Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.6

16783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love this game

posted by blackrebel (WILLINGBORO, NJ) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

graphics top notch, plot unbelievably realistic, weapon very nice to use
only dissapointment way too short finished in one day would've been upset if had to pay for it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Call of Duty Vets

posted by belowradar (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

If you wondering if you should take a chance at this game my answer would be a definite yes! IW has taken a lot of time to fix some of the issues that plagued the previous version of MW. It was real easy to take choke points in the maps and basically own a map if you had the right teamwork. The maps now are way bigger and have more buildings in them to force teams to work harder at winning matches.
The leveling system is greatly improved as well. You will constantly be earning XP even if you are dying quite a bit which you will in the beginning while your leveling up your weapons and getting acquinted with the weapons and maps.
The story was the only thing that kept me from giving the game a 10. I think IW was really reaching when whoever wrote the story. The previous games story was plausible but this one was convoluted at best. Seriously, the Russians taking over the White House? Fighting in suburban neighborhoods? What the US Military couldn't stop the Russian planes from flying over the states? Whatever.
Great game and definitely worth picking up if not out right buying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by mkiou2 (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I have to say this is the best game for older kids. with the great graphics awesome guns its amazing.

some bad features are though is the level No Russian which you are a terroist and you kill inocent people in an airport which ithink is unnecassary and a very short gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by Brett123 (CUMMING, GA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

This game beats them all! its action pact in the begging and all the way through COULDNT STOP PLAYING doesnt lay the f bomb so it Ok for minors blood thoughGAME OF THE CENTRY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can't Complain

posted by clev333333 (HOPEDALE, MA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since May 2008

Bullets wizzing by you and you're not sure where they are coming from. Bad guys jumping out at you from every window, door,alley and rooftop. Total confusion. And thats just one mission. The graphics are great. I don't get too concerned with story lines so the ones who complain about it are nit picking. Once a level ends. I'm hammering the start button to get to the next mission. This game has replay written all over it. If your waiting to rent this, I won't be returning my copy anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PHENOMENAL!!!

posted by SpitFire27 (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Most likely the best FPS ever made. The thrill of the game is unlike any other. Seriously. A new standard for the industry. I am making my way through the campaign and can't wait to get started online. Believe the hype...COD 2 is what gamers have been waiting for!! Go get yours!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just plain fun

posted by brakestick (ROANOKE, VA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

If you don't have this game and you like playing online---GET IT--just a total perfect game---it is so good I have it for both systems--PS3 and Xbox 360--the online maps are huge and the graphics are superior--oh and Gamefly still rocks--been with gamefly for a year and a half and no complaints

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All I can say is "WOW"

posted by chrisj211 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1st of all. I NEVER do game reviews. I read them, but this is my first time doing one.

But for this game, I think this one is due.

THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!

The only bad thing is it ended too soon!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COD modern warfare 2

posted by bigmak756 (FOSTER CITY, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

all i can say BEST GAME ever made for co-op and online!!!!!!!!! but the campaign is ok cause its a little to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CALL OF DUTY

posted by dante1143 (MIDLAND, TX) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

OK CAN CUUS BUT , great game great graphics but what dicipointed me the mosts was no terroist zombies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

modern warfare 2

posted by justinrice (MARCELLUS, NY) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

this game is a vary good game the graphics are amazing and it is vary realistic if you have played other call of duty games then you will like this one this one is so much better then the other ones like call of duty world at war that was fun for a while but it gets old i just got the game and it is worth getting so if you like shooting games you will like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!(for real)

posted by GumEbear (BRYANT, AL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

little rocky starting of with the servers but everything else.......Super awsome i never give a perfect score to anything but this definatly has my vote!! online play is perfection, the story mode is even better. 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Someone stop this game I want to get off....

posted by Walcrowe (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

I'm not saying this is a bad thing, but WOW... this game really gets your head spinning.

At times it feels downright claustrophobic... Guns blazing... Bullets whizzing by... Panic sets in... You search for cover!....

I can only play this game for so long until I just have to put the brakes on and jump off... it's THAT realistic.

Again, the sense of being in a firefight is as close as a computer simulation can get... it truly makes you wonder what a combat soldier goes through when out on patrol through the narrow streets of another Country, and gunfire erupts.

Sheer overwhelming panic and confusion. And the game puts you there brilliantly.

By this game, but be forewarned... it's almost too much to handle for long periods of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse