Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.6

16806 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So many hackers, so little time.

posted by Johny2x4 (GRETNA, NE) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Multiplayer is ruined by all the hackers, I don't care for single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

P.O.S Game

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) May 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

P.O.S Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WROST GAME EVER

posted by Sunami (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game is horrible black ops is way better map sucks gun sucks to many camping snipers everything about this hame is horrible just like my grammer cuz i dont care about spelling correctly just like the creators of mw2 didnt care about this game they just made it in a day or so i almost broke the disk cuz i couldnt seem to get it out my system fast enough i played this game for 10 mins and its horrible im mad i even rented it i rated this a 1 to bad they didnt have negetive ratings. wrost game ive ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game...I think???

posted by Jeff2178 (HASKELL, NJ) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My PS3 would not play the game...the registration of trophies could not complete, so it quits on me....remember the good old days when a game didn't work, you took it out and blew on it...ahhh, best of times...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

freezing in the ps3

posted by arock_roll94 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

every time I play mw2 it freezis on me its boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mwf2

posted by digibengee (ARLINGTON, TX) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

bad game disappointing first one better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game kept randomly freezing

posted by billstuff1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

My son says other friends really like this game, but the copy we received was damaged. It didn't have scratches on it and looked to be in good condition, but it kept randomly freezing. Our other games are fine on our Playstation so it's not our game system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MODERN FANTANSY

posted by allenc21 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

mw2. this is not a war game it is fantasy. but i like the tar21 with a silencer. if the tar21 was not in the game i would not play it . o think that the perks are pretty BAD. like danger dagger mann, or commander pro. ALL THE PEOPLE DO IS NOOB TUBE AND USE one manner army ,mannnn. and the campaighn is too much show offs mannn!!!!!!!!!! i hate shepard MANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Experience

posted by Wrothgar (MANSFIELD, OH) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for the PS3 because I use to own it on the 360, but sold it because hackers ruined the experience of playing it online. I figured I'd try it again on the PS3 thinking that it wouldn't be hacked. I was wrong. Very very wrong. If anything it's 100 times worse to play online with the PS3 version than playing it on the 360.

I played 4 matches online and 3 of them had at least 1 person hacking the game. One person was flying around the map. Another used a sniper rifle like a machine gun with unlimited bullets and health. And in another match someone was made out of rubber because every time you shot him you bounced back either against a wall or off the roof of a building.

My recommendation is to NEVER rent this if you enjoy playing online. The single player experience is good, but the multiplayer is garbage. Do yourself a favor and rent Black Ops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of duty:modern warfare2

posted by kidkid2k11 (SPARTANBURG, SC) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

it would not work so i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Map Packs, Need bigger maps

posted by Zeddecus (KEYPORT, NJ) Jul 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is the first shooter game I've bought and played. All in all a good game. Fun. The map packs were a complete rip off though. Sorry, the new maps all sucked. Badly. Way too much caca crammed into the boards and way too small.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hate MW2

posted by PS3Rulz (RIPLEY, TN) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Just got into FPS and I have to say this game sucks. BBC2 is much better. I mean tactical nukes that is so slow. You play online with people who get in choppers and get 25 kill streak and then nuke everyone and the game is over. If you want realism BBC2 is the choice to make.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I love the game play but it's broken.

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave it a 5 out of 10 because of a lot of flaws in this game that is annoying me too much.

Pros:
- Graphics
- Controls
- Maps
- weapons
-Game play

Cons:
- broken weapon balances.
- p2p servers (means if one of your team mates has a bad connection, your whole team may suffer for it . This lag will only affect your team while your enemies team just finds you running in slow motion in one place.
- If your unlucky like me, you get placed into a game that makes you automatically lose because the game is over in 5 seconds and your team is bad.
- If your unlucky, you revive on to claymores, in front of enemy fire, in front of a predator missle, ac 130 fire, harrier strikes, grenades such as that from a grenade launcher, or fragment grenades or semtex grenades, in front of a nuke. Also in front of an enemies knife stab and a whole variety of bad stuff.
- The team balancing system is terrible. (I have fought 1 on 6 team death match a lot and I have won some of these battles but balance was bad, it started with 1 on 6.)
- if your unlucky you revive in front of enemies very often. I revived in front of the same guy 10 times in a row before I decided to place a claymore on the ground to stop his tyranny, I died 1 more time holding the claymore but I had taken him with me. (I got so tired of this I had to stay in a corner and camp to stay alive.)
- Teleporting stabbing is lame.
- enemies sometimes can survive 2 rpgs, 2 grenade launcher 1 fragment grenade, 1 semtex, and 1 AT4 missle and a whole lot of gun fire and stabbings, without having 1 scratch of damage if they have a shield.
- If you have a kill death ratio over 1 than you get placed in bad teams (well that is what happened with me).
- LAG
- head shots sometimes does not register, as well as any other shots.
- You get shot by harriers, etc when you have cold blooded equipped sometimes.
- infinity ward is trash and happy a new group is making the next cod.

This is why this game only gets a 5/10
Originally 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FPS

posted by LimaZulu (LOUDON, TN) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

The Socom Navy Seals series from Zipper beats any shooter game hands down....plus gives u the option of 3rd person. People talk about 'being real' lol, these are games and if u think u'll take 5 shots from an ak-47 and run to someone who will patch u up to 100% health...ur a taard. 3rd person rocks...peroid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Shooter Ever

posted by owl2566 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is completely horrible, the multiplayer mode is so repetitive and addicting that its not even fun, the story mode is only 5 hours long and its not one of those games that makes you want to play it over and over (i.e. Dantes Inferno, God of War III, Dragon Age Origins) and some people may like the special ops mode but i still think that you can beat the game with special ops within 8 hours... some people may also like the multiplayer well this people probably have no lives at all if you're going to play a shooter play something good(i.e. Bad Company 2, <M.A.G>, or Killzone 2,) So for all you no lives out there who think my review is full of lies, try Bad Company 2 and you will enjoy the multiplayer waaaaaaay more than Modern Warfare 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Multiplayer Review

posted by finalcal (ROCKVILLE, MD) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Stick with the first MW for multiplayer.

The killstreaks in MW2 are broken. Players on the same team can have multiple aircraft in action at once, making life terrible if you don't have Cold Blooded.

Can't say I'm buying any more CoDs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game sucks

posted by boxybrown (ODESSA, TX) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

compared to mag or the pc version of this game the ps3 and 360 are pathetic attempts to make more money of the 12 person per map . War is not a six on six paintball match cause thats what this games is the pc version can support up to 25 pp per team wich is pathetic mag 256 is the way to go hopefully every one with a ps3 will get that game they would see why the have been ripped off by this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty MW2 review

posted by Driver2315 (MOORPARK, CA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

I liked this game a lot. The Campaign was great and the spec ops option was okay. It just did a little bit of the missions from the campaign with the two player option. The Split-screen i really enjoyed, as well did my friends. In Cod4 you had pre-set classes. IN Cod mw2 you get to rank up and do pretty much everything you do online. Online was another thing. I liked playing online, but where there is fun there are killjoys. Like the campers and the designers idea of spawning points. Very annoying. plus when people spawn trap. Overall it is a very fun anad addictive game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Morally wrong

posted by Jonypinga (RADCLIFF, KY) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 38 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

I have played thoundands of video games in my life time but never have I been asked to shoot charecters in the game that weren't doing anything against me.

There is a mission in this game where you are part of a secret organization and for some reason you have to kill everyone in a shopping center. This made no sence to me and held no relevence to the game. I am not one of those people that thinks video games are corrupting our youth, but this was just wrong. It made me not want to play the game any further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Modern Warfare 1.000001

posted by Newell2511 (AYDEN, NC) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game had good graphics like the first one. It had a good story like the first one. It also has a good multiplayer mode just like the first one. That's everything that is wrong with this game... it is just like the first one. We waited two years since modern warfare two to get a new game and we get a four hour story that could have been released in downloadable content. Don't get me wrong, the story is captivating and amazing but the developers didn't do anything with this one that they couldn't have done with the first one.

In my opinion this game is not worth the 49.99 keep it price if you receive a brand new copy. It is not worth 29.99. Just rent the game, play it a little and get your four hour amusement out of the story and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

COD: MW2 is not so MODERN at all.

posted by BelieveME (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 39 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I think in my opinion, this is game is a disappointment. First, the campaign is too short, story doesn't make sense and graphics is similar to COD: MW. Second, the online doesn't offer any revolutionary modes. It's the same thing as the first one and the only difference is more maps. I'm glad I didn't buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ok Game but many problems

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

First Problem I will address is the fros and or blood all over the screen making it Impossible at times to see. I am just going to guess and say that the Person You are playing wears a see thru mask that allows the Blood and frost to build up on it. The problem with that is that it makes it really hard to see things. Second major problem i have is the Lack of anyway to know where you are and where your supposed to go, Seems like the enemy always knows where you are exactly so they also know how to get to a spot where you cant see them but they can see you perfectly and thier shots are 1000000% accurate Out of 50 Bullets they shot 50 of them hit you they never miss. On the other Hand even if your are shooting the enemy from point blkank range out 0f 50 shots 5 might hit them. I dont know how this game got so high of ratings unless every Fan Boy of this series gave it a 10 rating. This Game is just not that good thats why i gave it a More Realistic rating of 5 it is Fair but nothing better then that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Great graphics but really Boring!

posted by gaminsight (RENO, NV) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring game. Graphics is great, but where is the fun? Where is strategy? It's just shooting all the time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lame plot

posted by policeman5 (ROLLING MEADOWS, IL) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I'll start out by saying the graphics are good. That's it, everything else stinks.

Storyline is lame. Seriously, Russia invading the US, what is this 1985. They can't come up with a different plot than that.
Took me 4 hours to beat. I found myself playing it, dying, and not even caring.
I may have ruined it by playing Killzone 2 first, but this game is bad. I can't believe it gets so much hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Modern WarUnfare 2 ps3

posted by br0ther06 (LIMA, OH) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Well its obvious the score of this game is misleading, to say this game is an 8 says the scale must be out of 50.

If you enjoy glitches and cheats, constantly losing connection with your friends, playing the same maps over and over, and the fact that you can shoot a player with any weapon to only get stabbed by them. THEN THIS GAME IS FOR YOU Infinity Ward has layed an egg the game is playable but only because your entire friends list has it, and likely had it since its release. It seems that this game was released a year too soon or maybe they should have demo'ed the game to get the bugs and glitches worked out.

You got other options check out MAG or Battlefield Bad Company you'll be happy you escaped the anger that MW2 provides

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse