Rent Call of Duty: World at War for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: World at War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

13515 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

got into the beta

posted by sonoframbo (NEW ERA, MI) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

42 out of 51 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

during the time of anticipation for the release of world at war i was lucky enough to get into the beta. i was pleased with the weapons since they were very detailed and going back to world war 2 also meany every ones favorite sub machine gun, the thompson sub machine gun. cool weapons aside there is also alot of polish, character models look clean and dirty at the same time, in other words the game looks gritty but not gritty enough to were it hurts the graphical experience. new to the series is gore and when i say i mean realistic gore, not gears of war oh i got shot in the leg and now my guts are splattered all over the wall gore, but simple realistic seperation of limbs and the occasional disbowelment but all of these gorey deaths are used to portray brutality of war but still this game is not for kids. better yet the multiplayer is back and its even better. Now im sure that theres going to be people playing the multiplayer complaining about how the game takes place back in world war two but hey the game is called world at war for anyone who knows how to read they should be able to tell its another world war 2 game and if you cant than your probably not smart or old enough to realize it. As a gamer i have always enjoyed the feel of world war 2 style weapons and after playing cod 4 it feels refreshing in my opinion its better. so kick of your shoes sit back and play some codwaw. hoorah soldier

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love the Game

posted by FrankBurns (NEW RICHMOND, OH) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Im a hardcore COD fan. I got the game and bought it it was that good. Going back to WW2 was a disipointment, but new guns and perks (along with na-zi zombie mode) made the money well worth it. BUY THE MAP PACKS. natch der untoten gets old easy. The guns are great. and finaly COD made a MP40 look good! its my 2nd fav gun. (PPSh hard to beat) So i REALLY recomend it for any COD fan. But not perfect. Some missions really seem the same but then the online steals you away. or something blows up and your interested again. So waiting for MW2? Get it. Happy hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

World at war

posted by WISteel (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

65 out of 83 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This can best be described as COD4 completed. It's early, but no one seems to be using glitches...yet. The weapons are a little hard to get used to, open sights take some time to get used to again. The realism is much better than in COD4. If you run into a room full of bad guys you most likely wont run out. Tanks are a new addition, and somewhat underpowered. When you shoot the main gun of a tank in the direction of an enemy, you somewhat expect him to die, not so much in this. With the abundant supply of tanks on some of the maps, that's probably a good thing though. Some of the guns feel a bit underpowered, but that may because of the hit detection. When you spray wildly at an enemy, you dont always hit them (are you listening COD4?)
Most of the perks from COD4 have returned, as well as some new things. The shotguns still useless, unless you are point blank don't expect a kill, on the flip side if you shoot two enemies point blank, it will often kill both with the same shot. The addition of the dogs instead of the helicopter is awesome. There is nothing better than hearing the sound of your commander screaming "Unleash the dogs!" The 4 legged killing machine runs around ripping the enemy to shreds, and being on the receiving end of the dog attack is actually pretty funny. Nothing better than running full speed away from an attacker with no gun. When they catch you it's a little frustrating, (you often don't see them until it's too late) but the chase is half the fun.
All in all it's a good game, but if you liked COD4 and can't live without a red dot, you won't like this. One final thing worth mentioning, the cover in this game is much more important. Camping can be quite effective, and moving strategic ly is a must. If you run into the open you'll get hammered. Your uniform blends into the scenery pretty well, and so does your enemies. You will probably find yourself more than once sneaking up on a bush that you swear has arms and a head.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call Of Duty Addictive

posted by MandaPanda (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

My husband and I have been playing for one week. We keep sharing turns. I love this game and have become so addicted to playing. Very entertaining and fun. It has been fun trying to find all the cards and receive all the different type of trophies. I have found that there has been one problem while playing. I got stuck in trees and couldn't get out without killing myself. I think this game is great. I want to play more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quintessential WWII FPS

posted by wutangstyl (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you like multiplayer, World War II era, first-person shooters, this is the one to have. The control and accurracy are phenominal, as well as graphics and attention to detail. The realism is scary! The single player campaign is pretty linear, but the maps are somewhat open, and some missions can be played a variety of ways. This game does not have the squad leadership type interface some games of this type are into these days, I like that personally. I don't like bouncing betties, or campers, so if you do either one, I will hunt you down and FRAG YOU!!!

wutangtigerstyle -- PSN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great trip down memory lane

posted by halghastia (KINGSVILLE, MO) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Another great installment of the Call of Duty franchise, World at War take the time frame back to WWII. Now, they have included some weapons that had not seen the light of day in the other games, with the FLAMETHROWER being highlighted. The campaign mode wasn't anything to be astonished by, and is rather short, but it has its strengths, such as getting you prepared for the awesome multiplayer mode! This game carries over the perks from CoD4, but has made some signifigant changes to custom weapon loadouts. Now, instead of all the weapon types having the same additions; M203, silencer, red dot, ACOG, etc. But now, almost every weapon has a personal different peripheral set, with the exclusion of the bolt-action rifles, which I think make you a better sniper overall, since a semi-auto snipers of CoD4 were commonly used by noobs, but now they have to work to a higher level to get a semi-auto sniper. As usual, there are two different shotguns to be unlocked; the Trenchgun and the classic double-barrel. And now, for the people stuck offline, if you beat the campaign, you unlock Zombies, the funnest minigame of all time. I personally spent countless hours playing the FIRST map, and as I am writing this, there are three new ones out, each introducing new weapons and abilities. This game is almost perfect, except for the weak storyline, which permits me from giving a ten. Do a better job on the story in CoD6 guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game.

posted by Carrots (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This was the first time I played a COD title. I have to say I was impressed.
The visuals are stunning.
The story mode is cool.
I like the trophy goals.
It realy was a fun game. Unfortunaly, I bought this game to replace my PC multiplayer. Well, the multiplayer on here is a little weird. So many people seem to like it, and maybe im just not use to consol multiplayers, but I just didnt like it.
The random spawning is what really killed me. I read that this was suppose to stop people from being spawn camped, but i constantly found myself being spawned right in front of the enemy. And because I wasnt anygood, BOOM... DEAD.
I might not have been to good at this game, but on some PC games I am use to getting 25 kill sprees, and scores like 100+ kills / 25 deaths a round. Well, when I looked at some of the top shots I played with. It seemed that they werent doing all that great either. It was almost always 2 to 3 kill then a death. How is that fun?
I think alot of it had to do with the way people were spawning. It just seemed like alot of kamikazes running in the frey and stealing a kill just to end up dead one second later. There was no teamwork, tactics, or planning involved.
There also seemed to be a ton of nade spamming. which alot of people were complaining about.

I was looking for a good multiplayer, but got a great campaign.
I cant rate it down just because I wasn't able to keep up with the multiplayer, so I give it a 9.

-Carrots :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An Evening of Entertainment...

posted by nickent83 (MONMOUTH, IL) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I admit the main reason i bought this game was to kill the Zombies with friends. I figured it was a gimick to buy the game but was surprisingly wrong.

I would of probably gave the game a 9 if it was longer, i beat it in more/less an evening. For that reason i would suggest renting it if you are not concerned about the minigame or if you can get a cheaper used copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zombies

posted by TornPr1nc3 (BLAIRSTOWN, NJ) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The single player campaign is incredibly well done, and the multiplayer is equally well done. I give the game a 10 because of the NZombie aspect of the game. Whether playing solo, with a friend who happens to be hanging out at the house, or with 3 friends online, NZombie's delivers hours of entertainment.

I do have a few complaints. First is the fact that you cannot have four players locally playing NZombies, yet you can have other four player matchups locally. Second is the horrible customer service that Activision and Sony have put together to address the issues many players have with disconnects, lag, and not being able to join friends.

COD: 4 was incredible and Modern Warfare 2 looks to address many of the issues I just complained about plus there will be Aliens to shoot instead of Zombies. Or just maybe there will be Alien Zombies!

We can dream can't we?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COD 4 Better?? I Don't Think So

posted by notthatguy (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Everyone is saying that COD4 is better!!?? Sure COD4 does have faster, better, more advanced weapons and aiming, but I think WAW was a more raw, purely intense, action packed game!

More enemies for sure are in WAW, Enemies everywhere! and not to mention that they seem more intelligent....even if you think that they aren't, you still have the crazy ones that run straight at you, seemingly with a grenade in each hand. Longer more intense battles prolonged game play. The trenches are your friend. Weapons are, and do seem about 70 years old and some are more accurate than others. This just made the game more challenging, and not any less fun. Not only does there seem to be a balance of the variety of missions, but also the variety of actions and goals in the missions themselves. I'm trying not to spoil the ---- out of this game, but I really wish I could write about all of the awesome specific things that happen in the game because there are more of them than in COD4.

I guess the game could be summarized by explaining that WAW has more of the historical aspects of everything that has already happened. This may disappoint some people while it may excite others. So basically, if you like history then you will probably like this game more than COD4. If you are more focused on current or futuristic styles of games then you will probably not like this one as much as COD4. For me the historical aspect added a sense of urgency and necessity to win. (You know....don't be the guy that failed)

The technical aspects of the game were flawless as expected. NO SLOWDOWNS! Smooth and fluid even with all of the gunfire, explosions, and massive amounts of enemies. Graphics were also amazing as expected. The only stipulation with this game is if, for some reason you have never played any of the Call of Duty's, then you should probably print the controls diagram from Gamefly. The game just drops ya in there to do battle with limited on-screen prompts. But WHO CARES! I'm clickin' KEEP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by sonnegod (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

everyone know the COD franchise was the greateest eer, i share the same ideas. The only thing missing is tht whenever a new map pack comes out and you dont have it, they have it in the original match making lobby, and since i rented it i had to go into lobby, go out cause i didnt hae the map packs and repeat this till a lobby was playing a non map pack game. They should make it so there are map packs designed so if u want to play the 2 map packs to to the 2nd map pack lobby, all in all it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can we say Modern Warfare beater???

posted by kslim1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

WOW!!! this game is sooooooo sick. I didn't think it would be better than Modern Warfare to be honest, but I was wrong, at least in my opinion. I think the controls are smoother than part 4 plus the blood and reactions when you kill is so much better. It is WW2 with better color and drama than part 3 and sure as heck better than Brothers In Arms by FAR. Dont listen to the bad reviews on this either. It is a must BUY. The graphics are insane and the last two levels are so intense. Down with the Japanese then on to the Nazis. Treyarch is fantastic and should do the next Call of Duty as well. This is by far the best WW2 game to ever grace a gaming console and really brings back to life the idea of reliving the most disastrous time in human history. 60,000,000 dead over all.Wheeeew, game on and HAIL the PS3!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Triumph

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Nov 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

20 out of 30 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Anyone apprehensive about Treyarch taking the helm again for the franchise has nothing to worry about. COD5 meets every expectation set by COD4 and is a beautiful addition to the series. Those of us who've been waiting for some Pacific action could hardly ask for more - this game puts the lie to the argument that there's a glut of WWII titles out there: there's only been a glut of low-quality ones redeemed every year or so by COD's achievements.

What's there to be said that isn't obvious to anyone after five minutes of playing World At War? Gorgeous graphics, a fluid and comfortable control scheme, outstanding voiceovers, a wide array of combat weapons augmented this time around in grisly fashion by the flamethrower, and the patented fast and furious pace...some nicely done theme music provides emotional resonance to the narrative. I enjoyed the great vignettes that open each mission, filling what are already very tolerable load times with archival footage, eye-catching visuals, and concise historical context for each campaign. Probably what struck me the most is the particularly vicious nature of the conflict between Russians and Germans - you really see the brutality of war and are even, at one point, given a clear choice between showing humanity or barbarism when dealing with some surrendering Krauts. Other stuff we've gotten used to with COD comes back in fine form - a sort of "Barbarian At The Gates" sniping section reminiscent of COD1, the trademark tank mission and a terrific air combat chapter as a gunner on a PBY in the Pacific.

My only real complaint is the shortness of the game. I've always been used to savoring CODs for a week or more, but in this one you move through the levels so quickly that they feel incomplete and anticlimactic at times, even given the franchise's run-and-gun linearity. There's also a bit of oddness to the juxtaposition of Russian and American missions - somehow it doesn't feel as natural as in earlier COD forays.

COD is WWII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW VERY SWEET!!!!! FAMILY LOVES IT

posted by Kane300 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All I can say is that Treyarch really did a great job doing this Call of Duty. The graphice are very nice and the character detail is very realistic and the kills are better. This game is a must play and i would recommend anyone to play even if you didn't like the other WWII games by Treyarch. This game would rank to the same level if not better than Modern Warfare in my opinion. ENJOY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A world at War

posted by BradS123 (DEER PARK, TX) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good, great graphics and very exciting missions. The only downfall is that even when you are laying down or hiding behind or under stuff somehow bullets are still able to find you and kill you. I don't like the fact that it taks so many bullets to kill an enemy, when your able to die very easy. But overall this game was fun, this was the first COD game that I have played and I loved it. I liked the fact that you actually had to aim your gun at the person and that you don't have a little red light that shows you what you are going to hit, I think that would be to easy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game.

posted by deathclock (TUCKERTON, NJ) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is an amazing game that has a good story line and amazing graphics. if you are looking for a online game that you can play for hours this is it. ranking system is great and keeps you on your toes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well Done!

posted by MLMorgan (LYNNWOOD, WA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

-Silky smooth frame-rate boosts realism drastically
-Excellently done transitions between missions do a great job at quickly setting the historical backdrop for each mission.
-Gameplay is fast-paced and does a good job of making you feel overwhelmed (that's how it really is)
-A+ for covering new, but no less important places and times in WWII
-Occasionally way too many random explosions that kill you instantly, difficulty should be a matter of skill, not being lucky enough to survive a half dozen mortar rounds in one minute.
-Developers should have reduced enemy rifle accuracy in exchange for a hit to you doing more damage to make it more realistic
-Multiplayer: maps are first rate; fun though often frustrating; what the heck is up with the killer dogs, creative, but should have left that in single player only, they get way too much use in multiplayer
-Overall, definitely a satisfying rent or permanent purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by dumbdumb (WHITEHOUSE, TX) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

some people think that the weapons suck and all that but its in the 1940's theirs not that many good weapons like the m21 or the SAW its WW2 so shut up and the zombie mode is frekin awesome it kicks butt the story line is ok not as good as COD4 but its a good game i would rent it dont buy so early

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COD:WAW

posted by Lowell (PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked the game a lot, I believe this game is a keeper. A little short though. Graphics were good, loading time was fast, good amount of weapons, a lot of detail, so overall a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Irishsaint (LAS CRUCES, NM) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The first shooter I had played since Doom (n64) was COD4, I got it because a friend suggested it to me in order to cure the Madden Addiction. The first time i played i went right to campaign and got stomped but then fell in love once i progressed. COD5 is everything that COD4 wasnt. It is more challenging, the weapons are harder to use due to not having a red dot for everything, the landscape is way more expansive and overall it is awesome. My favorite feature of COD5 is the kill perks, on COD4 3 kills in a row = UAV, 5 = Airstrike and 7 was chopper, now on COD5 3 = UAV 5 = artillary strike (with more expansive maps it is harder to kill more than 1 or 2 with this) and 7 gives you a pack of rabid dogs that can be used to seek out the enemy or just watch them eat the enemy like kibble. the maps take some time to get used to but one thing is for sure.... walk out in the open, and your ganna die. The addition of being able to man tanks is an awesome addition! All in all this game gets a 10 from me, the only downside i see of this game is the fact that anyone would not think it was a 9 or a 10 based on the fact it is a WW2 game, there are only so many historic battles that you can have on a game without going into the future like most games have (and Vietnam was not a war and Desert Storm was a JOKE!) they could have a Civil War addition would deffinetly be weird (people would pray for the faster reloading perk) I think this game is top notch and will be Game Of The Year just like COD4 was. Way to go Treyarch!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but worth $60?

posted by Data1979 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

so here is the deal, do you own COD 4 Modern Warfare? if you answer yes then the reasons to purchase COD 5 have just been minimized greatly. COD 5 is a great game, don't get me wrong, great visuals, great multiplayer, etc. However, the game offers really nothing more than a WWII mod, different weapons (less stellar than modern weapons) and a set of new maps. I guess if I had not played a million and one WWII first person shooters then this game may have had a more lasting impact. If however, you are a big fan of WWII first person shooters then this is your game no doubt, but if you were like me, wondering if COD 5 is a "buyer" I would say, no, not if you already own COD 4. Rent it, see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game yet at native 1080p other then mgs4

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

17 out of 33 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

the is game is bad a-- if you have a weak stomach do not play its rate in cue in ww2 when we fought the japanese the detail's are amazing the story is very solid multi player month maybe years of enjoyment people its is the same engine as call of duty 4 and guess what it has more pixels beautiful pixels and a updated super polish finish i hate to say this but i belive that is better then call of duty 4 maybe cause its newer maybe treyarch just completely wrecked shop for us to produce this very well fps o yeah and the videos they look real so do what you need to do i read my review on ign they said there was a small amount of alias the framrate is super smooth and i know you will be playing this for a long time and if you have a 1080p even so a 120hz 1080p then you will be totaly lost in your own world by the way i couldn't wait i went to gamestop around 8:40 when they are closed at 9:00 and i am o so glade i did its a wonderful showcase the power of a true 1080p machine just play the dam n thing what more can i say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty: World at War (Did not work)

posted by AAMosby_II (FLORISSANT, MO) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I received the game, it did not work. I placed it in my PS3 and the system wouldn't read the disc. I checked the disc and felt several chips on the edge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THE GAME IS AWSOME!!!

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

PLAY IT LOVE IT CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE.THIS CALL OF DUTY IS BETTER THEN THE ONE ON PS2 A+++++.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST BUY

posted by bryanrocks (Van Nuys, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best cod but not better than mw2 that game is goin to be the best game for the ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse