Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

16811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

remember..no Russian

posted by cannos12 Sep 25, 2014

This game was great, and had some memorable characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So many hackers, so little time.

posted by Johny2x4 (GRETNA, NE) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Multiplayer is ruined by all the hackers, I don't care for single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

P.O.S Game

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

P.O.S Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WROST GAME EVER

posted by Sunami (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game is horrible black ops is way better map sucks gun sucks to many camping snipers everything about this hame is horrible just like my grammer cuz i dont care about spelling correctly just like the creators of mw2 didnt care about this game they just made it in a day or so i almost broke the disk cuz i couldnt seem to get it out my system fast enough i played this game for 10 mins and its horrible im mad i even rented it i rated this a 1 to bad they didnt have negetive ratings. wrost game ive ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MODERN WARFARE2 NEEDS TO BE LONGER BUT STILL COOL

posted by gamer6765 (TOMBALL, TX) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

GAME WAS KICK BUT -BUT WAS NOT AS LONG AS I THUNK WEPONS BETER THAN THE FIRST- BUT LIKE I SAID STILL KICKS BUT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game...I think???

posted by Jeff2178 (HASKELL, NJ) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My PS3 would not play the game...the registration of trophies could not complete, so it quits on me....remember the good old days when a game didn't work, you took it out and blew on it...ahhh, best of times...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than modern war far 3

posted by austi (PERKINS, OK) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

great game play and great graphic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hacked

posted by INSTINCT_HAZE (RINCON, GA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

when mw2 first came out i could not put it down. but as of now it is hacked and uplayable (for online). i i only recommend this game to people that are only in it for the campaign. for graphics its awesome. but like i said if u like playing online then u better be a hacker lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still the Best

posted by Zombslayer (SEGUIN, TX) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is definately still the best in the series and I don't belive black ops 2 will top it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Realistic Shooter

posted by d4ed4lus (OAKDALE, LA) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The story isn't all that but the scenarios it puts you in are plausible for modern combat and the battlefields you find yourself in are ones you can relate to (one is a town with a burger king and chilies type restaurant) The weapons are interesting and well balanced. Rio was pretty spot on as far as landscape. Overall it was a fun 6hr campaign. The special ops might keep you occupied for a little longer and then of course there is multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lacked Updates

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

After Infinity Ward left pretty much right after the game was released, the game never got the proper updates it's needed and it still is broken to this day for the multiplayer. Stale special ops and great campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YES!

posted by nightmarez (KINGSTON, PA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

when i 1st got into call of duty this was the sencond game i played after the 1st mw and there both unique games mw2 has better and fun exiting and addicting MP while mw1 could use a boost although its older give it a break and the mw1 story is much better than this although this is a great sequal GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Many Days of Multiplayer

posted by STi2011 (HINSDALE, MA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The biggest downfall as on every multiplayer game is hacking and cheating. Since this game has been out for a while now almost every lobby I get in someone is using an aimbot. That aside some of the best mechanics and all around diversity of a war game is in MW2. A good rent but a better buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Same

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The Campaign is great but this problem is that nothing has really changed....nothing....just exactly the same other than....3 new things....a decent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by georgiaboys212 (LAGRANGE, GA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

amazing!!! good gameplay better than black ops and realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wouldnt work

posted by wavegunbeast (CENTRAL CITY, KY) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

my copy was ok but after every online match it would freeze up and it wouldnt even let me play campaign mode but overall still a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i dont want this

posted by jsds (SPRING HILL, FL) May 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

look i dont have a game q for a reason i had nba 2k12 1st for weeks and still havnt gotten it so i am starting to get mad so i am returning mw2 and i want nba2k12 by friday

thank you and have a nice day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ok Game but many problems

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

First Problem I will address is the fros and or blood all over the screen making it Impossible at times to see. I am just going to guess and say that the Person You are playing wears a see thru mask that allows the Blood and frost to build up on it. The problem with that is that it makes it really hard to see things. Second major problem i have is the Lack of anyway to know where you are and where your supposed to go, Seems like the enemy always knows where you are exactly so they also know how to get to a spot where you cant see them but they can see you perfectly and thier shots are 1000000% accurate Out of 50 Bullets they shot 50 of them hit you they never miss. On the other Hand even if your are shooting the enemy from point blkank range out 0f 50 shots 5 might hit them. I dont know how this game got so high of ratings unless every Fan Boy of this series gave it a 10 rating. This Game is just not that good thats why i gave it a More Realistic rating of 5 it is Fair but nothing better then that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mw2

posted by mavick78 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by TheGameInformer (LA MIRADA, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Best games out of all the call of duty series. If you want a crud load of action and the best graphics and gameplay This is the game you want. Without a doubt, if i were poor, i would kill for this game (sarcasm).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally checked it out

posted by slackage (LICKING, MO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since May 2011

I'm not big on FPS's, I originally got into it why my kids were playing Black Ops. On Black Ops I played the Campaign on Normal Mode and beat it, I enjoyed the game play, Zombies was fun and the multiplayer, well, it was to much run and run for my taste.
Then i bought Modern Warfare 3 (through Gamefly) and I had pretty much to same experience with this game as a did with Black Ops. Liked the Campaign, this time i played and beat it on Veteran mode, the Spec Ops was fun, and the Multiplayer was the same just with newer maps (that got really old after a while) and just a little different way of ranking up the prestige.
Then i thought, what the heck, might as well see what is all the fuss was about Modern Warfare 2. And again, just like Black Ops and Modern Warfare 3. I started playing it on Veteran Mode, but it did get a little tough on me, so i dumbed it down one mode and beat it. Spec Ops wasn't as fun as Modern Warfare 3, and the multiplayer was a ghost town. I only ran into a handful of people. It's a shame, if they combined the Modern Warfare 2 & 3 Maps, I wouldn't have been so bored with the Modern Warfare 3 maps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MW2, good but not good enough

posted by btheman (HYDE PARK, MA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

From me to you guys reading this, MW2 is a good game, but what brings it down are the hackers that hack the game constintly just to win one simple match. For example, as i was playing on a map in TDM, i found out that someone hacked the game to make us jump 4 stories in the air making it hard for me to sit still. But don't get me wrong, it is a good game with the campain, but the multiplayer could need some work by not having so many hackers, but at least rent the game to see what i mean about the hackers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MW2

posted by godoftime5 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Jan 27, 2012

Member since May 2008

i must say, best game i played.
graphics are not as good as Black ops but easier well more hackers with super jump but still good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by 12wq (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i love this game.way better than mw3, black ops,world at war and mw GET IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely One of the Best Games Ever!

posted by Kat_Gamer (TAMPA, FL) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

After playing Modern Warfare 1 and falling in love with the franchise, I quickly moved MW 2 to the top of my GameQ list and waited patiently until the game came.

I played and finished the game the very same day, staying up til the early hours of the next morning just to finish it. Infinity Ward absolutely did an astounding job with this game.

The story was absolutely fantastic and just made me want to keep going and going til the end, no matter how tired I was.

The Special Ops was also a lot of fun. Definitely a great reward for finishing the campaign.

If anyone is hesitant about this game, don't be because it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse