Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

16807 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

omg!!!!!

posted by FALCON647 (COVINA, CA) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

too many muthafunkn noobtuber i hate em all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Modern Warfare The Greatest Game Ever!!!!

posted by Ouruser (BROOKINGS, SD) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok well first of all Modern Warfare is more of a a run out kill and die type of game. It is not a a go and camp game at all because it is all respawn and only 1 type of game you should camp.!.!.!.!.!.!.!.!.!.!.!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Shooter Ever

posted by owl2566 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is completely horrible, the multiplayer mode is so repetitive and addicting that its not even fun, the story mode is only 5 hours long and its not one of those games that makes you want to play it over and over (i.e. Dantes Inferno, God of War III, Dragon Age Origins) and some people may like the special ops mode but i still think that you can beat the game with special ops within 8 hours... some people may also like the multiplayer well this people probably have no lives at all if you're going to play a shooter play something good(i.e. Bad Company 2, <M.A.G>, or Killzone 2,) So for all you no lives out there who think my review is full of lies, try Bad Company 2 and you will enjoy the multiplayer waaaaaaay more than Modern Warfare 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pure Eye Candy ...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Is what sums up my thoughts of the title, I never played any Call of Duty title, until this one. Hearing enough hype about it made me try it. Just as which I expected, the gameplay is very basic, deathmatch, "run and gun", scenario. The game interactions resemble, Killzone, Ressistance fall of man, and Wolfenstein.

You play as a Army Ranger who is on the front line of battle, you also play as another Covert Operative that infiltrates terrorist bases. You don't select who you want to be, but the story line of both characters are over the same matters the terrorist is fighting over, and run parallel with each other.
The story is about a terrorist who brings the fight to the United States Home land in suburban areas. Simple as that, the terrorist wants world power and recognition for ... hating everything and wants to kill everyone.

The story is what seems to have been rushed, or thrown together. The gameplay is what every Call of Duty lover wanted. Which thats not a bad thing, if you played the older titles before. The graphics, environment, game physics, Multiplayer experience, are probably the key principles the developer, infinity ward, worked to perfect. I'm surprised they didn't just wipe the story out and just base the entire game online.
The multiplayer is very interesting the entire levels are very, dynamic, things blow up, break, scattering more debris, and other illuminations for the gamer to wow. Pure Eye Candy, however, very small, close encountered maps, online game takes place in a small alley ways.
The load out is probably what gives Modern Warfare2 its own unique flare, you are able to give your self perks, that boosts you slightly in online play(i.e.: reload faster, run faster, have a steadier aim). You don't get to customize your character appearance just your firearms and insignias. With many weapon unlockables, weapon attachment unlockables, and unlock able perks, returning CoD players will be happy. The new online modes are neat, also..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by spark12 (JAMESTOWN, SC) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Perfect game awesome Love everything about this game 10 out of 10 i love all the call of duty's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Black Op's

posted by G_man2345 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here's the truth about COD MW2, It is literally ten times better than what black ops turned out to be. I agree with what everyone else says, this game is a must own for all those who absolutely love COD and the FPS Genre. But I'm not gonna force you to choose either black ops or MW2. You have to decide that on your own. Here's what I love about MW2...
Graphics: The most beautiful graphics I have ever seen in a game. Especially if you try and put the game in your PS3, which is hooked up to an LCD T.V with a Graphic Enhancing Cable.

Game-play: Probably the best game-play I have ever seen the first time. I've replayed the story mode about a billion times and it gets a little boring, but still very entertaining to come back to.

Multi-player: The biggest amount of people I've seen in one game for a long time. Everybody still comes back to modern warfare 2 to play online. Amazing kill streaks, Awesome perks, Great guns, Awesome maps, and so much more.

I seriously Recommend COD MW2 to anyone, event those that haven't even played it yet. Great title to add to your game collection. Keep on playing gamers! And I'll see you on the Battlefield :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SHMEXY!

posted by EP97 (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. It finally came!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been a 10 if it wasn't for the hacks...

posted by Gacknoops (CORALVILLE, IA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think the title of my review says it all. I got this game only for the online game and oh what a game it is. It's the best I have ever played. Right up till you get in a hacked lobby or get shot by a player who exploits the quick-scoope glitch or some coward with an aim-bot gets a nuke in less than three minutes. This game could have been the greatest thing that ever happened to FPS but instead...I'm switching over to Battlefield brand for all my FPS from now on. Oh, I know BC2 has hacks too but not even close to as many and no quick-scopers! Don't waist your time renting this game and infect, I wouldn't by the nest version either. This company only wan't your $60 for the game, they obviously don't care about support after the product is out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!!!

posted by G_G_Holmes (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all the storyline is amazing and the online play is even more amazing they really went all out on mw2 and i really loved it.I recomend it to everyone who love a awesome shooting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better then Black ops

posted by Mexicanwarrior (WEST VALLEY CITY, UT) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 2 has outstanding graphic and realistic sound and best online multiplayer in the Call of Duty series because Infinity Ware make it happen,but Activision and Treyarch make the crappiest Call of Duty games ever,but Call of Duty world at war was pretty good game but they need to make there graphics a little better because when i played Black ops the graphics look the same like world at war but Activision and Treyarch need to step up there graphics a little more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the truth.

posted by vtecz28 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the sp i amazing to me. it was chilling to stand n just shoot down hundreds of innocent ppl with no choice n see our capital in flames was daring. best part of the game.

the online... falls short. i play it, but the maps are way to small for harriers that just sit there killing everyone in the map n u cant move constantly n because the maps are so small theres always an enemy nearby to see u on the map after u fire n u die. the respawns r horrible too. once during tdm for example i got respawned in the middle of the entire enemy team. i got an assit for a knife kill before, u can knife, but it doesnt knife so u die n it will knife wen u respond. sometimes the enemy is taking cover n the only place u can shoot is their head. then u die n u get an assit wen they die... hows that possible for unloading an entire famas clip in their head? laggy too. and its even worse on 360.

spec opps are mostly very cool. i like one of the missions where u have to go thru a field with snipers the most.

sp=10
ol=5
so=8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just Keep Playing

posted by Gamer84 (MALVERN, PA) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Storyline picks up and is just ast good as COD4, the multiplayer can get a little tiresome after awhile unless you have some people to play with and talk to during the matches. Still some glitches that need fixing, but overall its a great game with tons of weapon/perk combos to make and it just got the new map pack which is awesome. Overall, gotta give it a solid 9 specifically for the multiplayer replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game But.....

posted by algu92 (NORWALK, CA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fun game to play and pass the time, but too fake. Still the maps in MW2 are too small and you have to get rid of the kill cam. In my opinion the kill cam is the worst thing you can have in a death match game. Too much going on and too many players in a small map equal to a very low average life span. No need for communication or stratagey just shoot as much as and as fast as you can.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but needs work

posted by TREYTX (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the good the story is cool takes place about 5 years after first has the same feel that the first did. the story was shorter though and I think they could have closed the story more then they did a few more levels. With out spoiling the end for you I will say that as an American after 911 you know that we would want to get some pay back more would have to be done if such a thing went down (I know its just a game).

The online starts off fun and its a great time trying to get the next rank and the next unlock but the problem comes in when it seems death from above happens a bit much as calling in air support means getting shot from the sky and sometimes as soon as you respawn you get shot. I send them up too when i get a chance and get my kills off it but I think its still a little cheap and wish that they had some rooms where it was just up to guns. But the maps a good and vary from snow to tropics, no real hardcore lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overly Glitchy...

posted by Grip6390 (ALSIP, IL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Fun game although seems storyline was just thrown together with only a 5-6 hour campaign(how long it took me on veteran), Spec ops mode is glitchy (says your teammate is halfway across the map bleeding out when they're right next to you at full health, Etc.) Multiplayer is fun but nothing really changed since "CoD4:Modern Warfare" and "CoD:World at War" same play mode just different maps with customizable Killstreaks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Red Dawn" done Call of Duty style...but

posted by Taladryel (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Remember CoD: Modern Warfare? That fantastic "military" shooter with eye-popping visuals, a wide variety of missions, spectacular in-game cutscenes and bucketloads of brutal infantry combat tied together with a "stop that rogue Russian with nukes" plot calling up shades of "The Peacemaker"?

Well Modern Warfare 2 ain't it. Except maybe for brutal infantry combat; it seems there is plenty of that to go around, although much of it happens in confined spaces.

Don't get me wrong - this game has its own cutscenes, visuals, and even a plot that mixes elements from "Red Dawn", "The Peacemaker" (sort of) and "Red Alert 2". [Russian paras air-dropping over Washington D.C. How can anyone go wrong with that...] Problem is, none of it works nearly as well as in the predecessor. The visuals are, except for a few brief segments, only decent, with the graphics as a whole appearing not to have advanced one bit since the last game. The gameplay itself is standard CoD fare, with a couple of very brief chase sequences (one of them involving snowmobiles), a few more "sneak" missions and a few less "drive" missions. Maybe multiplayer redeems this game - single player feels like a glorified expansion pack.

The plot itself...is full of minor and major holes. Like the first response to Russian paras dropping (!!) over Washington is to, umm...go and rescue some guy that some random Russian villain (who's not actually the guy in power) hates but hasn't killed for some reason. And then almost kill the rescue team by dropping bombs on them during the mission, because we're cool. Hooah. It's not even worth mentioning minor details like Russian paras armed with AK-47s, American shotguns and...FAL rifles?! Or one guy launching a nuke off a Russian sub in 2 minutes by himself, without any access or targeting codes...

Finally, there is some political content in the game. Much of it will slide by U.S. audiences, but there is one stage where you play the terrorist and mow down civvies. Beware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing and intense

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 13, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

"Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2" had the unenviable task of being the sequel to one of the most popular shooters of all time. Thankfully, it has more than risen to the occassion. The story-line picks up 5 years after the first game, and after a brief get reacquainted with the controls section, you're thrown right into the fire. The gunfights are even more intense this time around, with terrific set pieces which barely allow for the player to catch their breath. From Afghanistan to snow covered mountains to an oil rig to the suburbs of Virginia, the game wisks you along in a compelling story highlighted by Hans Zimmer's great musical score. The controversial level "No Russian" proves to be suitably gut-wrenching, and is definitely integral to the plot as it provides the impetus for all that follows. Controls once again are superb and tight. The new damage "meter"- splotches of jelly like blood across your field of vision- makes things a bit tough at times to get to cover, but it doesn't detract overall from the gameplay. Rather, it often adds to the intensity of the situation. While the single player campaign is short (about 7-8 hours) it's a blast to play. A new mode added this time around, called Spec Ops, gives those who go at games solo an additional 23 missions to try their hand at. While each mission is short, they're by no means a cakewalk and will test your skills. The nice thing is these missions are also co-op, so you can bring a buddy along online or offline in split screen. All in all, this is a worthy successor to the first game, and definitely a must buy for fans of the FPS genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Modern WarUnfare 2 ps3

posted by br0ther06 (LIMA, OH) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Well its obvious the score of this game is misleading, to say this game is an 8 says the scale must be out of 50.

If you enjoy glitches and cheats, constantly losing connection with your friends, playing the same maps over and over, and the fact that you can shoot a player with any weapon to only get stabbed by them. THEN THIS GAME IS FOR YOU Infinity Ward has layed an egg the game is playable but only because your entire friends list has it, and likely had it since its release. It seems that this game was released a year too soon or maybe they should have demo'ed the game to get the bugs and glitches worked out.

You got other options check out MAG or Battlefield Bad Company you'll be happy you escaped the anger that MW2 provides

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Come on! I went back to Uncharted 2

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

11 out of 29 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Where the is the cover system, MW2? Rainbow 6 had it. Has anyone heard of a little game tactict called blind fire. I have! Uncharted 2 has. Why hasn't infinty ward! This game was $60 of "% stars X-Play, really?"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I don't get it?

posted by Sandguard (FOLSOM, CA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

No doubt the game looks and sound as vibrant and as clear as the hype, but what about third base? This game is a solid double but far from the epic that people have built it up to be. The single player mode lasts around four hours and does not bring any new gameplay concepts to the table. Much like the hollywood blockbuster that was said to be the inspiration for the action, it hits the gas, but when the ride is over I was traveling to fast to enjoy anything memorable.

I was really looking forward to this realease, so far, not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what i expected

posted by BigM831 (ONTARIO, OH) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game was fun but it is not at all what i expected.

it was way too short, i beat it in a little over 5 hours and could have beaten it in less time but there were certain points where i just kept dying. also the story was hard to follow, most of the time i had no idea what i was supposed to be doing i just followed the rest of the guys. in my opinion it was way too easy to kill people it took about 2 shots to the guys legs and he would be dead. the graphics also were no where near as good as the first one.

COD 1 was a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Experience

posted by Wrothgar (MANSFIELD, OH) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for the PS3 because I use to own it on the 360, but sold it because hackers ruined the experience of playing it online. I figured I'd try it again on the PS3 thinking that it wouldn't be hacked. I was wrong. Very very wrong. If anything it's 100 times worse to play online with the PS3 version than playing it on the 360.

I played 4 matches online and 3 of them had at least 1 person hacking the game. One person was flying around the map. Another used a sniper rifle like a machine gun with unlimited bullets and health. And in another match someone was made out of rubber because every time you shot him you bounced back either against a wall or off the roof of a building.

My recommendation is to NEVER rent this if you enjoy playing online. The single player experience is good, but the multiplayer is garbage. Do yourself a favor and rent Black Ops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhhh

posted by rickyticky (RUBY, NY) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i pre ordereddd this game thinking yeahhh call of duty 4 modern warfare was the best game ever. but modernwarfare 2 is trash i mean its playable im 10th prestige and all but to many hackers and modders online over 10 thousand hackers on leaderboars and they put a second 3 burst gun in? i mean what was infinaty ward thinkinggggg.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BREACH!!!

posted by ChazinPA (BLOSSBURG, PA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

It is better than advertised... seriously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MW2 exceeds all expectations. A must buy.

posted by EagleEyez (ROSWELL, NM) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

MW2 lives up to every Call of Duty game ever made and then some. The COD games have always been infamous for their multiplayer, which i always thought was decent at most, but this game features some of the best multiplayer gameplay i've ever experienced. The campaign is great and will keep you busy for quite some time, even though it's relatively short (just like most other shooters..go figure) and takes you through some great sniper missions and heart-racing action...plus the sight of Washington D.C. on fire is one of the most epic things i've ever seen. Modern Warfare 2 also offers a brand new special ops mode, which is perfect for playing with a friend. The missions are designed for two people and really allow you to strategize cooperatively, which also adds to the already immersive gameplay.

I'll try to break it down --

GRAPHICS: 9/10
Amazing. The detail of the weapons will blow your mind. Infinity Ward went all out on every little visual aspect of the game. Things can get a bit choppy at times, however, when a lot is going on at once. The graphics are most certainly not Uncharted 2-esque, but they are probably the best I've seen for a FPS.

SOUND: 9.5/10
The voice acting in the campaign is top notch. The sound really sucks you into the game, from the weapon fire to the voice acting to the sounds of the environment. Definitely shines through on this one.

GAMEPLAY: 9.5/10
The best of the best. I mean come on did you really think it wouldn't live up to the hype that COD4 generated? This game is a blast to play and at times it really feels as though you're immersed in the warfare itself (cheesy i know, but you'll see what i mean, i promise). The controls are perfect for a first-person shooter. The multiplayer is a real gem, and they made every aspect of it more customizable, which is great as well.

My PSN is xX-EagleEyez-Xx. Feel free to add me and I would be more than happy to play sometime.

Peace.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse