Rent Call of Duty: Modern Warfare - Reflex for Wii
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare - Reflex

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

2596 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by SKeeZyMLG (FAYETTE, IA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

36 out of 39 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

i Think treyarch did a very good job porting this game over to the wii. It is basically exactly the same cod4mw for the the HD consoles. You sacrifice a bit of the graphics but thats to be expected, but it still has all the heart pumping action that made cod4mw for the hd consoles a must have. although i love cod4mf and am currently cracking at the codmw2 im still finding the time to play this game. maybe its just me but i love shooting things with the wii. its more immersive. plus i can play with my wife with the drop in drop out feature. (yes you heard it right) full campaign co-op!!! i mean the second player can't control the character but they are given theyre own reticle and can blast away at all the baddies (basically an on rails shooters for the 2nd player) o and it has multiplayer (max 10 players :( ) but its still very very fun. so in conclusion even though i own cod4mw for the 360 im still keeping (reflex) cause im a faithful wii player and i wanna see codmw2 for the wii as well... (see y'all on the battlefield)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good

posted by jawshoouhh (ARCADIA, CA) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When I saw the beta pictures for this game I thought it was gonna be lame like COD WaW. Now that I have played the game, the looks and game play look/are phenomenal. For the bad graphics the Wii is known to have this game makes up for it. Being a hardcore player of the PS3 version, this one has made me play both of them equally now. Highly recommended to anyone whos been looking for a good shooter for Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enlist here if you didn't on the 360 or PS3

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

When Call of Duty: World at War became a big hit on the Wii, it was natural for the company to come up with another version for the Nintendo console.
So, here we have with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex, the Wii version of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare that came out some time ago on the 360 and the PS3.
It's a First Person Shooter, and not some substitute rail shooter like Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles
For those of you who haven't played the other versions of this game, the story shouldn't trip you up.
It starts off with an operation on a ship; you need to get on board and get your hands on a manifest (information about nukes). After that, the story expands into a fight against a terrorist group who is out to use those nukes to attack the eastern United States.
The story does lag a bit in the middle (why are all the choppers running low on gas?), but it picks up steam and gets to a great climax near the end of the game (where a joint operation of British and American forces go in to take out the bad guys’ headquarters to stop that nuke threat.)
And the gunplay on display here is great; some missions have you sneaking past the enemy and picking them off with a sniper rifle, while others encourage running and gunning. One mission has you firing aircraft guns at ground troops. Just blast those bad guys and watch them fly.
There are many level difficulties available - this game can be played by almost anyone in the “M” rating audience. (No kids or teens here, sorry).
And having a second player tag along is good, but that player is stuck in rail shooter mode.
The biggest problem I see is if you have played the original version of this game on the other consoles, there really isn’t much reason to pony up another $50 for this version (should’ve gotten the Wii version out at the same time as the other versions)
But if you haven’t (and if you loved Call of Duty: World at War) then you must get Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Reflex. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!!

posted by powerdad (GRAHAMSVILLE, NY) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Well CoD ModWar for the wii... what can I say awsome game.

I have recently read some reviews indicating that the controls are to hard in the Call of Duty reflex version for the Wii. Let me assure you after about 20 minutes of play I had the controls down pat, and any Wii user will tell you the same.

I have also read about the graphical complaints (Wii versus 360/PS3) well that is true. In Call of Duty Modern Warfare for the Wii the graphics are not as high quality as the 360 or PS3. However, the sacrifice in graphics is made up for with very in depth user interface, which makes you feel as though you are the character. Giving you the ability to lean side to side with your nunchuck, and being able to tilt your weapon side to side as well.
The storyline mirrors that of the 360 & PS3 versions to the tee.
Multiplayer in CoD ModWar is awsome!! is is by far the best feature of the game, you can easily loose 3 or 4 hours in the online action.

Although Nintendo has rolled out an excellent gaming experiance, it will only get 8 out of 10 stars from me. While I enjoyed every minute of gameplay, the first little bit was straining to come to grips with the control layouts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good!

posted by Henry121 (LYFORD, TX) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a remake special edition for the Wii. Meaning it's and older game.
There are several problems all shooters for the Wii have. Like accuracy with the Wii remote or accurate calibration. But this isn't the game's fault. It's very hard to have a good gun game for the Wii. However C.O.D Modern Warfare Reflex proves that there are pioneers out there. It's masterfully redone with graphics that by Nintendo standard are very good. The plot starts you off with you as a British S.A.S operative. You will play more as "Soap" Mac Tavish,British S.A.S, more than Paul Jackson,American U.S.M.C. Just a heads up should you prefer the Marines more. The creative missions and realistic possibilities are accurate and amazing.
The only reason I didn't give it a TEN was that I would very much like to choose which Elite Force I like better.
This is a keeper for the Wii. All things considered it's an awesome game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call of Duty Reflex

posted by Skunka (Burbank, CA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Treyarch has gone beyond the "Call of Duty" with this title (no pun intended)! It's hard to distinguish the graphical assets between the more powerful Xbox 360 & PS3 versions, with this here Wii version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review for Call of Duty:Reflex Edition-Wii

posted by skydiver1 (VOORHEES, NJ) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty: Reflex is a very great and awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It is one of the best first-person shooter games for the Wii. When I started playing the game, it was very hard to control. I purchased a Wii Zapper, and then, the game was so fun! I recommend that you buy a Wii Zapper before playing the game. A new Wii Zapper costs about $15-$20. The story mode for the game lets you play for the British S.A.S. and the U.S.M.C. The story mode, to me, was very challenging even though I kept the difficulty on the lowest level, Recruit. The graphics for the game are pretty good.You can also play online with friends or other people, and it is very challenging. Inthe online mode, you can rank up to different levels, and every time you rank up, you get a new item. The item may be a perk, a weapon, or a mode. You can also create your own classes from a certain level, and you can choose your own primary and secondary weapon, perks, and grenades. Unlike other COD editions, the Reflex edition for Wii only lets you have a 3,5,and7 kill streak. So, if you get a 7 kill streak, and you get three more kills , you get the reward for the three kill streak. After you finish the story mode, you can play the Arcade Mode, and you can earn points. As I already said, Call of Duty: Reflex is a great game and I am pleased with this edition!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TAYLORPOYNOR

posted by taylorlunc (THOMPSONS STATION, TN) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

this game so good!It blew me away when i first started playing it.I really think that you should buy or rent this game!P.S BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

hard to control

posted by Tchild (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is actually a good game, the graphics are great but the gameplay is another story, I wouldn't recommend playing this game for the wii because it is so hard to control unless you have a gun attachment with your controller, I like that it lets you practice before you go on a mission, but not being able to fully control the player makes that first training hard. I gave up on the game because it frustrated me, but hey I'm not a hardcore gamer. I just would advise playing it on a different platform, or going to buy extra equipment for your wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Call of Duty Modern Warfare

posted by xXHALOXx (VACAVILLE, CA) Oct 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game looked awesome on videos but all the sensitivity options made it hard but overall when you get used to it and unlock more weapons you will like it more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pushing the Wii to the max

posted by ResetPhil (MILPITAS, CA) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not a fan for FPS's and I'm esspecially not a fan of war/military games. However, I had a lot of fun with Modern Warfare Reflex.

MWR shows that the Wii can really play with the 360 and PS3 in terms of game content. I'd like to see developers get more time and money so that Wii editions of games get the same treatment as their 360 and PS3 counterparts. I can't see MWR running on the PS2, but we see the Wii essentially get PS2 ports again and again.

Back to the game: The online is smooth and pretty much lag-free. The controls are pretty intuitive and don't really hinder the experience. Holding the A button will lock the screen and allow to you move your reticule around without worrying about steering your point of view in that direction. In other Wii FPS's, I'd often accidently turn my character when trying to aim towards the corner of the screen-- simply not a problem here. Bravo. Any Wii owners who want a fun, online multiplyer game, this may be your answer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent......eventually

posted by joemann607 (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Definitely a game worth buying. Great graphics, altogether an a+ game...to buy. When I rented it I was not aware I would have to go out and buy a $20 gun just to play. Took me a week to find the dod gamned gun.....would be nice if gamefly told you which accessories you need to have in order to play the game. Its bad enough you dont even get the book of instructions and controls for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by jr123 (LAKEWOOD, OH) May 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is good but the controller its horrible for wii you have to get the wii zapper even know you dont and dont get it for wii get it for xbox 360 awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my favorite game for wii

posted by wargame (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am going to start by saying WOW! The graphics, weapons storyline and characters are all very well drawn. And for the first time in the call of duty sieries you can craw through a map in a gillie suit.
my negitave comment is co-op. co-op was just horrible on this game the secenond player wasent even a player! it was just a cross hair on your screen.

Online: okay online AMAZING online has lots of cool classes ranks (lv17) perks and weapons plus you can call in a
UAV 3kill streak
Air Strike 5kill streak
Helicopter 7killstreak
(Now im not shure if online is worse or better on other games because belive it or not this is my first online shooter)
please put weather it was helpful in your desision to get Reflex

CallOfDuty FROEVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

COD Modern Warfare Reflex

posted by rcq1958 (LAFAYETTE, LA) Jan 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game was nothing special. I found the graphics ok, but I do not care that much about graphics. Most comments about graphics I leave for you to judge. Too many games have great graphics and not much else. I rather the gameplay.

I found controls good, but some features just did not work as they should especially camera locks! Very frustrating. Playing over and over to get through one scene sucks!

Might be worth rent, but not purchase. When will a decent game be made for the Wii instead of trying to make an XBOX or Playstation game fit the Wii?

Other COD games are better choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Close But No Cigar

posted by MHMason (RAPID CITY, SD) Dec 7, 2009

Member since May 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

My 360 is M.I.A. at the moment, and I thought I'd give the original Call of Duty: Modern Warfare on the Wii a go in lieu of it's very appealing sequel.

It has all the trappings it needs to be a CoD game proer regardless of it's uglier graphics, including the entire campaign verbatim and the amazing multi-player. But I couldn't get over the strange first-person shooter controls. Even with all my fiddling in the option screen, I could not find a happy medium. You'd think the Wii remote would have a fidelity akin to a keyboard and mouse, but no dice.

I wanted to like Reflex, but couldn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare

posted by gamerdaily (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Graphics- Poor For the Wii

Sounds- Bad Voice Acting

Controls- Why Do I use A NunChuck To Shoot

Visual- The Wii's Sloppy Enviorments and Leftover Character Models is really Frustrating

Value- Better Off Not For The Wii Point Blank

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good for the Wii

posted by BlitzHog (WAUSAU, WI) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The controls for the wii just do not work good for this game. I hadn't played many first person shooters for my Wii and I wanted to try this out. But after playing this for an hour or 2 without getting used to the controls I just sent it back right away. It just doesn't work good the way they have the motion pointing set up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect for the wii

posted by benw42 (OCALA, FL) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is exactly the kinda game the wii needed i loved this game (until i got a 360 and am addicted) haha but its stl perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Port!!!!!!!!

posted by Christian3 (KINGS PARK, NY) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I opened up the Gamefly envelope today not knowing what to expect what-so-ever. I have played Call of Duty 4: MW on xbox 360 and was my favorite game ever... I popped it in and before I knew it myself, I was in a Team Death match, online. Wow was it fun. Of course at first I was getting wrecked but once fixing my controls, dead zones (very helpful) and cursor to my liking I WAS SET. Next round, upon going 38-4 I was in love. Yeah it's that good. I'd say 10x better than COD: WAW for Wii. If you have a Wii and looking for a good FPS (besides WAW and Conduit) GO FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Rexadoodle (LEOMINSTER, MA) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played Modern Warfare on Xbox 360 and could not get used to the controls, but on wii it is easy and more controllable. I recommend this to anyone that has played World at War on wii or anyone who likes shooters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not up to World At War standards

posted by jandg4206 (PARKERSBURG, WV) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

story lines are ok......in story mode on regular difficulty can easily be beat in about 6-8 hrs of play time....you always have to be with fellow soldiers...no single person missions....hard to distinguish between friend or foe. Online is ok...harder to progress through ranks...and harder to distinguish between friend or foe. Still ends game when host leaves...which has to be the dumbest thing ive ever seen in a multi-player game....try it out...but DONT buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Game is Awesome!

posted by workingears (ATHENS, GA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The fighting is great, and the graphics and guns were really good. I really enjoyed the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

one of the better games for wii

posted by coddude57 (FARMINGTON, MN) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

amazing game, i played it at a friends house and loved it. i checked it out at game stop but it was really expensive, but then i heard about gamefly and checked it out. i love the multiplayer and campaign, but this game is not for the immature, all of the language is not kid friendly, but overall it is a great game, a must buy COD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Treyarch does what Infinity Ward can't.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

When Modern Warfare first came out, Infinity Ward said that a Wii version would be impossible to make! Well two years later Treyarch proved them wrong. DEAD wrong!
Graphical differences aside, you are getting the same experience that you would from the HD version, even the "Mile high club" level made the cut. If you love multiplayer, its got that too! If you love shooters on the Wii, you can't go wrong with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse