Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.1

26323 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Black Ops a good FPS but just an okay Call Of Duty

posted by The_Reviewer (CATHEDRAL CITY, CA) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Black ops was a good FPS game that any shooter fan needs to get. Unfortunately as a call of duty game it drops the ball a little bit....

Campaign

First lets dive into the campaign, it's a nice steady pace that I could complete in about 9-10 hours on veteran. It has a mix of fun variety that previous call of duty's have not gone into before. Unfortunately it is kinda dull. I find myself getting bored half way thru the story, I believe if they had better writers to convey that story they created I would of loved to of played the story much more.

Co-op

Unfortunately they did not do what they did in world at war in letting a group of players dive into a story mission which is a little disappointing but they did have zombies, in a big way. First of all they start you with 1 zombie map and after you complete the story you get a second one. It is the same old run and gun zombies which makes it so good. They don't shoot back like firefight or hordemode but they come in big packs and when you have about 50-60 zombies barreling towards you gets really exciting if you have some skills on the sticks. If you bought the $80 version of the game you also got the world at war zombie maps which are amazing.

Multiplayer

The public competitive multiplayer has been okay but thats as far as it goes. Unfortunately it has been plagued with terrible connection issues which should of been addressed pre game. Though okay they dropped the ball a bit. Though the multiplayer is still better than most games on the market still. One great innovation that I hope infinity ward takes with them is wager matches, in my opinion that and zombies are the highlight of the game. They also added theater mode to the game which was needed for a couple of years in the COD series so I have to give the kudos for that. They have also supported the game real well with constant patches to try and stray away from glitches and hackers.

DLC

There are 4 packs now and great they are but they cost 15$ each.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by xphunter (LEWISTON, ME) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Tomahawk+Ballistic Knife=FSU

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely not a 10 but still great.

posted by Jackoner (LAYTON, UT) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

92 out of 150 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

If you like the COD games before this one, then there's no reason why you won't like this one. It's the same stuff with different maps and some additional stuff to make it more balanced. No stopping power, jauggernaut, etc... (If those things even bothered you)

The campaign is fun and playing on Veteran with definitely challenge the best players. (Kind of like World at War on Veteran difficulty.)

Graphics are just fine. Maybe you guys should get better t.v.'s because the game looks great to me and I have 20-10 vision. So maybe hit your local t.v. store to solve that issue you're having.

Combat training is new to the COD series. It's AMAZING.
Theater mode is new. (It's like Halo). Awesome addition!!!

Lots of game types with this COD and tons of replay value.

This is a must buy game. Just not for me until the price drops around $40.00 It's so similiar to COD MW2, WAW and MW and I already have those games.

If this game had Co-Op Campaign it would receive a 10 out of 10 from me. But it doesn't so I give it a 9.

This game has received enough positive ratings that if you haven't played it yet, it's worth your time to give it a try for yourself so you can cast your own opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

COD: BO - Everything you need to know

posted by LMahfeetz (FONTANA, CA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

88 out of 145 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Let me start this off by saying unlike many others, I've not chosen sides over the years with the COD franchise. I've been a big fan of both companies.

With that said, MW revolutionized the way we play games. One of the greatest things 3arch did with WoW, was use MW's gaming engine to build upon, instead of creating their own from the ground up. This tapped into the immense potential the MW engine had and allowed them to customize it to their liking, by adding 3arch's unique signatures to the game. - I regret to inform everyone, with BO's they did not continue that trend. - That's the biggest change you'll notice.

Graphics: As many will tell you, the graphics are definitely a step down from the last 3 games in the series. Why? This game was made for 3d. To render 3d characters onto the screen requires multiple copies of the renders. This requires the graphics to be scaled down individually to make room for the extra pixels. I don't have a 3d TV so I can't tell you if it was worth it.

Multiplayer: There's just something not right here that I can't quite put my finger on. I get a general feeling of (un)organized chaos during matches. Which ironically makes the smallest map -Nuke Town- so much different & fun. Lag is a big detriment too. Too often what you see isn't reality and it's annoying. Spawning continues to be a problem again -although not as bad as COD3- It's very unintuitive. I expected more. My biggest gripe though may be matchmaking. It seems broken in some respects and just doesn't function well by today's standards.

Customization: This is where multiplayer truly shines. The depth of customization is overwhelmingly awesome. Contracts & wagers are a great addition. I feel they made a mistake removing earned callsigns though. The perks to me are a step back too and not as well implemented imo, although some are cool.

Overall: Disappointed actually. A definite step back in the series. For once I have to admit, IW just makes a superior product. =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Call of Duty...

posted by Mojopher (JOPLIN, MO) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Campaign-8
Multiplayer-8..........(noobs ruin most of the fun -_-)
zombies-9

Campaign is pretty cool... takes place during cold war 1962-1968, follows Alex Mason who is a secret agent, storytelling sucks and most of the time a had no clue why i was doing what i was doing... but the missions are awesome... and Sam Worthington and Gary Oldman do great voiceovers..

multiplayer adds some new modes like wager matches, which mixes thing up by adding cool modes like where you get a new weapon every timee you kill someone, but these modes do get kind of boring... also you can create your own emblems and put them on your guns, and of course there are alot of cool attachments to put on your guns... which is cool but makes the games even more unbalcned and unfair to other players...so the Multiplayer is more of the same old same old... Really fun to newcomers but to others its just Cod4 with better graphics and new weapons... liked the multiplayer on this game more than MW2 simply becuase there arent as many noobs,Though theres still ALOT and that is the main reason i havent liked the past 3 COD titles... but if you get a good game with few noobs you will have blast...

my favorite mode-Zombies- addictive and in my opinion the best mode, you can either go solo or get 3 other guys to help you survive endless waves of zombies, each wave is harder but each kill youll get money to spend on new eapons, powerups, and doors to open. if you can figure out how to get far youll have a blast...

another mode is theatre- which is bassicly a rip off from halos, but you can save games and brag to your friends at least.

better than MW2?? in some ways yes and in some ways no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool game

posted by packerfan500 (MOUNT HOREB, WI) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was a fun game but it sucks cause i just got to play
three games because i got a disk that was realy scratched it stunk. And wheen i got assassins creed 2
but it was scrathed to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game, lacks some features

posted by Scubadan (SPARTA, NJ) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I think it was a solid call of duty followup. Some of the things that made MW2 so fun are taken out though. nube tubes are basically useless, tact knifing is only possible w/ballistic knife, perks are very bland. what i found fun about modern warfare was the way that you could customize your unique class to fit your style of play. Every gun and perk seem to be equal to each other and (at least for me) it seems to lack characteristics of your playing style. The emblem maker tool, community menu, and theater are really what this game improved in. it made it possible to share cool things with your friends and made it possible to provide proof for the doubters : ) . As much fun as trying to come up with your own emblem is, it isnt the same as earning it. yes you unlock the option as rank goes up, but i feel that there should be a 2nd emblem kind of like mw2's. This way you could really express creativity and skill. The currency also made black ops an enjoyable game but it also limited the unlock-ability factor in the call of duty franchise. If you were able to buy a gun, you could get all the attachments without working for them. Call of Duty: Black Ops is a game worth trying out but it is not what you'd think if you were expecting another MW2 (in terms of customization). I would rent it and see how you like it before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Whats not to love

posted by ToiBoi (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Pros-Good story with a twist
-main menu is interactive
- Multiplayer system is alot better
-Zombies is fun
-Lots of goodies
-Guns customizing is awesome

Cons- didnt have everything they promised
- Co-op mission are gone
- some might not like the orginal ending

final word

At the end of the day its a good game. It did not live up to the hype but, that does not make this game a bad one

Boi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One For The Ages

posted by 1gamelover (LAKE FOREST, CA) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

89 out of 162 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

when i first played this game i thought it would be a version of modern warfare 2. i mean that in the way that all the guns are the same and the only real thing that changes is the levels (maps) and the campaign........ boy was i wrong! The campaign was breathtaking, not a surprise, with action at every turn and a plot as thick as you could ever want! The online is where the game shined, the customization really made you feel like it was your game! The levels, superb! All in all if you don't like this game as a shooter, than you don't know what the meaning of a high octane shooting game is!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Fun

posted by Tegolin (SAINT JOHNS, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

63 out of 115 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I'll just start off by saying that Black Ops as the BEST CAMPAIGN in all of CoD. I would individually give that a 9. Zombie mode is also a great addition to the game.

The multiplayer however, gets a 4/10
I had a few expectations for COD:BO multiplayer. Remove grenade launchers, Commando perk, and Knife Monkeys.

Note: I don't quickscope, camp, use noobtubes or Commando.

Black Ops fixed only one. The grenade launchers are now completely optional and requires the player to buy it. So there is a lot less noobtubes now.
The Commando perk is removed, but now it feels like everybody can now lunge 6 feet with a knife. I encountered several times were I was knife'd by someone sprinting past me without me ever being in their crosshairs.

But one of the worst parts about Black Ops has to be the terrible maps. Every single map consists of a long alleyway; a 2 story building; close quarters buildings; and tiny huts.
There is no possible way to properly snipe in any map. In fact, in the 6 hours I played of it, I never saw anyone use a sniper rifle.
The gameplay is now dominated by Sub-Machine Guns.

The whole "feel" of the game is just slow. I never felt the adrenaline rush feeling that I experienced in MW.

I personally am going back to MW2, maybe even MW1 after playing Black Ops. Why? Because its addictive and FUN.
Though MW2 has Commando, Noob Tubes, Boosters, and a bunch more BS, I still have a lot more fun there than in Black Ops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST 1ST PERSON SHOOTER EVER!!

posted by DetroitSquirreL (ROSEVILLE, MI) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm not a player of this genre usually but my son loves this series and I'm a history buff so decided to try it...IM HOOKED! Great series but this one shines over all the others...nice game flow and after a few games you'll get used to all the controller moves..aiming is still my downfall! But I actually have allot of fun playing this..ALLOT of hardcore players online but most are cool with you not being good (because they can level off me, lol) I highly recommend this game even if your not a 1st person shooter fan! Me and my son have a great time with this one on XBOX LIVE. ALSO< there are 3 great add-on packages of maps..ZOMBIES ARE A BONUS TO REGULAR PLAY!! It isnt the top selling XBOX 360 game of all-time for nothing!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by thurstonc (FAIRVIEW, MI) Mar 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

best game you can buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Treyarch Does It Again

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Nov 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

19 out of 35 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

And when you thought the franchise couldn't get any better.... It's finally time to move on from Modern Warfare 2, thank GOD!! In my opinion, the online multiplayer for Black Ops rivals the depth from MW2 and also blends in a lot of ideas from Halo Reach, which was also nice to see. PLUS NAZl ZOMBIES IS BACK!

Instead of just experience points (XP) to level up, you earn COD dollars. You can bet your money on matches to earn more money. You also purchase 'contracts' to earn more money per round, and must complete a goal to earn your money back and some. You may need headshots, use a certain gun, etc. It's very impressive.

Most people will get this game for the online MP, and you won't be let down by this game. Just look at the 2+ million people playing online. The maps are much smaller, more condensed, and are not setup for snipers AT ALL. Unlike previous games, or Battlefield type games, there will be any issue with a bunch of camping sniping quick scoping little brats. There are multiple entrances into every building, which makes camping very difficult.

You'll see similar features to online play as well, such as adding perks to your class. Identical perks are still here to make you run faster, shoot through walls, seek out explosives, etc. They are also slotted much more strategically to get rid of the runner stabbers and one kill bullets. There's all types of attachments like red dot sights, noob tubes, thermal, scopes, shotgun, and added cool gadgets like the RC remote control bomb and the spy tripod camera.

NAZl ZOMBIES IS ALSO BACK!! More time wasted melting through hordes or relentless nazj zombies. And I can't wait. It's very fun, but much harder than before. All I know is there is a ton of stuff to explore.

All in all, you have a spectacular single player campaign, the always fun nazj zombies, and classic COD online gameplay. However I will say they'll need new map packs very soon.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Goodbye Infinity Ward.

posted by HippieKid (EAST DUBLIN, GA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

36 out of 68 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I mean that literally.. We all know MW2 was a complete and utterly failure. In more ways than one. You couldn't even enjoy a game without glitches or modders popping up. So far, there haven't been any glitches for Black ops.. But i'm pretty sure there will be some soon.. But Treyarch has dedicated there existance to stopping modders and hackers.. Thankfully we can all rest a little easier.



Now, for the best part. The game delivers quite the astounding experience. With both campaign and multiplayer. At first, I thought this game was a knock off of MW2, but as I played it a little longer, and on a high definition tv, I knew I was wrong. This game is WAYYYYYYYY 100000000 TIMES much better than MW2. It gives you something to look forward to after each match or mission. I'm only level 21 as of now.. But i expect to be 50 in the next few weeks. I love the way they have set up the currency. It gives the players many choices of what options they wish to take. I'm very impressed with treyarch and hope to see them make other FPS games in the future. Call of duty has officially evolved to the next level.



Last but not least, we have ZOMBIES!!! This was the mode that blew me away. They have definately over done it, in a good way. The first level you start out on is huge in comparison to the old maps of World at War. You have a more efficient and excellent choice of weapons. The pack-a-punch is also back, along with the perks needed to kill some zombies. You also have a new foe. A zombie that crawls on the ground and ceilings and when you shoot it, it blows up into a cloud full of toxic gas. Those little buggers are annoying as the witch in the wizard of oz. Anyways, The zombies rise again and are better than there predecessor in every way, shape and form. You could easily kill hours of time playing this mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The worst in the series

posted by bigschu77 (PLAINVIEW, TX) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

28 out of 53 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

First of all I would like to say that I have been a fan of CoD since CoD 2 came out for the 360 so I am not just saying this stuff because I am biased towards another game.

Campaign: The campaign for CoD: BO is probably the worst campaign in the CoD series. I usually enjoy playing the campaign on veteran difficulty for the challenge and the achievements, but three levels into this one I had about enough. The graphics are sub par at best, the game play is fast and I often found myself dying in ways that couldn't be explained, and the AI is just stupid. In every level you are accompanied by an AI team that does nothing but take up the good cover spots and often was the cause of my death. On top of all of this the story is terrible.

Multiplayer: The main reason why I got this game was because of the multiplayer and I am severely disappointed. It takes forever to get into a game if you have a party bigger than 2 because the servers are unable to support everyone that is playing the game. The new currency system is a pain in the butt, you have to get to a certain level to unlock a new weapon and you can only use it if you have the money to buy it. The maps are garbage, every map has the same layout and none of them are big enough to want to use a sniper. The spawn points are terrible, a majority of the time the enemy spawns right behind you.

The only thing that I enjoyed in this game was zombies, it is fun and will keep you entertained for a few hours especially if you have a few friends to play with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it

posted by pisces (BELLE CHASSE, LA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

40 out of 77 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Pretty much seems like the changed just about everything people complained about with mw2.
no stopping power
no deathstreaks
no insertions on ffa
the spawn works differently
leaderboards are separated by game type
no oma
scavenger only scavenges ammo and grenades
more throughfares on maps so you don't have 2-3 choke points
different guns feel like different guns
the list goes on...

The graphics took me some adjusting to. They didn't fade the colors out like mw2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More Call of duty...isn't really a good thing.

posted by Jayzer (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

25 out of 48 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Single player- unlike most ppl i enjoy this aspect of COD more so than the online but with BO ya dont get a good, immersive story with likable characters(despite finally being able to see your controlled character and actually hear his voice) instead we get a disconnected, brainless and utterly predictable story about brainwashing and mystery numbers. Instead of a smart and steady story like we've seen in the past(COD 4:Modern Warfare) we get an over the top Michael Bay rip-off with uninspired levels and action set pieces that feel far too familiar. The ending pulls the story together but by that time ya find yourslef not even caring and its anticlimatic. The campaign in this game is an utter waste of time.

Multiplayer- this is what keeps ppl coming back to COD, and after the mess that was MW2's multiplayer everyone had high hopes for BO. But it just becomes more of the same, for every 'improvement' made here we get another flaw. Hit detection and bullet damage are god aweful, worse than ever before and will lead to many moments of complete frustration and rage. The new leveling system, COD points, makes you buy your new guns and upgrades which is a good way of keeping the gamplay more balanced for new players but doesn't really add much overall. My biggest gripe with the multiplayer is the lack of variety in the maps. They all boil down to this: Equip your favorite automatic gun, run around a corner and hold down your trigger. Nothing but a bunch of winding corridors and empty warehouses. No range for sniping or any kind of long range combat and when everyone is just running around holding down the trigger it gets really boring.

Oh and zombies are back...yay...

Overall if you are a HUGE fan of COD this may keep your attention for a few week since it's a 'new' game but after a little while you will begin to see all of the game's massive flaws and realize that BO is just more of the same but without all of the stuff that made previous games fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing...

posted by axe8155 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I rarely play the single player game, I like to jump right in to the online gaming. I know this will get me killed alot since I'm starting at the beginning, but with my experience I usually can hold my K/D above 1. In this game it was a struggle, this game is overly complicated with too many options and way too many ways for game laggers to take advantage of the host system and its serious shortcomings.

I have been playing COD for a while, and each installment seems to be getting more and more designed to cater to only one type of player. The submachine gun lagger. Forget sniping, Forget using a heavy machine gun, the only gun you will find useful is either a shotgun or a submachine gun. Surfice to say this game is boring, and not worth even half of it's $60.00 price tag. I'm just glad I went ahead and rented it first, because there is absolutely no chance I will buy it.

Also why did they leave out tanks, in WAW the tanks were one of the easiests ways to offset the submachine gun lagger. By removing them they have eliminated the only way to best these losers.

In conclusion, if this is the direction COD is heading, I think I'm done! Maybe I'll start investing my money in stocks. At least the risk isn't as high or as disappointing.

Axe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty Done Right

posted by Redstorm12 (MOCKSVILLE, NC) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

17 out of 33 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Good sweet mother of God, Call of Duty, where do I start? You amazed me more than any other. This game, let me tell you, is superb.

Let's start with campaign, best in the series. It's an action-packed thrill ride with non-stop action. It will keep you infused with enjoyment and just utter happiness. Another great thing about the campaign is the realistic ragdoll, gore, and explosions. Part of what makes my gaming experience ten times better are great physics, bloody gore, and high octane explosions. This game has it all, from throwing a grenade and seeing an enemy's leg go flying off and his body just being slammed into a wall is wonderful. The explosion effects really shine in this game. Not only are the physics and gameplay elements great, but the story itself is the best in the series, great storytelling, and top-notch voice acting make this game a must for anyone.

Secondly, the multiplayer. GOD, it's good, so many different ways to customize and create, it's overwhelming. With the new theater mode you can upload, post, and edit your own gameplay films. I absolutely adore the new credit system, it makes playing online so much easier and funner.

The Call of Duty series always aims to set the bar high when it comes action packed single player, and gripping multiplayer. CoD: Black Ops does it with an extra kick to the scrotum. Bottom line, buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game that killed CoD

posted by brak8796 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game i have ever played. I played
Campaign: 6/10 Decent Campaign, but too difficult and you can just cheat around levels. There is no motivation to complete it. It is not fun to just play this constantly ( Even tho this and zombies is the only good thing.)

Zombies 7.5/10 It is the soul of this game. The only reason that stops me from selling this garbage. It is fun but it has its flaws that just make it annoying. Playing it too often just gets boring.

Multiplayer -20/10 The absolute worst multiplayer experience EVER! There is absolutely nothing good about this at all. Anything that Could have been any good was ruined by the community and alot of other things. Bad things: Maps,Completely unbalanced guns, People,

Graphics 2/10 I felt like i was playing De Blob. 'Nuff said.

Sound 4/10 Same gun noises. Same constant Character voice constantly jeering the same things over and over again. Looks like it was dubbed by a silent film.

Overall This game is just not fun after about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A little dissapointing, but not a waste of time.

posted by Gam3r_Dud3 (CLAYTON, CA) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Okay, let me start off by saying that if you haven't played COD: Modern Warfare 2, do that. It is much better than this one.

So, campaign. It is decent. Not particulary good, nor particularly bad. There's still intel you have to collect, and all that. One thing I liked about it is that you get do do something abnormal or use some really cool gun in each mission. Good for a couple playthroughs.

Multiplayer. Once again, the main part of COD. Nothing too new. They didn't add any big features, except COD points. You use COD points to buy contracts, where you do certain things to get more COD points; buy weapons, attatchments, and perks; and bet in wager matches. Nothing too different.

Lastly, zombies. I never really liked zombies, so I can't really judge it's goodness. 4 players, 2 hits you're down, dogs every 4-6 rounds. That's it. Go for it.

So, overall a fun game, but not the best game ever. If you are a fan of the COD series, or just a fan of first person shooters, I would reccomend it. If not, well, make your own judgement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is a major disappointment.

posted by joemungus (FEDERAL WAY, WA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

This game is lousy. Quirky movement of character. Most weapons feel like theyre out of an old "medal of honor" title. Ridiculously long cutscenes. Weak physics. Dumb story line. Nothing original to speak of. It just feels like a beta. Call of duty 2 is way better! I'm not out to get Activision here. But, the games with Infinity Ward were light years beyond this one. If I'd have purchased this I'd have been very upset. There is only 1 way to play each mission of the campaign. I feel like I'm running thru a chute all the time. Boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Don't want to play in the past anymore!!

posted by Nore14 (URBANA, IL) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

If only I could have forced myself to play more then 15 minutes of gameplay I might have given it a great score, but I can't play in the past anymore and I can't kill zombies anymore. I'm all about modern warfare not a young castro and first blood type gameplay. I wish ward would have made this game. It's funny because I'm living in the past now because I just can't get into this game, I hope everyone is having a better time then me and it looks like you are, I'm happy for you just sad for me. Miss you Modern Warfare!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What game are you playing

posted by ERICDARED (SOUTHINGTON, CT) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

11 out of 21 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

For all those people saying this game is better then MW2 are crazy.
All the new add ons are cool but the game lacks in some many places
the infinity ward team needs to go back and come out with a real multi player game. I just don't see how people are giving this game 10 's.
I will not buy the next COD unless the ward team is abroad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have EVER played. Treyarc = FAIL

posted by glennrocks (RIO RICO, AZ) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this game since December of 2010 and can say without a doubt that it is the worst game I have ever played. If I had dollar for every time I spawned already in someone's cross-hairs or someone spawned directly behind me, already aimed in of course, I would have retired within the first month. Another favorite is how the absolute moment a purely FUN glitch is discovered in zombie mode, for example, it gets somehow hot-patched without downloading anything or even starting a new game. How is this possible? I don't know, but I sure don't like the intrusion into MY console without MY consent. If I want to download a patch, I'll download it. Apparently they can upload whatever they want while you're in the middle of a game and it will simply take effect.
Who are they to tell you how you can or can't enjoy YOUR game that you OWN?

Why am I still playing it?

The progress that I have made was too much to quit prematurely. Now that I have reached 15th prestige and got the guns in gold that I wanted, I am done with this garbage.

I have been playing video games my entire life and this is honestly the only game I have ever owned that I actually hate. Loathe. Despise.

The mechanics of the game are also terrible, which leads to countless deaths due to nothing other than Treyarc sucking.

Conclusion: I will never, EVER, buy another treyarc game again. Anything with their name on it is most definitely a pile of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse