Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.1

26345 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can't Justify the Glitches

posted by Wanderon (GLENDALE, CA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

This game is awesome but extremely poorly made. I know I am in a minority when I say I really enjoy playing through the campaigns of COD, but whoa, when multiple levels have MULTIPLE glitches where levels go on for infinity, key weapons don't appear in order to finish levels, companion characters just vanish!! I guess the more we move towards multiplayer the less we care about quality testing. Why develop a level properly when you can just say, "Let the players make the action happen." This is a Beta, not a fully tested and developed product. But if your core group is just 15 years olds who just like shooting each other then I guess that's what the audience demands.

To literally see tons of posts that say, "oh yeah, it's super glitchy just restart from the checkpoint and maybe it will work, other wise just redo the mission..." Lazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gamefly

posted by bromanpsl (FOREST CITY, NC) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

poor quality. takes two weeks to get a game once the mailman picks up the first one. games will not play or can not be read by console. not worth the price you charge!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what your prob

posted by daskflame (ALPHARETTA, GA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

When i got it it was scrached

!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of duty b o.

posted by salomefdez (VERO BEACH, FL) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

no good. the disk is not en good condition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Exactly what i was expecting.

posted by Chuckmaniac24 (VALLEY FALLS, NY) Jan 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was exactly what i expected of the call of duty franchise, i am grateful i didnt waste my money buying this terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

two hard

posted by daniel_robinson (ENUMCLAW, WA) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

good game but to hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT THE FREAK TREYARCH?

posted by haloepic117 (READING, PA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

WORST GAME EVER MADE THANKS ALOT TREYARCH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Payton13 (ADA, OK) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yea sure You love it at first then it gets so stupid.Terrible Servers, major lag,Campaign major short, Zombies, fun If you can ever get the server to connect and not migrate.DONT RENT! GET MW2 OR HALO REACH

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hated It

posted by xTR3NTx (ARLINGTON, TX) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Call Of Duty Black Ops In My Opinion Was Absolutley Terrible Because First of all Story ode Was Way too Short and This Game Came Out In 2010 Created By Treyarch While Call Of Duty Modern Warfare Was Made In 2007 And Created By Infinity Ward, AND THE GRAPHICS WERE EVEN BETTER, I Will Say I Did HIGHLEY Enjoy World At War but treyarch Needs To Let The Experts(Infinity Ward) To Their Skills For Call Of Duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game that killed CoD

posted by brak8796 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game i have ever played. I played
Campaign: 6/10 Decent Campaign, but too difficult and you can just cheat around levels. There is no motivation to complete it. It is not fun to just play this constantly ( Even tho this and zombies is the only good thing.)

Zombies 7.5/10 It is the soul of this game. The only reason that stops me from selling this garbage. It is fun but it has its flaws that just make it annoying. Playing it too often just gets boring.

Multiplayer -20/10 The absolute worst multiplayer experience EVER! There is absolutely nothing good about this at all. Anything that Could have been any good was ruined by the community and alot of other things. Bad things: Maps,Completely unbalanced guns, People,

Graphics 2/10 I felt like i was playing De Blob. 'Nuff said.

Sound 4/10 Same gun noises. Same constant Character voice constantly jeering the same things over and over again. Looks like it was dubbed by a silent film.

Overall This game is just not fun after about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by mw2fanboy (BLOSSOM, TX) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

this is very unbalanced and very horrible itz the worst COD i have ever played it is very horrible do not buy this game i wouldnt even wast ur time renting it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bye COD! Hello Battlefield 3!

posted by Jdog123 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is truly terrible. The Campaign actually has a good story, but really feels more like a Micheal Bay Movie rather than a COD game.

The multiplayer is an absolute joke. Last Stand, Campers, and horrible connection will burden your experiance.

#1. LAST STAND- The theory that with a perk that everytime you die, you fall down instantly turn around and shoot anyone with your pistol. Also how the pro version you can get revived by other players, not netting you ANY POINTS.

#2. OVERPOWERED GUNS- The FAMAS and AK74-U litter the gaming community. It is ridiculous how overpowered they are.

#3- NO DEDICATED SERVERS- Heres where it gets really infuriating, there are no dedicated servers, meaning the game runs off of someoneelses connection rather than Treyarchs servers. MEANING YOU MUST COMPENSATE FOR THE OTHER PERSONS LAG. You will be behind cover and be killed thanks to bad hitboxes and host time out.

#4 THE LEVELING AND COD POINT SYSTEM- As a level 12 in Multiplayer you will be SEVERLEY UNDERPOWERED. All the guns you can buy must be UNLOCKED FIRST! So first, you have to unlock the gun, THEN you have to buy it. THERE IS NO POINT TO THAT AT ALL. Getting Pro Perks is the hardest thing you will ever do. First, you have to complete 3 challenges, then you must pay 3000 COD points to unlock it. WHY?!?!

#5 WE NEED A COVER SYSTEM- This is why Im sold out to Battlefield. COD does NOT have destructable enviroments, so that means that if someone is camping behind cover TOO BAD. You can see the tip of their hat, but they can get a whole MG on top of that cover from his view.

#6 THE COMMUNITY- They might as well put "E" on the cover, because thats who plays it, EVERYONE. Its the COMMUNITY WHO CAMP, AND USE OVERPOWERED KILL STREAKS FOR THEIR OWN GOOD.

#7 OVER POWERED KILLSTREAKS- Blackbird, ChopperGunner, Dogs. All that needs to be said.

All in all, this game was a SEVERE DISSAPOINTMENT. ITS UNPLAYABLE, and Im NOT going to get MW3 Thanks to this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

black ops

posted by YOURMOM132011 (DAVIE, FL) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

black ops sucks except for zombies mw2 campain and multiplayer are soooooooooooo much better!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game stinks like fish older then the sun!

posted by daveman282 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I find my self mad at this game more then any other game out their. If it's not every two seconds being blown with a noob tube, its spawning in front of a team mate getting shot, or spawning in a napalm or other aerial bombardments, or killed by a camper over and over and over again. The weapons are way to over powered. The worst thing of all is you can even find anyone with skill online any more, they have all moved on.

Zombies and the campaign are the only things that are worth getting the game for.

I give it 2 out of 10 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I wasn't expecting the game to be like it was

posted by Jeremy1 (GRIFFIN, GA) May 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

If you are used to playing games were your the only player on each mission, don't even bother playing this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I have EVER played. Treyarc = FAIL

posted by glennrocks (RIO RICO, AZ) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this game since December of 2010 and can say without a doubt that it is the worst game I have ever played. If I had dollar for every time I spawned already in someone's cross-hairs or someone spawned directly behind me, already aimed in of course, I would have retired within the first month. Another favorite is how the absolute moment a purely FUN glitch is discovered in zombie mode, for example, it gets somehow hot-patched without downloading anything or even starting a new game. How is this possible? I don't know, but I sure don't like the intrusion into MY console without MY consent. If I want to download a patch, I'll download it. Apparently they can upload whatever they want while you're in the middle of a game and it will simply take effect.
Who are they to tell you how you can or can't enjoy YOUR game that you OWN?

Why am I still playing it?

The progress that I have made was too much to quit prematurely. Now that I have reached 15th prestige and got the guns in gold that I wanted, I am done with this garbage.

I have been playing video games my entire life and this is honestly the only game I have ever owned that I actually hate. Loathe. Despise.

The mechanics of the game are also terrible, which leads to countless deaths due to nothing other than Treyarc sucking.

Conclusion: I will never, EVER, buy another treyarc game again. Anything with their name on it is most definitely a pile of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete, utter rubbish

posted by Ash12 (SALESVILLE, OH) May 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This, much like all COD games since 2, is one of the worst games i've ever played. Single player is short, boring, and unimaginative. And multiplayer is the most unbalanced peice of filth i've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of duty black ops

posted by Mattthegamer (BUTLER, PA) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is fun at first but after a week or so it just becomes boring. the gameplay in multiplayer is the same as every other CoD game just with diff guns and diff attatchments. this game might be acceptable if they made the gameplay more realistic such as driving vehicles that you could call in so helicopters drop them off. maybe even have little side missions such as assasinating a certain player calling in an airstrike with a beacon on one of the enemys bases. those bases would be bases you capture and would be actual bases and not be a box with equipment on it. the gameplay could also be a bit more epic such as explosions happening everywhere such as battlefield does, and different ways to kill other than knifing and shooting because it becomes extremely boring. they could have first person assassinations, or duels such as gears 2 has. the zombies gameplay is also worst than WaW and multiplayer doesnt have very good maps for sniping which most people enjoyed in WaW and in MW2. these are the qualities gamers want in a game and dont want in a game not the same old CoD games over and over again. i think its just a let down in the CoD series and should really improve on the next one they make. seriously this game is a MUST NOT BUY GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game did not work

posted by davester (CANYON LAKE, CA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Game would not upload so I would just like a diffrent game sent to me i dont want to play call of duty black opps,would like to get crysis 2 to play looks like a cool game. thank you Dave

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of buty blackops

posted by cartoon23 (MONTESANO, WA) Mar 27, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

worst game ever made i will never buy a another treyarch game. the spawns on this game are horable, the thing that really got me is if u dont have FOUR BARS WHILE PLAYING U WILL NOT DO GOOD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing...

posted by axe8155 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Mar 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I rarely play the single player game, I like to jump right in to the online gaming. I know this will get me killed alot since I'm starting at the beginning, but with my experience I usually can hold my K/D above 1. In this game it was a struggle, this game is overly complicated with too many options and way too many ways for game laggers to take advantage of the host system and its serious shortcomings.

I have been playing COD for a while, and each installment seems to be getting more and more designed to cater to only one type of player. The submachine gun lagger. Forget sniping, Forget using a heavy machine gun, the only gun you will find useful is either a shotgun or a submachine gun. Surfice to say this game is boring, and not worth even half of it's $60.00 price tag. I'm just glad I went ahead and rented it first, because there is absolutely no chance I will buy it.

Also why did they leave out tanks, in WAW the tanks were one of the easiests ways to offset the submachine gun lagger. By removing them they have eliminated the only way to best these losers.

In conclusion, if this is the direction COD is heading, I think I'm done! Maybe I'll start investing my money in stocks. At least the risk isn't as high or as disappointing.

Axe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Good

posted by purpleacid1 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game had nothing good about it its like any other call of duty same multiplayer which is very boring, first game I almost fell asleep playing. The campaign is nothing great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow.. not at all what the gameplay reads as

posted by Valic_stone (TACOMA, WA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

So i am so mad at this game i got it thinking i and my girl friend could play a really good game but nah the makers of C.O.D. should wake up its 2011 not 2020 where 3d tv's are why out of the standerd persons money range, the game over all is ok except i am not drunk any more so now it sucks really hard core here are my problems with this game..

coop- if u cant play story coop split screen, or play at lest missions coop split screen on one tv then U DON'T HAVE COOP AT ALL!!!!!! just like this game NO coop they only part thats close is the zombie mode but it takes 3 to 4 people to play this game its to ridicules.. Real hope u guys read this last part cause u really miss'd the fact that the word COOP in green on the bake of the box means the main game it's self is coop or at least the game it self is, so why is this miss'ed by people who have created great games, simple the truth is that they have bean traded for monkeys uneducated, untrained monkeys..

JUMP-- ???? the game mines well not have u able to jump at all if u cant get on top of a boxes as high as ur wast then ur not going to pass any kind of training in any kind of real military in the world. also i think any drunk hill billy could get up and stand inside a chair or over a planter as small as a side table..

Weapons-?? did the gov make u not put cool real wepons in this game
cause i would have just got an old scool game if i new the sucky one made it this fare in to the 20th cent, but really a pistol that can't kill a zombie the aim sucks for every one of them and the macanics are all WRONG for people who make games involving war and military u guy's got nothing on any game out 5yrs ago...... really NO BFG..

any way i am glad i didn't waste my money on buying this game to get a rent score from me u have to be better then the original doom from the DOS days, yah u got nuthing on it!!! but for trying to take money for nothing i say rent it.. at least it has zombies what ever u do don't buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty: Black Ops for Xbox 360

posted by CLANGAMER (KUNA, ID) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

Xbox 360 has no customer serves against modders and black ops on xbox has way to many modders. Black ops on ps3 has little if any cheaters on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cliché, linear, buggy, remedial

posted by GameFool (DULUTH, MN) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

While fun to watch and listen to, the CoD Black Ops is a terrible gaming experience.

Linear: Not only is everything completely linear, but you must follow behind team mates and wait for them to open doors, to climb latters, to exit the water.

The AI: It is amazing that a game with such a large budget can have such terrible AI. There were points in the game where I was taking damage, turned around to see two of my teammates firing downrange at the enemy, and then standing next to them in perfect formation was an enemy soldier shooting at me. The Friendly AI is atrocious. After a while, the game is like a solo mission with some random gun fire from people behind you who allegedly aren’t shooting at you.

Cliché: This is the most cliché game, ever. Ever. There are only two possible reasons for this. The creative team is a group of early 20s kids who were never taught that plagiarism is wrong, so rented the most popular Army movies, wrote down all the cool scenes, and jumbled them haphazardly into a plot line for this video game. The second reason is that the creative team is a group of 30+ers who grew up with these cool movies, and just assume that the 18-25 demographic who buys this game won’t have ever seen these movies. After every cool army scene was duplicated, I almost lost it when the end sequence had a Sgt. Pepper fighting for the good guys

Game Play: I grew up with Doom and Doom 2, and the game play for CoD is in fact Doom, only now you can crouch and lay down. If CoD didn’t have a jump function, we’d be re-playing Castle Wolfenstein. In all, I would state that this is a child’s game.

Crashes: I’ve heard that the XBOX360 can crash, and it has never happened to me ever, until this game. It crashed twice.

Positives:

Ed Harris is awesome at whatever he does, as long as it’s playing the stoic tuff guy. Well done, Mr. Harris, I hope you keep contributing your talents to the video game world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse