Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for Xbox One
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Also on:Wii U, PS3, Xbox 360, PS4
GF Rating
6.7

1011 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as previous CoD titles

posted by TooOldToGame (WYLIE, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of CoD games. Have been for years. I think they struck gold with Modern Warfare. It was a great combination of graphics, gameplay, smooth movement and REALLY fun multiplayer. I have felt that way about every version since...until now. Ghosts has great maps, great guns, and great movement, but the multiplayer perks and killstreaks are not as good as in previous versions.

Also, trying to force us old people to play like we're 12 is annoying. Yeah, I'm 40 now and my reflexes are not as fast as a kid, so stop trying to force me to run around aimlessly spraying and praying. Let me play stealthy like our Special Forces guys do in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First Call of Duty game that I wish I had skipped.

posted by FreeBagel (HEMET, CA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Call of Duty. I have owned every one since Call of Duty 2. This year's installment, however, just felt sort of flat. The campaign was forgettable, the multiplayer sort of stagnant, and overall, it was just a let down. The formula is just getting tired, and it took me longer than most to get bored with it, but this iteration seemed to be the laziest offering to date. Here's hoping that the studio behind Advanced Warfare can reinvigorate the series.

I have played this game on both X360 and Xbone, and the game feels better on the 360. The Xbone version was a big disappointment. Not a big enough difference in the visuals and the character models in multiplayer look clunky and awkward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by dalion82 (HOUSTON, TX) May 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been a COD fan since the first Modern Warfare with my most recent favorite being Black Ops 2 and I have to say that this effort, to me, was seriously lacking. I was very happy with the story and overall graphics but we all know that the main reason gamers purchase this franchise is for the MP experience and it seems that very little attention was placed on making that aspect new. Maybe I could have been a little more patient with it, but I could never seem to latch on to it as fast as previous titles. I'm sure I'll rent it again and give it another try but as for now, it's back in the mailbox and on it's way back to where it came from.

-Daleon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spilt Emotions

posted by xDevi1sRejecTxx (NEW BERN, NC) May 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok....everyone knows CoD has gone down hill in the recent years. It doesnt change like Battlefield or other shooters, even Halo has better value. The Campaign is good i thought it was alright and you know there will e another one due to the end (everyone should know this).
The Extinction game mode I thought was off, good spinoff of zombies. Although.....the multiplayer is just...AWFUL. This year's multiplayer it doesnt even have words on how bad it was. Let's just say i bought this game with my xbox one, got to level 35 and sold it. Sadly i come to always if not buying CoD, atleast playing it. It's just one of them game perhaps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ghosts should have been ghosted.

posted by Bradman33 (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's always the same campaign; one man decided to seek world domination through violence and a specified group of militia or military fight to stop him and an extremely short story line. The same story again and again. As for the online play, I'm not impressed at all. The movement isn't as sound as in Black Ops II, the game play is touchy and the maps are all super cluttered. I think the boys at CoD need to rethink the CoD price tag from here on. I'd pay $30, maybe. I give it a 3, simply because I feel generous today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worst MP of the series

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The multiplayer is always the story in this series, and I've played all of them. Loved most of them for different reasons. This title takes the worst things from every installment. All the things people hated from WaW (like the dogs) and adds thermal scopes that have clear optics at a thousand yards. LMG's you can snipe with, and all other forms of cheap, unbalanced gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy (Like Sunday Morning)

posted by Mikew7458 (DENVER, CO) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Because that's how long it took me to beat this COD campaign on veteran (something like 5 hours). I remember some Modern Warfare missions with parts where I'd die 50-60 times on veteran (so maddening, but I think that difficulty is so rewarding when you finally get through it). On this one I died a TOTAL of about 10 times. There's obviously the insane stunts and fun/unique missions (like flying a helicopter), and I actually like where they went with the story (the homeland being attacked), but with a reputation like COD has, there just needs to be more substance in the way of campaign missions.

Graphically speaking, it's very appealing to look at on Xbox One, but it feels like it was cut very short just to make the console launch date. When you get to the cut-scene at the very end of the campaign, just try and tell me they didn't cut this single game's campaign in two for no good reason, à la The Hobbit movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not The Same Infiinty Ward And It Shows

posted by Crusader (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I spend 99% of my time with COD games in multiplayer. I take 1% of my time and beat the campaign, which is almost always great. But multiplayer is the meat and potatoes of COD and with Ghosts it suffers. The control, handling, and overall polish just isn't what we typically see from IW and the MW games of yore, and it's plagued with crummy spawns and laggy matches. The Squad Points you have to earn and spend on new weapons and attachments is stupid and hateful and slow. The maps are big - which is nice, sometimes - but there is an inordinate amount of ladders, windows, ledges, alleys, walkways, and just plain too many avenues of approach, which is compounded by the aforementioned terrible respawn locations. With maps that big, I shouldn't get spawn-killed two or three times in a row! There might be one upside in this game, at least: I think "quick scoping" is finally gone. That's a plus. And I will say the multiplayer HAS grown on me some once you get used to the levels, but I am not as fanatic about playing this game as I was with all the other MW games.

When I prefer a Treyarch version over Infinity Ward, something is wrong. I would rather be playing Black Ops II right now which is made by Treyarch, and I hated the original Black Ops and World at War, also made by Treyarch. I played every single Modern Warfare title, however, until my thumbs bled, and I have 10th prestige on all of them to prove it. I loved Infinity Ward like a human baby for their amazing Modern Warfare series. But it's just not the same Infinity Ward and it shows. All the lead creators left Infinity Ward due to a fallout with Activision, the franchise publisher and owner of the Call of Duty game rights. They then got back together and made the studio "Respawn," who will be making the game Titanfall. RIP to the real Infinity Ward. You will be sorely missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with some flaws

posted by Wolfe15 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Call of Duty since the first Modern Warfare from the day it was released and although there are some flaws the game is still very good. The campaign is exceptional and has experienced many upgrades and improvements. The multiplayer is where there are some issues and it is mainly related to spawning and some of the map design. In some of the maps there are literally almost infinite areas you can be shot from and you are sometimes spawned very close to enemies leaving you vulnerable. That being said the new perk and killstreak system is great; including all the new weapons and weapon attachments. So I feel its still a great game however the future maps need better design and the spawning system needs to be re-vamped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Call of Duty yet

posted by sportsboy1 (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great but the game itself is terrible. Me and all of my friends have played it once and none of us would ever put it back in our machines again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful!

posted by mbk336 (HACKLEBURG, AL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I have played call of duty for a long time I have, of course, gotten mad at the games previously, but this game is so awful, so terrible that I wish I would have never purchased it..its very laggy, the spawns are awful, and I feel like you would have a better chance killing someone running around with a toothpick rather than the weapons they give you in this game. Save your money! I will never buy another call of duty game again. Thanks for ruining it for me infinityward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Xbox One Title Currently

posted by GhostsforLife (CROGHAN, NY) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all, to the stupid people that don't know, Ghosts is going to be a series similar to the MW series. Second of all the people complaining about it are irritated because they suck at the game or they suck at life and can't play a game without quickscoping or mods.

The story is very intriguing and emersive, there are parts that really pull you in and address YOU by name.

Tons of weapons, and attachments, many more options than the previous series.

Multiplayer is much better than before, ex. bigger maps, bigger arsenal, more game types, ect.

Squads is awesome, if you don't have a ton of time to be online playing, you can build/level up the skills and play style of your squad and while you are offline your AI gains XP towards your overall XP.

Extinction is great with a small group of guys, if you like games like Gears of War series it would be similar to Survival from Gears Judgement.

Great game. Titanfall and Halo (X1) will be the only conteders for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CURSE THIS GAME ON XBOX 360

posted by markcaun (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

on the 360 this game was garbage I hated it was as if they destroyed the multiplayer gameplay went to dukee but one xbox one get got hella better I do not know why but I will never play this game on 360 ever again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best COD in Years By far give it a try

posted by SuperBRAIN (ISLIP TERRACE, NY) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the Best COD Multiplayer in many Years!!

They made a lot of minor but great changes to COD; they maps are a little bigger now

Ghosts has Great Hit detection so when you shoot someone they Die

I strongly recommend giving Ghosts a try even if you think you are tired of COD this one is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by detroitkindbuds (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One if the best games ever

posted by GameMasterpg (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I only play Call of Duty for it's Multiplayer and I can't wait to try this game on Xbox One with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

junk

posted by SgttTrey904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Aug 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

othy good side to game is storyline the rest of it is junk online ever call of duty some thing over and over

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Definitely a let down

posted by Trey351 (SHEPPARD AFB, TX) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I would have been upset if I had paid $60 for this. The single player mission is the worst I've played from the COD franchise. The multiplayer is okay, but even that seems to have taken a step back compared to older COD games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Glad i have gamefly

posted by TraeBline (KOKOMO, IN) Aug 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Ghosts was the first cod game i skipped until i got gamefly. Turns out i love the game and now i plan to buy it. Very short and easy campaign. Beat the game on vet difficulty with no problems on my first playthrough..multiplayer is fun (diff from other cod titles). So basically its Very refreshing. extinction mode isnt as good as zombies but still is very fun. Glad to have Gamefly otherwise i probably would have completely skipped out on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bast game ever

posted by coolmike1 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

if you have played all of the call of duty games this has to be the best one yet each mission takes you to a diffrent place the ending is spectacular all though i beat the game in two days so its kinda short overall its the best game i ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rinse and repeat...

posted by lonnyp (OLIVEHURST, CA) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I honestly dont expect anything new from cod. Almost every game since mwf has just been reskined updated graphics. The story line is stupid and typical of cod. this game is so predictable. You know there is going to be a stealth scene, a flying scene, a tank scene. And there is. And what is up with all the cod games having someone always lead you places? its like they dont trust you to find the right path or be able to play the game alone. Honestly cod's slogan should be, "You like our last game? Well rinse and repeat..."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If It Aint Broken......

posted by Phil91981 (CECILIA, KY) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Call of Duty Ghosts is the next edition to the Call of Duty franchise. With that said, if you've played a Call of Duty game, then you know what you're getting in to when you rent/buy this game. It's full of beautiful visuals, hollywood style effects, and lots of action. This is the Michael Bay style video game. Unfortunately, like Transformers the Call of Duty games have been plagued by having great visuals with a plot that many can care less about.

The game does put you in some new situations. In one mission, you are scuba diving while attempting to avoid gunfire and sharks. In another mission, you're floating through zero gravity and fighting your way to an enemy space station. All of these are great new settings, however, COD fails to innovate any in its core gameplay features. The game feels like a prettier, more action packed Modern Warfare 2.

The multiplayer is still solid as always, and many of you will be renting/buying this game specifically for that feature, however, the game again suffers from a lack of compelling innovation in gameplay mechanics.

If you're a Call of Duty fan and love what makes previous COD games great then this game is for you, just don't expect a new, game-changing experience in the first person shooter genre from the recent installment of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bitchin!

posted by SuckItNow (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

Most fun I have had playing a COD game in some time! This go around it was more about having a good time than actual bogged down slow moving military sneakery. Sure if you crank up the difficulty you can get the same effect, but there's more to this game than the standard weapons and tactics!

Jumping from gun battles in outer space to ground to the ocean or maybe flying choppers, drones, and guided missiles is to your liking! Or how about controlling a dog remotely, or a tank through a few military bases, or even strategically dropping bombs from space satellites! This game literally has it all!

Sound like enough to get you to play, it should. This game is EPIC! The gameplay is very intuitive with no real training needed, if you have played a FPS in the past decade, have fun, trust me, you will!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The downward spiral continues...

posted by joeyhustle (ERIE, PA) May 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

I pre ordered Modern 3 and Elite, Felt robbed but it wasnt as bad as the general consensus was... Black Ops 2 was OK, just OK... Ghosts multiplayer felt like a sarcastic take on Battlefield. In every game i played i was camped on and when i camped because everyone else did, i learned about the modern 2 commando knife in this game the hard way... Took me 24 hours to return it.

Still adding more and more while they make stolen wifi connections host lobbies. Done with CoD for the foreseeable future thanks to this...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What you expect is COD

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) May 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Same o spawning system and it COD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse