Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops II for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.1

4008 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

shocking!!! very impressed

posted by jarhead020 (ROCHESTER, MN) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

27 out of 42 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

i had my doubts about this game when i first got it but man was i proved wrong. I thought that i would be playing same old cod but nope. This game takes it to a whole new level and I love that.

CAMPAIGN- improved from the first one a lot. better story, cool weapons, awesome gear, and makes every mission more unique (also like playing in the future). So far the only thing I would have to say about the Campaign is that once in a while voices will become loud than very hard to hear but not a game breaker

Multiplayer- activision did a pretty good job on it this year. Since this game is based on a lot of the future you can guess that there is a bunch of new weapons. The new weapons, cool maps, sweet kill streaks, and more attachments make Multiplayer very fun (customization is pretty crazy) . I am also happy they brought back the fun modes with gun game. the new mode where matching you up with the same level skill as you was also a cool idea.

zombies- helz yea!!!! they finally made zombies a important mode. the maps, guns, and different modes on zombies is fantastic. One mode that i like was playing team zombies. where you would go against another team to see who could last longer. Now they even have a story on zombies, that's fricken cool.

In all it was a great game. from the campaign to zombies activision really set the bar high. If you do not have this game go and get it (at least a must rent). Best COD, you could really make an argument that it was. The only reason why this game is not a 10 is because of some glitching and freezing up. With some patches my rating will be changing to a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alot of improvements, same repetitiveness

posted by Monstarr7 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If your a huge fan of the call of duty genre then you will love this game and the improvements they made.
Pros:
-Pick 10 system makes your online experience more customizable
-Campaign follows the last game well if your more of a story driven campaign guy/gal like me.
-The maps are expansive with multiple paths to go through, which gives multiple options to flank your enemies.
-The achievements make you want to actually continue to play the game, complete all the options to get the new awesome diamond camo.

Cons:
-The spawn placements make for some horrible online play. You will walk forward 50 yards, a teammate kills and enemy and that enemy then spawns behind you and then goes on a 'from behind' kill streak
-The lobby takes a while to get into a game. If someone leaves the lobby it will then reset the counter and not jump into the game. Matchmaking is not as bad as when it first came out but still needs improvement

So all in all, the pros outway the cons. It is definitely a game I would reccomend to thos who like the COD style play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black Ops 2. Is ok, but feels old..

posted by L0WHAWK (OAK GROVE, KY) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After playing Battlefield 3 and Far Cry 3, this game just feels old school.. It looks okay, but nothing as good as BF3, and the game play feels more like an XBOX 1 experience.. IT is fun, but there are MUCH better games to play................ If you like COD, I'd say go with COD MW2, after that, this game franchise has become stale..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty impressed

posted by walesca (CANTON, MA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

25 out of 43 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

i thought this was going to be okay but you know what . I'm pretty impress with this game. Campaign is better than the first one. Zombie mode is more fun and intense than the first black ops, I like the whole idea of 'future ' they put into this game also. It fits in perfect , and took it to a whole new level in call of duty franchise. best call of duty yet ? I think so but my fear is how long will it last before the mods and everyone person that wants to ruin it for everyone comes in ? Other than that this is a most buy and rent .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same as always...

posted by Glen1110 (SPRING VALLEY, NY) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Everyone knows that Black ops II will become a failure. And it has become a larger fail than expected. First things first, there's nothing special about Black ops II. You're basically running around, doing missions for the same old people in some same old graphics.

Than, we have the multiplayer. Ever since Modern warfare 2 went mainstream, it was both the end of COD and gaming community forever. All I see in COD are 5 year old kids who think they're superior than their elders. The guns are the same like Black ops but just futuristic.

Finally, we have zombies. It was by far, the WORST zombie experience ever. I bought Black ops II to just play zombies. But it turned out to become and epic fail. The maps are too small, Very limited maps and the same old weapons.

Although, Black ops II campaign was a bit impressive like all COD series. The storyline is well written, some decent gameplay, but HORRIBLE voice actors. Could really do better.

To finish this off, Call of duty should return to making WWII games. This current "Modern" day scenario for Call of duty really ruined my experience. The first modern warfare was great and all. But all true Call of duty players know that Call of duty was best during its WWII era. If you're reading this treyarch or infinity ward, go back to creating WWII games. Or at least WWI games. And you should regain your reputation.

Campaign 8/10
Graphics 5/10
Zombies 3/10
Multiplayer & Community 0/10
Overall 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you have sense.

posted by Araya (LAGRANGE, GA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the utmost worst cod game yet. And I thought mw3 was bad. Anyways, if you like real sniping forget it, if you like putting real skill through shooting, forget that too, and if you have any SENSE that cod is only making these games to make money, then you got that one spot on my good sir! ;D The maps are so clustered together, there is no point for sniping. Even assault guns are useless. Smgs are all you really have to choose from, and please, learn how to spray, that's the only chance you got left. So to get down to it, just go play BATTLEFIELD 3 if you know what a real game is. But hey, maybe you like spraying, camping in between the many cargo boxes, or just plain out lazy and don't like real physics. It's all you. I actually give this a 0/10. (oh yeah, who even cares about the weak story modes of cod?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by Matt28r (MARION, IA) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played the campaign which i understand is not the games intended usage but it sucked! The plot was nowhere to be found. The missions were so chaotic that any amount of story in them was lost during the arbitrary shootouts. The weapons available are completely idiotic and have no distinguishing capabilities of damage or mobility although they are rated every gun acts the same. The "futuristic" setting of the campaign is horrible and is furthered ruined with the random jumps to the past. If people who play the multi-player ever delved into the campaign I think they would quickly see why battlefield and any other FPS game is better than the never ending garbage coming from the Call of Duty name. In one word TERRIBLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage

posted by Churgers (CARLSBAD, CA) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

14 out of 35 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If you've ever played any MW game then you've played this. New maps, some new features, thats it. Just copy and paste the same game over and over. Rented it for 2 days, froze 6 times no lie, and got bored with it immediately. dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Black ops 2 the worst COD ever

posted by darrin1100 (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Jan 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I have played call of duty since it first came out on the ps2 and i enjoyed it a lot. skipping cod 1 through 3 Modern warfare 1 and world at war were pretty good cod games and mw2 and black ops were mediocre but when it comes down to mw3 and BO2 they are hands down the worst games i have ever played in my life. Treyarch has screwed all of its customers of a decent quality game again and they are getting all the benefits. I swore to myself i have forsaken the call of duty franchise for good after mw3 and that i will never buy another cod again. I am glad i have gamefly to test out this BS game and i feel sorry for all of the suckers who spent 60 dollars on this game you have been dooped. The hit marker system is broken the spawn system is broken and the knifing system is broken. Not one aspect of this game is worth buying and should forever be in the hall of shame for video games. I will never buy another cod game again and treyarch and infinity ward has lost a valued customer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

CoD: Black Ops 2

posted by Col_Woods95 (COCOA, FL) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is a terrible excuse for the next generation of gaming. The campaign is amazing, the graphics are outstanding and the story plot and the fact that your choices finally effect the future missions is definatelly a step in the right direction. However, thats the only thing that is good about this game. The multiplayer is outrageously frustrating. With in the first few hours of me obtaining the game, the multiplayer was fun and exciting. However, the mor I played, the less killstreaks i got, fewer and fewer kills, but more and more deaths. Treyarch needs to come out with updates to completely fix multiplayer as a whole. Treyarch made the knife's killing range down to only a couple inches however the chance of getting a knife kill is extremely low. To make it stand out even more is that you can hold the combat knife and use it a primary or secondary, but you still can't do good with it. Which brings me to the next BS example, the guns. Nothing in this game is consistant. One guy will die in 3-4 shots and the other will live after you put half your clip into them. Then the stats are never accurate. The Vector (Kid) is supposedly the most well rounded SMG in the game but everytime i am outgunned by the 93R or the MP7, especially the Scorpion EVO. Then treyarch makes it to the point where hip-firing is just as accurate if not more accuarte the aiming down the sights. And I am constantly being killed by BS. If i have stopping power then i get beat by fire rate, and if i have fire rate then i am beat by stopping power. It is never consistant. Also, this game promotes camping. My example is that when a team camps in a building, they are near impossible to remove. I gave this game a 4 because of the campaign, and the campaign alone. If you are thinking about getting this game, I advise you turn away and think about a different game, because this game is a waste of your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by TROJAN027 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 12, 2012

Member since May 2010

10 out of 26 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I cant say that this is really the best cod yet. Not a review just a reccomendation trust me this game is worth it guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by jetskiboy (TOMBALL, TX) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

9 out of 24 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Last COD game I buy. Game itself isn't that bad, but the server and lag issues are ridiculous. Game keeps crashing and can't even play with people on your friends list because of server issues. Fix that before you release a game or better yet, be smart and do some sort of BETA before release to find out the bugs BEFORE you release the game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I can't speak for the multiplayer mode, but the single-player campaign of "Black Ops 2" is definitely the most mediocre and least satisfying to be found in this console generation's series of Call of Duty titles. The whole thing, from start to finish, seems very phoned in; very contrived. The action doesn't rise above anything you've seen a hundred times before, and nothing new has been added. If you're into the whole online multiplayer scene, then I'm sure you'll have fun, but the campaign is just decidedly ho-hum at this point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stupid game!

posted by Doug77 (DEPEW, NY) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The story line was so stupid! Im so glad i didnt buy this dumb game. I will say the graphics are great. But i buy 60 dollar games for a good storyline- and this game just didnt cut it. Horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the multiplayer sucks

posted by xthexcoonxx (MARKSVILLE, LA) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i played the campaign and i really liked it and then i played the multiplayer and i could not get a match until a hour no lie the zombies i liked it was ok but nothing was better about it only worse i could not find a match so i played by my self and once i was in the game there was proboly a million glitches the multiplayer is really a bad issue the only match i could find were one in the chamber matches please take your time and make the next one much better halo 4, hitman, and far cry 3 espesilly beat this game extremely bad. over all im giving it a three because they just did wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lags and freezes

posted by Kuramatusin (LA PINE, OR) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Don't play this game if you have a ps3 lags and freezes to much not worth it at this time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Done with COD MP

posted by pagefan13 (BURLINGTON, VT) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible small tight maps same old COD game so glad I rented instead of buying . I can never understand how people think these games are so good used to be a fan until I played a real MP and they keep making the same exact game with small differences to make people think it's improved . My advice stay away rent do not buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DONT READ LOW SCORED IGNORANT REVIEWS

posted by MRshaytoon (SUNLAND, CA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2003

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

those that complained about the game not being new, still the same, crashing blah blah blah blah obviously suck at play fps and are cod haters. and apparently this seems to be the 1st video game they ever played as no game is ever perfect and everything has flaws. its called patches. thats like saying nobody buy a car, its only gonna be recalled.

this is by far the best cod ever. treyarch took the series to a new level in campaign mode. wow. mw3 was great but not that good. black ops 1 was really good (better than mw3 imo) and black ops 2 took it further. the story line is awesome and has a great connection to make you feel like you really are at war. graphics are slightly improved though they use the same engine, but still looks great. MP is the best by far. zombie mode, zomg.

rent it. see for yourself. and then buy it. from gamefly of course. and no, i dont work for them. theyre just the best video game rental/purchase company ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by CqcNastyN8 (OXNARD, CA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First day I got it the online didn't even work. Im happy I didn't wait in line or spend 60 bucks on this garbage game. It nothing but a black ops 1.5 and the game is your typical annoying COD with a lil more gimmick. Don't buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game.. fun multiplayer/ party game BOts

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Nov 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

normally when you think of this generation you think of multiplayer as hust as online play and the random split screen, although those of us who used the previous generation now that multiplayer used to be a great party game yould play with friends and throw the ocasional bots. well blops 2 brought them back for multi player. campaighn is graet and does offer a variety they really hopped on the choice wagon, you can coustomize your loadout the squirell suit can be a hassle. the zombie mode is back and great you can play with friends or a stranger it offers 3/4 modes allstandard horde you have grief where you split into 2- 3 teams and see which team can earn the most kills, you also have tranzit yiu traavel across the map looking for parts to build useful items you can also stay in the area and play it like a classic surrvival map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!

posted by blaze3223 (MISSION, TX) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

11 out of 36 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

this game is legit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just another popularity thing.

posted by Primer55 (EULESS, TX) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Whats up with the aiming on this thing. I understand if you wanna make it more challenging but its annoying that when you aim it actually pushes the crosshairs away from your target. And when you play some missions the enemies seem like their made of completely bullet proof. Same old formula just waiting to finally die out. Battlefield continues to prevail! Cant wait for BF4 to squirt victory all over COD'S face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

UHHHHH

posted by drsfines (BRONX, NY) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of all the game overall is great.graphics and playbility and content for some reason im just not into this game like i was to black ops, shooting mindlessly is getting old come up with something new to me blackops 2 is mw3 with zombies .Its the same game different title .Halo definitively beat COD this year hands down no competion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Dut-Stop Reading and Play This!!

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Holy cow, I was not expecting this game to be this good. At all.

In all honesty, like some of you, I had kind of grown tired of the series. I always enjoyed COD, but, I also always knew what to expect, and even those those experiences were always good, and always fulfilling, the "wow" factor had worn off a bit.

Not this time.

This game is a new standard for FPS. The graphics, are marvelous! Better than anything out there, a major step above previous CODs. Multiplayer is, as expected, even more improved and better than before; still the king.

But here's where it gets crazy...

The story... is actually... GOOD! Not only is it good, it's FANTASTIC! It's told well, it evolves incredibly. And the characters are awesome. A likeable hero, complicated companions and one fo the best villans of ALL TIME.
And -BONUS POINTS- the branching stories/alternative choices you can make ALL WORK. WELL. It's crazy,

They hit all the marks with this one.

If you play COD all the time, this should be your favorite, regardless if you're a multiplayer only type (if you are, give the campaign a try, it's totally worth it!) If you've never played a COD before, this is a great place to start (it's okay if you didn't the play BLOPS I, this is pretty much a self contained story) and if you have played COD before but think it's gone stale... No. No, it hasn't. The fire has been relit!

Play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun shooter, but new ideas not well realized

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

"Call of Duty: Black Ops II" continues the story from its predecessor, though this time around you play more as David, son of Alex Mason, the protagonist from the first game. The story jumps between the Cold War of the 1980s and 2025, where a threat born of those earlier times has surfaced. The story is fairly well done (written by David S. Goyer) and is well acted by a prominent and talented cast that includes Sam Worthington, Michael Rooker, and Tony Todd. The campaign runs the typical length of single player campaigns in a FPS, clocking in around 6-7 hours. The difference here is that there are choices that result in an alternate ending. It's not quite "Spec Ops: The Line", but it does offer a little incentive to replay the solo missions. Added to the mix are Strikeforce missions, which can be played in FP view on the ground, or from an aerial view, allowing you to move entire units around the map to carry out objectives. It's a nice idea to interject a bit of strategy sim into the formula, but sluggish controls and clumsy insertion into the campaign hold this back from what it could've been. They ultimately don't seem to affect the game's outcome all that much, and if you play them out of order they serve no real purpose at all. Over in the popular Zombies mode, things were changed as well. There's still the expected Survival mode present, along with a mode called Grief (in which two teams combat each other and try to edge one into the zombies' clutches) and a sort of story mode called Tranzit, which allows you to board a bus to visit other areas. Solo these are more frustrating than fun, so you're better off playing with friends or going online. I didn't try the multiplayer, though it's reported to have been tweaked to make it more newcomer friendly but there have been connectivity problems for PS3 owners. Overall, this is a fun shooter with some new ideas, even though those ideas aren't as well realized as they could've been. Worth playing. 7.5/10 stars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse