Rent Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.9

6334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call of Juarez

posted by ElJoseRay (HUMBLE, TX) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

74 out of 80 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Before renting this game I read a lot of reviews. For the most part it seemed like people had more complaints than compliments. Let me say that this is a really fun game. Yes the dialogue and voices are kinda cheezy, but the game itself is really good. The graphics are adequate and the game play is smooth. Had a lot of fun running around with 2 pistols smoking indians, mexicans and other varmints. Being able to upgrade weapons is nice. The fun really begins once you get your hands on the better pistols and rifles. The game is relatively short....abt 7-9 hours of play. A PERFECT RENTAL!!!! This game is what GameFly is all about. Play it for a week.....finish it......then return it!! If you like 1st person shooters, you'll enjoy this game. Dont let all the negative nerds out there influence you into not playing this game. I would have given it a higher rating if you were allowed to wonder around more and if there were more side missions. Giddy up suckas!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

get real.

posted by leg_mcMuffin (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i dont know why everyone hates on this game. if you realized that this game is exacly what it was meant to be, youd be more understanding. its not meant to be a fast paced shooter, although at times it is. i really enjoyed this game and im currently looking forward to playing the sequel. its a good western game, with a great story. graphics could be better, but i like it alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome change of pace to FPS!

posted by JokerRules (THE COLONY, TX) Aug 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

33 out of 37 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Some say that the FPS (first person shooter) genre is over played and highly saturated with way too many games, and I wholeheartedly agree with them. However, its not always that something can rise up from the watered down market and float on top as something worth talking about. That's just what Call of Juarez has down.

Borrowing something from the Army of Two game, this game allows you to play as one of two brothers; Ray or Thomas. You can only select one brother to use in each chapter, and they both offer different abilities that are potentially better suited for different scenarios. Ray is the brute, Thomas the more finese character. Ray will charge into a situation with his double pistols, dynamite, rifle, or gatlin gun. Whereas Thomas will use his single pistol, rifle, knives, bow and rope to get an advantage spot to pluck you off.

They've also thrown in a couple of cool little "mini-games" into the chaos that is the Wild West! There's a "Concentration Mode" where, after you've killed enough bad guys in succession, you enter a slow-mo shott 'em up gallery. Ray will use his two pistols and gun down all who stand in his way with a flury of bullets, while Thomas will use his quick draw hammer pull single pistol and carefully head shot everyone in the picture.

As for "boss battles", at the end of some chapters, you will go toe to toe with one bad hombre. You'll have to pace side to side, and hold you hand near you pistol and wait for he ominous bell toll before you draw your pistol in a classic Old West shoot out. Timing and patience is everything as your life hangs in the balance.

An interesting story and fabulous gameplay make this a must buy for any fan on gunslingers, FPS or just plain ole debauchery!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

With having low anticipation, this game rocks!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

61 out of 77 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

You look at the Videos, trailers, but you don't really get much info on the game in itself.. Never the less, Call of Juarez is a awesome first person shooter.. The controls are easy to get use to. The covering controls are unlike any other game out there. Gameplay will resemble Brothers in Arms' game, but the gameplay is a lot more user friendly.

Starting off in the Civil War, 1864.. You play the McCall Brothers, Thomas and Ray McCall.
Thomas McCall is a bit more quick stepped, agile, and strategic in his gun play methods. Being able to wield silent weapons, the Bow and throwing knives. Thomas can also climb obstacles using his lasso.
Ray McCall is the type, to run into fire with his guns blazing. Ray uses more aggressive strategies, wielding dynamite, and is able to carry the Gatling gun. Ray prefers blowing threw obstacles instead of going around them.
Taking place back in the olden times, of the late 1800s; The McCall brothers were Confederates in the Civil War. Before the war was even over, the McCall brothers got tired of listening to they're superior officer and decided to leave the Confederacy. Doing so made them become Outlaws, but they wanted to do what they thought was right.

Ubisoft and Techland have made a Gem of a game. Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood, will not be for most gamers. The reason being.. Call of Juarez is a realistic, Western, first person shooter, but not at all rusty in the game play or environment. This game really sets you into the Wild West. The world of Call of Juarez is vibrant, lush, and rich in depth. The AI is very aggressive and is quick on the draw. The motion is by far the most dynamic in ANY first person shooters, and even has the most tactical online FPS game play.

The reason I gave it a 9, was because they could have done more with the game play. Even though you can select who you are, there is just one story. There isn't a endless map either, each level is staged off, but there is a couple stages you do explore in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Vastly under rated game

posted by Otis12pack (GREENVILLE, NC) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was very good, I was more than pleasantly surprised. The story is excellent. I usually tear though games in no on their hardest level, not true for this game. The hardest level of play is actually hard, wow. Story wise I put it just a notch below Uncharted 2, no really. One of the great things about this game was the multiplayer. the graphics for multiplayer were not great but the innovative game play modes were fantastic. I play a lot of online shooters and I have not been as impressed by game play modes as I was with this game. I know that they siad it had open world aspects, but I was really a very linear game, but the story made me forget those short comings.

It is a definite must rent on game fly, but also worth picking up if the price falls down to the $35 level. The game performed fine, no freezing or locking up a la borderlands or fallout 3. It is not a game that will change your life, but it was one that I am glad I played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call-of-Juarez Bound-in-Blood

posted by tommidrab (MCCULLOM LAKE, IL) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

hmmm, its a good game , finnaly something that takes us back to the wild wild west , u get to chose as which one of the brothers you want to play most of the time , some chapters dont have this option though and you must play witha character given you by the creators of the game for that chapter , trophies are too hard to get in my opinion if you are a person that likes to collect them all and shot for the platinum trophy hmm good luck , i finished the game on hard and some levels i had to repeat muuultiple times ,game took me about 10 hr to finish and i only gota silver trophy for that!!!~that is not a good deal for trophy diggers ,for exapmle in burnout pardise you will get 5 silver trophis in 10 minutes but hey, not evrybody is after achievments ,so to sum things up i will give this game a solid 8/10 , especialy since i heard its a first game from this company,allrite thats it i hope this helps..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Misses the mark

posted by FuntimeBen (NEW YORK, NY) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

While I like the idea, after about 6 hours of trying to master controls and get into the game, I didn't want to play it again. The graphics are very good, the voice acting didn't turn me off, and for the most part I enjoyed the premise, but the constrained feel of the game turned me off. Add in long load times and an ungodly awareness of foes and this quickly devolves into a repetitive shooter.

I liked the originality, but not enough swagger for a cowboy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

call of juarez = awsome

posted by bamaboy (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is great , if you like western type games this is the game for u. The actual story mode is very well written and set up. The online play is awsome also. It is not as good as Call of Duty online but it is right behind it. I recomend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

posted by RTWLRDTCOM (WINDBER, PA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWESOME . Now don't get me wrong this is no Metal Gears Solid 4 ,however its real sweet if you are a western fan, feels almost realistic in a lot of ways . There are a couple spots that are a little jerky but overall I think this game rocks .... I really hope they make more of these

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not even worth it

posted by cptbatman (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

im not gonna lie, i was pretty excited to get call of juarez: bound in blood. played it for a day, now. im sending it back.

pros
- Western theme is kind of original
- shooting guys is fun for the first four levels
- shooting horses

cons
- Overall presentation is seriously lacking polish(graphics start out horrible and progress to looking only passable for this gen, voice work and sound effects are mediocre and sound muffled, story is stricken down by the presentation.)
- controls are hard to get around at first causing an extremely high number of early game deaths.
- often and noticeable screen tearing and framerate drops
- checkpoints are often, but irritatingly pause the game
- sloppy level design also results in unfair deaths

I recommend Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood to people who like bad games. Please do not be fooled by the gameplay vids you see on the web, im rather embarrassed that i rented it, so i would never recommend an actual purchase.Thank you Gamefly. this is why you're here =]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not too bad

posted by Kings52 (EL CENTRO, CA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Overall the game is great, but the major downfall is all the loading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than most....

posted by bluntmaste (KEYPORT, NJ) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I've been a gamer for years on end. Lately almost no game holds my attention... prototype nd infamous were ok... overlord 2 was ok....nd the rest of the new releases were ok...... but this game actually caught my attention like it was a Final Fantasy or GOW game...

A must rent!

1 thing I have heard ppl complain about is the interaction between the bro's is the inmature diaologue..... I thought that it really sold them in the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WESTERN GREAT

posted by troublsome (RIO GRANDE CITY, TX) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A GREAT WESTERN GAME. ONLY PROBLEM I HAD WITH THIS GAME WAS THE RELOADING. TIME CONSUMING. OTHER THAN THAT, A GREAT GAME. ENJOYED THE STORLINE AS WELL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gunslinging FPS

posted by surfnshan (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was a nice change of venue to be shooting up in the Wild Wild West as opposed to the mundane maps of the shooters that have been released. While the graphics could have used a lot of help, it was an otherwise fun game. There are a lot of movies in the game which breaks apart the gameplay a little too much. When the game saves, it interrupts the whole game and freezes for about 3 -10 seconds. It's pretty annoying when you are in the middle of battle, but otherwise these things can be overlooked. The story is interesting, the characters are fun. I especially loved some of the levels of the game, for instance there is a part of the game where you transport some wagons into the woods and are attacked by Native Americans.

I'm a parent, so for my review in that respect, there is many times where there is cussing, they refer to a few woman in deragotory ways. The blood/gore factor, there really isn't one at all. I'd probably let my son play it if he was about 12 depending on his maturity level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best in the west

posted by adamzgamez (FERRUM, VA) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is the best game in the western genre i'v ever played. i loved it. nothing bothered me about this game, other than the stall in gameplay after you get to a checkpoint(its only a few seconds but it would be nice if it flowed perfectly) the graphics were great, the story was one of the best i've experienced, the weapons were perfect, and all the little special things like shooting tricks and trophies were also great. some of the trophies/achievements were very fun. here are a few, mad carpenter-kill 5 guys with a chair. pistol expert, rifle expert, & shotgun expert, each recieved after 250 kills per weapon, & there's another trophy/achievement for killing a total of 2000 guys. another is called arkansas fried rooster- kill 10 chickens with dynamite and theres 99scalps for 99 headshots. plenty of extra fun to be had. the fact is those are just the extra things, the gameplay is just great all around. there are two main characters that offer slightly different stories, or at least a different perspective, which makes the game worth playing through a second time. this is one of the top five games i've played this year and still one of the best i've played ever, just not top five. grab your six-shooter and mount up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Juarez:Bound in Blood

posted by joetee (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is one of my all time favorites. I am huge western shooter fan and i hope ubisoft makes another sequel to this game. The storyline is great, filled with action and intense shootouts. The pistol duels can be a bit difficult, but you'll get the hang of it after the first few. Also, changing weapons in gameplay can be annoying as well. Overall, this is a great game and i recommend any serious marksman to give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shootout at the OK Corral

posted by LarrySafar (CLEARWATER, FL) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Ok first off the game offers a pretty expansive multiplayer, with the status quo as far as modes go (around 6 different modes). One dilema for some would be fighting for the UnAmerican Confederacy of the Old South, and there's some really offensive rhetoric used which people of all races should cringe at( yea even though it was the 1800's). As far as Graphics go it has some moments which are breathtaking, the Apache fight is one of the best levels graphically going by canoe and all. Overall I'd rent this one not buy, at least not until she drops to 30 ducks or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1st one was better

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This story line on this one is good the graphics are good but a couple of points to hit is the checkpoints are alittle choppy and make the gameplay alittle slow second is the draw parts it was good for the first 3 times but after that its getting old, so far I liked it but I have to say the first one was better story line and wasn't so choppy, but this one is worth a rent, and when the price drops a good buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Juarez...not a great FPS but worth a look

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing it this morning and I was glad to see the ending wasn't a lame one. If you like FPS games this one wasn't a great challenge but it kept me occupied and interested by the Old West gunfights! The look to the game was a little boring and you can't really roam around as much.

All in all, Call of Juarez was a good game to try out and if you enjoy the gunfights back in the old west days then this is for you! Also, the dialogue kept me laughing a little because the things that came out were quite authentic.

Have fun playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its Ok

posted by kahne99 (MILTON, FL) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 21 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

First of all to me the graphics seem to get better as the game went on mainly the faces of the characters. Story is ok, but the brothers wine and moan like 5 year olds considering how tough they are. the pressicion (sp?) shooting is cool. I beat the game on hard in like 4 hours. So the story isnt to long

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

big let down!!!

posted by djh888 (PEORIA, AZ) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

11 out of 28 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

Been looking forward to this game coming out & it was a let
down. Graphics are great,but hard to figure out were your suppose
to go.
Did not care for the pop up kept telling you to reload.
Thought it was gonna be more like gun or red dead revolver.

It is set up just like call of duty,but only its a western.
This game is awsome if your into call of duty style game set up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

call of juarez 2 review

posted by killz79 (Leominster, MA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

really good game...must rent!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun.

posted by heo9542 (ANDREWS AIR FORCE BASE, MD) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The graphics are nothing special, the dialog is pointless, and the game play is weak at best. The concentration mode is nothing more than a Red Dead Revolver rip off, and on a personal note, being from the north I have no desire to fight for the south.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Call of Juarez

posted by Griff26 (JACKSON, MS) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

At first I was very excited to see a western style fps. I love the WWII games, but I thought this would be a refreshing change of pace. After playing the game for a while, I just was not a big fan. I found it very annoying that the game would have to pause and load so often. I did not think the the graphics were that special, and I did not care for the cheesy acting.
While I did like the Idea of the game, I just did not enjoy playing the game.
I would like to see another Western Style Shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Put It Back In The Mailbox The Same Day I Got It..

posted by JakeJake1 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is bad, from the get go it simply felt like another FPS knockoff in an already overcrowded genre. Poor graphics, very poor controls, horrible voice acting, excessive load points, and cheesy gimmicks (i.e. concentration mode) all made it just feel like this game was very quickly thrown together more in an effort to just get a game out on the market rather than produce a quality shooter.

I played for a couple of hours, even after wanting to turn it off multiple times, and still found myself checking the clock to see how long I had actually endured the torture. Normally, a good game will pull you in and time will seem to fly by with hours dissapearing before you know it. This game somehow managed to slow down time, making a couple of hours seem like the better part of a day.

With all of the other FPS games out on the market that are actually either decent or very good, this game falls far short, worth a rent for those who are desperate to play every FPS out there or those who are absolutely obsessed with anything of the old western era, but a waste of time otherwise for gamers who are actually looking to experience a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse