Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
8.1

9277 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by kman1992 (KODAK, TN) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

best game I have played in a whale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Multiplayer hoooo!!!!!!

posted by 07civsi (BUFFALO, NY) Oct 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great multiplayer, ok storyline, rage quit perhaps but a lot of this game is fun my fave modes are team death match, and domination. The storyline is bleh I attribute this to one every year or so just some points I have found out. Rage quitting is tempting because it feels like, a hockey fight you keep getting knocked down but you need to keep strong and push through. best cod game for multiplayer in my experience except for that they did not have a zombie mode but that's just a small price to pay. definite buy for multiplayer but if you play for the story This game might be disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

didnt play

posted by rosiegirl (REDDING, CA) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i got the game i put it in and it didnt play. It had scraches and finger prints on it. You need to mack sure their in good condition befor you send the game. It could of also been scrached when it was shiped. But still i think your shiping time is ok and most of the games come in good condition so over all i give gamefly an A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Next Installment

posted by goget17 (AMES, IA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

54 out of 76 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

MW3 doesn't do much new; the graphics are better, the locations more detailed, and the campaign mode a bit more interesting, but other then that it is really the same game as the previous installments, not that that's a bad thing. MW3 is still amazing, and of course the multi-player is epic. Just like the other installments it gives you endless playtime, especially on the ps3 where you don't have to pay for multiplier access. The only reason I give it a 9 is because I wish they would have developed the campaign story a little further, other then that it is an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short Campaign

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The campaign portion is too short. It can be beaten in a single sitting. I really like the ability to play the opposite side of engagements in the Spec Ops though. I think that makes up for the short campaign and adds to the experience. All in all, it’s a good successor to MW2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Modern Warfare 2 with DLC

posted by highroller (BRIGHTON, MA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

23 out of 38 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

The game is what I expected....Modern Warfare 2 with just a DLC. This is not a bad thing, but at the same time I personally got burnt out with playing MW2 which makes MW3 kind of hard to get into. I am going to play the campaign (to finish the story) and a little bit of the multiplayer (which normally I would just play the multiplayer). I really hope that COD can introduce some in life into this series since it has not changed much since MW1. I would not buy this game since it should have just been a $20 DLC for MW2. Fun, but just a rental game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great failure.

posted by Srebnygryf (GALLOWAY, NJ) Nov 13, 2011

Member since May 2007

29 out of 52 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok the best game just went down to garbage. I am returning my copy and getting my money back.
The graphics are very nice, guns are nice.
The campaign was the bomb and captivating to the last mission.
The downfall of it is the same problem with online game.
First there is the server migration not often as MW2 but still there, the server match making is still horrible. When I quit a match it put me back to it 3! times to the same game. The difference when I am level 25 and then put in a match where everyone is level 70 and above. Then there is spawn campers by the dozen.
Other thing that kills the game is the COD Elite and what ever that is. When I entered the online menu in the game a pop up window asked to download it. That's is it, how greedy can you get, the best selling game and there offering better service for paid subscription where they should give the fans something free for their loyalty.

Battlefield 3 takes this year top spot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yet again

posted by twiztedwicked1 (BEECH ISLAND, SC) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

17 out of 30 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Remember when shooting games took skill and it wasn't about who had the biggest explosives? I have always hated the squirtgun fight known as the COD franchise but I enjoyed the challenge of hardcore search and destroy. It took some sort of skill if you could avoid the under barrel grenade launcher at the beginning (or spawn tubing) but then on this pathetic remake of every other COD game they bring in the fully automatic grenade launcher. Are you serious? Now there is no fun left to the game at all but for some reason they still included the hardcore game modes. Now the map packs that have been the same layout for every single one of there games just with different scenery require you to pay $60 for a 12 dlc subscription to get 1 or 2 things when they decide to give it to you is just dumb. This rip off they call a subscription is also giving other companys the idea that they should do this as well. 1/5 better games with cheaper DLC with more for less!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underrated.

posted by hatwearingmann (SAN JACINTO, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

22 out of 41 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

"Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 DLC" is really underselling this game. The game may be on the same engine and very close to MW2, but that doesn't mean it is bad. I believe Infinity Ward kept in on the game engine because people liked MW2's gameplay style, so why not just keep it that way?

Now onto the game.
The campaign takes off from MW2's story,which was amazing. MW3's campaign aspects have you sucked into the story and you feel like you are there. You feel how the characters feel, like if a comrade dies you feel sorrow.
The campaign gets a 100% from me.

The multiplayer is okay.
People keep saying it's exactly like MW2 online,when it really isn't. There are TONS of new features,weapons, and killstreaks. Multiplayer is addictive and a blast to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Modern Warfare 3 Review....

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 3 has a great campaign which starts up right after the ending to MW2. It has 16 missions total for just the campaign, but when you're playing the game on the easiest difficulty you're just going right through each mission within five minutes. The details and graphics are basically the same as MW2 just with new equipment. The story is still amazingly better than the second one.

The online is superb. It has a new way to keep track of everything called Call of Duty Elite. You can buy that online for only 50 bucks and it will be worth it because it will save you money when you download the DLC's. Anyways, the online is still the same as MW2's just with much more added stuff in it. Spec Ops is cool for some people, but I never enjoyed Spec Ops in MW2 and I don't think I will enjoy it on MW3 even if it does have survival mode. This game is a must buy or at least must rent. The only thing is; parents might have to be strict with their kids with this game as you already know there is a lot of violence, but not only that, there's a horrific amount of blood splattering everywhere as to be called gore so please parents, be cautious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The most dissapointing Call of Duty ever

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

the same old....same old...nothing changing.....(sigh)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Modern Warfare Yet

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 3 is the best C.O.D.M.W. to date. Campaign mode is just as good as all the previous M.W. titles, if not better. Online mode is better than any previous Call of Duty in the entire C.O.D. franchise. Graphics are extremely smooth through the entire game, including online play, no glitches in the graphics at all. This is my second favorite C.O.D. of all time, right behind "World at War". The only thing M.W.3. lacks is the awesome side game, "N-a-z-i-Z-o-m-b-i-e-s".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

MW3 not the greatest!

posted by tuffchic34 (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

16 out of 30 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

The campaign is ok, the spec ops are great, a little tougher than mw2 but really good. the graphics are great. But whats not so great is the Multiplayer. I don't consider it epic. The mic's cut out really bad, the LAG is terrible. And no its not my system or my internet, I'm not the only one having the problem. And last night playing there are already hackers on the game. I play with friends from all over, everyone I play with is legit. They don't cheat to rank up! Mw3,Blk ops,Mw2 and WAW are the worst games i've played because of the hackers, they don't make it fun for anyone. And my 9yr niece loves the game, but because of the foul mouth people on multiplayer I will not let her play. Don't understand why people just get into a lobby and start running their mouth, talkin about people's gamer ID's, and how they are gonna crush our team. Those types of people have no life. Its just a video game people. I don't know to many people who are gonna loose sleep because you beat them at a video game..come on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Cod So Far

posted by KirasHeir (ANTELOPE, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

10 out of 20 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game to start in for the cod series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call of Duty: Marvelous Warfare 3

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Nov 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a good game.

There's a lot of people hating on it just for the sake of hating... it's kinda silly.

Is this game anything new or revolutionary? No... but you have to look at the series as a whole, in which case, it is/was. The story wraps up very well at the end of campaign and let's face it, this series changed multiplayer for all games and genres so there's no reason to be disappointed here.

You can nit-pick just be stupid, but find me another first person shooter that's more complete than this. I'll admit to preferring Battlefield/Bad Company/Medal of Honor Multiplayer, but as a complete game, COD proves once again to be the leader.

The sound isn't on par with BF3 and the engine definitely looks dated at this point, just in time for the end of the series.

But the game's fun and good, just be happy, play it for fun, and don't complain just for the sake of complaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by izto13 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is good so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's back!Finally the bestselling franchise is

posted by maximus5 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game you should rent it please its great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever!!

posted by kbansal941 (WINCHESTER, VA) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Every game has some pros and cons. so does this game. this is the best game ever (even though i m not a big COD fan) i still love this game. the maps are really big. and the graphics are awesome. something i dont like about this game is the killstreak rewards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wish the story mode would have been longer

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think the only reason I gave this game a 7 is because the story mode was just so short. I literally beat it in less than 8 hours. I kind of knew that COD has gone more towards the multi-player route and I can't bicker with that, do what you got to do. However, at least the controls and game play was pretty realistic; never really had a complaint with glitches/lags.
The control setup was pretty straightforward and not difficult to pick up on, which is always a plus for me. I am glad I had my game Q built up so I have plenty of more games to keep me occupied. COD:MW3 wasn't a bust but it didn't consume too much of my time, just wish they would put more effort into extending the story line for people who don't play the multi-player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3

posted by Gabe1212 (PORT ANGELES, WA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

11 out of 25 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

From the time i have played this game i thought it was great. Infinity Ward really steped it up they got a way better campaign and now they have a survival mode witch kicks as.s way better then Black ops Zombies and they even did more then that they also made it where there is 3 differents ways you can play the Multiplayer they have Assualt regular gamer with high kills low deaths then they have Support where you help your team and your pointstreaks dont get reset from dying then they have Specialist whisch is where every 2 kills without dying you get another perk but by the time you get 8 kills without dying you will have all the perks in the game where your a super sodier which is cool but anyways i think this game is great i think you all should go out and buy it and i hope you liked the review thank you have a great day all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its pretty dope

posted by dcode420 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Singler player is cool , Multiplayer is actually pretty fun but also takes a minute getting used to and the servers are horrible , as always.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MW3=Madden

posted by Wargazsem (DENTON, MD) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

10 out of 23 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

MW3 is just a polished version of MW2, same as every madden game that has been shoved out every year. The fact is it really doesn't matter because it will still sell like hot cake's. I'm by no means a fanboy of either title, fact is this is just a updated dlc pack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by Dorian_Gray (SHREVEPORT, LA) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

This was a great game, i'm not big on multiplayer so I appreciate the amazing campaign mode. The controls are perfect. Its the best shooter I've played since the last Medal of Honor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Single Player shines while Multi-player dies

posted by bushidoblade (WETUMPKA, AL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

22 out of 54 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Same game, different year.
Multiplayer stays the same , keeping hold of MW2's base mechanics. There is no "you can't fix what is already the best" this year with IW's billed "Most Anticipated Game".The single player campaign is where the game shines as always with its stellar cinematic approach.That is simply the only thing good about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty Bad IMO

posted by Superpaolo2 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Cons:
- Bad hit Detection
- Really laggy (Even with theater recording disabled)
- Looks exactly the same as MW2, maybe the lighting is better.
- Guns sound horrible/funny.
- Way too many killstreaks and support killstreaks go on even when you die (UAVs are everywhere)
- People complained about ghost in Black Ops and now it's easier to get UAVs so why not have assassin or blind eye on (whichever 1 it is)
Pros (Kinda):
- Campaign is epic and fun except on veteran. On veteran the AI was way to hard, they had aimbot and no recoil whatsoever. You just poke your head out and die.
- Spec ops is really fun but really laggy if host has bad connection / lives in the other side of the world.
- Guns seem balanced, only disadvantage is at range, if you have an assault rifle at long range, most likely you'll win. If you have a submachine gun at close range most likely you'll win.

Thoughts:
I don't know why it's really laggy and the hit detection is bad, maybe it's because it's an XBox port like Black Ops. It would be a lot better if it weren't for the lag and bad hit detection. I don't really care about the sound of the guns, as long as it shoots and kills, I am okay with that. I just wish it would go back to CoD4/WaW days where it was 3-5-7 and more focus on gun play.
I also recommend battlefield, it's a very different game. If you like vehicles (ex. Jets, Helicopters, Tanks, etc.) Then you will like battlefield. Call of Duty and Battlefield are very different, maybe you have heard this before but CoD is very Arcade style while Battlefield is more on the serious side, "try hards" as you may call it. Battlefield is more team oriented while in CoD you can go lonewolf and maybe win the game for your team.
If you made it this far down, thanks for reading!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse