Rent Call of Duty: Ghosts for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
7.1

1511 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as they make it seem...

posted by Steeze_McQueen (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I don't know what people went into this game looking for, but I enjoyed the heck out of it! I am not huge into the multiplayer aspect, so I will reserve judgement on that, but the story mode and Extinction modes more than make for a fun, long game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ya...not so much

posted by animorphs3 (MANSFIELD, OH) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game has some serious issues. I'm not big on graphics, but the textures in this game are just atrocious. The single player campaign is fine; it makes no sense, but when has a CoD campaign actually made sense? Instead, I'll focus on the multiplayer.

Firstly, the maps are too large. Seriously. One map has over 7 buildings in it, most of which have multiple floors. I have gone from one side of a map to another in over a minute and not found a single person to shoot at. It's ridiculous. Imagine the largest map in BOP2 (Probably carrier? Not really sure...) Triple that, and you'll have the smallest map on this game.

If you like to camp, then you'll love this. Because that's all people do in TDM. I don't even blame them. Half of the time, you never reach 75 kills because 90% of the other team is sitting in a corner somewhere. The only mode that is partially playable is Kill Confirmed. However, I've seen games where a team has 10 kills but no tags, because everyone just sits in a corner of the map.

The spawns are so broken it's not even funny. I was killed, spawned in on an IED, instantly killed, then re-spawned in the middle of a firefight. Seriously. Right in the middle of my team mate and an enemy fighting. I ate all the bullets.

The dog score streak. Oh man, that is so broken it's not even funny. Either one of two things happen: the dog is omnipotent or he's so stupid he gets stuck in the ground. There's no middle ground either. They can lunge halfway across the map and still kill you instantly. The AI for them is insane. Running Dead Silence and a suppressed weapon, they still turn on me 180 and kill me EVEN WHEN I get five or six rounds in them. If one sees you, you're dead 99% of the time.

You also die instantly in this game. I'll get two or three hit markers on someone, and then immediately drop dead myself. When you watch the kill cam, they're playing from the future, apparently, because none of my bullets have even shot yet

Terribly br

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very underrated

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Nov 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

By NO means is this game actually a 10 like I rated it but it's FAR better than the current 6.2 rating so I had to rate it higher. This game is taking a lot more heat than it should. I personally am not the biggest fan of the Call Of Duty series so I'm not reviewing this as a fanboy. I take it the low ratings are from said fanboys that feel like this game doesn't have that "Call Of Duty feel" to it but this is true and untrue at the same time. This game does feel like a Call Of Duty game, HOWEVER, it doesn't feel like "JUST ANOTHER CALL OF DUTY GAME." It's running on an all new engine with an all new story and looks and feels better than Call Of Duty has in a long time. Multiplayer has seen a major overhaul that I'm a bit on the fence about it might pay off in the long run. Overall, I'd say this game is MUCH better than the ridiculously low ratings it's getting and is worth a buy but if you're getting a Playstation 4, get it for the PS4 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lots of hype and somewhat disappointing

posted by bigjake12345 (FOREST HILL, MD) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First let me start off by saying I am not great at FPS's but took a chance on Black Ops II and LOVED IT so needless to say I was looking forward to the release of Ghosts. I just signed up to Gamefly recently so it shipped right away even though it was low availability. The campaign mode story started very strong but then plateaued to a point that I was no longer interested in finishing the game and didn't. The plot was just blah with the most intriguing character being Riley, who is a German Shepherd man-killing machine. It also just felt like they haven't really made any improvements graphics-wise since the last COD, a fact confirmed when I popped Black Ops back in.
The Multiplayer mode is incredibly difficult. If you are unskilled or new to First Person Shooters then this game is not for you. Also, if you are at all colorblind then you wont survive long in any combat arena. It seems like by the time you see someone you are shot, and folks are very hard to see. There is A LOT of camping and sniping, too, and the maps are big. If you are real good at shooters and cleaned house in previous COD games then you might like it but if its among your first couple titles then you will send it back. It kind of lures you in with a deliciously easy campaign mode setting you up to get slaughtered in Multiplayer.

Thats All.

Next game in my Q: Metro Last Light

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what the f###%

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i love call of duty this one sucks im sorry. extinction is awsome maybe even better than zombies but once you beat the map there is no real challenge afterwards. mutiplayer bad maps. campange alright but no black ops 2 not ever as good as mw2 or mw3 a step bad except for extinction, it just needs more maps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad!

posted by Alexatm123 (SALISBURY, NC) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Im a heavy call of duty gamer but this game right here is trash!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst of the series

posted by firstcitytofall (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Multiplayer is awful and feels generic, seems more dumbed down then previous installments. The story mode is lacking and feels like a copy paste from titles before it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MW3 2.0 (part Duh)

posted by NET2KG720 (BELLFLOWER, CA) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All this game is just another version of MW3 with different maps and name. The game play is super Week and every Map is just a campers zone. Black Ops Series KILLS this in every aspect. The game producers got paid on this rush job game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst online play ever!!!!!

posted by muddfoot22 (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Who cares about the game COD is about online play and this plain sucks! Maps are small game play sucks. Time to for the first time ever try battlefield. Poor effort on this one. MUDDFOOT22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sad

posted by cdawag (PRINCETON, IL) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was a disappointment to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

no better than all the others

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) Nov 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The leaning feature is fun but a little clunky and sliding is a big disadvantage better just running and gunning although it can be useful popping out of cover you just cant shoot during the slide. Also i feel like the hit detection is a step back it feels like black ops and i felt the modern warfare series had better feel when you shot at players. All the maps dont have very vibrant colors either and taking out ground war was a terrible idea even if they'll put it on next gen truly next year is when game devs should worry about next gen because most people are still going to play current gen and ground war was a must have the maps feel too empty and leave too much room for campers and when leaning does work it aids the campers. The lack of streaks is a let down and most are to back you up rather then let you enjoy your hard earned streaks and on the one's that back you up the A.I can be very smart or very dumb. Extinction is fun no problem there and the campaign is good too. If your looking for a super good cod that day is still to come its just another cod with glitches and guns renamed to make it feel new, not to mention it felt like it was hacked more than mw3 at least mw3 was glitches that got patched in the first 2 weeks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

skip this game and you life will be better

posted by AlmostEvil665 (BEDFORD, NH) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm so glad I use Gamefly 1st before buying this game. Graphics are very poor, controls are jumpy, tiny maps, every thing is CQB, bullets don't always hit even with sites on target, you can shot a guy a few times and he flies ups and knife you. The only plus of this game is the amount you can custom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very disapointed

posted by sontwisted (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 27, 2014

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this has got to be the worse entry in the call of duty series to date the maps are too large and the game play is too slow for that authentic COD experience there is absolutely nothing new being done in this version. it feels like a poorly executed mash up of all previous COD's from the first modern ware fare to Blops 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wow, activision screwed up

posted by kbildens (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was suppost to be good... but it wasn't.
i dont like this game. the way it plays is not call of duty they seem to be trying to rip off battlefield with their destructible surfaces. the game play feels awkward in almost every way possible, when just looking to my sights feels uncomfortable you know the game sucks.
while i haven't played the story, i cant get passed the horrible game play and mechanics of this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak

posted by jimbo69 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played a couple times and went back to battlefield 4. Too many campers, weak graphics and maps. I wasted my free trial on this piece of garbage!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

sucks

posted by aizensousuke (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

campaign is good multiplayer scuks in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by vindicator73 (RICHMOND, KY) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What has happened to Call of Duty? New writers? New producers? This was boring, and all around lousy. Horrible storyline, and the campaign stinks. The ending is ridiculous. Great we won, but not really. They just changed a few names, and gave us parts of nothing that made sense. An entire level where you hide? They really messed up this time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is really fun.

posted by edwin219 (HAMMOND, IN) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is definitely better then some people have been making it seem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game after... :)

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 27, 2014

Member since May 2014

I don't play the story mode but i like to play online I first suck like till least rank 15 then i bought dlc of the reaper then i become the best so its a great game cant wail till advanced warfare

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This Game Sucks

posted by kingjose97 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Sep 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I was so hyped up when I knew that there was going to be another COD. But when I finally played it I wanted to destroy it (but I remembered I was just renting it.) I literally played this game for 10 minutes and was instantly disgusted by the giant step back the franchise took by producing this game. Trust me do not rent this game, if you bought it that's too bad for you. The online game play is like playing a garbage FPS that you can find on any little internet game website. It disgusted me to the point I didn't even want to play the campaign. If COD: Advanced Warfare is anything like this piece of garbage, COD just lost a fan. So GameFly prepare the next game on my Q ready because i'm sending this one back ASAP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bored

posted by nmred5 (MORGAN HILL, CA) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

No strategy, total chaos and just point and shoot. Very disappointed. Was bored on the third level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same ole same ole

posted by kewone (MARINA DEL REY, CA) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2006

Fun for about the first 15 min and then on to the online play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best one so far

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Sep 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I love the campaign. Once again Call of Duty makes an epic game. The extiction is kinda hard but it adds an interesting new story. Online is great in the sense that you can buy attachments instead of having to wait to unlock. Overall a 9 out of 10. Def keeping it! Add me if you play online! Brettn10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call Of Duty Ghost

posted by killamyke420 (NAPLES, FL) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Another year, another Call of Duty. Let's make this clear: Ghosts does NOT suck, yet it isn't the best CoD; not even close. The campaign was just mindless fun, like the previous campaigns, yet I was disappointed overall, as the trailers had more emotion than the story itself. Characters could have been developed more. One reviewer said that this is the longest campaign in the series, yet it lasted for 5-hours, again like the previous games.

Now onto the multiplayer, which everyone is mainly concerned about. Aside from customizing your own soldier, there is nothing really new. It's the same multiplayer. And what I hate is that everything is available for use, as long as your gather up enough points. What happened to this weapon being unlocked at this level, etc?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what is new?????

posted by popoju9 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 25, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

another press L1 then R1 shooter game. ran through it quick on the most difficult level. not for single player gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse