Rent Call of Duty: World at War for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: World at War

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS2, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

31549 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprised me

posted by LuckyElric (SEBRING, FL) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so it is your standard, "hey why do i have allies if i'm doing this whole darn war by myself" kinda war game, but not all the time. Sometimes an enemy will drop right infront of you, and you were reloading. There are a few moments where your like "Thanks, you saved my (insert word here)"

But that being said your allies are not that helpful, and even less so as the difficulty increases.

But the AI was much more advanced this time around compared to older versions, and i must say i really enjoyed this game. It didnt blow me away...but it was more enjoyable than Medal of Honors newest release, but that isnt saying much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Chilling

posted by RustyBonez (FORT POLK, LA) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

47 out of 57 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Ok so I know most people are getting tired of the whole WWII era in First Person Shooters. I know I am. But, when I played this game I loved it. The graphics are amazing, the sound and feel of the game are spectacular. Once you beat the game you get a great bonus mode that in my eyes is one of the best parts of the game. I'm not going to throw any spoilers out there but shoot, it's awesome. I you liked Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and want to continue your Call of Duty path before the next game comes out. Then play this game, give it a shot you will not be unhappy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

COD 5

posted by zjwdude (SAN RAMON, CA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Ok...first off the story is great has all the COD graphics form COD4 in it an a great WW2 game in the COD series.
Mulitplayer...the multiplayer in COD5 is ok and the guns are all u to date in WW2 but when it comes to maps it kinda pisses me off. First of all if u dont like buying every single map pack this game has to offer then your better off not buying this game. Because theres like 5 map packs and you will get booted if you dont have them which happens almost every time you try to get in a game.
N a z i zombies.....nothing but great its everything you would want it to be.

Story...8/10 because its too short
Multiplayer...4/10 for sucky maps and matchmaking
N a z i zombies10/10 just overall great

Total 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ruined by Hackers

posted by Tegolin (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This used to be a good game, with a nice multiplayer component, but now, the low-life hackers have infested themselves within World at War. I could easily play this game for another month, but with invincibility hacks and text hacks, I'm not sure I'll be able to go a week with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very good Game

posted by jnjgmdm201 (LEHIGHTON, PA) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

COD WAW is a great game if your into war games, as for me not really into war games, but the Zombies on this game awesome. Its the only thing I play, you have to be quick n get a good gun to go to longer rounds. Over I definately recommend this game, to war junkie's n night of the living dead, or Dawn of the dead if you will, fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best WW2 game i have played.

posted by johnnycaj (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was a lot of fun to play, like everyone else i groaned when i saw another CoD game with a WW2 story, but i picked it up and i found it a lot more fun than i thought it would be. The story with the Marines vs the Japanese is something i've only seen in one other game: Medal of Honor: Rising Sun. Other than that game, its been all about Europe. Yes, it is fairly annoying to have to buy the map packs for Online mutiplayer, but i believe that the Zombie maps included are well worth the 400 MS points to get it. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Keeping.

posted by Gamestar34 (LITCHFIELD, OH) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is really cool. I am going to keep it from now on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Too Short and not as good as COD4

posted by gary7354 (WESTLAND, MI) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

91 out of 133 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I have all the COD games and love and own them all. This game is better than COD3 and similar to COD 2 with the Russian side of WWII as in COD2. It also has one enemy seldom seen in any game which is the Japanese. The Japanese where the most ruthless of all WWII. Hmm, I wonder why the Japanese ruthlessness is seldom exposed?????
However, this is the only game, to my knowledge, that actually shows this side of the Japanese.

The most famous snipers in WWII were the Russians and this game has a great section where you are a Russian sniper in training. The Russian story line was great as was the Marines fighting the Japanese. Both sides where quite challenging. It seemed as though the enemy were very good with hand grenades as most of my deaths came from hand grenades.

The new weapons in this game generally come from the fact the they are Japanese which, again are seldom seen in any game. However, the T34, Russian, tank fight was the most challenging and fun tank battle I have ever experienced in a game. The American narration was from Keifer Sutherland in was great as I love 24 hours. This is a big budget and very well done game as you would expect from the COD fame.

However, this is very short solo game. All great games seem short but, I must admit this one is very short as I beat it in about 5 hours in solo mode.

With this version of COD you see the end of WWII which I hope means we might see more recent conflicts like maybe the Korean War, the Vietman War ,the Afghanistan War, or the Iraq War.
I really believe COD 4 is the very best game of this series and game that I have played to date. I really enjoy the more modern weapons, the ones that have scopes and dot type sights as used in COD4.

This game is at least a rent and if you loved the other COD games a must have game.

Have Fun!!

Gary

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Keep away for now..

posted by axe8155 (LAS CRUCES, NM) May 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I've owned this game for over a year now, and during that time I have become quite good at playing it. I recently rented Black Ops and stopped playing for a month while I tried it out. Upon my return I entered my first game and right away died by being knifed from under the map. I studied the kill cam and realized quickly it was a cheater using the godmode cheat. Since I was the host I quickly lagged the game and moved on to another match. In that match there were three godmodes, and each game afterward there was at least one of these cheaters.

The game is now infected with cheaters and there isn't any way to play a fair game.

I recommend you avoid this title until Xbox Live or the powers to be either ban these losers or remove this cheat. Otherwise you will quickly lose interests in this title.

Axe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty World at War

posted by sprbldr (UNION CITY, CA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I loved the game. One of my absolute favorite games ever. It had an extremely exciting story. Great graphics. I also liked the gun variety.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The face of Call Of Duty!

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is priceless!It feels like your really in the war. It really follows the real war.All the diffrent stories are fun and cool.Its not to hard to kill with all the screaming Japs.

Theres more things you can do like an airstrike that you get to call in with a remote control flare.The setting of the island is nice like the real thing water,mud and the jungle.The also good thing is your teammates can KILL other than COD 2 BigRed One on PS2.They just let you kill all the Germans when they just hide behind a box or wall.Its not hard to tell where you go on a mission.The least you can do is rent it.See ya home skilly biscut

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by R33M0820 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is a definite must have if you are looking for excitement, edge of seat having, shooting, educational, gore, blood and or just an overall COD fan. its even an extra bonus when you have all the map packs to this game. highly recommend to rent/buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Last of its line...well maybe

posted by MustacheMa (FAIRFAX STATION, VA) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty World at War is one of the best COD games so far. Although it was nice of infinity ward to go into Modern time,the Cod games were made off of the world war 2 franchise. Yes as the years go on they begin running out of actually ideas but it was a nice. The game including both a Russian and American theaters of battle which hasn't been done since Call of Duty 2, also we see the Japanese. Who are almost never shown in any WW2 game. Also after beating the game your given a fun extra call zombie mode which is what world at wars replay value is. The multiplayer isn't the best (but if that's your reason for buying the game then play MW2 that's multiplayer) The achievements/trophies are also good, no its not just complete level there are some that require some skill. The modes of gameplay is also good, veteran difficulty is very hard at some levels and easy at others and you will get frustrated as you kill unlimited enemies with a PPsh for the 50th time but you figure it out sooner or later and win. In reality the games great and meets all standers it set out for (and if your comparing it to MW2 your stupid).

Gameplay: 10
Replay: 10
Graphics: 9
characters and story: 10
sticks to WW2 weapons and battles: 10

90/100

still go for both a buy and rent so go out there and buy this game

DISMISSED SOLDIERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

World at War Delivers with Heat & Gameplay

posted by marshall84 (ASHEVILLE, NC) Nov 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2008

113 out of 184 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I reserved my copy & with anticipation, the wait is over & the game overall, is one of my most favored games I’ve owned for 360 to date. The story, the depth of the story is deep, vast & graphics, stunning visually, might as well drool watching the screen! The opening brings you to the attention of oil being fractioned, there’s a huge war over oil. Japan is on your side & it’s time to call on your airstrike support from the Japanese. The gun of my choice is the BAR & propelled rocket launcher.

The game takes you on a journey from the 50’s-60’s. Historic visuals, storytelling is a 10 in my eyes. I cannot stress enough of how well ActiVision created this game versus the massive developers Infinity Ward who put out COD Modern Warfare. The combat system is so accurate and on point. Depending on your level of challenge, the easiest is Recruit, others as Hardened & Veteran. The 1st level is breathtaking. Instead of lush dark color of COD Modern Warfare, World at War is much brighter, lighting effects, environments, characters, land masses, boats, tanks, in highly detailed creative artwork, that pulls it off smoothly & effectively.

The campaign/story mode is on the short side, but the missions themselves are long for each mission. I wouldn’t give it more than 20 or so missions at most. I’m halfway thru the game as is. I’ve also heard numerous complaints of the multiplayer & online. People, Call of Duty was made for Hardcore gaming! It’s been that way since Sony launched the 1st Call of Duty back in late 1990’s. The multiplayer is very fun, it’s more team based versus going thru a straight deathmatch, headquarters, & so on.

You have to work as a Team, not as a solo soldier fighting for your country & nation. It’s the most challenging multiplayer of COD I’ve experienced this far. I don’t want to give out spoilers, it’s definitely worth rental, for shooters and COD fans I suggest buying it. I hope you enjoyed the review. Final grade: a solid 10 out of 10.Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It'll Get Under Your Skin (and not the good way)

posted by SgtSnyder (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

24 out of 38 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this is the first 360 game to cause me to throw one of those pretty little $60 controllers across the room. I had an idea of what to expect going into COD W-at-W. But I was is no way prepared for what I faced.
The controls are smooth and familiar, the weapons are typical of any WWII era game, and the battlefields are.....NEW? Yes, W-at-W introduces you to two seldom (if ever) seen fronts of WWII, the Pacific and Russian fronts. Sadly though, the environments are the only unfamiliar face of this game. Most every other aspect of this game plays like a clone of every other WWII game in existence.
Whats worse is the developers seem to get a kick out of killing the gamer. Your partner AI's fight like mentally deficient chimps whilst your German and Japanese opponents display the skill of an army of Rambo-like warriors. Whats more they seem to be in possession of an infinite number of grenades which they pelt at you endlessly. It is like trying to dodge raindrops.
Furthermore I would caution even the most seasoned gamer against attempting Veteran difficulty. It is quite literally enough to drive one insane. Suffice it to say it took me over 20hrs to reach the second to last level. Upon which I spent over 3hrs attempting. I cried, I seethed, I spewed venomous acid from my mouth, fire from my ears, and lasers from my eyes. And here I sit, with the level still incomplete, and my pride in the dust. The achievements bring no sense of accomplishment, only an elation that the level, and in a sense your torture, is finally complete.
To all my fellow gamers, I offer only this advice.

1.)Rent, don't buy
2.) leave Veteran to the clinically insane, as they have nothing left to lose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesomest game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by death276 (DRAPER, UT) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the cool thing about world at war is your body parts fly of better than red one and finest hour the ppsh is insane! blows your body apart everywhere and malatov cottail burns you to peices flame throwers amazing and m1grand endings epic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZOMBIES

posted by bloodsnake (BEAVERTON, OR) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the thrilling game of zombies.I dont the campain that much but to unlock it you have to beat the single player campain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by diapalare (WENTZVILLE, MO) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is great!!!!. From the campaign and multiplayer to the natzi zombies mode this game is one of the greatest games ever made!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

World at War - Worth Your Time

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

30 out of 50 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that Modern Warfare is a good game, so I think people expected WAY too much from this title. That being said, I am definitely not the CoD fan a lot of other people are. I liked Modern Warfare, but, it was too short, and in my opinion, just another prettier shooter. Shooters just aren't my thing, but, I do have fun playing them. I just don't get fanatic about them.

So, needless to say, this title being developed by Treyarch, I wasn't too confident they could deliver, and I wasn't really sure I was gonna take the time to play this game at all. But, I was pleasantly surprised after popping it into my 360 yesterday. Regardless of what other sites and people are saying, I think this title is right there with what Modern Warfare delivered. Everybody that reviews this game complains about how short it is, but, wasn't Modern Warfare pretty short? DANG, most games these days are pretty short, so I don't really see where that should really be mentioned other than maybe a brief mention for the people who are on the fence as to whether or not they will be buying the game, or not. It seems like, again in my humble opinion, multiplayer in this game is a little bit better than in the previous game.

I am sure by now everyone has heard that this game was developed using the MW engine, so graphically speaking, you know what to expect. Sound is off the CHAIN! ...As expected ;) Aesthetically speaking, there isn't much to write about because it is the same as MW, just now it is set in WW2.

In the end, what you really want to know from someone that has actually played the game, is wether or not you should drop your coin on it. like I said, I ain't no shooter fan, but I would have to say this game is worth your time and money.

HAPPY GAMING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sad Drop off from the Prior Game

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Jan 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

After the massive success that was Modern Warfare, Treyarch takes the reigns of the Call of Duty franchise --- I believe for the final time --- and they bring us back to the glory days of World War II. And since there isn't really a heck of a lot left to do games about, this is, basically, the end of the war. You play as Russian and American troops who are seeking to both take down Berlin AND Okinawa.

Now, for many, the return to WW II is a bit of a letdown, but a well-made game is good no matter when it is set. The problem here, though, is that it's not well-done.

OK, Call of Duty titles are infamously brutal to play on higher difficulties. Modern Warfare was insane. The infinite re-spawn points are massive problems to me. This game has even bigger issues. The A.I might be the worst I've seen in a while.

Your allies are nigh-useless while your enemies are amongst the greatest soldiers on the planet. You can walk into an ambush and the enemies will simply ignore your allies and go after you. It really hurts the whole immersion thing of you being a part of a squad when the enemies focus on you above all else. The enemies also seem to have both an infinite supply of grenades and one of the fastest releases in tossing them at you. You will routinely be pelted with numerous grenades at a time on Veteran.

It's beyond irksome. You are behind cover and you suddenly get the grenade indicator with arrows facing in multiple directions. I can deal with you being able to handle less damage and your enemies handling more on a harder difficulty. I can also appreciate that they won't sit there and wait for you to kill them. I cannot, though, handle them simply lobbing dozens of grenades at all times at you.

Outside of the janky A.I, the rest of the package is solid. It works on the Modern Warfare image, so it looks phenomenal. The guns feel great and the scripted events are still quite well done. But A.I is broken beyond repair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WORLD AT WAR REVIEW

posted by HIFOSTAR (HEMET, CA) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Call me a newbie to the COD series, this is only the second COD game I have purchased and the first WWII era game I have bought. That says a lot.

Based off the great action gameplay and engine that brought you last years blockbuster COD : MODERN WARFARE. Activision took it to a whole new level last year with this stoic series and now Trey Arch had their shot to up the ante. They did so wonderfully. Bringing similar gameplay, a story mode that leaves you at the edge of your seeat, and a great expansion online from the stage set by Modern Warfare. Visually this game is top notch and it's engine keeps up tremendously well when playing throughout either solo campaign, co-op, or online (provided connection quality).

Buy or rent? Definite BUY! This is a game to keep. Whether your'e trying your best to achieve all gamerscore points or prestiging your way through the ranks online this game will be one you can pick up in a year and still love it as much as the day you opened it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by darkreturn (Red Creek, NY) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game is alot like call of duty 4 taking alot of its good online aspects and co op ones as well and seems to borrow some from halo too hmmm skulls=death cards lol, this game is tougher than call of duty 4 so if your new to the series i wouldn't recommend it unless your prepared! alot of the gun's don't work as well as the ones in modern warfare but hey their older! Single player an co op is fun but online things can get kind of a handful, unfortunately alot of players cheat by going under the map on places such as roundhouse.Overall though if your a good player this game is great and its similarities to call of duty 4 are so similar that instead of a game it seems like a mod

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Why?

posted by Slvrknght (WATERTOWN, MA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Now, I'm not one to complain about a game being technically hard. Brain teasers, puzzles, really intelligent AI? Bring 'em On! What I do take exception to is a system where the difficulty is jacked up in an artificial manner.

When I first picked up Call of Duty 2 back in the day, I was not one to be outshone by my friends, so I played it on the veteran difficulty. The same with CoD 3 and CoD 4. Each iteration has the same irritating system of artificial difficulty increase I have ever seen.

Allow me to explain. When you set these games to "Veteran" difficulty, the game suddenly decides that the best way to make things as hard as %#$& for people is not to increase the tactical abilities of the AI (such as make-shift ambushes or, I don't know, actual squad-level maneuverings), they decide that every enemy, regardless of their current target, will automatically focus on you if you should so much as peek around a corner, or from behind cover. Then once yo get back behind cover, rather than being able to rely on your squad to draw enemy fire, they sit there, contentedly letting the enemy shoot over your heads.

That and I have this irritability that flares up whenever I think about the fact that the game is, basically, "So-and-so, Go win the War!" (Although this was fixed slightly in CoD 4.)

I enjoy games that are legitimately challenging (Dead Space, I'm looking at you), have an enemy difficulty that actually makes sense (kudos to Bioshock), or have puzzles that make me sit there and think for hours (we love you Dreamfall).

Please, will the next Call of Duty please give the enemies some semblance of a normal human-like sensory abilities?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by HloSpartan (NEW BLOOMFIELD, MO) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

At first I was slightly grosed-out by the gore, but once I got used to that fact I realised: "This is one of the best games I've ever played!"

The realism of the game just took me. The CQC (Close Quarter Combat) was almost unrivaled by any game I'd ever played, right up with HALO: Reach (if you read this, rent or buy the game or I will personally come to your house and kill you for lack of taste!) :D Anyway, WaW is unquestionably one of the most fun war-genre games I've ever played. When you're done reading this, buy HALO: Reach and WaW or I WILL kill you. Just kidding. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

codwaw

posted by jesseg (KALAMAZOO, MI) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game is fun. zombies is fun.this game is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse