Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for Xbox One
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, PS4, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.7

1185 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as previous CoD titles

posted by TooOldToGame (WYLIE, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of CoD games. Have been for years. I think they struck gold with Modern Warfare. It was a great combination of graphics, gameplay, smooth movement and REALLY fun multiplayer. I have felt that way about every version since...until now. Ghosts has great maps, great guns, and great movement, but the multiplayer perks and killstreaks are not as good as in previous versions.

Also, trying to force us old people to play like we're 12 is annoying. Yeah, I'm 40 now and my reflexes are not as fast as a kid, so stop trying to force me to run around aimlessly spraying and praying. Let me play stealthy like our Special Forces guys do in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First Call of Duty game that I wish I had skipped.

posted by FreeBagel (HEMET, CA) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love Call of Duty. I have owned every one since Call of Duty 2. This year's installment, however, just felt sort of flat. The campaign was forgettable, the multiplayer sort of stagnant, and overall, it was just a let down. The formula is just getting tired, and it took me longer than most to get bored with it, but this iteration seemed to be the laziest offering to date. Here's hoping that the studio behind Advanced Warfare can reinvigorate the series.

I have played this game on both X360 and Xbone, and the game feels better on the 360. The Xbone version was a big disappointment. Not a big enough difference in the visuals and the character models in multiplayer look clunky and awkward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by dalion82 (HOUSTON, TX) May 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been a COD fan since the first Modern Warfare with my most recent favorite being Black Ops 2 and I have to say that this effort, to me, was seriously lacking. I was very happy with the story and overall graphics but we all know that the main reason gamers purchase this franchise is for the MP experience and it seems that very little attention was placed on making that aspect new. Maybe I could have been a little more patient with it, but I could never seem to latch on to it as fast as previous titles. I'm sure I'll rent it again and give it another try but as for now, it's back in the mailbox and on it's way back to where it came from.

-Daleon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spilt Emotions

posted by xDevi1sRejecTxx (NEW BERN, NC) May 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok....everyone knows CoD has gone down hill in the recent years. It doesnt change like Battlefield or other shooters, even Halo has better value. The Campaign is good i thought it was alright and you know there will e another one due to the end (everyone should know this).
The Extinction game mode I thought was off, good spinoff of zombies. Although.....the multiplayer is just...AWFUL. This year's multiplayer it doesnt even have words on how bad it was. Let's just say i bought this game with my xbox one, got to level 35 and sold it. Sadly i come to always if not buying CoD, atleast playing it. It's just one of them game perhaps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ghosts should have been ghosted.

posted by Bradman33 (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 7, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's always the same campaign; one man decided to seek world domination through violence and a specified group of militia or military fight to stop him and an extremely short story line. The same story again and again. As for the online play, I'm not impressed at all. The movement isn't as sound as in Black Ops II, the game play is touchy and the maps are all super cluttered. I think the boys at CoD need to rethink the CoD price tag from here on. I'd pay $30, maybe. I give it a 3, simply because I feel generous today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worst MP of the series

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The multiplayer is always the story in this series, and I've played all of them. Loved most of them for different reasons. This title takes the worst things from every installment. All the things people hated from WaW (like the dogs) and adds thermal scopes that have clear optics at a thousand yards. LMG's you can snipe with, and all other forms of cheap, unbalanced gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy (Like Sunday Morning)

posted by Mikew7458 (DENVER, CO) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Because that's how long it took me to beat this COD campaign on veteran (something like 5 hours). I remember some Modern Warfare missions with parts where I'd die 50-60 times on veteran (so maddening, but I think that difficulty is so rewarding when you finally get through it). On this one I died a TOTAL of about 10 times. There's obviously the insane stunts and fun/unique missions (like flying a helicopter), and I actually like where they went with the story (the homeland being attacked), but with a reputation like COD has, there just needs to be more substance in the way of campaign missions.

Graphically speaking, it's very appealing to look at on Xbox One, but it feels like it was cut very short just to make the console launch date. When you get to the cut-scene at the very end of the campaign, just try and tell me they didn't cut this single game's campaign in two for no good reason, à la The Hobbit movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not The Same Infiinty Ward And It Shows

posted by Crusader (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I spend 99% of my time with COD games in multiplayer. I take 1% of my time and beat the campaign, which is almost always great. But multiplayer is the meat and potatoes of COD and with Ghosts it suffers. The control, handling, and overall polish just isn't what we typically see from IW and the MW games of yore, and it's plagued with crummy spawns and laggy matches. The Squad Points you have to earn and spend on new weapons and attachments is stupid and hateful and slow. The maps are big - which is nice, sometimes - but there is an inordinate amount of ladders, windows, ledges, alleys, walkways, and just plain too many avenues of approach, which is compounded by the aforementioned terrible respawn locations. With maps that big, I shouldn't get spawn-killed two or three times in a row! There might be one upside in this game, at least: I think "quick scoping" is finally gone. That's a plus. And I will say the multiplayer HAS grown on me some once you get used to the levels, but I am not as fanatic about playing this game as I was with all the other MW games.

When I prefer a Treyarch version over Infinity Ward, something is wrong. I would rather be playing Black Ops II right now which is made by Treyarch, and I hated the original Black Ops and World at War, also made by Treyarch. I played every single Modern Warfare title, however, until my thumbs bled, and I have 10th prestige on all of them to prove it. I loved Infinity Ward like a human baby for their amazing Modern Warfare series. But it's just not the same Infinity Ward and it shows. All the lead creators left Infinity Ward due to a fallout with Activision, the franchise publisher and owner of the Call of Duty game rights. They then got back together and made the studio "Respawn," who will be making the game Titanfall. RIP to the real Infinity Ward. You will be sorely missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with some flaws

posted by Wolfe15 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Call of Duty since the first Modern Warfare from the day it was released and although there are some flaws the game is still very good. The campaign is exceptional and has experienced many upgrades and improvements. The multiplayer is where there are some issues and it is mainly related to spawning and some of the map design. In some of the maps there are literally almost infinite areas you can be shot from and you are sometimes spawned very close to enemies leaving you vulnerable. That being said the new perk and killstreak system is great; including all the new weapons and weapon attachments. So I feel its still a great game however the future maps need better design and the spawning system needs to be re-vamped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Call of Duty yet

posted by sportsboy1 (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great but the game itself is terrible. Me and all of my friends have played it once and none of us would ever put it back in our machines again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pathetic excuse for a "Next-Gen" shooter

posted by narckilla (MILLERSBURG, OH) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game sucked bad. It looked like I was playing Modern Warfare 3. Black Ops 2 for 360 probably has better graphics. Not much to say. Another Call of Duty game that we pay $60-$120 (DLC) for the same game every year. COD is copy and paste and until we stop paying for that trash they will keep making that trash. invest your hard earned money in Battlefield. IF you want a next gen experience play Battlefield 4, graphics and gameplay are phenomenal. I DO NOT recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful!

posted by mbk336 (HACKLEBURG, AL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I have played call of duty for a long time I have, of course, gotten mad at the games previously, but this game is so awful, so terrible that I wish I would have never purchased it..its very laggy, the spawns are awful, and I feel like you would have a better chance killing someone running around with a toothpick rather than the weapons they give you in this game. Save your money! I will never buy another call of duty game again. Thanks for ruining it for me infinityward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best COD in Years By far give it a try

posted by SuperBRAIN (ISLIP TERRACE, NY) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is the Best COD Multiplayer in many Years!!

They made a lot of minor but great changes to COD; they maps are a little bigger now

Ghosts has Great Hit detection so when you shoot someone they Die

I strongly recommend giving Ghosts a try even if you think you are tired of COD this one is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Xbox One Title Currently

posted by GhostsforLife (CROGHAN, NY) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all, to the stupid people that don't know, Ghosts is going to be a series similar to the MW series. Second of all the people complaining about it are irritated because they suck at the game or they suck at life and can't play a game without quickscoping or mods.

The story is very intriguing and emersive, there are parts that really pull you in and address YOU by name.

Tons of weapons, and attachments, many more options than the previous series.

Multiplayer is much better than before, ex. bigger maps, bigger arsenal, more game types, ect.

Squads is awesome, if you don't have a ton of time to be online playing, you can build/level up the skills and play style of your squad and while you are offline your AI gains XP towards your overall XP.

Extinction is great with a small group of guys, if you like games like Gears of War series it would be similar to Survival from Gears Judgement.

Great game. Titanfall and Halo (X1) will be the only conteders for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CURSE THIS GAME ON XBOX 360

posted by markcaun (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

on the 360 this game was garbage I hated it was as if they destroyed the multiplayer gameplay went to dukee but one xbox one get got hella better I do not know why but I will never play this game on 360 ever again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by detroitkindbuds (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One if the best games ever

posted by GameMasterpg (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I only play Call of Duty for it's Multiplayer and I can't wait to try this game on Xbox One with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Michael Bay's Wet Dream

posted by NeedleNoggin316 (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Seriously. This game is immensely juvenile and shallow. This series used to have emotional depth and social gravitas. No more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Warning do not buy or rent

posted by TrapIvan (SALINAS, CA) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Do not buy unless you want to play against a lot of try hard players using the same guns. Most of the game is camped. It is annoying and frustration to enjoy the game. You instantly die the second they see you since you die so easily. Usually cannot avoid death

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cod ghost

posted by anime3154 (SORRENTO, FL) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

It's a very fun game to play with your friends or by your self.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointed

posted by KSIxDJ_Lodose (BRONX, NY) Oct 30, 2014

Member since May 2014

Storyline was decent. Gameplay was nice. Graphics were good. Infinity Ward have dropped the ball ever since the success of the original Modern Warfare. I had higher expectations

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Call of Duty

posted by CrazyGamer2186 (LUCERNE VALLEY, CA) Oct 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

The reason why I say decent is that Call of Duty Ghosts is not a great Call of Duty game. Most people thought the last good one was either a Modern Warfare Call of Duty or a Black Ops Call of Duty, both are right answers. Ghosts is great for mainly for online but for single player it is more of the same.

That is mainly the bad thing. PS4 version is by far a bit more a fair version since it is at 1080p and that makes it a little better looking but the Xbox One version is great to graphically and is more or the same just a little less in colors,contrast and details but not bad just wanted to say that for people who are comparing different ones. Other than all of that Ghosts is still a decent game.

The Pros
Graphics is still great even with ResolutionGate (720p instead of 1080p).
Sound is still as great as ever

The Good
Online is still fun
Single Player is still fun

The Bad
Single Player is starting to fail miserably when it comes to story and characters, even the fun is also not great at times to.
Online is more or the same but still fun for now.
ResolutionGate might be a problem for some who wants a game that is truly at 1080p Next Gen instead of 720p to even 900p.

The Ugly
Only thing that is ugly is that Call of Duty is now more tiring on players that people calls Franchise Fatigue, which is more of a problem for most players now. This started since probably as early as Modern Warfare 2 to as late as Black Ops for some players but now is a common part of a CoD Player more so now. Lets see if Advanced Warfare will remedy this trend.

Overall, Call of Duty Ghosts is 8/10 for Xbox One.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kek

posted by Shad0wHunter (STOW, OH) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

campaign wasnt bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HUGE Callof Duty Fan-But not of this game

posted by billboy (HARVEST, AL) Oct 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The graphics are sub-par, comparable to Xbox 360. I literally played one round of multiplayer and shipped it back to Gamefly. Being a Call of Duty fan since the Call of Duty 2 when the Xbox 360 released, I found that this is the worst one made. Hopefully the Advanced Warfighter will redeem this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same Things That Always Ruin COD

posted by tmoney15 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

Every COD review: spawn f@$ks, I can hit guys multiple times and they just keep running, can miss knifing someone inches away, etc. I will sometimes pop smoke in domination for cover but yet it doesn't register with the game and the kill cam shows me with no smoke and easy picking. The only reason I gave this COD a 7 is because of the campaign and extinction game mode. Campaign was fun, but felt like the same COD story line over again and other games for that matter. I really enjoyed the extinction game mode, just wished they would let up to four people play (really fun with friend would be more I feel with four). If they were to pull a Titanfall and do online only the series would be dead to me... It already about is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse