Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for Xbox One
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U, PS4, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

615 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as previous CoD titles

posted by TooOldToGame (WYLIE, TX) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of CoD games. Have been for years. I think they struck gold with Modern Warfare. It was a great combination of graphics, gameplay, smooth movement and REALLY fun multiplayer. I have felt that way about every version since...until now. Ghosts has great maps, great guns, and great movement, but the multiplayer perks and killstreaks are not as good as in previous versions.

Also, trying to force us old people to play like we're 12 is annoying. Yeah, I'm 40 now and my reflexes are not as fast as a kid, so stop trying to force me to run around aimlessly spraying and praying. Let me play stealthy like our Special Forces guys do in real life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy (Like Sunday Morning)

posted by Mikew7458 (DENVER, CO) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Because that's how long it took me to beat this COD campaign on veteran (something like 5 hours). I remember some Modern Warfare missions with parts where I'd die 50-60 times on veteran (so maddening, but I think that difficulty is so rewarding when you finally get through it). On this one I died a TOTAL of about 10 times. There's obviously the insane stunts and fun/unique missions (like flying a helicopter), and I actually like where they went with the story (the homeland being attacked), but with a reputation like COD has, there just needs to be more substance in the way of campaign missions.

Graphically speaking, it's very appealing to look at on Xbox One, but it feels like it was cut very short just to make the console launch date. When you get to the cut-scene at the very end of the campaign, just try and tell me they didn't cut this single game's campaign in two for no good reason, à la The Hobbit movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not The Same Infiinty Ward And It Shows

posted by Crusader (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I spend 99% of my time with COD games in multiplayer. I take 1% of my time and beat the campaign, which is almost always great. But multiplayer is the meat and potatoes of COD and with Ghosts it suffers. The control, handling, and overall polish just isn't what we typically see from IW and the MW games of yore, and it's plagued with crummy spawns and laggy matches. The Squad Points you have to earn and spend on new weapons and attachments is stupid and hateful and slow. The maps are big - which is nice, sometimes - but there is an inordinate amount of ladders, windows, ledges, alleys, walkways, and just plain too many avenues of approach, which is compounded by the aforementioned terrible respawn locations. With maps that big, I shouldn't get spawn-killed two or three times in a row! There might be one upside in this game, at least: I think "quick scoping" is finally gone. That's a plus. And I will say the multiplayer HAS grown on me some once you get used to the levels, but I am not as fanatic about playing this game as I was with all the other MW games.

When I prefer a Treyarch version over Infinity Ward, something is wrong. I would rather be playing Black Ops II right now which is made by Treyarch, and I hated the original Black Ops and World at War, also made by Treyarch. I played every single Modern Warfare title, however, until my thumbs bled, and I have 10th prestige on all of them to prove it. I loved Infinity Ward like a human baby for their amazing Modern Warfare series. But it's just not the same Infinity Ward and it shows. All the lead creators left Infinity Ward due to a fallout with Activision, the franchise publisher and owner of the Call of Duty game rights. They then got back together and made the studio "Respawn," who will be making the game Titanfall. RIP to the real Infinity Ward. You will be sorely missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with some flaws

posted by Wolfe15 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Call of Duty since the first Modern Warfare from the day it was released and although there are some flaws the game is still very good. The campaign is exceptional and has experienced many upgrades and improvements. The multiplayer is where there are some issues and it is mainly related to spawning and some of the map design. In some of the maps there are literally almost infinite areas you can be shot from and you are sometimes spawned very close to enemies leaving you vulnerable. That being said the new perk and killstreak system is great; including all the new weapons and weapon attachments. So I feel its still a great game however the future maps need better design and the spawning system needs to be re-vamped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Xbox One Title Currently

posted by GhostsforLife (CROGHAN, NY) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, to the stupid people that don't know, Ghosts is going to be a series similar to the MW series. Second of all the people complaining about it are irritated because they suck at the game or they suck at life and can't play a game without quickscoping or mods.

The story is very intriguing and emersive, there are parts that really pull you in and address YOU by name.

Tons of weapons, and attachments, many more options than the previous series.

Multiplayer is much better than before, ex. bigger maps, bigger arsenal, more game types, ect.

Squads is awesome, if you don't have a ton of time to be online playing, you can build/level up the skills and play style of your squad and while you are offline your AI gains XP towards your overall XP.

Extinction is great with a small group of guys, if you like games like Gears of War series it would be similar to Survival from Gears Judgement.

Great game. Titanfall and Halo (X1) will be the only conteders for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is awful!

posted by mbk336 (HACKLEBURG, AL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played call of duty for a long time I have, of course, gotten mad at the games previously, but this game is so awful, so terrible that I wish I would have never purchased it..its very laggy, the spawns are awful, and I feel like you would have a better chance killing someone running around with a toothpick rather than the weapons they give you in this game. Save your money! I will never buy another call of duty game again. Thanks for ruining it for me infinityward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CURSE THIS GAME ON XBOX 360

posted by markcaun (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

on the 360 this game was garbage I hated it was as if they destroyed the multiplayer gameplay went to dukee but one xbox one get got hella better I do not know why but I will never play this game on 360 ever again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best COD in Years By far give it a try

posted by SuperBRAIN (ISLIP TERRACE, NY) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the Best COD Multiplayer in many Years!!

They made a lot of minor but great changes to COD; they maps are a little bigger now

Ghosts has Great Hit detection so when you shoot someone they Die

I strongly recommend giving Ghosts a try even if you think you are tired of COD this one is great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One if the best games ever

posted by GameMasterpg (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I only play Call of Duty for it's Multiplayer and I can't wait to try this game on Xbox One with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by detroitkindbuds (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

excellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by Jtownhero (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Love this game. I've spent a lot of time playing it. Unfortunately there are so many great games out right now it's tough to give this anything higher than a 7. I do feel they didn't do much to press the franchise forward into anything creative and new. Extinction is pretty darn fun, that had some new features that are exciting. I was mostly disappointed with them not continuing with Diamond weapon skins. That was such a cool feature and do downgrade in a later version of a game is a huge disappointment. Definitely worth renting and possibly even owning if you have the extra flow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COD Ghosts is great

posted by Seven02 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I have always enjoyed the COD games campaigns and this is my favorite by far! I was really impressed with the graphics on the Xbox One and all the over the top action. Most war game storys are hard to follow for me when they start getting into politics and people double crossing people but Ghost had a clear enemy with clear objectives.

I went into this game with low expectations and came out very happy with what I just played. I do not care for CODs multiplayer or extinction mode so I rated at an 8 instead of 10. Just not enough replay value there for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cod why.......

posted by thecapt1984 (STILLWATER, OK) Mar 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

They just keep getting weaker and weaker...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game is pretty good.

posted by dsnow24 (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

The gameplay is pretty good on this one. Almost reminds me of MW2 feel but with way better graphics. The maps are really busy with a lot of tunnels, caves, and crumbled down buildings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

COD!

posted by GamerDeeEL (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Great storyline...wait for the credits to end?? So many different aspects to the game. Great graphics and controls. The only bad is that its too short-I wanted more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Aliens was the most interesting part of it

posted by OOBIN (PROVO, UT) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Multi-player online is always terrible with CoD games. The campaign couldn't hold my interest and the aliens minigame was the funnest part, but got old very quickly. Alot of guns and customization as always with CoD, but it lacks a gaming soul. just another rehashed version of bull you played already and if you actually want to be good online you have to buy a modded controller from amazon because the other team already did. Don't buy it and only rent it if you really get the itch in your undies. You'll regret it either way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Multiplayer sucks, Extintion is only way to go

posted by FatsacOFPat (VENTNOR CITY, NJ) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game sucks so bad. Infinaty ward is not the company it used to be. Most of the top developers left and are in the process of making Titanfall, which i suspect will be the best game of 2014. If you go get call of duty, the only way to go is the extintion mod. Its really fun, and kind of a zombies feel, but with more team play and strategy vs just killing zombies with random weapons. But there lies a problem in extinction. Threres only two levels, and one you have to buy, which i think is hoarse poopie since the game aws 60$ and 80% sucks. Big dissapointment overall. But like i said, extinction is pretty fun. So id say dont buy, just rent and play extinction untill your tired of it. Or if mommy and daddy are paying for it, get the extra level thats out, and you will get more out of it. Hope this helps IMO battlefield 4 multiplayer kills COD ghosts multiplayer. 64 guys 32 vs 32. COD is half that. Hope this review helps, and id say def get titanfall reserved. Deuces

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same thing over and over again

posted by justchillin (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

playing most every cod i have to say that the company has been slacking. just go back and play some of the 1st games you will see how hard the 1st player is. I find that games have shifted to a 1 path and that's it. seems the only game out right now is TOMB RAIDER where it allows you to do something more then the game itself but then again you get put back on to the 1 path to beat the game. same with how RE5 & 6 was. I think that company's have found this out and just try to push a game out each year because the stock holders of the company want green backs. I come from a age of C64 where some games did not even make sense but sure was fun playing around with it. If the company cant get off this 1 path track i see sales are going to fall. lets get back to the old days where 1st player mode you would die 50 times and have to rethink the game over again. I do not want to pay $60 for a game then have to pay $$$ for micro dlc / dlc / add ons / plus this and that milking me for a prem sub or some other this and that. I paid $60 and that should be for the life of that product. not saying MAPS or other cool stuff should not be sold have a limit on stuff that is getting DLC and want money for it. I have only spent about $10 on stuff on my xbox / xbox 360 / xbox 1 ( and most of it was hats or some stuff for my person ) , I'm sorry but my days of spending $60 on a game are long done. If they want to sell this and that then games should be the price of $15 to $25 with a DLC range from $1 to $30 for the life of the game. does it really cost $19.99 for 5 maps to be made or what not. if you where to get 19.99 X everyone of those people that's a of a lot of money and it sure did not cost that to make the maps so why jack the people buying the game. I'm giving this game a 5 because of the lack of anything new. We get it 1st player is not where the money is. GFX are lacking over the PC , a big step up from the XBOX 360. Again its the same thing year in year out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

darnit

posted by mamber (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

not enough ghosts, very misleading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pathetic excuse for a "Next-Gen" shooter

posted by narckilla (MILLERSBURG, OH) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This game sucked bad. It looked like I was playing Modern Warfare 3. Black Ops 2 for 360 probably has better graphics. Not much to say. Another Call of Duty game that we pay $60-$120 (DLC) for the same game every year. COD is copy and paste and until we stop paying for that trash they will keep making that trash. invest your hard earned money in Battlefield. IF you want a next gen experience play Battlefield 4, graphics and gameplay are phenomenal. I DO NOT recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Duty: Ghosts

posted by Qonscience (WINCHESTER, VA) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

Let's be honest here, it's just another Call of Duty game. I think Ghosts falls a little bit short of its predecessors in some ways but takes baby steps forward in other places. This game may have been rushed, because I notice that there seems to be a lack of guns in this game in comparison to previous Call of Duty titles. Some of the guns cannot even be used (such as SMG's) because of the size of these enormous maps. Seriously, try running around in a wide open field with a Vector or some other SMG. You just can't do it. The game forces you to use guns like Assault Rifles, Snipers, LMG's, and the "new" Marksman Rifles (Sniper Rifles with higher rate of fire). There is only one map that I can think of where you can dominate the battlefield with an SMG or Shotgun.

Another problem I have with this game is the number of guns that they have recycled from previous games. The MTAR is now an SMG, the SVU is a Marksman Rifle, and they also converted an Assault Rifle from Black Ops II into an LMG. It's like Infinity Ward has just stopped getting creative with their guns which is pretty upsetting considering this game is known for a Run n' Gun, up-tempo gameplay.

The perk setup is something that they have changed up, however. There are much more perks to choose from and each perk has a value that takes up a certain amount of perk slots in your class. You can choose 4 really good perks, or maybe 8 lesser perks. The possibilities are endless, but it seems like I can never find the absolute perfect perk setup. Maybe that is a good thing for competition, I don't know.

Finally, let's touch on Campaign and the all new Extinction mode a little bit. The campaign is great, although short. It has a lot of twists and turns that will keep you at the edge of your seat for a few hours (that's how long it takes to beat the game). To be honest about Extinction mode, if you are looking for a good replacement for CoD Zombies, don't look here. It's fun but doesn't compare to Zombies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by chrishammer8508 (JACKSON, TN) Jan 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

overall its a great game. I sure am glad i didn't buy it tho the single player story line isnt very long at all like maybe 4 to 5 hours of playtime before you beat it. The online part of it is great i enjoyed the working on a team aspect of it. that way you dont die as soon as you spawn and the alien aspect of it online is fun and a nice touch as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short story lacking excitement

posted by Jared1333 (LA VISTA, NE) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

After watching a trailer, it looked like a fun action packed game much different from the last COD of duty game I played (COD 4: Modern Warefare). I really saw no difference in quality or gameplay from any other COD game I have played. I assume most people get this game for the multiplayer, which hasn't really changed from any previous game. The story is extremely short and I finished the game in around 4-5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Terrible

posted by OmniPhillips (PAONIA, CO) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Painfully bad campaign, it took everything I had just to get through it and it's only about 6 hours long.
Same old multi-player we have had for what 5-6 years now.
The only reason I gave it a 5 and not a 0 is because of Extinction mode. Where zombies has been getting a bit stale lately Extinction turns it around and made it fun again. Love this mode, the only thing good about this game.
All I can say is that I hope people stop buying COD games so that the companies figure out that they actually have to come up with new ideas to get peoples attention instead of just releasing the same game every year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What's with the hate?

posted by curiouschris85 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. The graphics are phenomenal. The single player is short but engaging. The controls are simple. The multiplayer is fun. The voice acting and music is excellent.

I find myself playing a lot of the Extinction game embedded in CoD. Similar to Zombies, but you're tasked with destroying hives as hordes of aliens attack you. I can't get enough of it.

People will always moan and complain over CoD franchised games - but really, go make something better and stop being so critical. This is a very well made product by a very talented team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse