Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops II for Wii U
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

382 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

My First Console Shooter Since Goldeneye

posted by Jesse978908 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not since Goldeneye have I thoroughly enjoyed a FPS game on a Nintendo console and I have to admit that I am a newbie to the whole genre.

But this game is extremely fun. The multiplayer is excellent even if the online community is small, the campaign is intriguing but definitely intense. Certainly not a game for kids.

This is the real COD experience though. Not a watered down version like the Wii got. Love it or hate it, theres a reason these games sell so well. They are fun and addictive.

I would suggest a Wii U Pro Controller if you are going to play any local multiplayer (zombies!!!) Wiimote and Nunchuck/classic controller are not on the same level of precision as the gamepad and pro controller.

Speaking of the Gamepad, the simple ability to pull this game down and play it in your hands is wonderful. I thought this functionality would be rarely used when i bought my Wii U. I was wrong. I love playing full console games on my Gamepad in bed/the bathroom.

Overall a great game and hardcore step for Nintendo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Shooting game in years!

posted by Gamerking1977 (BRADENTON, FL) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played all of the call of duty games and I am an action shooter fan. I can say without reservations that this is the best game in years. The story was fun and engaging. The controls were flawless. The weapons in the game feel really close to the real ones (as far as their particular signatures are concerned; sounds, reloading times, site pictures.. .etc). I know because I own at least five of them. Furthermore, I want to add that the realism of the environmental and background special effects, and graphics was excellent. If you are a hardcore action shooter then this game is for you.
(Disclaimer) this game will not disappoint. I recommend playing this on a 42” plus TV (1080P obviously) with a nice sound system.
If I have to mention a negative about this game, it will be how short the game is. I did not want the game to end.
thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The best CoD game yet!

posted by IanBooBooBear (LA CANADA FLINTRIDGE, CA) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 35 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This FPS shooter game is finally good on a Nintendo console. With the game pad, you can play local multiplayer without looking at other people's screen and play tactics. Keep it coming treyarch!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cod black ops 2 wii u

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

this is a port of xbox 360 version but more enhanced version so you will see more textures and better hd than xbox 360.so you xbox 360 fans will love this but get the wii u pro controller for the cod experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game but with some issues!

posted by readypembroke (LA MONTE, MO) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

When I heard about this game, I wasn't in a bunch to preorder this game. I was like woo another mediocre Call of Duty! But when I got GameFly I put it on my list and eventually got it in the mail. The campaign blown me away a lot more than Modern Warfare 3's campaign. The ending is affected by your actions just like Mass Effect. The campaign switches from the 80's where you play as Mason and Woods and in 2025 you play as David "Section" Mason, Alex Mason's son. Between missions you get to pick your weapons, attachments, grenades and campaign perks just like in MP. Some of the cutscenes between David and Woods suffer from a huge FPS drop for no reason.

Multiplayer is awesome on here just like on the 360. One player can use the GamePad screen while the other player is using the TV online. But when you do either 2 player online or 3 player or more on local be prepared for FPS hits just like the campaign mode. New additions to MP include 31 layers for your emblem, Wildcards that include letting you have either 2 primary weapons, 2 attachments for your secondary weapon, 3 attachments for your primary weapon, 2 perks in either slot 1,2 or 3 and some more. You get up to 10 items in classes but in custom matches, the setting can be upped to around 17 or so.

Zombies in Black Ops 2 is different from zombies in Black Ops 1. You can have up to 8 players in one match. Tranzit makes Black Ops 2 zombies unique. Tranzit is where you visit different areas via a bus that goes on its own and there is Grief mode when it's 4V4 fighting off zombies on 2 different teams. There is also the classic Survival mode just like Black Ops 1.

This version of Black Ops 2 is a little more awesome than the 360 version but with some drawbacks. First this game gets FPS hits. Second, 360 BO 2 zombies supports 4 players on one console, here it is 2 people. Treyarch lets you use your old Wiimote or can use the Pro Controller which is the best for this game. The Gamepad is used awesomely for thi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than on the other consoles! :o

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Jul 2, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I own this game for PS3 and I love it. But to be completely honest, it looks a LOT better on the Wii U! The graphics are outstanding! I was actually really shocked because I was expecting them to look pretty much identical but no, there is a noticeable difference between the Wii U version and the other console versions. If you have a choice between getting it on Wii U and the other consoles, get it on the Wii U :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another COD but it is fun

posted by Ricky_keim (SOMERSET, CA) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

These games are some of the most predictable experiences ever pressed to physical media. this one makes light of the possibilities of cyber warfare and the grandiose moments in the game will not disappoint. if you are aware of what this game offers fun can be had. the trend in these games as of late is to have at least one moment of extreme patriotism. this game continues this tradition as well. I had fun and if you just want to shoot virtual baddies with some cool weapons this game should be on your list. One last thing.. I am a single player gamer so my assessment does not include the online features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool of Duty Awesome Ops

posted by Blagups2 (DETROIT, MI) May 25, 2013

Member since May 2013

The futuristic setting,the storyline,the online mode,my,this game is great! Amazing returning guns and new ones make me so happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) May 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

Super short but very fun. Fast paced rail fps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unplayable X2

posted by donniewillie (ARNOLD, MO) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I recieved CODBO2 a few weeks ago (after waiting forever for shipping, of course). I played about an hour of the game and it gave me error code 150-1031 (The disc could not be read. It might be dirty.). The disk is spotless. Played from the last save point up there and got the same error code at the same cut scene. Reported it uplayable and got a replacement (again aftter waiting forever for shipping). Finally, I get to play more of the storyline. Pop it in, play for a bit, and bam... same code at the same cut scene. After searching all over the net for other people with issue, I found a few, and shockingly, they all got their copy from GameFly. What I've seen of this game is great, but I do not recommend renting it from here as you will undoubtedly get a bad copy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Campaign review/cod blops 2

posted by AZTAT2D (PHOENIX, AZ) May 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Overall a fun game, but the cod games are starting to feel more of a interactive movie than a full fps. I felt I was watching longer than normal cinematics than playing the actual game. The game engine stays the same so no improvements there, Campaign was under 10 hours. Renter only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

igive me world at war any day

posted by BasilCroftIII (WAYNESVILLE, NC) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

i absolutely hate the new black ops. all of the futuristic stuff just done fit. im going back to c o d world at war for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh, is better on the xbox

posted by CallOfDutyDude (WINDSOR, CT) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

The multiplayer and zombies sucks, but the campain is really solid. To acess the home button menu, you have to go back to the main campain menu. Really slow loading. Hope this is fixed in a future update, otherwise am getting rid of the game. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

love the game but problems

posted by masonmaurer (NASHVILLE, TN) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game does not fit the hole screen on the game pad people keep said ing that it in sd mode I dont how to get it out I try to called acvison and they to busy but other then that the game fit the hole screen on the tv just not the game pad it not my game pad because it the only game that does not fit !!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beware, HORRIBLE controls on the Wii-U

posted by Centauri (MCKINNEY, TX) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

I own PS3, Xbox, and Wii U consoles, and wanted to try a FPS on the latter, and especially after reading several stellar reviews. Oh, my, what a MISTAKE. Wii U controls alternate between sticky and trepidating, and it is almost impossible to strafe an opponent effectively; viewpoints slip painfully. And did you know about the serious framerate drops and lag? After three hours of trying to play multiplayer, I just gave up and returned the game. I will NOT spend $50 on a Wii Pro controller, mind you.

Sadly, the Wii U is just another gimmick. It may work for the traditional Nintendo games, but fails miserably for true, hardcore gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Successful Operation

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

Most players know what they’re going to get from a Call of Duty game – a single player story mode that has a lot of thought put into it, a online mode where players go out and shoot each other on different battlefields, and in the case of the Black Ops, a Zombie game where players have to fend off hoards of the undead.
In Black Ops II, the storyline revolves around China during the year 2025. Some of the characters from the first film make an appearance and tell about a story of a cyber threat to America from some head of some great company.
But this is all an excuse to take on several missions that range from gathering information about the bad guys’ plans to just attacking a fortified building to eliminate those bad guys.
But the level design here is still super – you get to do a lot of different things, like glide through the air on a high tech parawing, pilot a jet, use an automated gun, or send a bunch of flying robots to dispatch the enemy. They story is not too hard to follow and it does have a great climax and conclusion to it (I wonder if they’ll make a Black Ops III?)
The online sections – not quite as good. You get experience points that will let you unlock weapons and other goodies. But this really discourages any new players (like me) from joining in because I’ll get out gunned by the other players.
Still, it’s a lot of fun to go up against other players online.
This is one of the few games that are in the WiiU and other systems where the WiiU came out about the same time as the other systems (unlike, say Batman Arham City where the WiiU came out about a year after the other versions went out.).
Call of Duty: Black Ops II delivers the shooter fun fans of the franchise is looking for – and you didn’t have to wait too long for the WiiU version to show up. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great port!

posted by usagabe (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This game is the same as the Xbox 360 system awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GamePad with Call of duty

posted by THEiNSTINCTGAM3 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

just think playing the best shooter on The wiiu gamepad.
And kicking my brother butt on are own screens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Did not disappoint

posted by Slimmshooter (SHELTON, WA) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Its as good as the PS3 version and being able to play it on the gamepad makes it that much better of an experience...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Than Ps3/360

posted by nintendan (Corona, NY) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Wii u version is far superior.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spot on

posted by Seda (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

If you enjoyed Black Ops then you will love part 2 for the WiiU, my 7yo son had never played it on the wiiU before and didn't even have to look up any controller settings, he jumped right in and setup all his special weapons/mods and went into the fight. I purchased the game since it is quite long and there is a lot of different content to go through.

If you haven't rented it then i suggest you try this out, its worth buying as well since it is a long game.

The last feature (and the reason i got it for wiiU instead of 360) that i liked is being able to turn off the "mature" content aka bad language because my child is still young and shouldn't be repeating that, I plan on buying all of these type games only for the WiiU just for that feature.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »