Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for PS4
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

GF Rating
6.4

1124 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

One of the weakest CoD games to date.

posted by Dawnslayer13 (UNIONTOWN, OH) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sad infintyward... Bo2 is better than this game by a point. 7/10. Treyarch makes better games. The Campaign in this game is the MEAT of the game though. It was one of the best CoD campaigns to date. Does not beat Bo2's though because of characters, better deaths, custom classes, interactive story thread etc. Multiplayer is soo MESSED UP MANNN! The lag is horrible, the spawns are horrible, assault killstreaks are garbage percept for Gryphon, Guard Dog, and Odin. There is like 12 assault killstreaks and 3 of them are good and they are a bit high. Extinction is good I like extinction but its not BETTER THAN ZOMBIES! Not at all not a single bit, Anyway, multiplayer has sooo much OP weapons its not even funny. Wanna act like a pro? Use shotguns now and not the bulldog BECAUSE shotguns are nerfed to HECK in this game. The shotguns are sooo weak they are mean't to be good. But not OP like Model 1887 duel wieled stopping power MW2 style without being patched, I am not gonna explain much but I give this gamea 6/10. If your a hardcore cod fan, just rent this game please don't buy it. It was my fault for buying this game. Don't make the same mistake that I DID! Please save your money! Get battlefield 4 instead its lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great start to next-gen gaming

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This is an objective review of the latest CoD game in the franchise, Ghosts. I think many people hate on the series because it is so popular, because a good few of the players online are immature, and activision releases yearly CoD games that are very similar. All these points are true, but the game itself is isn't exactly what you would call a breath of fresh air, but I will say the campaign is fun and looks terrific on the PS4.

Instead of being on the winning side of a global conflict, this time you are cast as the underdog. America is under the attack by a pact of South American countries known as the Federation. They commandeer an orbital weapon and use it to destroy large areas in the US, and you take part in a guerilla resistance as the enemy invades our country. I really enjoyed the single player experience, and although it doesn't change the formula of the COD experience, there is enough variation to mix things up so every level isn't a shooting gallery. Overall the overarcing story is decent and although I miss Price from the MW series, the new characters are compelling and interesting.

The multiplayer is back and there are some new things in it to mix things up a bit. You can now customise your character, even be a female soldier if you want. From what I played, the maps seemed a tad bit bigger than in BOPS2, and that is a mixed bag. If you are running with a tight crew of friends it works fine, otherwise you can spend a lot of time running from point a to point b without getting a shot in. I think Infinity Ward wanted to make the game more of a tactical experience promoting team work and if you have a good squad, it works. CoD multiplayer is not my favorite but it is addicting leveling up, unlocking weaps and perks, and the arcade-style fast paced gameplay is always fun.

The PS4 version is the best across all consoles. Runs at 1080p native, and I didn't run across any frame rate issues, though I have read there might be a hiccup here and there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Call of Duty for the pile.

posted by Hawtsauce1983 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Beautiful ? Yes. Rewarding on first start? Yep. Solid campaign ? Yes sir! Guess what ?!? It is yet again the exact same game we have been used to for almost ten years. Nothing much has changed since Modern Warfare for this company and I suspect aslong as young kids are around who are slowly realizing Battlefield is the "grown up's" version then they will keep chucking new ones out. Its a new story but same old grind. When you dye an apple blue it is still an apple ? Why yes it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

100% DOG DOO DOO

posted by tizzle_the_don (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

no comparison to BF4, this game is OUTDATED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Last gen graphics.

posted by ganj (OLNEY, MD) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was obviously designed for last gen. Aside from higher rez textures and improved lighting there's nothing substantially different than the PS3/360 version of this game. What a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by howsik2sik (LAKE CITY, FL) Mar 14, 2014

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so bad n inconsistent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

More of the same

posted by Sevn87 (GRAND ISLAND, NE) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I like call of duty but there's nothing this game offers that is actually an improvement over previous games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same game

posted by Spider2134 (PATERSON, NJ) Nov 15, 2013

Member since May 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It's the same game every year few new things that's it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same stuff nothing new...multiplayer weak

posted by Fons89 (CARY, NC) Dec 9, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Well i just really played the single player game and thats it.. the multipiayer platform and gameplay i thought it was weak instead of getting better it got worse that other COD..the maps are really bad....compared to Bf4 none war games( No vehicles and planes) its way better the FPS experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cod and battlefield collide

posted by skaterfreak8771 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Nov 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

... and ruins ghosts completely campaign is nothing new so i'll just focus on multiplayer and it's a disaster the games biggest issue by far is the giant maps the biggest map i played is a destroyed multi floor building im not kidding it sounds bad and its worse than it sounds it took me well over a minute to reach the other side and i got owned by a shotgun oh ya shotguns which is close range... until now shotgun kills me instantly from the range of an assault rifle i could do a review of every issue and every issue leads to another one those lead to more it's never ending the best i can possibly say is you can play as a female but that doesn't excuse the game from being a big mess do yourself a favor and avoid this game at all costs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

online

posted by shonnuff (LYNCHBURG, VA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This games is terrible online. It runs smooth no lag issues, but Activision speeded up game play which makes this game awful. I don't know if speeding up the game is the correct terminologly , I just know this game suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I recommend this game

posted by derekfool (FREMONT, CA) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I took this weekend to finish the campaign. Overall the gameplay is as high quality as other CoD series. The graphic and sound make me feel very immersive. The only issue I don't like is the character design of Rorke. He is not that bad compared to other villains in other CoD. I love to kill bad guy in the game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

easy

posted by moneluv (MILWAUKEE, WI) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Click here http://Earn4Share.com/?id=55844 easy money no bs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

CALL OF DUTY "GHOST"

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

beat the game with in 2 days on hard good game just wanted more 2 tha action and was i missing something because the game is called call of duty ghost rite i did not c any ghost in this game.other then that graphic wise wuz great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ps2 game at heart

posted by Chrischscrow (MIAMI, OK) Aug 23, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Once I 1st played I immediately got stuck and it said you got left behind and I played thru till I got stuck again at the Harrier jet ship and well then I was pretty much done with it , and it reminds me of ps2 or ps3 version , just doesn't feel next gen at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth Playing

posted by simply1superior (MELBOURNE, FL) Jul 18, 2014

Member since May 2014

I enjoyed playing this game for quite a while it's fast paced multiplayer and moderately decent story telling of a campaign definitely give this game a try but black ops 2 in my opinion was better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty Ghosts

posted by bob1986 (NORFOLK, NE) Jul 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best mp since waw

posted by GoBlue_HAIL (EATON RAPIDS, MI) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I barely even remember the campaign, I swear theyve been recycling the same thing so much, its hard to give that more than a 6.5!....The multiplayer however, is superb, except for lightweight, which is the single worst perk ever put in cod besides commando. Lightweight should be restricted to capture the flag and game modes like that, or just thrown right in the trash with the rest of the garbage. Bottom line, no lightweight, mp would be 9.75, but as is, still rings up a solid 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Typical

posted by oXoSINoXo (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Typical call of duty. Nothing new at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Call of Duty: Ghosts

posted by noahbr (WESTFIELD, IN) Jun 18, 2014

Member since May 2010

I don't usually write reviews for games, but i felt like i needed to say something about this one. As i played this game, i felt as if it wasn't what i was expecting. It had a different vibe to it than the other Call of Duty's in the franchise. I typically buy the new Call of Duty when it come out because that's what everyone does, right? Well, I'm certainly glad i didn't buy this one. It has some pros to it, but it was just more of the same thing with a few extra twists here and the. Some of the pros are:

1. The campaign was actually interesting! it had me hooked from the get-go, and i thoroughly enjoyed it.
2. Remember that vibe i talked about? It didn't feel like the other Call of Duty games for me, which was a fresh breath of air.
3. Extinction! It was quite entertaining the entire time i had the game, and it was, too, a fresh breath of air. If Infinity Ward has anything going for it, it's all the good ideas they are bringing to the table.

Some cons about the game:
1. Multiplayer: I don't buy the COD games for the multiplayer anymore. It just isn't as fun as it used to be back during Black Ops and even MW2. I just don't see the point to it anymore. I buy them for the Spec Ops/Zombies/Extinction and the campaign.
2. Is it the Same? It really is just the same thing as before, just with a few new ideas in place. I really like how Infinity Ward has all these great ideas, like with the Predator DLC and especially Extinction, BUT... it just isn't what it used to be, and that's fun.

No COD deserves a bad review, but it's like i'm buying the same game over and over again, hoping they will change it up. If Sledgehammer (the guys making the next Call of Duty, it's called Advanced Warfare) can pull it back and rethink the franchise, it can still be saved from mediocrity. And if they can't, i think i'll just stick with the tried and true Battlefield series.

This game is definitely worth a rent, but if you're looking for a fresh new shooter, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst Call of Duty to date

posted by poptart_cat (FRANKFORT, IL) Jun 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

A broken multiplayer, a shoddy campaign, and a pathetic attempt by Infinity Ward to bring in the new 'aliens' to replace the missing void of Treyarch's iconic Zombie game mode. Long time fans of the series will either see this as an abomination to the series, or just a mediocre Call of Duty. Infinity Ward brought in a lot of stuff we didn't want, and took out a lot of stuff we liked. I find myself extremely frustrated with this game at times, and I reminisce at how great I was at previous titles like Black ops 2 and Modern Warfare 3, and compare to average skills in Ghosts. But the killer is losing the satisfaction of winning games, because after countless rage inducing events that yo'l suffer through the game, a victory loses its power to bring that glory of success to the player. The one prop I will give to this game is the DLC. I am not a fan of the personalization packs, as I see them as a waste of cash, but the map DLC's are fresh breathes of air. Smaller, traditional map styles, new weapon's that come with the DLC, and some very surprising cameo appearances from movie flick characters like Micheal Myers and The Predator, bring some calm to the storm. The game mode Extinction isn't all that bad, but the thought of it trying to be the next Nazii Zombies bothers me a tad bit. But the long list of flaws and the small Post-It note of accomplishments brings this game to an all time low for a Call of Duty game. Only long fans of the series will be able to point out it's many issues after taking one step into the barren multiplayer of COD Ghosts(Black ops 2 has more players I believe!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Always Good

posted by wtjames1234 (SMYRNA, GA) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Story is great, visuals and graphics are awesome. Solid game. Campaign play time is a little on the short side but its COD so multiplayer is where it shines. Definitely try this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Straight Forward Shooter

posted by BendWebs (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Jun 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is just as the title suggests and nothing more. The biggest draw to the game was supposed to be "Riley", your canine sidekick, but you only get to do use this feature for a short time in a couple of levels. The only time in this game you need to stop running forward is when you are reloading and even then you can dodge the drone of atypical cant hit the broadside of a barn enemies.

The refreshing part was the addition of friendly or enemy bots to simulate the online experience with non of the trolling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Usual CoD

posted by Mathias89 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This series has become a repeat game every time.. Graphics are no better than MW3, gameplay is the same. Didn't hate it but only worth a couple day rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What you expect is COD

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) May 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Same o spawning system and it COD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse