Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

16807 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Modern Warfare 2

posted by boomnut2 (GARDNER, MA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 2 is a great game.The campaign is amazing and online play is even better.I like how most of the charecters from Modern Warfarecome back,not gonna say who though.The gameplay is great and the graphics are also great.Well that was review hope you get it on your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Modern Warfare 2: Groundbreaking excellence

posted by bluescholar11 (DENVER, CO) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 2 excels past the standards of the Call of Duty games by miles. No matter what you go to in the title screen, whether campaign, multiplayer, or spec ops, MW2 delivers fully. Spec Ops, which is a new aspect in the series, features you (and possibly one of your pals) using your co operative skills to take down enemies, guard a certain area, or rescue hostages in an allotted time or restriction, scoring you with 1 to 3 stars. it's a challenge, but certainly a fun one to go for the gold (and achievement) of receiving 3 stars for every objective. Multiplayer delivers fantastically with a new game mode called demolition and brand new, modern-era weapons. Callsigns and titles have also been added as a new feature. With 10 prestiges, and 70 levels for each one, this aspect of MW2 will keep you intrigued for months and months of non-stop play. The campaign also has you enticed with 7-12 hours of twisting plot, betrayal, and cool characters. You will step into multiple shoes during the campaign, but mainly as Roach, a member of Task Force 141, based on a real CIA Operative Group. Filled with never ending action, and non stop fun, Modern Warfare 2 is groundbreaking, endlessly fun, horribly addicting, and like sugar for any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best cod game yet

posted by shadmanscofield (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Modern Warfare 2 is great the graphics are the best great story. online is awesome. when your playing you feel like your a real soldier. Modern Warfare 2 A Must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is the best

posted by jakob1 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Call of duty modern warfair 2 is the best game of all time i love it also the no russien mission.If you like multi player games this game will blow you away.I rate this game a 10 out of 10 because I have talked to a lot of gamers and thay seid this game was a game thay will remember.If you get this game from gamefly you will expirience the first person shooter game of your LIFE!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Game

posted by Guga2001 (WATERBURY, CT) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I absoulutely love this game! The multiplayer is great, the campaign is short but awsome, and the graphics are brilliant! I totally reccomend this game for rent if you don't like multiplayer because if you buy it then you'll finish the campaign in abot 5-7 hours. But if your a online lover, then go ahead and buy it! Score totals
Graphics:10
Multiplayer:9
Campaign:9

Total:10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hard

posted by rjl1999 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is so kool and hard. the game is me and my dad favrote game ever. this game is better then all of the navy sely games. when thoughs games can out my dad didn't let me play. now that the call of duty games can out i don't let him play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

never too tierd

posted by allage (ROCKVILLE, MD) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

you know im a commited gamer and ive only seen a game like modern warfare 2 maybe once or twice in a pirod of 2 years which makes it very unique, but over all this is my opinion:

graphics: 8/10
storyline: 7/10
backround interaction: 7/10
intensity: 9/10
blood:6/10
vegitation andenviornment:10/10
contrast:9/10
verioty:10/10

overall:9/10

this is the most addictive game ive played in a while and if you play the game you wont want to put it down even after you beat the single player. warning you need alot of time on youre hands to even consider playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A piece of Genious

posted by vic124 (PENFIELD, PA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Infintry ward has outdown themselves with this game. This game has to be better that the original. yet it didn't become as popular.
This game is a piece of gaming history along with halo and zelda, this game is a legend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!

posted by 389561 (PISCATAWAY, NJ) Nov 8, 2010

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game! The perks, attachments, guns, courses, story line, and every other thing was so awesome! If you have a bone to pick with this game, may you die beside the devil!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING GAME AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by yurhed (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

IT'S AWESOME WHAT I LIKE IS THERE TONS OF GUNS ITS AMAZING I LOVE IT MULTIPLAYER IS UNBELIVABLE ONLINE STILL HAS TONS OF PLAYERS MISSIONS ARE FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME OF MANKIND

posted by 79972010 (PONCE DE LEON, FL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are perfect the campaign is perfect the online mode is perfect the multiplayer is perfect the spec ops is perfect it's the most perfect game of all time.I personally thought it was perfect it's one of those rare perfect games.Add me my online username is ThEPrOtOTyPe7997 or ThEPrOtOtYpE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Blootrk (LEANDER, TX) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mw2 is the most action filled first person shooter I have ever played and has one of the best multiplayer experiences I've played I recommend this game to all first person video game players

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by gogocats (OWENSBORO, KY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is overall the best game ive ever played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER in multiplayer mainly

posted by Ez1172 (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This has the best graphics and what am i saying best game EVER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My first Call of Duty game and I'm already hooked!

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game was incredibly fun. I have never played a Call of Duty game before this one and I cannot believe that I have been missing so unbelievably much.

This game picks up where the other game left off, going into the future of five years. You take up the role of a total of four characters.
-PFC. Joseph Allen: U.S. Army Ranger Turned C.I.A. agent.
-Sgt. Gary "Roach" Sanderson: 141 Task Force.
-Pvt. James Ramirez: U.S. Army Ranger.
-Cpt. Soap MacTavish: 141 Task Force.
You must constantly switch between these characters in the campaign mode. They all contribute to the same cause, only in different parts of the country.

Now you just have to do a little bit under twenty minutes. It doesn't matter when you play because every game is incredibly fun and full of action. I'm not sure about this claim since I've never played Call of Duty before, but I'm pretty sure that's what all Call of Duty games are like.

These are some of my favorite features:
-The heartbeat sensor: an attachable radar to your rifles which is very useful for the stealth part of missions. They had great action sequences, including the use of vehicles and manned heavy artillery.
-Throwing back grenades, exept when it kills you.
-The Predator: an airborn drone that allows you to launch remote contrrolled missiles into heavy artillery vehichles and large amounts of infantry.

My favorite part of the whole game had to be the ending. I won't spoil the ending, but it is very epic. The whole entire vibe and feeling that the last mission gives off gives you an incredible feeling to just keep going.

I'm gonna have to play the first game of Modern Warfare. I hope it's just as fun as this game. I'm looking forward to a good time with a series I have obiously been missing out greatly on. I would recomend this game greatly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MW 2 - The Best Next Gen FPS

posted by Styes4671 (METAIRIE, LA) Nov 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

129 out of 160 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I pre ordered my copy of MW 2 thinking it would be good, not amazing like a lot of people hyped it up to be, but I'm surprised to say that this game is a big improvement from the first. Now I'll start off by saying I'm not a FPS kind of guy, so I wasn't into all the hype. I only pre ordered because all my friends were getting it. The big difference between this and the first is that the single player is greatly improved. It has a more "epic" feel to it, which is great for a war game. The so called controversial level that's been getting some attention is really powerful. However, it does feel short as I was able to finish the game in about 6 - 7 (minor breaks included) hours on normal. Now, not shockingly, the multiplayer is great. Everyone knows CoD online is great, and I don't need to tell you that it is great. There are some minor improvements that makes everything feel more balanced, but overall it's still good ole CoD. For any CoD fan this game is a must buy and for those one or two of you that haven't played CoD, might as well start here because this game is great, and is a definite GOTY contender.

Pro's:
- Fantastic gameplay
- Powerful campaign
- The online is in a class of its own
- Great visuals

Con's:
- Campaign is a tad short.

Overall Score: 9.4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games period!

posted by Slayer123 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I loved playing this game! I served in the Marines during Operation Iraqi Freedom, and I felt like I was almost back in the fight when playing this game! I loved this game so much that I completed the whole thing in under 9 hours! Too bad most of the game play was Army though! That was my only complaint!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Modern Warfare 2

posted by durpington (BOCA RATON, FL) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game WAS amazing. The campaign is good and solid, a little short though. But people don't buy Call of Duty games for single player. The Spec Ops are a good way to test co-op abilities. The online gameplay was fun for the first two weeks. I say that because people ruined it. The online is full of glitches that people will continue to exploit. There may be no major glitches now, but if you wait about another month there will be a lot more glitches. The modders also ruined it. You would think that IW would have a little bit more common sense after putting single-fire weapons in Call of Duty 4. People will use modded controllers for the FAL, or use mods to help them aim. I've been tracked through walls and across the map before. The unbalanced power of the guns also ruins it. The UMP 45 and the TAR-21 are the most overpowered guns in the game, and just when you think you have a way to counter them, they will end up drop shotting you. If you're a looking for a good FPS, may I recommend Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Its much better online with map size and balanced power of weapons.

Single Player: 8

Spec Ops: 7

Online Multiplayer: 3

Overall: 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you're not a multiplayer, get something else

posted by nmquinn (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is very heavy on the multiplayer. I would say over half the playable material here is multiplayer. Some may love that but for others like me, single player story is the main reason for playing a game. I would say that as far as experience goes, Modern Warfare 2's single player is fantastic. Packed with high action and astounding visuals. But its like a roller coaster, and I don't mean up and down. I mean you wait in line for 2 hours of anticipation only to have a couple minutes of thrill. I'm a slow game player, always looking around and exploring all I can. I beat this campaign in 5 hours. That's pathetic and in my opinion a complete rip off for us single players. Uncharted 2 (which had a very extensive multiplayer not that far off from the multiplayer offered here) took me 10 hours to beat. Double the experience for the same cost. No brainer there.

Final verdict: Great game. way way way too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty MW2 / IW drops a scorcher of a game

posted by moneygun2 (WINTER PARK, FL) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

25 out of 38 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Guys here is the bottom line if you want a balls out, intense, frantic, tight as a drum shooter there is nothing I repeat nothing as good as infinity wards call of duty. Don't get me wrong treyarch does nice work but IW are masters of the craft. Lets jump right in shall we. Single player, this is a gut punch. Your pushing and fighting with ever ounce of your being. The way IW have now honed there skill to blend your scripted moment (i.e. building collapse, jet fighter bombing) is now so silky smooth that you will only truly appreciate the incredible set pieces on your second play through. The sp is a roller coaster alas it last just as long as one. But disappointment will be hard to find here.

Now, multiplayer. COD 4 evolved need anymore be said at all. No because this is definitive. At the end of the day there is now COD MW 2 and Killzone 2 as our generations definitive FPS's.

Spec Ops, this is the new mode with two players completing incredible intense of what you could call micro missions, but some of them stretch well into the 20 min territory but for a great rush you cant beat you and your bud 400 miles away as he brings the rain from an AC-130 gunship while your on foot dipping and dodging enemy's as you cut through his 1000 pound bombs being dropped. Bliss. Pure bliss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a must have

posted by Wicked9mm (MARSHALL, MI) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Wow is what needs to be said for this game
The maps alone are larger with lots of places to hide as a sniper and alot of area for ambushes.You will find alot of things to make explode and cause chaos.
The perks are great, so many combos that it offers a creative edge to this game.
Theres alot of badges and challenges as well as a higher level cap.
And of course the guns! The guns will make sure you have the firepower to deal alot of damage and keep the game moving.
So with that being said get your headset grab an energy drink and explore the game theres alot more to it then I mentioned but hey why ruin the wow factor for every one.
See you on the field !
I wouldnt recomend this game for smaller kids as some of the depictions are a bit rough !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Why all the hype??

posted by TattedSoul (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

The sole purpose I rented this was the Muliplayer. I wanted to check it out to see what the hype was all about and play with most of my friends that have it. I was extremely happy when I saw this was being delivered since I have had that in the top 3 for months and it was always unavailable. I got the game and immediately went into the multi-player. I have to say I am really disappointed..I feel like I wasted a rental. People constantly are using grenade launchers..if you are like me you understand how this can be frustrating and annoying. Amazed how many times I got killed and there was no kill cam..ya there is cheaters in this game. The game plays more like an arcade shooter...which is not to my liking either. I am more of a fan of games like BFBC2 and MAG(although both have their own issues also). I honestly don't know what all the hype is about. This is definitely not the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

one of the worst sequals in history

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i have been a fan of call of duty for a long time back before most people recognized the series as being a WW2 shooter. but unlike most hardcore fans i embraced the idea of modern warfare and COD4 is still on of my absolute favorite shooters, heck i even enjoyed World at War! but when this game was announced i was so excited, all they had to do was keep everything the same, make the game look better, icrease the length of the campain, make more fair changes to the multiplayer and there you go! when i beat this game and played the heck out of the multiplayer i was dissapointed to find that the graphics were the only improvement. the campain even on veteren doesent feel as long or as engaging as the first MW campain, the story sucked, the ending was just a tippicle cliffhanger, no accomplishment, the only thing improved were the increased arsenal, better setpeices.....and that is it. no arcade mode, no cheats, no replay value. the co-op is ok but it isnt the best out their and it isnt even close to World At War's co-op. finally we have the multiplayer......WHAT ON EARTH WERE YOU THINKING INFINITY WARD!?!?!?!!?!??? just go on youtube and look at the examples! there are super speed commandoes, lag cheating, private match cheating, javelin glitch, dual weilding SHOTGUNS, insane killstreaks, over exagerated damage, DEATHSTREAKS (?????), and all this encourages people to camp more than any other shooter in history. there are more glitches that i havent covered, but i dont want to waste the rest of this review. rest assured that the multiplayer is the worst aspect of this slopy excuse for a sequal (14.99 for 3 maps from COD4?!?!?!?!?!?). if you can put up with this game than you must be one determined gamer. this is the first game that i have played that is definetly more overrated then HALO 3. at least that game was fun and had good online play. this game is just a bland broken uneeded sequal, and i hope to god that black ops and MW3 will be better than this piece of......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still A Great Game, Even with Black Ops Out

posted by BeauTaylor (WOODSTOCK, GA) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest; even with Black Ops being out for some time now I still find myself placing this game right back in the PS3, and here's why: THIS is the Call of Duty that has essentially set my standards for all others, even if you are not a fan of online matches.

First off the rip, the solo play just runs smoothly. Of course it takes a few minutes when you have to go through the classic instructions of "this is a gun, here's the trigger, and don't blow your toe off". But after you get pass the Pit that gauges what your playing difficulty should be, you get thrown right into the heat of it all. And my focus never diverted from beginning to end. Solid weaponry and the many attachments found throughout the game made the progress more enjoyable and even challenging at a few occasions.

Now when you finish with the solo play, the Spec Ops is the next little platter to dine on. All the stages (except for the drawbridge) are based off of previous missions in MW2 and its prequel, and can all be done with a friend either online or split screen. And as they progress, they will give your reflexes and trigger fingers a serious challenge.

And last but not least, the multiplayer. You love it, you hate it...I adore it. And yes, you will always have your campers and griefs, but from having an under-barrel grenade launcher to C4 to RPGs, and a vast array of killstreaks and perks, you have no end of bringing people of all ages the same misery they try bringing to you. And with the right people and a good strategy, the multiplayer function of Modern Warfare 2 will bring you ENDLESS hours of enjoyment.

Because let's be fair, who doesn't enjoy everyone running for their lives when you hit that 11 kill streak and you hear proclaimed over the radio, "friendly AC-130 is in the air"?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Maliss (EL CAJON, CA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Very rarely will I ever say this....
This was the perfect game. It has an AMAZING campaign story with incredible story telling and interactivity. It's so beautiful. I really can't express it enough. I won't go into detail about the missions just expect nothing less then to be blown the frick away by each mission. With even a training mission that warrants multiple replay, this game can be played over and over and over again JUST in single player.
Multiplayer is the same as the original just a little more fast paced with more rewards and such. But still loads of fun.
The new Spec Ops mode is brilliant. It's full co-op with all kinds of variety from snow mobile races to sniper missions and so on and so forth. It's intense.
But after finishing the story I can't wait to jump back in and do it all over again. I can't wait to feel the thrill, shock, fear, and massive adrenaline rush of each mission and each plot twist to encounter. The first story was great but not as personable as this one.
I love this game and I am for sure keeping this title for myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse