss. Setting fire to reefer fields was kinda fun. Overall it deserves the rating it got, sometimes i find games that are rated a 5 or 6 to be kinda fun, like Prince of Persia, but this game was not great. I played it for less than 1 hour and sealed it back up and mailed it back. I wouldnt buy this game even if it was $5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

As much fun as food poisoning

posted by Tman1021 (PLANO, TX) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

29 out of 43 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Where do I start, When I first loaded up the game and started playing I was very confused why the graphics looked like something I would have on a piece of toilet paper after using the restroom. for some reason I expected the game to look good on my 1080 HD TV but oh well. I mean the most important part of the game is the gameplay. Oh wait they screwed that up to. Even though I haven't even finished the first mission I decided the stereotypical sayings of the cartel "gangsters" was to much to bare. And then of course there was the helicopter at the end of the level that you have to destroy which is nearly impossible with the jittery controls and screen. Also if you do some how manage to hit this Helicopter dont get too excited you have to hit it again, or at least I assume you need to hit it once more since I turned off my system before I turned my controller into a Randy Johnson fastball. This game belongs buried in the depths of well you know and I am ashamed to say this was the first game I rented

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Failure of the year...

posted by Sweedie (MOUNT PLEASANT, SC) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Before i rented, played it and saw a gameplay my beliefs were high for this game, turned out I was wrong...

In this game techland hot a stupid idea about making a game in the west that plays out in our time. The story is about three cops thats trying to sound like cool badazzes at the same time as they are trying to do the right thing, they do the wrong things in the wrong way.

The story is extremely stupid and the idea was even worse I still dont understand why they couldnt do another cool western game like the former titles, I mean if something isnt broken DONT fix it The other games were great I rather play the original 2006 Call of Juarez.

Now the online was also much better in the older Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood, this multiplayer was though a fair experience but not much. You play the game for points and with these points you unlock new classes, however the ranking system is not like in other games at all.

The game runs OK i can tough see some bodies thats laggy here and there but the graphics are pretty good and the play out both in open western desert areas, in night clubs and in towns. You can choose between the three characters in most missions but in some you have too choose one special charachter to see their own story.

The controls are a little different from regular FPS but the controls are overall fair and so is the game.

This game has some fun in it far away from as much fun i expected but i would say its worth renting i do though recomend this game instead, Call of Juarez:Bound in Blood which has much better online, about the same graphics and a much, much better story.

The reason to why I call this failure of the year is because it took 2 years to make a game thats 10 times away from as good as the older ones...

So this game gets 5/10 toasts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a joke

posted by btruss21 (ALBA, TX) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have never played such a horrible game. The old atari games rank above this one. I really liked the first game and was waiting excitedly for the sequil. I'm waiting for the april fools joke then the release of the real game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by darkmanx12 (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played the first mission it was so laggy 90% of what was said skipped out. The game is horrible dont even wait for it show up take it out your que now. I wish I didnt spend so much time waiting for a horrible game to show up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst PS3 game I have ever played

posted by PittBrad (SYKESVILLE, PA) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is hands down the worst game I have ever encountered on the PS3 system. There are no redeeming qualities about this game whatsoever. The graphics are ps2 at best, the AI characters have about 3 phrases which they recycle every 2 minutes to the point where you would rather play the game on mute. The shooting controls are also ridiculous. These are supposed to be experienced shooters you are playing with and they shoot with the accuracy of my grandma. Also, I did not realize that it was possible to use the f-word in every line of dialogue for an entire game, but this game accomplished it. I played one level of this game, maybe, and I have it back in the package and ready to be sent back. Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Your latest contender for worst game of the year!

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I didn't think that in July 2011, I would play a new release that actually made Duke Nukem Forever seem playable. Well look no further!

Not only does this game feel like it was supposed to be released a good 4-5 years ago, but it also feels very, very unfinished. The presentation is worse than a demo. I had to actually message a random co-op partner and ask if their audio was as bad as mine.. I was in such disbelief. It literally cuts out every 5-10 seconds.

The bar has been set guys. Nothing about my experience was enjoyable.. i'm not sure what reason anyone would have to play this. You may be surprised how fast you make it back to the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by MAJORWOODY23 (BOSTON, MA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

worst game i ever played everything about the game was horrible !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awful Game

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I will keep this very short because i am very upset. Dont we have enough modern day war shooters dont we??? I like westerns games why did they make this in too some call of duty style game. Graphics are awful looks like a early PS2 Game. Its so boring i dont even know if i can make in too the end of the game . Slow Mode is ok about it in my view. Even a Risk taking a Rent why?? Because it takes up a darn slot on my GameQ GOOD LUCK''''

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could had more time placed into it ...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 20, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Coming right after Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood ... Comes the Cartel. The Bound in Blood seemed to have more time placed into it. This title changes direction of the previous title but not as smooth as the "Bound in Blood" title. It is a first person shooter; Has a 3 player co-op campaign; A 6-on-6 multiplayer that is very fun.

Based in modern-time crime and violence... You have the choice of playing 3 characters.

Benjamin McCall - A LAPD officer that has his own routine to engaging criminal activity as a peace officer.
Kimberly Evans - A FBI agent that lived a short life on the streets and changed her ways and fights with a heavy badge.
Eddie Guerra - A DEA official that has been a marine, LA officer that has risen into the ranks to being DEA; by using his "connections" that has favored him to his stature.

These three--that have sworn to protect and serve--are up against a gang of vigilante’s that branch into the Cartel... By request of the higher arcy government they will have to team up and use their own tricks-of-trade to root out the Cartel and seize the blood shed that the Cartel is doing to Juarez.

The story is a good cop and bad cop scenario... And very interesting--the story-board is very well conducted, as so is the game interactions, but it has a few over looked graphic issues that makes you think this game is an older title.
You can play the entire game with 3 players... The online multiplayer is fun--it plays out with a cops and robber concept that has a series of missions that is 6-on-6 competitive play.
They removed the cover-system from the game. There is numerous graphic rendering problems -- the aiming blurs out a-lot in the background and doesn't clip into the screen smooth.
Some of the characters look cartoony, which breaks the gameplay flow cause it stands out.

The game is great in concept and has a solid story but they should have placed some more time into the graphics.

It is still worth a play--if you like first person shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by southga1 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What happend?This game is terriable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Honest....

posted by piggiepie (DALLAS, TX) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game is a lot of fun. It's been since fall of last year that I have basically been addicted to a game. Yes, the graphics are a little out dated and at times almost comically bad. Yes, the campaign is painful and a waste of time. Yes, there are some small glitches that can be distracting. Yes, this game seems rushed on almost every aspect except one, the online.

Online is the most fun I have had an long time.

This is such a refreshing new take on competitive play and provides a welcomed change of game style. Seriously, the online is just so much fun. If you ever played cops and robbers as kid then I can't see how this game doesn't grab you. They have traditional deathmatch but the fun lies in the missions. Especially with the buddy system they introduced which adds an element of team play and strategy. Your skills are boosted when you and your buddy run around gun slinging together. Run around on your own and get blasted by two buddies on the opposite side. Its a creative concept and a ton of fun.

You have different and unique unlockables for each of the cops and the robbers. Ie: guns, characters, armor and partner boosts, as well as a ranking system that flows well with the other assets.

I actually give this game a 5 but bump it up to an 8 because multiplayer saves this title from the horrors that are its campaign. If you love online play more the single play please give this game a chance. Most will pass the title up and I believe you are missing out on a great online game and hours of fun. Plus we need more people online, so take one for the team and at least rent this. Its a keep for me... Happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not even worth a rent!

posted by outlander800r (WALTHAM, ME) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the previous Call of Juarez titles. this one I did not!
The graphics are horrible. Probably 5 or six years outdated. Definitely looks like a late ps2 or xbox game. From the first scene of the game I knew something was wrong. It is a vehicle sequence where you have no idea what to do or what to shoot at. very confusing. It only gets worse from there.
Overall, not even worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Juarez: The Cartel

posted by Jimmy1882 (COURTLAND, MS) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, I don’t even know where to begin with this game. First off the game quality was a nightmare, the story line was awful, and the whole game in general was a waste of time.
I have played a lot of games, and this game was the worst game I have ever played. I would have rather been dragging a tow anchor threw the desert, in the middle of the summer without any water.
As for the game itself, the game had a lag in it, every time I tried to go around a object, or walk passed someone the game would jump and I would get caught on the object.

Thanks for the waist of my time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Call of Juarez: The cartel

posted by 4EVABOY (TEMPLE HILLS, MD) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I cant understand what Ubisoft was doing. First off this game was only ok to play. the plot & story line of the game was good & cut scenes good as well. The huge problems with this game are that it take too many shots to take down an enemy as well as targeting is complete garbage! U cant sneak up on the AI to get the upper hand in sertain situations. Oh god the driving is absolutely terrible in every single way. This game cant even compare to the previous game at all. I cant understand how they even put this game out with all the short comings. Call of Juarez was a great game to play the developers totally fell off on this game. U should have been able to play not only as one characture in the campagne but as all three at different times throughout the game to see each point of view & under stories that pertain to the plot of the game. If Ubisoft plans on making another call of Juarez ever again they better build a game above the level of even the first one that can compete with titles such as Splinter cell, Assassins creed or Ghost recon. Even the graphics should be on the level of metal gear, modern warfare 3 & Assassins creed the brotherhood. Do better Ubisoft i know ur better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A new game with old graphics

posted by SDON500ps3 (Blue island, Il) Jul 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very repetitive the driving is terrible and you some what hate the characters bottom line the game feels rush just to make a quick buck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not the best game of the year 4 sure

posted by gamestool (MIAMI, FL) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

call of juarez the cartel is not a ..... bad game it just lacks a lot of personality. While the character in game stories are not that bad and secret items and agendas actually have to do with something going on in that characters life, and obviously, once u have played with one you pretty much have played with all three of them, not to say that the coop sucks i sometimes waited for more than half an hour to play and only one person got connected(not good for trophy hunters like me for the deadly ballet achievement since u need 3 players for it and people will most likely not wait for a third one making u start the wait all over again) most horrible match making ever. this game its not even worth the trouble it is repetitive and very very very short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I am surprised they released this game.

posted by flylikeIdo (REDMOND, WA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After reading the controversy about the mexican people being upset at how they are portrayed in the game I decided to play it. I have to say Mexico you should be more upset at how horrible the actual gameplay is instead of how you are portrayed.

This game is terrible. Laggy frame rate. Terrible weapon aiming, graphics are good if we were still in the age of tetris and pacman but for 2011 w_t_f?

Who released this game? Who said ok its ready to go? When you find this person you should make sure they never have the authority to approve another video game ever!

The first game was awesome but the sequel is probably the worst game I have ever played. Normally I will finish a game just cause I have it but not this POS its going back to GF.

DO NOT RENT THIS GARBAGE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a shame

posted by gvirrueta (CORONA, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can’t believe how horrible and cliché this title (not even going to call it a game) is. I tried, I mean I really tried to get into it but the graphics and the horrendous language just kept turning me off to it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Hispanic-Mexican and I know all the Spanish lingo and “vato” words but this was ridiculous. It got to the point where this was in the realm of tasteless.

If you don’t mind a constant barrage of very annoying cliché language and downright condescending interactions then you are in for a great ride. The graphics I could’ve let slide but I’m of the type that let’s one bad thing slide and not two. This game is junk but then again, in this arena of shooters you can’t really expect all games that come out to be like “Crysis 2, Call of Duty: Black Ops, or Dead Space 2”. Now there we have amazing games with amazing plots and amazing graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Laughably weak

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jul 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I try to play all games through even if theyre not very good. however, in this case it was impossible because the game is just bad in every way possible. Graphics are bad, driving is bad and shooting is bad. Even the dailogue is poorly written. This game is weak even as a bargain title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another waste of a good idea

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Jul 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I'm so tired of every programmer thinking all games are better in 1st person. This titled is wasted as a 1st person shooter. 3rd person would have made the game a lot better.

THE BAD: Driving! Whoever thought up this layout. Must have never played GTA. It's so hard to drive it makes the game horrible to play.

You should be able to change characters though out the game. Flipping from each on to see whose dirty.

As a rental it OK, But don't buy it. They makers of this game can't be proud of this, so why buy it.

I don't care about graphics, I care about game play. And the game play is OK at best. WHILE OTHERS WILL HARP ABOUT THE GRAPHICS. I am focused on the game and over all it was a let down.

GREAT IDEA , but poorly executed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

yep.. its bad

posted by DmitryR (CLOVIS, CA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

To.. clarify what others have reviewed about this game being bad.. lets start with the basics of a good game.

Customability - mods for guns/player/party/vehicle any.. customizability

Freedom - roaming, non linear paths, allowing the player to pick what/where/who/how and w/e else method of completing each task

graphics -- We as gamers enjoy cosmetic features in games that make us enjoy watching in-game movies or cinematics.. these are just some of the basics, well This game has NONE OF THAT. The graphics are bad, were talking ps1 subpar ps2 comparability in the year 2011 on the ps3 or xbox 360. The game play is terrible - Weapons all have the same accuracy and damage output all that really matters is clip size.. There is NO customability in the game, no mods, no attachments, nothing..The games A.I. is smart enough to repeat the same vocal line of ( you're not leaving here alive ese') everytime you reload but not smart enough to flank you, or even tell that you've flanked them. You are forced to follow a set path that if you deviate from at all - enemys wont spawn, checkpoints wont clear, the game forgets it exist and lets u run around like a headless chicken.

There is a level system....but no perks or talents, JUST a system that unlocks more weapons ( when they all do the same dmg) and to gain XP you must complete the overall mission or locate "hidden weapons" that glow gold. If the graphics, gameplay, lack of a polished game feel were not enough to make anyone regret putting this game on your game que, the 100% terrible stereotypical voice acting WILL.. The female is a ghetto ethnic younger woman, the younger male is a spanglish speaking latino and the "boss" is a 50 year old cowboy in 2011 complete with cowboy hat.. and the voices with them make me want to stab a kitten..yes.. a kitten..

the multiplayer which is only fun for about a hour is the only reason i gave this game a 4.. save yourself a gameque and avoid getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW!!!!!!!!

posted by klipperking561 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I CANT BELIEVE THEY EVEN PUT THIS GAME ON THE MARKET! THERE IS NOTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS GAME! NOT WORTH RENTING...ITS NOT EVEN WORTH USING IT FOR FREE! WORST GAME I PLAYED FOR PS3 SO FAR.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by sarahb25 (MADERA, CA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is the worst Game I have Played in a long Time. Very cheap Game. Not Worth the Rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by sinw0rld (HICKSVILLE, NY) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

What is this? A game or a joke? Uplay should be ashamed by releasing this kind of game. It has awful graphics, even ps 1 games didnt even have this kind of disgusting graphics. It hurt my eyes. If I would have bought this game, i wouldve been soooo upset. This game deserve to be burn down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse