Rent Call of Duty: World at War for Wii
view large frontback

Call of Duty: World at War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, PS2, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

3250 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty: World at War

posted by tomsk84evr (BARKER, NY) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

57 out of 61 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely the best online shooter for the Wii hands down.
The graphics are great for Wii and the controls can be changed to your likings.
The multi-player allows for 8 people to play and it is really fun because it includes the ranking system that was popular in cod4. In codWAW you can rank up to level 65.
The campaign has a decent story line.
and if you were wondering if you should get this or medal of honor: heroes 2, i would highly recommend codWAW instead.

It is definitely the best shooter for Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great War Game

posted by Matthew31 (DES MOINES, IA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This was a lot better than hand controlling on part one through part three.Because using the Wii Zapper was a blast controlling it was easy.
Fun.A blast.I would buy this definitely.Great effects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Benji65 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Nov 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games ever made!!!!!!!!! The online play is insanely fun and quite challenging. The online play could match halo it's so fun. The campaign mode is really fun also. The flamethrowers are a really nice touch. The only problem is that you can't drive any jeeps wich kinda sucks but other than that, one of the best games ever!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS NOT A REVIEW, JUST A NOTIFICATION

posted by GoCubs (DPO, AE) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

GAMEFLY MADE AN ERROR.

THERE ARE 8 PLAYERS ONLINE, NOT 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST EVER

posted by gamezilla (CALDWELL, ID) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

it was awsome the only thing is that some levels were left out and there is no zombies but oh well and the graphics are different but who cares anybody would like this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best online with very solid single player

posted by Kevbos (JUPITER, FL) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Single Player: It has a great story that is very mature but well scripted. It is also quite challenging on the harder difficulties.

Multiplayer: This is where the game shines. All the perks, classes, attachments, upgrades, levels, leaderboards, stats are in there which is great. Plenty of maps that are varied both in terrain and style. No waiting for games and I haven't experienced any lag yet. I couldn't find the awesome filters and searches that MOHH2 had but the quick match has worked flawlessly for me so far.

Controls: There are a good amount of options that let you adjust and fine tune both normal and 'down the sights' camera controls and bounding boxes. The cursor is responsive and smooth.

Finally the game just plays great. Single player is fast and intense. Multiplayer is addictive and rewarding. Controls are varied and responsive. Most importantly, it is FUN! The hit detection online is good and the graphics are much better than most games. If you like online FPS then stop reading and go get the game. Don't rent, buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb Job!!! FPS game finaly comes to the Wii!!

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 6, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is hands down has the best graphics on the Wii so far! and the controls are tight.

Best thing that impressed me besides how the game looks. was finally some got smart and added an option so you can adjust the sensitivity of how fast you can move the remote around. so you can adjust that to you liking. so no more remote being either not sensitive enough or being overly too sensitive.

For those complaining about the control responsiveness quit being lazy and go to the control setting and adjust the sensitivity. (problem solved)

As usual though for a call of duty game the campaigns are short but has a good storyline. but the beauty of this game is the the multiplayer aspect which is easy to get into or set up a game with up to 8 players and experience almost no lag. At least in the games i played plus they kept the rank system for the multiplayer and you can create you own classes with custom weapons and such you can unlock either through playing the campaign or earning points in multiplayer.

I gave the game a 10 due to how well the graphics and game plays both in campaign and in multiplayer. it as good as a 1st party game.

So this game is finally a Fps worthy to be in anyone's game library. i after i tried it out i admittedly click the keep it button :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Dutys Best Game for the Wii

posted by vadersgame (HESPERIA, CA) May 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the best game thats Call of Duty for the Wii. It has a great online system. It's easier then modern warfare thats all I can say. This game is great. You start out as a marine and play againt Japan. You also play as a Russian and you play against the Nazis. This game has everything as far as action. You die slower than modern warfare. This game again is great. And heres a secret when you complete the game you unlock a bonus level called Nazis Zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get this game NOW!

posted by slasher417 (Wesley Chapel, FL) May 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

all u people out there that think this is hard game to play u are dead wrong! i dont know what u are thinking. I am so hooked on this game that i even got my parents to play and before this game both of them wond not play war games with me but now im lv 61 moms lv57 and dads lv47 so this game is addicting and this is the only review u should read!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever!!!!!!!!!

posted by BeAsT77 (HILLSBORO, OR) Jul 8, 2009

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play online w/. I cant wait for call of duty 6!

Game is $iicK

:D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWSOMENESS only 1 thing wrong.....................

posted by ttyl2468 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is veryyyy good... you name it it has good graphics, controls, story..... and plus if you have a young one you can restrict the language and i think you can restrict the violence and i did'nt even know you cam DO that!..... any way 1 thing that bugs me its the story mode multiplayer i mean i suks really bad... i thought it was gonna be split screen or like player 2 can be another charcter but the 2nd player gets an imagenery gun and an imaginaery ammo..... and for some reason it reloads for like 5 MINUTES!!! and it makes the 2nd wii controler run out of battery and it had full charge!!! i dunno but i think the creators did so much good time and awsomeness to the online mulitplayer but not to the story mulitiplayer..... oh yea and dount let the story mulitiplayer keep you not getting this game this game is better then good its great. espically the online mulitiplayer....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enough Gerry, bring on Japs!

posted by DrWiii (San Francisco, CA) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Germans were beaten again and again in all WW2 FPS games. Finally I play a good game against Japanese troops. Japanese solders are tenacious and fiesty in WW2 and this game. Their banzai attacks often caught me by surprise. Too bad no Guadacanal or Iwojima campaigns.
Being a Russian solider fighting German is quite new. They sacrificed a lot to defeat Nazis.
This game is very difficult. In regular level, I probably died over 200 times to beat it in three days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool

posted by Matter (SANTA ROSA, CA) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game Call of Duty World at War is one of the best war games i ever played. This is the first call of duty game to have the U.S. Marine raider flamethrower. The graphics are cool and the thing that dissapointed me is that they don't teach you how to connect the bayonet to the rifles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have played a lot of Call of Duty games. And i played the first Call of Duty game for the Wii which was the third one and on every system that was a bad game. Treyarch (The people who made this game) made the third Call of Duty, so you might think this one is bad. Thats not true. The campaign mode is much better than the third one and has Coop, a very fun option to the game. But overall i thought the campaign wasnt quite as good as Call of Duty 4 (Which wasnt on the Wii). I dont remember Call of Duty 3 having Multiplayer,but it might have had it. The multiplayer on this Call of Duty is almost exactly the same as the multiplayer in Call of Duty 4. Which is a very very good thing and i like the multiplayer the best. It still has everything that the forth one had besides if you have played Call of Duty 4 on xbox or ps3, it doesnt have game modes such as sabotage and search and destroy. This one doesnt have it for the wii prouble because there arent enough buttons or something. And there arent any mics which isnt that great. But overall i loved this game both campaign and multiplayer. One thing i have to say is this game takes a lot of getting use to and if you play against a lot of good people when you first start, you will prouble want to destroy this game but dont just play the campaign on recruit and youll get used to it fast. You need to rent this game and you really should buy it. And if you have an xbox or a ps3 get this game on that too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I don't get it.

posted by echo79 (ATHENS, GA) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really don't get what other people (and game websites) see in this game. I was really looking forward to trying this, but I found this game an unplayable mess.

I thought the graphics were really bad, to the point of making the game hard to play because I couldn't see the enemies or aim well. The framerate is too low. The Wii just can't do photorealistic graphics. It's not going to happen.

I could never get the controls to feel good. This is a far cry from Metroid Prime 3, which had awesome controls. This game just feels 'rickety' or 'wonky'. I tried just about every control setting tweak I could and couldn't get it to feel right. To compare this to Metroid, with that game I set it to 'Advanced' and 'Inverse B and A' and I was good to go. That game handles like a dream. This one could turn somebody off to FPS's on the Wii if they hadn't played anything else on the platform. Had this been a Wii launch game I could understand, but this came out 2 years after launch, 1 year after Metroid, and was Treyarch's 2nd CoD game. Unacceptable.

The 'squadmate' 2nd player feature was a joke. Completely useless. My wife tried it and hated it.

I really tried to get used to this game. I tried to make it work. It's just not happening. Maybe some people like it but I thought it was total garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Without a Wii Zapper: Hard to play = Back to GF

posted by secretcola (SATSUMA, FL) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I was expecting to review the Wii version of World at War, but without the Wii Zapper, its just too hard to play (even on the easiest level)
For those who wants to rent the Wii version:Make sure you have the Wii Zapper, because without it, it'll be so anooying and hard to play, you'll just want to send it back. If you dont have one, rent it on other consoles you own on one of the following: ps2, ps3, xbox 360, DS. Unless you own neither of those, than get a Wii Zapper before renting. I would of goten one, but Gamestop were sold out of the Wii Zappers, gos the same to Walmart and Target. I know this game dosent deserve a 4/10, but without a Wii Zapper, thats the score it deserve. Im sorry folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good on Wii

posted by bowcaster7 (WEST LEBANON, NH) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I played this game on both the Wii, and X-box 360. On the X-box 360 this is a very good game, but the Wii version does not even compare. The problems on the Wii version are for me, mostly on the multiplayer. The main problem is that unlike the X-box 360 version, which has many different types of games you can play online (Team deathmatch, ground war, headquarters, etc...) the Wii version only has the following:

Bootcamp (a place where only new players can play)

Team Deathmatch (simple game where you have 2 teams that fight each other, the only objective is to kill the enemy)

Free For All (every man for himself)

and 2 other types of game play, that are like team deathmatch, but you are easier to kill.

Compare that to the X-box 360 version where you have all of those above plus, war, ground war, headquarters, seek and destroy, sabotage, capture the flag, and many others. The Wii version of the game has no type of online combat where there is any deep strategy involved, all you do is kill the enemy over and over again, no flags to capture, no bombs to place, nothing exiting.

There are 2 more problems with the Wii version, the next one is very important. No vehicle maps!!! When you play online one of the most fun parts is the vehicles, but on the Wii version, no matter how high you get in rank, you cannot play any vehicle maps.

The last thing is that if you have heard of natzi zombies, the thing that you unlock when you beat the campaign, most people consiter it one of the funest parts of the game, but guess what. If you get the Wii version of the game, no natzi zombies!!!

The Wii version of CoD, WaW is like the X-box 360 version, with all of the fun parts cut out. Also, if you still consiter renting it I would like to say that it is (at least for me) very hard to play with out the Wii zapper. If you don't own the zapper, then there is absolutly no sense to get the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best for wii except for cod blackopps

posted by lilspidy (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

awsome this game is beasty ok i no it does not show n!z#(cant say it ok you no what i'm talking about) zombies ok get on credits then when its in the middle of the screen hold 2 for like 5 secs once done just wait till the credits are done then go to campign ok it should be there. ohh yea i cant wait till black opps comes out lol it looks like so flippn beast for wii so yea i hope this helps you. Bye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

review of call of duty:world at war

posted by pokefan101 (LOVELADY, TX) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Alright, the game has great features as the netendo online play. Although the controls are a bit confusing. It is very hard to get used to the looking around and walking controls. But overall it is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CoD WAW Wii, Capable but Bland

posted by flowmo (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty: World at War sees the franchise return to WWII. The story of the campaign take you through the course of the war while switching sides from American to Russian multiple times. The story has been done before, and many of the levels seem like interactive versions of a complilation of WWII films such as Saving Private Ryan and Enemy at the Gates. WWII has been done to death, and this one adds nothing new in the story department.

Plot aside, the game looks good...for the Wii, and handles resonable well. These are still last gen graphics, but many of the games on wii seem to look worse than that, so its a plus in this case. The motion controls feel alright, better than Medal of Honor, not as good as the Conduit. There are also a good assortment of control schemes including one that uses the Wii zapper gun which is fun for longer than you'd think.

A really nice feature is the 2 player co op for the campaign that allows a second player to simply be a crosshairs capable of shooting while the first player goes about as if it was single player. This is the kind of feature that should be ideal for those trying to get there less than hardcore gamer friends/girlfriends/wifes into more AAA games and I wish more shooters offered it.

Besides the co op, there is an online multiplayer offering. This should be the main reason to get the game, but it dissapoints. It has less maps than the PS360 versions, and the matching making doesn't work all that well (maybe not enough newbs to match me with). It is frustrating, but it is good that it is there as an option and maybe really good with friends.

Negative issues include grenades exploiding before I could see the indicator, weapon specific objective that were frustrating if you already got rid of that weapon not knowing you needed it any more, clunky vehicle sections, and the unbalanced mutiplayer.

Bottom line: Only bother with this if you only have a wii and don't plan on getting The Conduit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's like WWII all over again

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty: World at War isn't a unique concept. Truthfully, the WWII shooter is one of the most saturated gaming conventions still alive. But what it does, it does well.
The story takes you to the American front in Japan and the Russian front in Germany. The battlefields feel like war zones, with piles of rubble and scattered soldiers. Enemies will start shooting you from an unknown position. Grenades scream in while your brothers-in-arms rush to the front lines. Yes, this is what Call of Duty is known for and it still proves effective.
However, the game becomes repetitive, often mired in drawn-out firefights as you move from cover to cover.
The Wii light-sensor does a good job at aiming, but there are still issues with precision. And why I need to twist the Wiimote to fire an alternative grenade still alludes me.
Some odd design choices and a very unstable difficulty brings this game down. While it's a solid WWII shooter, there's just so many that this gets lost in the middle. It's not the best, but far from the worst.
I found that when I reached an impasse, I felt no need to continue. Ultimately, that's the problem with this game: it feels like you could take it or leave it. I'd recommend taking it for a limited time to see which category you're in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

review for Wii version only

posted by Volkof (DURANGO, CO) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i have been playing the call of duty series for years. i bought a Wii recently for my children and figured i would try the Wii version of world at war. its nothing like any of the other systems or pc. in my opinion it sucks worse than any other first person shooter i have encountered.

i rated it a two simply for the effort to offer it on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

. . .

posted by kenjy9295 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok i have played multiple fps on the wii and i got accustomed to all of them but this, with the wii zapper and without, i could not control the cursor even changing the settings didn't work.

considering its the wii, the graphics are pretty decent.

my advice: if you like FPS and are experienced in controlling the cursor get this(or rent). very good game(other than the above mentioned)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cool game but Extremely dufficult

posted by coddude57 (FARMINGTON, MN) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I like this game a lot dont get me wrong, but the reason for a 4 is because the graphics are terrible. Gamecube has equal or even better graphics and you dont get many options you can only enable and disable aim assist and subtitles, and choose from only two types of crosshairs. The campaign for the wii is the same but very very difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

nice shooter game

posted by nitz (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

of course u cannot compare it to MW3... but yeah if you are looking for some shooter games then this one is nice and may satisfy you for ~1week or rather 10-15 hrs of playtime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse