Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.6

16821 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

call of duty mw2

posted by logang (BENTON, AR) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MW2: A love hate relationship

posted by crimsonfan (MOORE, OK) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is going to be an unusual review, because there are so many things to love about this game, and equally as many things to hate.

Im going to focus on the multiplayer because the single player is....well dumb.

Ill discuss the good then the bad.

The GOOD:

Customization: Automatic weapons, sniper rifles, shotguns, speed, equipment, big killstreaks, etc etc.

To many things to count.

Graphics:The game looks and sounds great.

The gameplay: The game is extremely fun to play when you get on a roll, and even more fun with your buddies.

Replay value: I put 20 days played time on the Multiplayer.

The BAD:

Customization: I know i listed it as a strength, but its also a weakness, theres simply to much, theres a certain thing you can do to run super fast, non stop, knife far away, and speed up your knife, its infuriating to shoot someone in the end 3 times with a submachine gun only to be outmatched by a weapon thats been around for 10000 years.

The secondary weapons are atrociously overpowered, a sniper can kill you in 1 shot from across the map, and when he hears his claymores warn him that someone is coming he can pull out an automatic shotgun, akimbo shotguns, akimbo machine pistols, a grenade launcher , etc etc, and destroy an entire team with a weapon that supposed to be a last resort.

The killstreaks are out of control, and it promotes camping (The biggest problem in the game).

50% of the MW2 community either camps or plays extremely cautious in the same general area.

I cant even list everything thats wrong with this game, but i came away with the impression that they want you to get angry, because they know your still going to play it anyways.

And they are right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, but needs some work.

posted by lachancez (LINCOLN, RI) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game a while back and it is great. The campaign is fun and so is spec ops. The online gaming needs some work. Some of the weapons are underpowered while others kill in three shots. Also, not related to the game makers, there are a lot of campers in online. Besides that, the game is pretty good and I recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by xoN3ONox (MANTENO, IL) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the best fps ive ever played. good graphis no lag if you have decent internet conection, tons of weapons, good customization for classes
story was probally the best of any game i've played all around awsome game i recomend owning MW2 (psn - p6im9p)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless Fun is Now Possible!

posted by DouglasC (SUMMERFIELD, OH) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

MW2! It's one of the best shooters you'll ever play. The Storyline is short BUT very good and hard. The Multiplayer is endless fun. You'll have fun trying to reach a high rank BUT there's so many ranks you go all the way to LVL70 Then you can prestige 10 and start over to get 70 different ranks! You can do this 10 times! It's challenging but well worth it.

YES 10/10 That's 100% True!

Rent THIS GAME!

I hope I was helpful! You Will Love This Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by gameboy12 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS GREAT! the graphics are, great the story is great, the online is great!!!!!!!!! its easy to die and that makes it hard! the campain is great the ops are great but hard, the online is very fun (i have MAG its only online play so it has better online but no story!) MW2 is a must get for ps3 owners!!!!!!!!!! BUY OR RENT THIS GAME!!!!
peace out.

ps3 fanboy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A FPS Fan's Dream

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a must have game for those gamers who love online shooters. The sheer amount of guns and online rewards is incredible. The experience is certainly worthwhile.
Offline is great as well, but not as robust as online is. There is a lot of talk about the "No Russian" level where you take part in a terrorist attack on an airport. The level can be skipped if you object to the subject matter. But, this level is the reason for the war between Russia and America that follows. It does not make much sense in real world politics. And no one is playing this game for the storytelling. The rest of the single player campaign is a mess as well. There are several levels were the fictional soldier you play meets an untimely demise. The experience as a whole is very anti-climatic.
The gunplay is the best part of this game. Infinity Ward realizes something about FPS that tends to be forgotten about. Bullets kill! And it does not take many to do the job. Most FPSs give you ammo that does so little damage that you might as well be shooting frozen peas at the enemy. Seriously? It is refreshing to see guns actually be effective at killing the other guy. Gunplay done right. It is about time! This alone is worth buying this game for.
Speaking of guns, the sheer volume of firearms in Modern Warfare 2 is amazing. From rifles to dual wielded SMGs, everyone will find weapons to suit their playing style.
Graphically, Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best looking shooters around. Some of the textures in the scenery falls flat, but the player and weapon models more than make up for it.
The Playstation 3 version suffered from some serious lag when playing online for the first few days after the game's release. Fortunately, the 1.04 patch fixes this and PS3 fans can now enjoy the same quality online experience that XBox 360 owners enjoy.
Ultimately, what holds Modern Warfare 2 from a perfect 10 is the lacklaster single player experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING

posted by WilIrvin (SPRINGFIELD, OH) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I bought this game the day it came out following the Call of Duty franchise. After I played it, I was addicted. I quickly acceled at this easy to play game an in a way, became a force to be recognized with. I love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not just any FPS

posted by zero0385 (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First and formost I'm not a FPS kind of guy, I didnt even buy this game when it first came out just because it was a FPS. The first time I got my hands on it was when my friend brought his x-box over and a bunch of us were taking turns destroying each other. That's when I fell in love with this game. Awesome gameplay plus all the cool things you can do in multiplayer, on and offline. Predetor missiles, airstrikes, harriers, attack choppers, stealth bombers, even a freakin nuke! Now I'll admit the campaign mode is short, cant deny that, but you will spend so much time playing multiplayer online that it will more than make up for the short story. I'm online every night and if you think your man enough my gamer tag is olee85, see you in the fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Plays better than X-Box

posted by ratley21 (LAHAINA, HI) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Great game,lots of fun.Upgrades,accolades,achievements and more.

I have PS3 and XBox 360 and it definetely plays better online than Xbox,faster and smoother with less lag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Modern warfare 2

posted by gamedude11 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game had very high expectations and well they were hit!!! If you are a Call of Duty fan this is a very good buy and if you haven't played any of them yet this is the perfect place to start. There online mode is the best Ive seen it so far this is going to be the best game of the year.

Pros: Graphics, online mode, story mode, spec mode.
Cons: story mode is some what short, but other than that the game is perfect !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2

posted by azsteve197 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Game was excellent, graphics were outstanding but for the money they stand to make on this game it could have been a lot longer....the actual gameplay was only about 6-7hrs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SHORT single player, very repedative multiplayer

posted by TXplayer (LUFKIN, TX) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Pros- Loved the bullet damage, felt more realistic to be able to put an adversary down with 2 or 3 bullets. Many multi player modes to keep you entertained for quite a while. Special ops were a nice feature. Story had some holes but was good. Lots of gear to choose from, the perks and kill streaks is cool.

Cons- Story way too short, nonexistent cover system, online play is almost exclusively run and gun CQC. EVERY location has at least 2 access points, so you can’t hold up anywhere ie. Every room has 2 doors, you can’t watch them both. Seems like they worked on the online part of the game and added the story mode as an after thought.

Controls- straight forward and easy to master

HUD- nicely done and did not block your view, I like the reload message that comes up when you run low on ammo and the way that peoples locations are given away when they fire unsilenced weapons.

Graphics- The graphics were good, you could blow up or at least do damage to just about everything in the game.

Solo/Special ops- The story mode was good, but WAY to short, only has about 6 hours of game play. The missions were interesting, would have been nice to be able to outfit your gear, but you could always try to pick up more desirable weapons from downed enemies. The special ops missions kept me entertained for a while.

Online play- The unlockable weapons and attachments are great, so are the kill streaks and perks. Lack of maps where CQC will not work. Hate the kill cam! (Shows the people you kill your screen). The leveling/ranking system is nice, but the prestige system is lame! Once you reach level 70 you can prestige (start over). You don’t unlock any new weapons, same ones as the first time. The only difference is the first time you prestige it allows you to unlock several new call signs and emblems, each additional prestige gives you just one & a custom slot. So unless you live with your parents, have no job, no relationship and no friends why would start over 10x?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Maps

posted by graydon (WEST JORDAN, UT) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

All I want to say, is they need to come out with some new multiplayer maps, I am getting really sick of playing Karachi ever other round. Come on, seriously. It's not that hard to send out an update.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Single Player a tad short, but Online makes it up.

posted by DarkOne213 (DENVER, CO) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Single player is a tad short, and the storyline is a little bit of confusing. but online play makes it up, New guns, new killing streaks. What some of the other posters who got this game a "1" failed to mention that This online play is a whole a-lot of different than Call of Duty: Modern warfare. Frist off you can decide what you want for your killing streak, of course 25 kill streak without dying includes a "NUKE" Witch makes your team win automatically. I give this game a 9 and will stick with it and I do recommend you buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is great game to keep

posted by BestCOD (TEMPE, AZ) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game have amazing story and best online play ever. The game is kind of short (5hours on hard) but they have more stuff like Special Ops and ulimited multiplayer. I think this game is worth to buy reather than renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is fun

posted by josh01718 (GONZALES, TX) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

this game is fun from ice pick climbing to shredding down a mountain on a snowmobile th pulling a knife out of your leg and throwing it at someone this game was fun and not that frustraiting i just wish this game was longer because i beat the game inone day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty MW2 review

posted by Driver2315 (MOORPARK, CA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

I liked this game a lot. The Campaign was great and the spec ops option was okay. It just did a little bit of the missions from the campaign with the two player option. The Split-screen i really enjoyed, as well did my friends. In Cod4 you had pre-set classes. IN Cod mw2 you get to rank up and do pretty much everything you do online. Online was another thing. I liked playing online, but where there is fun there are killjoys. Like the campers and the designers idea of spawning points. Very annoying. plus when people spawn trap. Overall it is a very fun anad addictive game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lame plot

posted by policeman5 (ROLLING MEADOWS, IL) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I'll start out by saying the graphics are good. That's it, everything else stinks.

Storyline is lame. Seriously, Russia invading the US, what is this 1985. They can't come up with a different plot than that.
Took me 4 hours to beat. I found myself playing it, dying, and not even caring.
I may have ruined it by playing Killzone 2 first, but this game is bad. I can't believe it gets so much hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I love the game play but it's broken.

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave it a 5 out of 10 because of a lot of flaws in this game that is annoying me too much.

Pros:
- Graphics
- Controls
- Maps
- weapons
-Game play

Cons:
- broken weapon balances.
- p2p servers (means if one of your team mates has a bad connection, your whole team may suffer for it . This lag will only affect your team while your enemies team just finds you running in slow motion in one place.
- If your unlucky like me, you get placed into a game that makes you automatically lose because the game is over in 5 seconds and your team is bad.
- If your unlucky, you revive on to claymores, in front of enemy fire, in front of a predator missle, ac 130 fire, harrier strikes, grenades such as that from a grenade launcher, or fragment grenades or semtex grenades, in front of a nuke. Also in front of an enemies knife stab and a whole variety of bad stuff.
- The team balancing system is terrible. (I have fought 1 on 6 team death match a lot and I have won some of these battles but balance was bad, it started with 1 on 6.)
- if your unlucky you revive in front of enemies very often. I revived in front of the same guy 10 times in a row before I decided to place a claymore on the ground to stop his tyranny, I died 1 more time holding the claymore but I had taken him with me. (I got so tired of this I had to stay in a corner and camp to stay alive.)
- Teleporting stabbing is lame.
- enemies sometimes can survive 2 rpgs, 2 grenade launcher 1 fragment grenade, 1 semtex, and 1 AT4 missle and a whole lot of gun fire and stabbings, without having 1 scratch of damage if they have a shield.
- If you have a kill death ratio over 1 than you get placed in bad teams (well that is what happened with me).
- LAG
- head shots sometimes does not register, as well as any other shots.
- You get shot by harriers, etc when you have cold blooded equipped sometimes.
- infinity ward is trash and happy a new group is making the next cod.

This is why this game only gets a 5/10
Originally 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great graphics but really Boring!

posted by gaminsight (RENO, NV) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring game. Graphics is great, but where is the fun? Where is strategy? It's just shooting all the time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Overrated hype.

posted by Alterego (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 30 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I'm not sure where all these 9 and 10 reviews are coming from but this game is overrated as heck in many areas. First lets start with the campaign. Its DUMB and doesn't make a lick of sense. This might be a minor spoiler but any campaign in which the Russian tanks are suddenly para-dropping out of the sky to rampage across American malls in an outlandish sneak attack is amazingly cheesy and idiotic. This kind of campaign and storyline belongs in a Red Alert game not the Call of Duty franchise. In fact this campaign is a franchise killer. You can stick a fork into Modern Warfare after this game because there is no where else to go after you invaded America.

Then there's the multiplayer. Basically the same as CoD 4, been there done that, with a few extremely minor tweaks. On the Xbox 360 this game's peer to peer match making might be fine because there is no better alternative but on the PS 3 there isn't any reason not support dedicated servers. Long story short, Modern Warfare 2's peer to peer match making is incredibly annoying and disruptive. On the PS 3 there's this game called Killzone 2, and it's multiplayer implementation is vastly superior to MW2 in all regards.

On to the graphics...what a yawner. This game simply looks dated. After playing Uncharted 2 and Killzone 2, Modern Warfare 2 is average in comparison.

Overall the devs cranked out Modern Warfare in brief period of a year or so and it showed. They're milking this franchise to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best FPS on PS3

posted by MichaelW (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WOW! This game just about has it all. With the exception of not being able to attach yourself to cover, like you can do in GTA4 and Killzone2, this game has excellent controls. The graphics are amazing - true 1080p. The game runs excellent, and has an interesting storyline. The game is full of twists, so you definitely have to pay attention to the voice over between missions. The storyline is a bit subtle at times, so must pay attention, otherwise you'll find it weak like some folks. With the special ops mode available to play extra missions, plus the original story line, this game is worth buying as you can play it for a very long time. I haven't tested multiplayer out yet though. I bought this game, and it's probably the first time I've not regretted dropping 60$ on a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cod 2

posted by bullshiz (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 24 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

The campaign is a little short, but the online is great of course. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10, because if they would have thought about putting the campaign on a seperate disk, they could have made it longer. THAT would have been a 10!
Us gamers, need to keep the developers aware that they can do better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Modern Warfare 2

posted by lpcrierie (DUNKIRK, MD) Oct 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Personally, I think this is the worst Call of Duty game to be made on the consoles of this date. Even though it may be popular and fun, it's ridiculously unrealistic compared to Modern Warfare 1. I'd only rent it, not buy it, unless realism isn't a big issue for you.

+ Very fun with loads of new concepts as opposed to Modern Warfare 1.
+ Customizable Killstreak rewards.
+ The superb aiming/movement style, interface and ranking system has either been kept or improved from Modern Warfare 1.
+ Bunches of map packs, including favorites from Modern Warfare 1.
+ Still very fun.

- Lowest liked Call of Duty game.
- Very unrealistic. Ex: Heartbeat sensors, Coldblooded perk, etc.
- Somewhat glitchy.
- Still easy for hackers to cheat.
- Made by Infinity Ward, not Treyarch.

Overall Rating: 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse