Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops for Wii
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.6

2989 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Motion sensor shooting at the expense of intensity

posted by respawn (CHESTER, VA) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

26 out of 37 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

First off the max amount of people able to play in a match together is 5 on 5 because that's the most the Wii can process. And it struggles with that.

Putting aside the fact that you would be playing with almost twice the amount of people in matches on the PS3 or 360, using a motion sensor controller makes everything a bit slower. Aiming for the kill, turning around, ect. If your attacked from behind your basically dead.

But there is a catch to playing this game on the Wii. You can use the classic controller(Gamecube controllers work). Doing that, it's basically like playing a regular shooter, and all your motions, I'm assuming, would be at full speed, giving whomever has the classic controllers the advantage over the guys who are using motion sensors.

If your going to stick with the motion sensors cause you enjoy the concept, I would suggest getting a zapper. Without it, the motion sensor controllers have terrible ergonomics.

The last downside other than of course sacrificing graphics playing on the wii, is the server for online play. The wii's server was unbearable. It would take me a third of my time playing just trying to connect to a game. And the bad part is it would tease you. You would get into a lobby. The lobby would fill. The map would load. And then boom, the server would crash and spit everyone back into the lobby saying, "there was a problem connecting with the server". I know it wasn't just me because other people with mics were complaining about it. Once back into the lobby, the lobby would close, then you would have to try and find a game all over again. Making attempt after attempt sometimes taking up to 11 minutes. Hopefully the server just has some kinks being it's a new game, but if not, theres always campaign mode.

Putting aside those cons, I would say I definitely recommend this game on the wii(can't wait to play the PS3 version) only on the basis that you have a classic controller, or a zapper. And hopefully the servers get better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great... but with its issues

posted by EmanReview (TOLLESON, AZ) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

i'll get right to it:
PROS-
great story with lots of replay value
nice graphics but little special effects
multiplayer can be extremely fun( perks, killstreaks, etc.)
zombies are tough but great arcade fun
nice presentation
CONS-
framerate is slow in hectic fights
zombies has only ONE MAP!
No cooperative play, not even drop-in/drop-out mode on other games
servers are slow

and yet, this just a great game on its own, and a little lacking compared to others.
presentation, campaign, and multiplayer makes up for it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most Amazing Shooter Game For The Wii Yet!

posted by reviewman8 (COLLIERVILLE, TN) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I got this game because I thought it would be interesting what a first-person shooter game would be like on the Wii. I was skeptical at first but soon lightened up to it and got the hang the controls. The storyline is pretty interesting, but soon gets boring with the difficult to control camera. The pointer on the screen that points you where you need to go is very difficult to see, especially under heavy fire. The zombie mode was good but seemed kind of recycled from the other Call of Duty games. Multi-player was definatly the high point of the game. There are all new customization options and new weapons plus new killstreak rewards. It was very fun to be able to play multiplayer without haviing to pay for xbox live, all you need is a wi-fi connection. One of the only other bad thing I could find was that Treyarch lengthened the time it takes to bring up the sights on your gun, to prevent quickscoping. That itself is okay, but it definatly makes it hard to quickly aim with a normal gun at someone running past you. All in all this game was great.

Call of Duty: Black Ops I give you a 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by FanofSox (ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

COD Black Ops in so far the best shooter game for the wii that I have ever played. Me and my family were originally worried about the fact that this game is rated M, but the only bad part is campain, which none of us liked. The online is the best part. Which has no swear words. This game is great and I strongly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Single player VS Mulitplayer

posted by AK2URFACE (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

IF you dont know how to play the game try single player first and it teaches you all the basics in the 1st couple minutes of gameplay. Once you get the hang of the controls try different guns (AK47 is my favorite) and you'r bound to find one your really good at. Also dont think just because the people in story mode die really quick from pistols that online ppl will die quick;they dont. When you play online you are introduced to a new world of black ops. Alll the conrtols are the same but you know can pick which guns you want to use to fight your way to the top, but you must earn these guns before you can use them. Remember to save your COD points to buy helpful perks,tacticals,letahls, and equipment. Sometimes it can be hard but when you get the hang of it you'r sure to have a blast with it. i personally think wager matches are the best. In these you gamble your money for a chance to win even more money, but to every game is a new twist that can set u back. In one in the chamber(my favorite) u only have 1 bullet and 3 lives, kills give u more bullets. Sticks and Stones basicly just make sure no one tomahawks you or you'll lose all ur hard earned points. If you want to find out he others rent it, or buy it : ) hope this helped!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad....I was actually quite impressed.

posted by DonJuggalo (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got this game by mistake, but decided to check it out anyway. I must say that I was quite impressed by parts of the experience. I have also played this game on the XBOX 360, and compared to that version the Wii still holds its own.

Not everything is here that is in the other versions, of course. Some levels are missing, the graphics are obviously of lower quality, etc. However, judged on its own, they did a decent job of bringing this title to the Wii. Wii owners should be happy with this version of the game, especially since titles like this are few and far-between on the Nintendo console. Props to Nintendo for not watering down the maturity of this title. All the foul language and gore are present in this version.

The Graphics are very nice. 9/10
Although not as nice as the other consoles, for a Wii title this game has very good graphics. Unless you've logged in countless hours on the other versions, you'll be pleased. Even if you have, you must admit the graphics are impressive for the Wii.

Sound: 9/10
The sound effects are very good and add to the experience. Good job.

Controls: 6/10
This is where things get sketchy. The reload doesn't work very well, and the control layout is not very good. I played with the Wii-Zapper, which is cool because of the 'gun,' but then the sketchy controls take away from my enjoyment. Motion controls are what separates the Wii from other consoles, so I'm not trying to play with 'classic' controls.

Replay: 7/10
This is an 'on rails' game which doesn't give you much freedom to make decisions. You beat the game, there's not much more. Unless you go online. I'm so glad they included online play, but then they don't have split-screen, which takes away a basic multiplayer element that should be there. They could have dropped the graphics for 2-player online if that would have helped. I do like that you can request ally codes (friend codes).

All in all, a decent effort and worth checking out whether this is your genre or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best call of duty yet!!!

posted by Rapid357 (BRONX, NY) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is incredible, the best one yet.
The story mode is intense. you wont know whats going on untill the verry end. Zombie mode is incredible and is packed with tons of details and easter eggs, and new cool pack a punch weapons. The verry best part is the multi player. It is flawless. of all the maps i've only seen one cheep camping position in the whole game. if you are like me and raged when ever someone used juggernaut+Mp40 duel magz in waw, or in MWR when someone used noob tubes and random frags, then you will love black ops multiplayer. every gun/perk/kilstreak is increadably balenced to insure that the beter player wins not just the guy with the mp40 or the m16. At this point i have to beleave that any cod player who doesnt like this multiplayer is just mad that there are no cheep kills
(aww :( go play a different game)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

call of duty

posted by gamefly3 (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

call of duty black ops is the most amazing game in the world
i really like the graphics in call of duty black ops and also
zombie mode is the best mode so i would pay up to 100
bucks that is how much i like that video game i rated it
10 out of 10 also it is a great blood and gore game it is a little violent but that does
not stop me from playing it every
day i am 9 years old it will always be my favorite shooting game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

FOUL LANGUAGE!!!

posted by fayden23 (BEDFORD, OH) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

foul language and no way to change the settings!
I had my 3yo with me and I had to turn it off. dropping F bombs is NEVER ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

black ops great game

posted by charlie3 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was great it had amazing graphics it is great but one thing i realized that it is mostly flashbacks on his memory

so basically your a man named mason who is a solider and you went through lots of things to wind up captured by a man (name not none)
and you go through your memory so the people who captured you can find out about someone in your memory and what happened

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CRAZY CRAZY FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by larrythecabelgu (POLK CITY, FL) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

GRAFICS ARE AWSOME!!!!! zombie mode is amasing you have all the guns just like xbox!!!!!! controls are way easyer i am not saying xbox controlls are bad they are great to but i love wii controls just a littel bit better.overall:AMSINGLY ADDICTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

CoD black ops

posted by shawnap (VAN BUREN, AR) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was very happy with the game, but i was unable to use the online multiplayer for some reason my wii would not connect to the server but besides that very good game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME IN STORES

posted by messymike (CHICO, CA) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

IF YOU RENT THIS GAME. YOU MIGHT AS WELL BUY IT.. OR KEEP IT UNTIL THE NEXT CALL OF DUTY COMES OUT.. THIS GAME IS HIGHLY ADDICTING.. IF YOU DONT HAVE HOURS OF TIME TO PLAY MIGHT AS WELL NOT RENT IT.. BEST THING SINCE CABLE TV. WORTH EVERY PENNY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Black ops + wii equals amazing!!!

posted by Pinecone34 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

They may have black ops for a cheaper price for the wii (which is a adventage to me) but shooting games from nintendo make you feel like your acturally in it! And take this as a advantage. Black ops dosent have those lags you get from xbox and ps3. (DS is just not good period) It has all your guns. Still campaign. And cheaper price. Rent this game now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by bfjklz (WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Black OPS IS GREAT BUT LEVEL 4 IS SO HARD WHEN YOU HAVE TO FACE VIETNAM

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cod black ops

posted by DarthCJ (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

all i can say is that call of duty did really did good this time around with call of duty black ops, i really love the fact that now you don't have to get a mod just to have zoombies, the zombie mode is just great i mean really who dosn't love to have a choice of gun, be able to move and not get shot, and even play with friends, omg, please get this game but watch out for that server, it likes to diissconect you on every 1 to 2 multiplayer matchs per 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game

posted by michelleschafer (weedsport, ny) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a good game i have never played it on the wii but i wont to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

call of duty black ops

posted by 0029417p (WESTBURY, NY) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game i want to keep it but when click keep i didnt receive the game yet i hope ill get the game tomorow thank you who ever made this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best war game ever

posted by pat9635 (BASTROP, LA) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok call of duty black ops is the best war game ive ever played first it has good graphis and has a great story line its fun and chalenging i think its one of the best call of duty games so far so i recommended geting this game because u will enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best games ever

posted by jac81099 (TONGANOXIE, KS) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is my favorite game ever but X BOX is better because you can have more zombie maps i mean you only get ONE freakin map that ridiculous but i do recomend it because you can play online without x box live i rate it a 9 oh well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by Chanda (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

fuuuuuuuuuuun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by 6amer420 (HEATH, OH) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A few people dont like the game but I think thats because they're too used to modern warfare, black ops is deffinitly different you have to buy weapons and perks unlike just unlocking them and using them I think they should make they're campaigns longer but thats just me I beat it in like two days might just be me I dunno and they should make more maps for zombie mode maybe they just havn't updated them yet or whatever but i only got to play on one but yeah fantastic game you guys that dont like it you either have not gotten used to it enough to like it or just don't like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I highly recommend

posted by codfan1 (GREENVILLE, MO) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not just action and war but if you played call of duty world war it all adds up at the end of this game. The most people you should pay attention to is reznov and woods. This is very full of action, adventure and is very sad near the end i hope this review helped you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun

posted by snotspill (YORKVILLE, IL) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Very good shooter but what else would you expect from Call of Duty? I especially enjoyed the zombie kill stage, most enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of duty black ops

posted by abababc (YORK, PA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. The game play is amazing in single player. But There is one problem. I wish i could post this all over internet but i cant. The online server is so bad it is getting to be the stupid game of the year. I HATE CALL OF DUTY BACK OPS SERVER!!!!!!!!! thanks for listening to my review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse