Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

16809 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but TOO SHORT!!!

posted by Mattress (ANCHORAGE, AK) Nov 24, 2009

Member since May 2007

I love all of the Call of Duty games and pretty much any FPS that's realistic in gameplay. The graphics in the latest two installments are amazing. The gameplay is the same as in Modern Warfare and you definitely need to utilize cover as you would in real life. I'm sick of games where people just "Run & Gun". The supposed "controversial" scenes in the game aren't that at all. Those accusations came from people who must live under a rock and aren't aware of what goes on in the world or have a messed up sense of self-entitlement.

BUT, the single version game is definitely TOO SHORT!!! I beat it in one evening and only a few hours, and that was on the hard setting. Infinity needs to be aware that NOT everyone plays games online. Infinity and other manufacturers should maybe make two versions of a game. One with only the single player campaign and the single player Spec Ops extras, and one for online use. That way the single player campaign will justify the cost of the game. But Gamefly is definitely helpful to have for games like this.

If you play online, then I'd say shelling out $59.99 would be worth it. If you don't play online, then you'll be throwing your money away if you buy the game. So in that case, I'd say rental only. I rated the game a 7 because of how short it was. If the single player campaign was longer, I would have given it a 10 for sure. The realism is very good, and the graphics are almost better than real life!! I'm playing on an HD tv & a PS3, so maybe that explains it why the graphics are so good.

Manufacturers should ALL get together and make sure that from now on they hold their games to the standards of Fallout 2 and Assassin's Creed 2 as far as length and depth of a game. Not to mention graphics. I don't see how some companies put out games that are no different than a PS2 game, but that's another subject I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!

posted by Eagles82 (CONWAY, SC) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This is an awesome game! However, it is not for children or those sensitive to violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by snake1987 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

THIS HAS TO BE ONE OF THE BEST GAMES OF THE YEAR. A MUST GET. MOST PEOPLE WILL UNDER RATE THIS GAME SO YOU MIGHT THINK TWICE BEFORE RENTING. BUT GO AHEAD AND GET THIS GAME. WOW IM REALLY IMPRESSED WITH THE GRAPHICS.WOOT WOOT;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by tyler9s (SAINT MARYS, GA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is the best game i have played so far for the PS3. The game play is great. The story line keeps you wanting to play it more. And there are many twist that keep you on the edge of your seat and you never quite know what will happen next. I have yet to playit online do to my slow internet connection but the offline things keep it interesting enough that I can be happy to play this game over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great but...

posted by myotonic (ARCADIA, CA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

great game but the invite system is the biggest drawn back and it will bug you when you die in game trying to accept an invite to a room no longer there. Why infinityward thought this was a good idea is beyond me, RE5 had it and sucked online, SOCOM had it and was the main reason i could never play with friends and ended up wasting my money on buying the game. My loyalty and lack of other good games available is the only reason way i play this still online. I play while waiting for my gamefly rentals to show up, then it's on the backburner.

The worst part is no zombies when before launch they stated they would have it but i guess they just needed money and cut it out making us buy an incomplete game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by EdMgOd (CHULUOTA, FL) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

this game is incredible!!!!great graphics and very modern.if you play this game, you will love it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great

posted by Notourios (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

But too short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Nice Follow up!

posted by Biggraddy (SHERRODSVILLE, OH) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Played and finished the campaign it was short but overall I thought it was pretty cool. I have not done much online play yet but from what i experienced the possiblities are endless and im sure the fun will go on for hours and hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Red Dawn

posted by fsaral77 (PLANTATION, FL) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

This is the game to play...period. War simulators like these are far and few. A superb play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gret game

posted by vw86gti (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game is so awsome. i was at my friends house when i played this game it is awsome but the only suckey part of it is that he campain is too short but other than that it is awsome
IT IS A GAME TO BUY FOR DEFIITLEY so what are you wating for put it in your game Q!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great FPS

posted by Redsock76 (BUFFALO, NY) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Looks great, plays great. Short campaign but intense firefights. Play CO-OP with friends because the AI is terrible and WILL get you killed. Huge selection of weapons, although they seemed to be the same after a while. Worthy sequel, although no WOW moments like Mod War 1. Still a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by superstar8 (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game is so fun. THe campaign mode is awesome. If you liked the first one this one is ten times better. Also online mode is fun but you have to level up to get more gameplay. The spec ops game is fun for split screen multiplayer, it is like naz! zombies on waw but more games and more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best cod ever but 1 problem

posted by platinum12 (manchester, NH) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1st it dose not let people join special ops inless on your friend list that my only problem i am on ps3 sourdeisel add me if u have this problem we will knock it out togetter everything else GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Duty Mordern Warfare 2

posted by mblocker (TAYLORS, SC) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I would like to say that my rating for this game is for the story mode which I thought was great.The only thing is it's short so if you are someone into online play this game would be for you otherwise just rent it.............Big Blocker#1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow CoD: MW2 is a awesome game

posted by RickxJames (EASTABOGA, AL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I decieded not to buy this game because of the issues with dedicated servers for PC so I rented it at gamefly and was VERY impressed.

The single player campain is AMAZING.

The attention to detail is great the gfx is stunning and it plays like you would figure it would be in real life.

The AI is much smarter then in the previous versions and they accually fight like people would " in most cases ".

The Multi-player is a bit sketchy because of massive lag spikes + host disconnection but if you get a lag free game with a decent host it turns into one heck of a experience.

Being a PC player I thought the auto aim feture was going to be over powered but its not that bad.

This is by far one of the best games I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by 7B1555 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The story mode is a little short, but graphics, gameplay, story line, and weapons more than makes up for it. Also, the Special Ops stuff is not only challenging, but every bit as good as the rest of the game.

If you liked the first one, this one is definitely worth a go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little something for everyone

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

This game is great. As all of the other reviews have stated, it is non stop action from beginning to end. If you can follow the story, you will have some sort of emotional reaction to some of the scenes/levels. I could not rate this game higher than an 8 though simply because of the short campaign. Yes, I understand that online is where the action is, and if I could rate this game strictly on multi player, it would get a 9.8 (no dedicated servers for any platform).
Multi player has so much stuff to unlock that at times it seems a bit overwhelming. I mean that in a good way. You can upgrade your primary weapons, your secondary weapons, your perks, your emblems and your title picture. Possible SPOILER?!? You are finally able to equip more than one attachment to your weapons with the "Bling" perk
END SPOILER: Spec ops mode, the co-op portion, is a blast if you have a buddy with whom you communicate well with. Trying to get all of the 3 gold stars will have you playing longer than you normally would.
The audio in this game is amazing.
I am also happy to report that the grenade spamming is no more. No more 3x grenade perk, so you will not be hearing grenades exploding for the first 2 minutes of the match.
All in all this is a fantastic game that you should at least give a try. If you only like co-op, they've got you covered, if you only like single player, again, they've got you covered. (All be it short) And if you love online competitive matches, then they have definitely got you covered there.

Play the game for yourself and make up your own mind.
These are just my opinions and observations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but way too short

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Now I loved this game's single player, but it took me only 4 and half hours to beat it. That is just way too short for a $60 game. Luckily this is COD so the multiplayer the one of the best that the consoles have to offer. The spec ops are sort of useless, but a nice idea.

Also the airplance seems a little too disturbing for this type of game, but I do like the idea of a game being used a serious media.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Coulda Been a 10!!!

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

OK, don't get me wrong, this game is awesome!! The graphics are great, the weapons are great, and the storyline is great, but there are a few things that still need improvement.

The single player campaign is hurried in some places and very short. I know this game gets its hype from the online play, but I don't do online, so I guess I don't matter. I'm sure if they would put the online maps and such on a seperate disk, it would have been much better.

Also, my favorite parts of these games is when you get to control stuff like the UAV or the gunship fire, there was entirely not enough of this stuff this time. In the campaign, you get to control a UAV and some missles at one point, thats it!! I would have loved some extra missions where all you do is fire from a gunship or used missles. The graphics are super realistic and its awesome, but it was cut way short this time.

But the ending definately let you know that there was going to be another one, so maybe they will get it right the next time. So I would definately say rent this one, if you get it in the mail on a Friday, you will be sending it back on Monday because it is that short. As a matter of fact, I sat down on a Sunday evening at 5 and had it beat easily by 10, just to let you know. With these kinda graphics and storyline, I could have kept this game for a long time and still would not have been bored, but all good things must come to an end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Does it live up to the hype?

posted by VILAKH (BELLINGHAM, MA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Graphics and sound are amazing, some of the best out there. The musical score was moving, and fit the mood of each particular mission. Each of the main story characters have fairly shallow personalities, less so than the first installment of Modern Warfare (MW1). I found myself less moved at some of the more climactic scenes, but that may be because while they are well-executed and fantastic, they come off as being rehashed from the first game. Then again, if you have a formula that works, stick with it... right?

The controls, in my opinion, were spot-on. I had absolutely no trouble moving, aiming, switching weapons et cetera. The mission types are varied enough to keep a fluid pace and remain interesting and engaging, though this was somewhat hampered by a confusing plot...

The story was over the top, to say the least. It was a little tricky to follow, but mostly I found myself wondering why exactly there was such an all-out war going on. Without giving away key plot elements -the situation presented, realistically, could very well have been averted with diplomacy. There were some events perpetrated by certain characters which left me scratching my head, or seemed outright implausible. The so-called "controversial" mission was not done in poor taste and fit the story, but it was overdone and your character's motivation and subsequent actions seem highly unlikely. MW1's story was more coherent. Then again, it's just a game... right?

There is a co-op mode called "Spec-Ops" which is a complete success. This may very well be the mode most remembered from this installment. I have nothing negative to say about it.

Running out of space so I'll just say that multi-player is decent, nothing really new from MW1.

All said, I played through the single player campaign three times, and had an absolute blast! These criticisms (& those lodged by others) can be largely dismissed for the fact that this game is well produced and at the end of the day it is outright FUN. GET IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by tsayani (RICHMOND, TX) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

The Infinity Wards gets another standing oviation for another masterpiece. Just when we thought Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare couldnt be topped by another COD. We have it COD:ModWa2 is just simply awesome from the snowy backdrop to the amazing aiport massacre the game is simply amazing. The game as most COD's is short in the one player campign but for all those non online gamers theres a special ops section which is well worth the price of admission. The story line is very far fetched but hey the action rocks!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth it...heck yes!

posted by Sutherland (ELK CREEK, VA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

A sequel should always surpass the original and not just in graphics(and MW2 more than surpasses the originals graphics). It should take the original and improve on all the things you liked, leave out all the junk you didn't, and even add some new twists to the old formula. Does Modern Warfare 2 do this? Well probably not for everybody but for most of us Modern Warfare 2 delivers in spades.

The first thing you will notice is how this MW is broken into to three separate parts: Spec Ops, Campaign, and Multi-Player. Spec Ops is the new addition on the block and allows you to play missions with one other person either online or split screen. It works great and is an awesome addition to the series.

Multi-Player is greatly improved with a new perk system and killstreak rewards. Bigger maps and better graphics work well with the new killstreak awards. All the same game types return with a few new ones but since I am a free for all, team deathmatch, and hardcore team deathmatch, I really couldn't tell you about them.

Campaign is the reason I gave this game a 9 instead of a 10. The gameplay is spot on but the story is a step down from the first Modern Warfare. It just doesn't make much sense and is completely lacking in any sort of realism. But I didn't buy this game to play the story mode so I am not too disappointed.

Don't bother renting this game just go out and buy it as soon as you can. The improvements in multi-player and especially the all new spec ops make this game a must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

20 out of 10

posted by darkloads9 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

What can i say, third person multiplayer, great story line, new guns plus sick attacments. The graphics have been tightened up a little bit more this time around. Spec ops is great. When i first took a look at the trailer i was blown away but not sure cause alot of games had unbelivable trailers but werent good. But i have COD4 and i knew this game had to be just as good or better. But it blew my mind. Especially when i saw you can upgrade your perks. Theres even a perk that makes deathstreak 1 less. Oh yea, almost forgot about deathstreaks. You can custmozie your killstreak and theres a new deathstreak. 20 new guns, new perks as well as the great old ones. new and improved graphics. If you dont get this game it is a shame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game just got done with the campaign!

posted by Kazmerez (SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

At first playing through the campaign i was a little dissapointed. I felt so overwhelmed with the chaos i felt like i couldnt peek my head out or it would get blown off it was way too much for me to take in for a second. As i warmed up to the new physics of the game it started to be alot more fun. The story line is a bit confusing at first but it does come together at the end brilliantly! I was pumped up when it was over but yet again i must say it was way too short i beat it in one night. Graphics are right up there with the best games out gameplay is bar none. Some people say its not worth buying but everyone knows that COD MW2 is about the online multiplayer 1st if you have played it you know what i mean its just non stop fun action with friends. And the new spec ops missions are also alot of fun to play together. IF you have one FPS game your lookin at buying this is ur game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Great but i would definatly recommend playing on a high def. TV graphics are so amazing story is great and online was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse