Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

16840 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

the beginning of the end

posted by zdub213 (NORTH AURORA, IL) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

120 out of 156 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

First and formost, I am a Call of Duty fanboy and this game isn't that great. Why? Because as a lot of others have pointed out..... its a lot of the same. Cool weapons. Cool leveling system (MP). Awesome campaign. But the thing that keeps a lot of us playing COD all the way untill the next one comes out is multiplayer. This is the one area that they didn't make the kind of inovations in as they did with every other COD. A couple tweaks here and there. Such as Kill Confirmed, a "new" gamemode which is just a variation on TDM. Or what they did to the killstreak system allowing you to choose from 3 to cater to your playstyle. The killstreaks arent that balanced and everyone seems to just settle for the shock and awe assault class (which caters to anyone willing to sacrifice winning for individual stats like K/D ratio). By biggest beef is by far the maps. They are all relativly small close quarter. And if they are larger they are split up into narrow corridors which favors any team with a UAV. There is hardly any open areas to cover and suport your team, just seems like everyone is running around like chickens with thier heads cut off.

The campaign is probably the best yet. From a cohesive story standpoint its much more easy to follow and the scale is much bigger. It still is a cycle of getting to some LZ, defending an area, or getting some intel and the bad guy cues are as obvious as ever but it is still more satisfying at the end.

The multiplayer is what stands as this games biggest dissapointment. I think that after the initial glow of having a new COD game out, people will not be naming COD:MW3 as thier favorite. Although they will play it untill the next one, i think unless infinity ward reinvents this franchise, this game will be marked as the beginning of the end of one of the most coveted FPS franchises in video gaming.

Should you rent, absolutely. But ask is a 60 dollar map pack with new weapons worth buying?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It isn't a bad game, but it's too familiar

posted by JNFattorini (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

24 out of 30 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have played every Call of Duty since CoD3, and in doing so I've put in no less than 80 hours into the multiplayer of each. I really liked all of them, but when Black Ops came out, I stopped forgiving the series for its glaring weaknesses.

Visually:
Animation has always been stiff, character models appeared plastic and the environment is the definition of static. With CoD:MW, this was understandable. There are limitations to what the hardware and software can accomplish, I understand that (I'm a software engineer). But as other games started using new tricks technologies to combat their aging engines, Infinity Ward and Treyarch felt justified in leaving their modified Quake III engine mostly untouched. These games look amazing in stills, but in motion there really is no excuse for skating models low resolution textures. MW3 is no different.

Sound:
Inexcusable. If you don't agree, get a better audio setup and try anything else, then try this. Your TV's speakers are thin.

Gameplay:
I love classic games, but I don't like playing them everyday. I respect Goldeneye for what it is, but I don't enjoy it anymore. The mechanics are dated, and we as a culture and an industry, have moved past that stage of gaming. MW3 is nearly identical in "feel" as the previous (I'm not kidding, this is the actual number of these games that have used this proprietary engine) five games in the series. This is familiar ground. If you love playing classic games, regardless of how dated they are, please stop reading now if you've made it this far. Some "new" ideas are welcomed additions, but they're bandages for deep wounds. Every new addition just counterbalances a five year old design flaw. Games boil down to two things: if you want to have fun, you'll lose. If you want to win, you'll spend most of your time exploiting the weaknesses in game design. Maps are riddled with areas designed for and cater to camping.

I understand why people like it, but I prefe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

To all COD fanboys

posted by SpeaksTheTruth (MANALAPAN, NJ) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

57 out of 75 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I am not a COD fanboy or a Battlefield fanboy so I think it would be fair for me to give my unbiased review of this game. I have read all the reviews on this site, so to all the people who have said that the battlefield fanboys are giving this game low scores and being trolls, why don't you actually read what the reviews say instead of assuming that they are just trolling. About 90% of the reviews that are 8 or lower actually have reasons for their scores, and im tired of seeing people give this game a ten; and for the review they just write "this game is the best game ever"

The Singleplayer was intense and actionpacked, as expected with all the COD's. But its also very short with usually no more then 6 hours gameplay. The singleplayer has never disappointed me but it should longer then 6 hours.

The Multiplayer was your standard generic COD gameplay that refuses to change. They added survival mode (which is nothing new at this point with Gears of war's Hoard mode, or halo' firefight). The survival mode is okay but can only hold up to two players (which is dumb).
The new kill Confirmed is the pretty enjoyable, and the only good thing about the multiplayer.
But as for the rest of the multiplayer it is the exact same thing (literally copy and paste) as modern warfare 2 with some new guns and kill streaks.
I Enjoyed the first modern warfare gameplay was still fresh and original. But now it has become the same thing over and over again every year.
Some people may argue that if its not broken dont fix it, but in the competitive market of the first person shooters that wont help you. Every year Shooters like Gears of War, Halo, and Battlefield are constantly changing things up and if Cod does not start changing, then it will fall behind all the shooters.
So after years and years of the same thing the game becomes stale and repetitive which why i give it a "7".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this MW2 or MW3? I can't tell...

posted by kerska (LEWISVILLE, TX) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Well...I finally got around to playing that game and it was pretty much what I expected it to be: the same game as all the others. Different skins on top of the same formula with minor changes.

Graphics are great and the game looks and runs awesome on Xbox. The sound is pretty bland though. All the guns sound pretty much the same and explosions lack power. It all kinda feels generic and plastic in my opinion.

The campaign was fun but was the same action level/sniper level/vehicle level/action level formula as all the others. Call of Duty is great at building over the top action pieces in their games, but they never stray from their formula.

Multiplayer hasn't changed either. I've never been a fan of the perks because it makes the game feel way to arcade-y, but I do like what they did with the killstreak system and the support package letting the killstreaks stack up over your deaths. I'll only get into multiplayer when playing on hardcore, but the maps on this game are tiny and I feel like I'm just running around in the same circle looking for members of the opposite team because majority of the players favor camping and no one wants to work as a team. Plus you still have to deal with that dang quick-scope and all the other nonsense that people do. Obviously the development team favors this kind of junk and supports the ridiculous stuff that goes on in multiplayer to take away from a lot of people's experience.

But I'm glad I didn't buy this game and kept it on my Gamefly even though it took a few months to get it. I see nothing has changed, and with the official announce of Black Ops 2 it's apparent that the publishers and developers are planning on running this money train straight into the ground. Hopefully people will eventually wise up to the fact that they are playing the same original Call of Duty, it's just been re-skinned several times over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad.

posted by PliskinSIN (KAPOLEI, HI) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

That's it, just bad. Maps are tiny. Feels like you are wearing a 100lbs rucksack on your back the whole time, i think they do this because since the maps are small they figure by slowing down people it'll be okay. Granted it has good things going for it. But over all it is just the same game i played last year and the same game that will come out next year. What happened Call of Duty?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by Whoop365 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

21 out of 31 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Just another copy of call of duty 4, but with different guns, less life, more windows, and less content so they can sell maps over the next year for more than they sold the game.

If you like fps online, it's the best out there, but not because it's the best, because of the name, and because they can rip us off for 4 years straight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sick and Tired of Being Ripped Off

posted by PPolski (GLASTONBURY, CT) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Loved the franchise. I played all of them all the way from the first call of duty. Lets face it I bought this game for the multiplayer. The campaign is just a perk and when I put the game in the first thing I do is multiplayer and then eventually force myself to play the campaign. This is just a map pack it is exactly the same as MW2 and it really pis_s_ed me off and made me lose interest very quickly. Then they want me to pay $15 four times for more map packs. Thank you for thinking about the fans who have supported you for so long and not looking at us as cash cows ripping us off every way that you can think of like that other call of duty club thing that they want you to pay $60 a year for now too. Good thing that was optional. Sold the game on Ebay after a few months of owning it as I got bored nothing new. Campaign was really good, but again I did not buy it for the campaign and it was 5 hours long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

At least it finished the MW story.

posted by dsandman13 (CONROE, TX) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I use to be a fan of the COD series but after playing BF3 I am no longer such a fan, of the multiplayer that is. The stories in COD I feel are better developed and that gives the advantage to COD for the single player campaign. But for upgrades in graphics, multiplayer map size, and multiplayer games I see this as simply a expansion pack to previous COD games. Sorry to see the MW series storyline come to a possible end. COD needs to focus on some serious upgrades to graphics and destructions online and makes some nice big maps for multiplayer experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good Gone Bad

posted by xIIX_PRO_XIIx (FAIRFIELD, IL) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of this Franchise and looked forward to this installment and regret to rate this as poor as it gets. Nothing created more intense argument like "Quick Scoping". I was really surprised to find out that no alternative to this childish game play was created. Instead, I was greeted to my first map with an entire group of free for all using sniper rifles and "Quick Scoping". I played all the way up to level 19 and removed the game never to even think of this franchise again.

Second large issue.
Being forced to play game modes is extremely unpleasing. I refuse to play any mode that requires me to empty a clip into an enemy to kill him. Hardcore is the only mode I will ever engage in and carry a great deal of disdain towards the makers for this. Level 20 is required to play hardcore and thus will force my hand not to prestige.

I failed to see any new content that stands out from previous version of this game. They could have just as easily released a new set of map packs instead of releasing this installment.

I am returning the game and thank Gamefly for the opportunity to review this game and avoid having a franchise prophet from failing to hear my voice and address my concerns especially when it is inline with such a huge portion of their community.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ssdd

posted by primoredviper (MIAMI, FL) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

all i have to say is been there done that this is getting old this franchise needs new blood thank god i rented it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good addition to the story

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

61 out of 105 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Looking through reviews, I can't help but notice that there are a lot of fanboys of both CoD and Battlefield. As an owner, and enjoyer of both, I felt the need to write a more honest review.

When it comes to the graphics and the audio, the win definitely has to go to Battlefield 3. However for gameplay, specifically the storyline, Modern Warfare gets the win. Before you shout at an unfair comparison, I'm not counting MW3 as a part of the trilogy. As it's own game, I enjoyed the story much more than the story of BF3.
As far as multiplayer goes, I have to give the win to MW3 for one reason. MW3 doesn't have near as many bugs as BF3 seems to have. Don't get me wrong, both are great games, but MW3 seems to be a more finished game. It almost seems like BF3 rushed to get their game out before the competition, and suffered for it.

Focusing on MW3 now, the gameplay is great, for anyone who liked how MW2 played. It is very similar, just updated a bit (new weapons, story, etc.) For some, this may be a problem, because it might feel like the same game to an extent. It is far better than Black Ops was (let's be honest, that isn't hard to do).
Mulitplayer is a lot like it was with MW2, except how the "point-streaks" are set up. Instead of getting points just for kills, there are other points that go towards the streaks. It is a great setup that will take a whole separate review to fully explain.

If you enjoy the storyline of the Modern Warfare series, definitely get this game to see how it plays out. If you're just looking for multiplayer, I don't think this will be your kind of game, unless you loved MW2.
I bought this game, and I think it's money well spent. The BF3 fanboys who call it "Money Wasted 3" are just upset because it is a competitor of their game.
Both games are great, don't listen to the fanboys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by KD4WG14 (ENUMCLAW, WA) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

CoD MW3 is a overall great game. Although the multiplayer can be a bit frustrating at times, but it is a blast.
Pros:
~Good storyline, it's sad at times, but i I found it to be hard to get off of
~Multiplayer is a bit more balanced vs MW2
~Multiplayer has less camping spots
~Spec ops has missions and survival which is similar to zombies mode from previous games
~Frequent patching
Cons:
~Quick scoping although its not a big problem
~Spec ops is only 2 player max
~Drop shotting but again its not a huge problem

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I expected more

posted by dabest2112 (AURORA, IL) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

well i expected maybe something different from MW2 but it was the same the campaign was amazing and multiplayer is the same well pretty much all im saying is if u liked MW2 u will like MW3 so yea!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BETTER THAN BO? Dont buy it new.

posted by TheLAW (PALM BAY, FL) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was excited to play MW3 and of course I jumped right into the multiplayer and what a shock! BO maps have a general easy layout and you know where everyone likes to hide (might even find someone in your spot). MW3 has HUGE maps and you can hide or run almost anywhere (makes this more realstic to life). It was nice to finally earn my upgrades instead of buying them in BO. I give this game a 9 because they dont have HARDCORE FFA! that is my favorite mode. I know MW2 didnt have it but Black ops did and I miss it. If they send a patch I will udate to a 10. You cant go wrong renting this, but I wouldnt pay $60, $50, or even $40 for it. I'll buy it used when it's in the 30's...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING

posted by Qonscience (WINCHESTER, VA) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just wanna say what a great job infinity ward and sledgehammer did with this game. Love the guns, leveling system, campaign. Pretty much everything. Anyone who is kind of amateur to this series and is trying to decide whether to buy this game or not, listen up! First of all, everyone who says that this is a bad game due to it being the same as the rest of the series games, is wrong, im sorry but its true. They just dont know what they want with cod. Okay, this game has new guns, new maps, new campaign, new leveling system, new gun attachments, and new perks. That's alot different from the rest of the series people! If you want it any more different than that I suggest you take a copy of halo and just slap it on the cod disc and stop being a crybaby. And im not some noob that just gets enjoyment out of running around and spraying like a maniac. I know what im doing and i know what im talking about. So if you haven't, go out and buy this game! You won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just enough twist to be slightly fresh

posted by caseyc420 (EL DORADO, AR) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

31 out of 55 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The single player campaign is pretty top notch. Enemy AI is a tough challenge on Veteran mode, which the hardcore fans will go for. And the achievements for veteran are semi-well worth it. That being said, the campaign picks up where MW2 leaves off. Graphics are on par with Battlefield 3. Spec Ops is back (yes you can play co-op as well as on xbox live) and there is a new mode to play called Survival (think of Halo firefight) where each wave of enemies you survive gets progressively harder. Leaderboards are there for those who are competitive about their scores/times/horde waves survived. Multiplayer online is pretty much the same as MW2 and Black ops play wise (still have campers unless you opt to play "Kill Confirmed" mode where you have to actually kill and pick up the enemy's dog tags to get the scored kill point. However, there are specialized killstreak awards now, which gives you a plethora of options in terms of killstreaks.
Overall, I would say this game is much better than Black ops in terms of having more options to play and more challenges to obtain bragging rights to. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Modern WarFail

posted by JackePaper (HEMPSTEAD, TX) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

27 out of 48 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

A Glorified map pack is pretty much all this game is. The Game engine essentially hasn't changed since COD4 and Activision keeps churning them out year after year as an annual insult to their customers.
The only thing positive I can say about this game is that the campaign is kinda fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pretty disappointing

posted by HardcoreGamer24 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you love the Modern Warfare series I suppose you'll be happy with anything they put out. Being a gamer that plays all platforms however this one was pretty pathetic. They essentially took out everything added in Black Ops and made new maps that aren't as good. Clearly this franchise cannot out do what they did several years ago in MW2. If I wanted to continue FPS for XBOX360 I'd probably continue to play MW2 since almost everyone has it and that way you don't drop serious dough on a retool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Personal Preference

posted by kdog1126 (GROVER BEACH, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What I've noticed, everyone likes to compare a game to another. If you do that, you're going to see a lot of mixed reviews. For starters, BF3 and MW3 ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT! Do not expect either to be identical in any way possible. I will admit, each game has its strong points. I love how BF3 is all about teamwork. It's a nice change from a run and gun like MW3. But I started out with the Call of Duty franchise, so I prefer MW3.

For anyone say this game is the same as the rest, they clearly haven't played the Multiplayer long enough to see the difference. The Killstreaks are given to you through points, not kills. If you play domination, you get a point for capturing an objective. I love how each class can have a different set of killstreaks. You're not stuck with the same ones the entire match. Some people don't like it, some will. As for camping, that's been in ALL of the games. I've seen it in BF3 as well as Black Ops and MW2. So stop complaining.

The storyline was amazing. I always play the campaign before i play online. If you're a campaign fanatic for any game, and you've been playing Modern Warfare since it came out, you may or may not like the ending.

What it comes down to really, is whether you compare the game to every other one you've played, or you look at it as a new game. I've seen too many reviews from people that won't give the game a chance. Just cuz you played a game for a day doesn't mean you know everything about it. I hated the multiplayer at first, but when you get to a high enough level to make your class and what not, you'll love it. I wouldn't have spent 20$ on Black Ops, but I have no regret in dropping 60$ on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Disappointment to say the least...

posted by steelcity2739 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

27 out of 49 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I have only had the game for almost 2 days obviously, but I have played the first 4 or 5 missions of the campaign and about 2 or 3 hours of multi-player, and let me tell you...this is the same old game other than "survival mode" which is cool, but has been done before (e.g Gears of War, hoarde mode). The multi-player maps are like a map pack of Modern Warfare 2, and the graphics are not much better. The only thing different about online is you can choose what type of reward system you want like "Assault", which is just normal or "Support", which is like assists, flag captures, etc. I know people say, "why change a game that is good?", basically because the competition is moving up and it time for COD to do the same. Not change the whole game, but add new features that haven't been done, be creative come on.

Also, I have Battlefield 3 and let me just say MW3 hails in comparison in everything: graphics, campaign ( it also has co-op campaign), multi-player (you can drive tanks, jeeps, fighter jets, helicopters, etc.), stats and rewards system, etc. This is my opinion, but I don't see how anyone can refute the facts. Don't waste your time buying the game, just get Battlefield, you won't regret the choice.

Hope this is useful to all, just telling it how I've seen it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Campaign>Multiplayer

posted by IKonfuciusI (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

21 out of 38 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Im glad I didnt buy this game the multiplayer is excatly the same with some new stuff. Its almost just like a map pack with added guns and perks. The campaign is great. With things flying through the air. But the multiplayer doesnt beat Battlefield 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GARBAGE!!!!!

posted by KnowxITxAll (TONAWANDA, NY) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

33 out of 61 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

its Modern Warfare 2.5 glad i did not buy this game would have been a waste i like the mw2 multiplayer better this is just ugh words cant describe it my xbox feels violated that i put this disc in there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game - does not live up to hype

posted by Alpha1126 (JACOBUS, PA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

22 out of 40 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I'm going to start off by saying that if you have played Call of Duty before, you will know what this game is about. The campaign is okay, same as both previous modern warfare games. Do not expect anything else to be special, nothing has changed. Multiplayer is decent, but there are already many glitches in the game. 1 point off for no innovation in the campaign or multiplayer, 1 point off for same graphics, and 1 point off for having a forgettable campaign except for the ending. Being completely reasonable, this game is not worthy of $60. Compare this to Halo ODST. Worth $49.99? Maybe. $39.99 is a more reasonable price for what you get. COD Elite is a further premium addition which will net you another $50 for DLC up front. The service is free for all players if you're not going to buy the DLC. Buyer beware - this is further money going into the game. I give this a 6.8 for being above average, but not innovative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MW2.5

posted by JonM7o3 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

32 out of 60 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

what can i say its really nothing new. Campaign is fun better than MW2 the multiplayer how ever is the same thing pretty much. The new survival mode however is awesome. I'm not saying its a bad game just the famous quote "another year another call of duty" play this for a month or two then move back to BO(Gun Game) <<< thats all black ops was good for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disk better used as a coffee coaster.

posted by cyncro (ROCKLIN, CA) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

23 out of 43 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Horrible, cheap and beyond disappointing.

The graphics are clearly robbed from MW and MW2. The sounds are also. The guns, the sights will be so familiar if you played those two that you will wonder why they even bothered to make a new game. They literally scabbed in pieces and parts and sounds from the first two games.

The phrase "It's alive!" must have surely escaped the Sledgehammer's CEO's lips when they decided it was done.

Just as Frankenstien had to go live his days in solitude, so will my copy of this game in the corner of my media case. Forever forgotten and a freak of programmer pieces and parts.

I am one of those die hard players with hundreds of hours put into the multiplayer of this franchise. I felt abused and patronized by this pile of garbage.

$59 dollars for this game? I am glad I got it for free, because I wouldn't even buy it from the xbox live arcade for .59 cents.

I didn't even play the story line. I don't even want to for fear of repeating missions I have already played.

Thanks Activision for ripping my parents off. Now I have a horrible pile of garbage to keep around just in case they stop by and see if I enjoy my craptastic birthday present.

Please don't even rent this game, maybe Activision will get a clue and stop scraping together junk and passing it off as entertainment.

And Robert Bowling if you read this. Please go to church and repent for stealing from millions of people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse