Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops for DS
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3, Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

570 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not so bad after all!

posted by Jagrafess4 (Selma, IN) Feb 8, 2011

Member since May 2010

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

To two of the previous reviews, you CAN change the control scheme to stylus control, which I greatly prefer. For a 'realistic' looking FPS for the DS, the graphics are actually pretty good. The campaign was relatively short on Normal difficulty, but gets very hard on the hardest. The story line is mediocre, but I can overlook that for gameplay reasons.

I like the amount of weapons available in-game. Not as good as the console game, but acceptable.

It seems to have a low framerate, so it doesn't play as smoothly as I could have hoped, but once again, this is the DS we're talking about.

The AI IS pretty stupid, but you can get around that pretty easily.

Zombie mode... I like it. The fact that the Zombies kill you in one hit makes it more difficult. I would have liked it if the four maps were a bit more different. Maybe have just two maps, with the objective of turning on the power and some more things from the console game, like more rooms. But all-in-all a good little game mode. The doors and weapons are REALLY expensive though.

The multiplayer is good for a DS FPS, but they waaaaaaaaaay overpowered the grenade launcher. I don't have a good connection for online play at home, so I wasn't able to do much, just a bit at the Library. I only had time to connect to one server. 4 out of 5 people I was playing with were fun to play with, there was some versatility in there. But the fifth person was a pain. He just ran around with an AK-47GL, blowing everything up in one hit. Plus, I hear that people that use the explosive tip crossbow are also very irritating, but I didn't play against any. But, overall, once again, a good game mode.

PROS:
Zombies!
Good singleplayer.
Good multiplayer.
Lots of weapons.
Two different choices for control scheme. (Stylus or Button)

CONS:
Low Framerate.
Explosive weapons overpowered.
Not particularly big Zombies maps.

That's about it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

black ops DS

posted by BaseBall25 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this ds game is great its 6 players and really fun you should rent it it is super cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i liked it becouse war is what i like. try it and you will see

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by deadgame (CHICO, TX) May 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

COD Black Ops for the DS is something crazy! The story mode is good and so is the multiplayer. But the best part is the Zombies fun and challenging! Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NOT RECIEVED THIS GAME

posted by kanebrown (WAYNESBORO, MS) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I HAVE NOT RECIEVED THIS GAME I AM WONDERING WHY PLEASE NOTE THIS WE DID NOT RECIEVE THIS WE RECIEVED THE OTHER ONE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice

posted by yosefrocks (TARZANA, CA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

nice game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing DS shooter

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great COD game amazing FPS very exciting, thrilling, and longer than most Call Of Duty games plus its a different setup which makes it very interesting and super fun! You get to be sneaky and it makes you feel like your in actually a Spec. Ops. member and that your right in the middle of all the action! I highly recomend this game to any gamer its worth the rent and the buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

zombies are on the ds virstion!

posted by sam109 (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

call of duty black ops for the ds is one of the best ds game I had ever played because of the zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my review

posted by mrgriz95 (BILLINGS, MT) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

call of duty black ops for the ds just completeley sucked it was just very very very very awful because of the controls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blake's cod

posted by Flyboy1717 (HILLSBOROUGH, CA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 21 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Its the most awesome gmae ive played , EVER and i luv all the features like zombie mode but i wish when ur about to kill a zombie they kill u first and there like five feet away from u, but its still cool and fasinating,. Question: when does black ops take place and where?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Back in the mailbox within 30 mins.

posted by Burned101 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I can't say anything constructive about this game, so i'll just break it out.

PROS:
???

CONS:
-Didn't expect much in the way of graphics, but it was actually less.
-Sound effects seriously sound like 8 bit noises from the original Wolfenstein3D. I inwardly cringed whenever my avatar took a step.
-MP connection was awful and took ages to connect while linked to a pretty fast hotspot.
-Worst Control Scheme Ever. Moving your head around is really awkward and sluggish. I think the pen would have been a better choice for aim. It prompted me to wonder if anyone bothered playing the game before they decided to release it.
-Friendly AI is plain stupid and the bots did not hit a single target.
-Despite the impossible controls I found the levels pretty easy to complete on normal difficulty.
-Gamefly took a week to send this to me and it will take another week or more before I get another game. 2 weeks without something to virtually shoot at. =(

bottom line: get the xbox version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BOO!

posted by shortysup (ELK GROVE, CA) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Alright.... The graphics were OK i could deal with them
Sound was OK as well
BUT the controls were so freaking difficult.i sent it back after 10 minutes...
If all u have is a ds then rent it if u want but DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Good Game

posted by halohero23 (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

Zombies is the best part of the game its a little hard with the controles to play. The campain i give it a 8 beacuse therse some parts i like and some i hate a lot. Multiplayer is good I PLAY IT a lot with my friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not this game

posted by Erick120 (COMMERCE CITY, CO) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

I want Legend of zelda ocarina of time 3d not call of duty black ops

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Call of Duty

posted by Tigervideogames (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

First of all i did not want this game my brother did after the first 10 seconds worst game ever. He said the graphics are bad and who would buy this. so yeah anyone looking to rent it see if there are better games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE WORST

posted by tbraley01 (FLORENCE, SC) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

IT HAS THE WORST GRAPHICS EVER PLUS IT IS A SLOW GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really!?!?

posted by coddude57 (FARMINGTON, MN) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The reason for a 2 is the game wasnt a complete bust, i liked the campaign being paralell to the consoles. But that is the only pro...
Graphics.... Youre kidding me right, i would rather play NES than this, it looks like moving actoun figures without hands and the sound is so annoying, zombies has constant guitar licks for beginning every new wave (which is like 5 or 6 zombies) and every match starts off with this creepy laugh that if this is made for kids would probably give them nightmares.
Gameplay......When the first level started, i looked at who i was Sgt. Michael Shaw, what hoppened to Mason???
So unless you want a zombies mode that lets zombies kill you with a single hit and maps the size of your THUMBNAIL DO NOT EVEN RETURN TO THE TOP OF THE PAGE AND EVEN THINK ABOUT CLICKING THE RENT BUTTON, just search for another game
out..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

terrible

posted by badbo1234 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

this game could be so much better the graphics are terrible and the zombies mode is stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

bad

posted by tammy912 (NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

it wasn't what i thought i was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ive ever played

posted by HALOFANBOY (MARICOPA, AZ) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

i just love it so much it sharts all over console version omg i love it so much omg i fap to this game every day because its so good the grafics are real life i looked at real life and said wow real life is g4y grafics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good FPS

posted by XXcoltonXX (HENDERSON, TX) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

ok lets start off with graphics.its a ds game, so of course the graphics gonna be worse than xbox 360 or ps3. but the game has pretty good graphics, for a ds game.gameplay was awesome, but the games controls are not so good. i completed campaign in about 4-5 hours on normal, and 9-10 hours on hard. zombies is great, but the zombies only hav to hit u once and ur dead. and not to mention, this is the only FPS for the ds that i like. ive played call of duty 4 and some other FPS games for the ds, and none are really that good. all in all, if ur a person who luvs FPS games, get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

O.K. game

posted by XboxLPB224 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

it was pretty good but nothing compared to it on other systems I also was expecting the zombie mode to be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

havent got it yet

posted by bryanpey000 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

i think it will b awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The worst game I have ever played - 30 mins gone

posted by TheWiiReviewer (WASHINGTON, MO) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

After a long hard day of work, I came home to Black Ops in my mailbox, finally! I open it up, pop it in, with a huge grin, and then... it fell apart.

Graphics

What the heck. Cooking. Mama. has better graphics then this. Even Goldeneye on the N64 has better graphics! Zombies, however, look okay, so that is why I am giving graphics a 2.

The sound

Ugh, the sound! Just the trainer sounds horrible! I had to turn it down - Zombies has constant, annoying guitar licks, and the zombies groans are EAR SPLITTING. Sound gets a 1.

The Controls

Button controls are impossible. Sure, you can use stylus, but you need to be an ultimate ambidextrous to use it. I find the L and R being used to shoot a bit weird.. Controls get an okay 5.

The Gameplay

The gameplay of this game plays out like every COD game. Shoot, shoot, win. Shoot. Explode. Shoot. Win. Cutscene. Pretty simple, fun stuff! Probably the best part of this game - Gameplay gets an 8, but does not attach to the score.

Overall if you are a diehard FPS fan who only has the DS, rent this as soon as possible, as you might like it. Otherwise, go to the Console version.

I hope you enjoyed my review of Call of Duty: Black Ops for the Nintendo DS. Please check out my other reviews for more reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »