Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for PS4
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $29.99

Used: $17.99

GF Rating
6.5

1364 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

One of the weakest CoD games to date.

posted by Dawnslayer13 (UNIONTOWN, OH) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Sad infintyward... Bo2 is better than this game by a point. 7/10. Treyarch makes better games. The Campaign in this game is the MEAT of the game though. It was one of the best CoD campaigns to date. Does not beat Bo2's though because of characters, better deaths, custom classes, interactive story thread etc. Multiplayer is soo MESSED UP MANNN! The lag is horrible, the spawns are horrible, assault killstreaks are garbage percept for Gryphon, Guard Dog, and Odin. There is like 12 assault killstreaks and 3 of them are good and they are a bit high. Extinction is good I like extinction but its not BETTER THAN ZOMBIES! Not at all not a single bit, Anyway, multiplayer has sooo much OP weapons its not even funny. Wanna act like a pro? Use shotguns now and not the bulldog BECAUSE shotguns are nerfed to HECK in this game. The shotguns are sooo weak they are mean't to be good. But not OP like Model 1887 duel wieled stopping power MW2 style without being patched, I am not gonna explain much but I give this gamea 6/10. If your a hardcore cod fan, just rent this game please don't buy it. It was my fault for buying this game. Don't make the same mistake that I DID! Please save your money! Get battlefield 4 instead its lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Call of Duty for the pile.

posted by Hawtsauce1983 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Beautiful ? Yes. Rewarding on first start? Yep. Solid campaign ? Yes sir! Guess what ?!? It is yet again the exact same game we have been used to for almost ten years. Nothing much has changed since Modern Warfare for this company and I suspect aslong as young kids are around who are slowly realizing Battlefield is the "grown up's" version then they will keep chucking new ones out. Its a new story but same old grind. When you dye an apple blue it is still an apple ? Why yes it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great start to next-gen gaming

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an objective review of the latest CoD game in the franchise, Ghosts. I think many people hate on the series because it is so popular, because a good few of the players online are immature, and activision releases yearly CoD games that are very similar. All these points are true, but the game itself is isn't exactly what you would call a breath of fresh air, but I will say the campaign is fun and looks terrific on the PS4.

Instead of being on the winning side of a global conflict, this time you are cast as the underdog. America is under the attack by a pact of South American countries known as the Federation. They commandeer an orbital weapon and use it to destroy large areas in the US, and you take part in a guerilla resistance as the enemy invades our country. I really enjoyed the single player experience, and although it doesn't change the formula of the COD experience, there is enough variation to mix things up so every level isn't a shooting gallery. Overall the overarcing story is decent and although I miss Price from the MW series, the new characters are compelling and interesting.

The multiplayer is back and there are some new things in it to mix things up a bit. You can now customise your character, even be a female soldier if you want. From what I played, the maps seemed a tad bit bigger than in BOPS2, and that is a mixed bag. If you are running with a tight crew of friends it works fine, otherwise you can spend a lot of time running from point a to point b without getting a shot in. I think Infinity Ward wanted to make the game more of a tactical experience promoting team work and if you have a good squad, it works. CoD multiplayer is not my favorite but it is addicting leveling up, unlocking weaps and perks, and the arcade-style fast paced gameplay is always fun.

The PS4 version is the best across all consoles. Runs at 1080p native, and I didn't run across any frame rate issues, though I have read there might be a hiccup here and there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

100% DOG DOO DOO

posted by tizzle_the_don (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

no comparison to BF4, this game is OUTDATED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Last gen graphics.

posted by ganj (OLNEY, MD) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was obviously designed for last gen. Aside from higher rez textures and improved lighting there's nothing substantially different than the PS3/360 version of this game. What a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Mar 14, 2014

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad n inconsistent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More of the same

posted by Sevn87 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like call of duty but there's nothing this game offers that is actually an improvement over previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same game

posted by Spider2134 (PATERSON, NJ) Nov 15, 2013

Member since May 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It's the same game every year few new things that's it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same stuff nothing new...multiplayer weak

posted by Fons89 (CARY, NC) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well i just really played the single player game and thats it.. the multipiayer platform and gameplay i thought it was weak instead of getting better it got worse that other COD..the maps are really bad....compared to Bf4 none war games( No vehicles and planes) its way better the FPS experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cod and battlefield collide

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Nov 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

... and ruins ghosts completely campaign is nothing new so i'll just focus on multiplayer and it's a disaster the games biggest issue by far is the giant maps the biggest map i played is a destroyed multi floor building im not kidding it sounds bad and its worse than it sounds it took me well over a minute to reach the other side and i got owned by a shotgun oh ya shotguns which is close range... until now shotgun kills me instantly from the range of an assault rifle i could do a review of every issue and every issue leads to another one those lead to more it's never ending the best i can possibly say is you can play as a female but that doesn't excuse the game from being a big mess do yourself a favor and avoid this game at all costs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

online

posted by shonnuff (LYNCHBURG, VA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This games is terrible online. It runs smooth no lag issues, but Activision speeded up game play which makes this game awful. I don't know if speeding up the game is the correct terminologly , I just know this game suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good game but not great

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Dec 17, 2014

Member since May 2014

a good game but i die alot so rent advance warfare instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of my favorite Games. Straight to action.

posted by Vick84 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Grafics and gameplay are sick. Ready for more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok game

posted by waxychart3 (ABINGDON, VA) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

the graphics suck compared to all other next gen games, the campaign sucks, and the ending is just sequal bait. the multiplayer is decent on some game modes but its just like every other COD with people trying to be a John Rambo they wanted to be when they saw the first Rambo movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I actually enjoyed the story campaign

posted by NTNSE37 (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2009

I think a lot of criticism for COD: ghosts was for the multiplayer & online features, because I thought the campaign mode was intriguing. I know that it was short and that is why I gave it an 8; however I thought the graphics and controls were spot on! I mainly play for the campaign mode and never get into online multiplayer, so I can't comment/rate on that experience. Wouldn't buy this but glad I was able to rent and play, able to get through it in about a day. Good twist at the end to see where they carry this story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Small maps

posted by Foomanchoo (BOUCKVILLE, NY) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Nov 2010

Toy like game play. I have bigger closets then they have maps!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No wear near as good as BO2

posted by seasonedriver36 (MORGAN, UT) Nov 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

If you want a good call of duty game just wait for the next TreArk game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by martparty (HONESDALE, PA) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Good story weak multiplayer maps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just OK

posted by Deadfaal (CAIRO, GA) Oct 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

Generous rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

repetitive

posted by liquid_snake91 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game feels like the same this as the last 3 call of duties. To be more precise the cod modern warfare series. The only difference being an addition of a ??. Really? Add more ..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst COD I have played...

posted by joeyhustle (ERIE, PA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2008

And I have played them all from COD 4 until this one and I would play Modern 3 before this and I shelled out $100 dollars to preorder that junk... I didn't play the Ghosts campaign. Didn't really care to, but the multiplayer killed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game for a PS3 Remake

posted by humancobra (GRIFFIN, GA) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Overall the game is great. Decent story line campaign. Amazing online multiplayer gameplay. Took 2 points off because the graphics where not that great of a enhancement from the ps3 version to me, Was not impressed. But other then that good all around game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh

posted by SaifTheRapper (DANVILLE, CA) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Just another army shooter nothing different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by leodjoneluv (DALLAS, TX) Sep 26, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

this is one of the best first person war games that I had ever played, Good story line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Action

posted by HandicapMan (HURRICANE, WV) Sep 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I enjoyed playing Ghosts, although others say its the same as all the others, I dont know, I only played one other Call of Duty title in the past, the game action was good to me, the only complaint I have is I dont play online at all and it only took me six days at about two hours a day to get through this game, what happened to the days of games like Zelda where it took you months to get through a game? but thats why I joined gamefly, I got tired of paying sixty dollars for a game that didnt take a week to beat. I would like to see the programmers make games that also satisfy the people that do the online game play, and make the games longer with more campaigns without having to buy them for an additional fee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse