Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox One, PS3, PS4
GF Rating
7.2

2172 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth the 60 you would spend of it

posted by LilBadWolf (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

the more I play ghost the more I came disappointed with it is not the game it is was hype up to be. the online is good when you first start playing but then it gets old very quick. the game is missing alot of things befour it can be a good online game like more and better game modes and more weapons. if your looking for a unique story mode to play it might be worth playing it is by far the only good thing about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unfair and Unacceptable

posted by the_xcellence (DETROIT, MI) Nov 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

November 8, 2011 was when Infinity Ward released MW3, yet almost 2 years later we get a game that doesn't feel anything close to being 2 years improved.

Multiplayer: Prepare for LAG, prepare for campers on multi leveled, mediocre, over sized maps made for the next gen lobby sizes. Prepare for a pointless campaign and pre lobby screens telling you about their brand new dlc map pack you should buy, along with other issues.

You play Hardcore, well congrats as there are three game types for you to choose from. And because Killstreaks are obtained through kills and not points don't expect a fluid game of Kill Confirmed any time soon since they don't need the tags for the points.

As gamers we demand progression and innovation, and for our loyalty we are getting lazily made games such as these. It's unfair plain and simple. Especially since Infinity Ward just boasted about moving $1 Billion worth of units (to stores) of this game, yet we are still having issue with lag, maps, and all the other gripes of previous installments.

This game falls flat on it's face, period, I'm sure the next gen version of this game will be somewhat better, but for this gens version don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst CoD yet!!

posted by Kichigai (TEMPLE, TX) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Campaign is too short and Space, Really?!?

Multiplayer maps are too big and a campers dream. Most games will time out due to no one moving around. They have moved away from the run and gun to camping equilibrium completely.

Extinction was the only bright idea in this game, but with only one mission and easily beatable, it is growing tiring.

Activision's Elite Members should be upset. There is no interaction with the old format, and the new is almost an afterthought.

For the first time in 3 years, I will be buying other shooters as they come out. Thanks for ruining CoD Activision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible multiplayer - "improvement"? Hardly

posted by swfan1963 (LA GRANGE PARK, IL) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I've always enjoyed COD multiplayer, even if I get annihilated by the kids who are 30-40 years younger than me playing it. MP in Ghosts is terrible. It feels like MP from Battlefield, which I've never been a big fan of. The Ghosts maps are huge and boring. Gameplay seems sluggish and doesn't "flow" as well as previous CODs. I owned on matches using smaller maps and suck horribly at those on larger maps. Where's the consistency? Hopefully the Xbox One version will be better, but I seriously doubt it will be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ghosts

posted by KittyVonPurr (HONEA PATH, SC) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I like black ops 2 better. This is more like battlefield to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth a thought

posted by batman30 (PLEASANTVILLE, OH) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst Call of Duty to date. Ever since Modern Warfare 2 it just seems that they keep trending down. Maybe they should take a year or 2 off to take their time to actually create a game worth playing again. Multiplayer, they create too many camping areas, maps are way too large for 6v6, and dying by getting shot by a sniper one in the butt almost every 5 seconds makes me want to snap this disc in two. Inconsistency, and overpowered sniper rifles has been making Call of Duty worse and worse. Plus when you watch a replay and they miss a sniper shot by about 5 feet yet you still die in that one shot does not help it's case. Take your time, take a few years off and then try to revive Call of Duty, it just keeps getting worse and worse. I'd prefer Battlefield 4 anyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of duty ghost

posted by batmannvapes (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

not as fun as cod black 2
good thing im only renting this
thanks to game fly i get to try this out before anything
just wish ghost was as expected

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its like Groundhog Day the movie….same game

posted by DrArmagedd (CANTON, OH) Feb 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

COD never evolves…..its the same game as before, but this time we have a dog…..yippeee! I'd rather not spend any money on this DLC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but needs work

posted by sniperd3 (CHURCHVILLE, MD) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is fun to play and the new tech is kinda cool but the kill streaks suck mostly and the online play needs some work especially on the way to prevent so much spawn killing its crazy you can barely take two steps with out being killed once the trolls get in their position

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not impressed (this is why I use gamefly)

posted by Malsidius (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In my humble opinion, this game did not live up to its expectations. Online features have improved, i.e., 'sliding'. But overall, they could have somehow made this installment into either a patch or an update.

But kudos to Gamefly for providing a service in which I can avoid purchasing such disappointing titles.

Overall, it ain't bad. Definitely add it to your Q, it is still enjoyable...just not an improvement to the series. The storyline is quite farfetched, but interesting enough to stay engaged.

Also, as a side note, I have always been critical of first person shooters since '007 Golden Eye'. If you love this genre, this title is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

another copy and paste

posted by western_warrior (HOBBS, NM) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

okay CoD has only made like one game but really your going this low that's it I'm done with done I'm boycotting activision

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game

posted by dfriese1128 (LEMOYNE, PA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good game needs improvement.....xbox one has better online game play with no lag as 360 has a lot of lag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This Game is Great !

posted by JnL_Lassiter (PADUCAH, KY) Nov 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

First off I want to address those who rate this game as horrible or bad. Your just not any good!! sorry but that is the simple truth. Multi player needed bigger maps and less run and gun. You need to be smart to play this one thats the only difference in this COD than any other one. So play smart and slow down ! Graphics are great and the story line is reallly good too. So keep your heads down use your squad and play smart and you will have a enjoyable multiplayer experince.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just bad. Anyone who rates this higher than a 4

posted by dbol205 (STEWARTSVILLE, NJ) Aug 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2006

Knows nothing about games. For a game franchise well into its life this has gone backwards. Bad visuals and frame rate make it bothersome to play. Then you have the game play, just bad. Bad computer AI and too many explosions make for repetitive gameplay. I could go on and on but I am sure you get the point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by Thousanddog038 (BESSEMER, AL) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

way to short, but still good

posted by aleksi (HIDDEN VALLEY LAKE, CA) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

yes, i have to say that this game is way to short. normally, that's not a big deal for me in most games. but for a game like this, it matters. especially if the developers are thinking of making a sequel to this game later. if u are going to incorporate more than one ideology like world domination and all the little intricate details that go along with it , then it has to be longer to be able to express that better than it did. the beginning was great. it set the stage for all the characters and what their main objectives were. i especially loved how it started off in space. what a twist! i also liked the section when u get to play the dog that the soldiers brought along with them with a camera of some sort strapped to it's back. that way u had a visual perspective on what the the soldiers were seeing. that was cool! however, i just felt that the middle section, with all the usual swimming around in the water and trying to evade the enemy stuff and the over explaining that came along with it could have been rethought. been there done that!

on the plus side, the graphics (as usual), were awesome! Activision has maintained their eye for detail. very little robotic movements, rich colors and textures, and smooth transitional sequencing.

the acting was also great. you believed the good guys were sincere in their mission to save the world from the bad guys, and u believed the bad guys were trying to stop them with everything they had.

so, to rap it up, i thought this was a strong 8 that good have been a 9 had activision just explained a few of their key points a little bit better and made the middle a little bit longer as a result. otherwise, great job Activision!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Probably spent more on Advertisment then the game.

posted by DispersedMammal (HEALDSBURG, CA) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Call of Duty has been a franchise that has brought us some memorable games like Call of Duty 4, World at War, and Modern Warfare 2. Even though the last few installments have lost their luster and favor with some players, but they were still able to retain some of their playability, which kept people spending their money on these repackaged games. So when Call of Duty Ghosts came out I thought I'd try it out, because the game boasted new mechanics which would supplement their old system; that was polished to the point of near perfection. But when I began to play it was obvious that these features were contrived, and very useless.

So the game was a pale imitation of its predecessors, with its new features all to useless and its theme all to familiar. It felt as if that I was walking through the same dis-utopian motif and its required random explosions that is an all-to-common site in this franchise. So, I disappointed to see that virtually nothing changed and that people still were to ignorant to see that they were fraudulently parted for a product which developers promise that it would be different.

So, the morale of the story is that if you are not happy with this game then stop buying Call of Duty games in general. When you not give in it will promote change within the franchise and change is what it needs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to short

posted by 0309 (BRUNSWICK, GA) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

the game was way to short I finished it in 1 in a half day no worth the wait

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game

posted by JMuscle64 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

This COD game was pretty fun, the campaign was realistic, and offered new gadgets, such as the computer you use to navigate with the attack dog. The multiplayer I think was the best thing about this game personally, I enjoyed the unlocking of guns, and different accessories for them.
Some of the guns carried on from previous call of duty games, such as COD MW3. Using the attack dogs in multiplayer was pretty fun, they have your back when you're vulnerable, not always though. I feel that if I played this game more I'd probably appreciate it a little more...
For my competitive playing I prefer battleField, it's more realistic, and offers far more weapons and tech.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty: Ghosts

posted by PadreGamer (KIRKLAND, WA) Jul 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2007

I played this game about 10-12 years ago... What is it doing in a market that offers Borderlands, Deus Ex, Fallout and Far Cry?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Groovy

posted by dawndupree (NEWNAN, GA) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

Man, this game is pretty groovin'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average CoD Campaign (review on just campaign)

posted by Homerdough (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Having beaten all the CoDs campaigns from CoD4 and after, Ghosts was simply too easy. And the few times it was challenging was simply the stupid mechanic of fighting underwater or space. While it was cool to do that, it's not a fun mechanic to fight enemies in.

Aside from the difficulty, a few setpieces in the game were 'oh snap' moments that were truly CoD'esque. The vehicle missions were also quite fun to play through.

The story started off strong but it became confusing as to what you were doing later on as it was 'blow up this' and 'stop that' without a real explanation for doing it. And it's really annoying how many gunshot wounds people can survive in the gut.

Ghosts was a bit short, having beaten it in about 8 hrs on Veteran. But that's not a huge deal since it's setpieces were cool enough to warrant multiple playthroughs.

Id rank this campaign only above Modern Warfare 2, and I'm disappointed that there was no Spec Ops, as personally I enjoy Spec Ops a lot more than Zombies/Survival mode. Even though, Extinction builds on Zombies a bit by killing Dinosaur type enemies but having a level up system, which is always nice.

PROS
+Good setpieces
+Fun vehicle missions

CONS
-Too easy (frustrating on annoying parts)
-Story is too unbelievable (hated the ending)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun at first

posted by Xbox_360_Gamer (POINT PLEASANT BORO, NJ) Jun 30, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This Call Of Duty Game had the biggest hype about it, and to be completely honest, I thought this game would have Simon Ghost Riley from MW2 in it, so if thats why your renting it, DON'T!

The main story itself was okay, it was somewhat bland, and I expected almost every part of it. The ending was a bit of a cliff hanger, and the only really cool parts were the scuba diving missions, space missions, and controlling your beast dog Riley who never seems to die.

Multiplayer- The maps itself are okay, as are the game modes, but nothing terrific like BO2. I was upset that literally all they did to fix multiplayer were adding character skins of our past favorite COD antagonists and protagonists such as Makarov, Price,Soap, etc.

Extinction- Words cannot describe extinction. Honestly, extinction itself could be rated a 9/10, as the storylines are well thought out and are very cool too. Its great fun for anyone that was a fan of BO zombies. Also, it has many achievements for any hunter looking for some easy grabs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good, but couldn't finish it.

posted by Clewi12 (DEFUNIAK SPRINGS, FL) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

It was awesome right up until it quit working. I got maybe a 1/4 of the way through before it gave me the "Error Out of Memory 2"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

my apologies if you bought this game for $60

posted by dustinian (NEWBURGH, NY) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

this installment is a huge step back for the series. first, i want to admit that the new perk system in multiplayer is indeed an improvement, but for every step forward ghosts takes, it also takes the cod franchise 2 or 3 steps backward. the single player is fun in terms of gameplay, but very short. an experienced player can beat it in just a few hours. the story itself is ridiculous (even if the middle east ran out of oil, venezuela would still be a joke). it is completely linear, and lacks the sympathetic characters blops 2 had. the main enemy wears a doorag the entire game for christ's sake! the "twists" are predictable, and stale. so in short, its fun while it lasts, but that is far too short, and even then its far from spectacular to say the least.

multiplayer is of course fun. i mean its cod, so of course it is. but other than the new squad and perk systems, there is nothing new. and i couldnt find ground war, my favorite game mode. stick to blops if you crave a cod online experience.

this game is worth a rent for fans of the series. and hardcore fans may even want to own it (if you can get it cheap, and only if you can get it cheap), but this game is an innovation free zone. and the canned content from previous installments in the franchise is more poorly executed than in the past. ill give it a 7 because its a call of duty game with an ok multiplayer, but in fact im probably being a little generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse