Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops II

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

5879 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

The Call of Duty franchise begins to show its age.

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Nov 13, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

64 out of 79 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I've been really hyped up for this game since it was first announced but now that I'm actually playing it I can't help but feel a little disappointed with some aspects of the game.

The Bad -

LACKLUSTER MAP DESIGN - Totally symmetrical maps really hurt what could have been a good MP experience. I was really hoping that the maps would be like the maps from BO1 where they had a nice balance of ranged combat to CQC. Instead you will constantly find yourself spraying and praying around corners and running into campers like you wouldn't believe.

CORE MECHANICS FROM BO1 ARE GONE - I really felt like I was playing MW3 when I first started playing and that is not a good thing. Where did the great game play mechanics from BO1 go that made it fun to play?? I didn't really enjoy MW3 and now that i'm seeing glaring similarities to it in BO2 its really making me feel slightly disappointed.

STILL FEELS LIKE THE SAME OLE THING - I know no one wants the Call of Duty franchise to make any drastic changes but i'm seriously running out of reasons to keep buying these games. I put my faith in this game because of how ambitious it looked but in my opinion its all polish and no substance.

NUKETOWN AS A PREORDER BONUS - I thought this was really stupid and kinda greedy on Activision's part. If I pay $60 for a game I expect ALL content to be in there when I get it.

The Good -

CAMPAIGN HAS REPLAY VALUE - The campaign continues the BO1 story line and actually turns out to be pretty enjoyable just like the last game. The introduction of the story arc makes the campaign even more fun, giving the player different choices to make that affect how the game ends and how the story goes.

ZOMBIES ARE BACK AND BETTER THAN EVER - So much detail has been put into the Zombies part of the game and to me it shows that Treyarch understands how much people love that part of the game. There is a Zombie based campaign, traditional Survival and even a Pvp vs Zombies addition.

BO2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cod Fatigue has set in.

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Nov 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

25 out of 33 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I am giving this game a 5 because I enjoy Zombies and it still has that overall FPS polish (unlike MOH Warfighter).
I was a HUGE fan of Blops1, with that and the original MW as my faves. Blops 2 disgraces 1 in every way.

The multiplayer SUCKS. This game feels like MW 3.5 The original Blops had old school guns and just felt unique, meanwhile all the guns in Blops 2 are WEAK. The guns are so uninteresting and feel so underpowered its just lame. The spawning is ATROCIOUS, esp on big games like Ground War. You will be shooting the enemy only to have them spawn right behind you. HEY WHY DONT YOU SPAWN PLAYERS IN A SPOT THATS CUT OFF TO THE ENEMY?
The hit detection is horrendous, as you will put 5 bullets into an enemy only to die first.

The community is horrible too. Kids just camp and camp and camp, laying prone to shoot you or sitting in a window sniping. Ghost has been moved to level 55 so you gotta slog around until you are invisible from the 15 UAVs that will be called. Grenades are ridiculous too, wayyyyyy to powerful.

You would think after many games and billions of dollars, Activision and its developers would fix these problems, but no they are too happy sitting on their billions to care. Ill play this game for another week then toss it aside for Halo or Far Cry 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a mess...

posted by ZachErnesti (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

33 out of 48 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I used to be a huge Call of Duty fan dating all the way back to Finest Hour up until till Modern Warfare 2 but as of late the franchise has lost its appeal.

This review is purely based on online multiplayer because I can never manage to drag myself through 6 hours of shooting brainless NPCs with only a few interesting first person action sequences to keep the pulse going. In my opinion, the issue with COD these days is complete loss of simplicity. Remember the good old days when there was just a UAV, airstrike, and a helicopter for your kill streaks? 7 kills and done with the rewards, and thats the way it should be. Now you get rewards for 20 kills and unless you're John Rambo you aren't going to reach that many kills without camping. So it would appear that COD's idea of innovation is to simply add more and more until all the kill streaks and attachments collapse in on themselves and create a black hole.

Another area where the multiplayer begins to fall apart is the maps, which are just one big flank fest and when people can spawn from every direction that is a HUGE problem. I can't tell you how many times I checked behind me, turned around, then got shot in the back... from someone who just spawned. None of the guns feel cool to shoot, lack any feeling of power, both teams are dressed basically the same, maps are bad, the grenades seem to posses the weight of a brick, horrible mix of campers and idiots running around, chaotic experience of kill streaks, and an over all out dated feel. Just Blahhhh.

I guess when it comes down to it, only Call of Duty can destroy Call of Duty cause people will keep lining up for hours to get a hold of a midnight release copy. As for me, this is officially my last COD game no matter how huge the promise of innovation is. But if you don't wanna take my word for it, enjoy your copy of Slightly-Less-Modern-Warfare Ops 10000.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What happened to this series

posted by MandleBomb (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I've played every CoD since the first PC title and I'm utterly disgusted with this series of games. The campaign is a joke, I completed it in one evening of game play (I would have been furious if I had paid $60 for this). The story line has been done before, see the first 3 modern warfare games... just insert new bad guy that has a reason to feel jaded with the world.

Understandably, the last 4 games hasn't really focused on the campaign though, they are really made for multi-player. That's OK with me, I understand that online play is where things have been for a while. But, the multi-player is flawed. The maps, they're great. The perks have been dwindled down to a handful, which is also OK because they were getting out of control with all the perks and counter perks,etc. The problem with this game is the actual network code that it runs on. If you have a good internet connection be prepared to throw your controller every 5 minutes (yes I said good connection). Activision has been using what they call 'lag compensation' for several years and it's gotten abundantly worse. Basically, to 'even' the playing field between people who have dial-up connection speeds and people who have high speed internet, they intentionally 'lag' or delay the connections of the people with good internet speeds so that the people with horrible connections have a chance. Unfortunately, if you have a good connection, you cannot not do anything about this other than accept the fact that one match you may get killed 5 times and the next you may die 30 times... it has very little to do with skill (you still have to aim and shoot) but the connections are never reliable. If you have a bad internet connection.... you will love this game because you will pretty much mow people down in multi-player (again you still have to be able to aim and shoot). Again, I've played all of these games and prestiged more than I care to admit online, but I think I've played my last CoD match... such a sad day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

non-Fanboy Review, Honest review

posted by Halo3357 (HUDSON FALLS, NY) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty Black Ops 2, a not so far ahead futuristic game i found it pretty fun and frustrating at times. i have played every call of duty and this was actually pretty cool i hated the modern warfare series and black ops 1 wasn't all that great so this i had to rent and not buy , .

Pros&Cons

Pros: pretty decent graphics for a cod game, ZOMBIES!! :D, Multiplayer can be fun with friends, good co op, This may not be a big factor but this game doesn't require a online pass which makes me give them a thumbs up because games that require a online pass make it terrible for when you want to borrow the game.

Cons: LAGGG i have a bad connection a lot so multiplayer was really bad because id be going back and forth..(could easily be fixed with dedicated servers) like every cod game when you get frustrated from dying you start to notice the unfairness such as putting a ton of bullets in someones head then to have them turn around and shoot you and kill you.

Personally id say this a great rent and prehaps to some a buy

for me this is one of those games id have in my gaming pile for when i'm in my gaming junkie mood ( laziness included with a bottle of mtn dew and chips.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by Tokon (SNELLVILLE, GA) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've played the Modern Warfare games and have always been very happy wit the story line with story lines that the game developers. Even Black Ops 1 had a good plot line. Black Ops 2 has a good idea for a plot then fails to execute it. The plot twists that the game throws at the player are not surprises. Everyone is predictable and boring. In Modern Warfare one when the nuke goes off I was surprised and aghast. I got no such feeling from this game. There was only one time I care about a character dying and they weren't even a main character.

The plot line isn't the only issue with this game. The graphics are sub-par for the current generation of games. It looks like they took Modern Warfare 2 graphics and updated them just a small bit. Battlefield 3 which is a few years old now looks better then Black Ops 2. Everyone is Black Ops 2 is sweating all the time. The backgrounds, however, look wonderful. There is one level when you have to walk through a flood area and the water looked good. This means that the backgrounds have gotten far more attention this the characters which is disappointing.

The play is the same old same old for recent Call of Duty games. The new gadgets for the future part of the games do add something interesting to the shooting. The multiplayer is just about the same as Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops 1. There are some improvement such as the pick 10 for setting up a class. Everything else is the same from previous games including the game types.

If you like Call of Duty for the story line then don't bother with this game, it's a waste of time. If you like the just shooting up everything and don't care about the plot then this game is for you. Either way this game should be rented not bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Have to agree with low ratings

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2004

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I have to admit I'm likely not to even finish the campaign. It feels dated and just a rehash of previous COD titles. Not much to keep your interest.

Even as a rental I find myself thinking there are other games out there worth my time more then this.

Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Save Your Money Unless You're 1 Of Those Die Hards

posted by JRob69 (DINUBA, CA) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game really wasn't wort the time. I finished the campaign with a perfect ending and I was somewhat satisfied with it. I liked the who open ended endings and twists with certain decisions you make. Then the other stuff! Multiplayer was craptacular and frustrating. There is a lot of lag! No joke, I'm thinking it has to do with the amount of people who got online at the same time since this was a highly anticipated game. Still, I didn't enjoy anything about the multiplayer. Like any CoD game it's just the same stuff all over again; new guns, new attachments, new killstreaks that's all. Zombies, it's is zombies so what do you expect. Just people who shoot zombies till that wave counter hits infinity maybe. Who knows what happens when you reach a seriously high number on that wave counter but I could be doing better things that just waste time and energy. The sounds in this game is horrific. A stealth chopper sounds like John Goodman after eating some spicy guacamole sauce. Lower killstreaks are pretty overpowered and makes a game unenjoyable if you keep running into those try hard groups and they spam the heck out of those UAV and lightning strikes. UAV is a cinch to get in this game but you can't unlock ghost until you're level 55 and it takes nearly a lifetime to level up unless you love spending a total of 48 hours playing this game trying to unlock it. No joke, there are people who already have days banked on to this game. So do yourself a favor, skip this game. Get Assassins Creed 3 or something else with substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Outdated COD Game:

posted by Okonokos (VALENCIA, CA) Nov 17, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have to say I was really excited to get this but after 10 hours of gameplay, I've came to the conclusion that this game is just simply bad. Yeah, I don't really like it. It's not so much that it sucks, but it's so different in the gameplay and the way the classes are set up that it really feels like it should be a standalone game, and not part of the Call of Duty franchise.I dont know how to describe it, but the overall feel of the games is "clunky".

Treyarch took a huge step back on the class building options. We now have FIVE weapons from each category, with entire categories (machine pistols?) missing.Almost all guns are completely underpowered.The riot shield (which has always sucked, to be fair) doesn't become available until halfway through the game. No more weapon perks, instead there are dozens of near-useless new attachments to replace them. The perks got screwed up as usual, and the addition of the "wildcards" was beyond useless. Above all, the system where you can only have ten "things" attached to each class is completely ridiculous.

And for the campaign, I didn't even play it. Im sorry but I highly doubt anyone plays COD for the campaign anymore.

Honestly, the only thing I found as an improvement were slight betterment in graphics and the overall improvement in zombies.

Overall it just seems the game is poorly constructed and not at all in any way innovative.I wouldn't recommend buying this game at all, unless you really wanting to play zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6 for Zombies

posted by Snazzay (GRAND RAPIDS, MN) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There are three different things to take into account when rating this game, zombies, campaign, and multiplayer. Zombies is fun as always, especially with a full group of friends. I actually prefer grief to tranzit, as it is hilarious to screw people over and actually gets pretty intense. The campaign... ehh. The ridiculous gameplay bothers me. In the first mission two armies just ran at each other with AK's, like they were fighting in the Revolutionary War! Enemies are stupid and never try to use tactics and the futuristic gimmicks are only fun once. Also a step back in graphics, which i didn't realize was possible in 2012. I was really excited for multiplayer, but so far it's been a huge disappointment. The maps, frankly, are the worst maps for a COD title ever. Terrible spawning and crazy amounts of spots for campers and headglitchers to hide. Lag comp is bad, and I often die before the enemy shoots me on my screen. Gun balance is okay, but the guns aren't too interesting. The different camos and callsigns to unlock add to the game, but can't ultimately overcome to combination of bad maps, uninteresting guns, and of course the COD fanbase, which is the worst. Bar none.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Yawn.....

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I play CoD for the campaign. This story is fragmented, boring and just lame. I was hoping that it would be great considering David S. Goyer (he wrote The Dark Knight) wrote the story for it. The story is on par with any of the Stallone/Arnold bad "B" action movie plots. Very Disappointing. Multiplayer is just as frantic and controller wrenching as any of the other CoDs. It is still inhabited by 12 year olds and foul mouthed post puberty jerks. I thought Zombies would be the saving grace for the title, I was wrong. Tranzit is an awesome concept, but ultimately FAIL.... Maybe they can work the kinks out for Blops 3.

Graphics are still good, although not as good as previous titles. Controls are the same, but this one was rushed. Lots of bugs, see through walls and floors. No freezes or getting stuck on anything.

All in All

FAIL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IMO, the worst cod game yet.

posted by chostal559 (MADERA, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Story Mode: eh, its a lot better than i would have expected, overall good story line with multiple outcomes depending on what decisions you make throughout the game.
Multiplayer: I can hardly play this without smashing my controllers in rage. I cant locate a single enemy, while i'm getting shot by some guy camping or in the back of the map with a Target finder or Barrett hardly even trying. Truly rage-inducing. At close range i get demolished by shotguns. I also hate the new class system.
Zombies: I also hate zombies, it seems like the whole feel changed, now there is too much on the map to worry about (fire, aliens(tranzit only)), plus burning zombies(and watch out, they explode). What happened to good old maps like kino, with the teleporter for easy escape, pack a punch and perks in every map, and no environmental factors besides zombies to kill you. Maybe you will like the new zombies, but as an old WaW and BO player, i didn't.

For me, not a keeper game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its COD but its a little better

posted by BarterClub (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

You need to remember this is COD but its better with zombies. Its still a ok game when you want to layout. But this is the same graphics from 4 years ago. There needs to be a refresh in graphics and code to keep people happy with there game. They sell a lot but don't update the game in thoes fields.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black Ops 2 In a Nutshell

posted by DogHots (GREENDALE, WI) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Put this on my GameQ out of spite and as a joke, and guess what shows up at my house a few days later?

All mad aside, the game isn't all that bad. Story wise. I thought that for a FPS the story was REALLY good. This time around, the writers really stepped things up and made the campaign really enjoyable!

Campaign had a lot of new innovations that mostly helped out. For example, I actually felt compelled to replay the story after I was finished, as there are actual choices you can make that will change the ending of the game. Now that alone impressed me.

Another of the additions to campaign include being able to change your loadout before a mission. If you only wanted to use two guns the entire game, you could. I thought it was absolutely hilarious to run around with a tiger camo RPG.

One of the additions that really hurt campaign, however, was the addition of the Strike Force missions. The idea is simple, give the player a few units to control from either an overhead view, or taking control of them. Sounds cool, but the execution was horrible. Without you controlling them, the units were absolutely useless, and with enemies spawning EVERYWHERE every few seconds, there really wasn't much you could do. Overall very frustrating and not in the least bit enjoyable.

Multiplayer... just no. Core is now hardcore, where you die in 2 shots no matter what gun there is. I found myself wondering what hardcore is like. Do you die if someone looks in your general direction? STAY AWAY FROM MULTIPLAYER.

Ive never really been a fan of COD zombies, so I only played a little of the games new zombies. Same old, same old. If you like that, then go for it.

Overall, they did some really nice things with the game. BO2 really surprised me with their single player innovation and amazing writing that keeps you on the edge of your seat, with one of the best villains to date. But over and over again, I found myself saying "Thank God I didn't buy this game." Another year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Has Changed

posted by skidrosa90 (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

seems they made an attempt to come up with something new and fresh to the COD games but i feel like i just payed for new maps because the game types are all the same the only thing i find new is the weapons and the class set ups this was really disappointing if i could go back in time and save 60$ i would in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yep, It's Call of Duty alright.

posted by Duzaman7 (FRANKLIN, IN) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just to start off, I have been playing Call of Duty since Call of Duty 2. I put 9 months into Call of Duty 4 multiplayer, 6 into CoD: WaW, and 6 into MW2, and 3 into Black Ops. You see a pattern here? Nothing really has changed. I picked up this game, beat 4 campaign missions, went on Multiplayer, went 23-8, and then I was done. It wasn't fun anymore. The magic that made the past games good has been sucked out and rebranded to the point its just gray mush to me. For those who like this game, I'm not hating on you. I used to be exactly like you, but its time for me to leave this franchise. I will be looking forward to GTA V and get my FPS buzz from Halo 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not somthing you should fret over.

posted by ugrindmygears (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hmmm what can i say about thiss game. Nothing really the same basic concept is applied to the story i'm only halfway through though so you never know what can happen. The online multiplayer is on the other hand a fantastic gaming experience that i'm sure would blow any living things mind away. Zombie is fun as well. Giving you a more fun experience going solo. But my dissapoint of the campaign (which treyarch spends more money on the bring to life) is enough to bring my down to a 7. So all in all it's not something you should fret over unless you are a multiplayer junkie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is A Mess...

posted by blinknotnow (CARY, NC) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all the maps are too crowded they are full of junk perfect for campers and there are soooo many of them. there is no sense of distance compared to battlefield 3 when you are a sniper you are usually trying to hit a target that is far away. however in call of duty every sniper just quick scopes at mid range. range is a big problem in the game shotguns have an effective range of 10ft, rifles maybe 50yds, smg 25yrds, LMGs i've only used the mk 48 but its the best gun, it's range is as good as rifles if not better, comicly low recoil, and a 3 hit kill, sniper range who knows there is no map large enough to test. There are no bipod attachments at all which is weak. knifing has been improved however in the sense you don't have as many people running around only trying to stab people. Call of duty seems to value the spray and pray shooter style rather than skill based i also am a strong advocate against the killstreak system it simply rewards the winning team so they win faster, and usually makes half of the loseing team quit. Call of duty needs to strip these games down take out killsteaks and focus on scale making the levels larger. Bottom line don't buy this game get battlefield 3 if you havent yet it is much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Good, The Bad, The Opinion

posted by DarkZero1 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

10 out of 21 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

To start this off i'd like to point out that i haven't done much in the campaign but will tell you what i've seen in the game

The Good:
-Campaign story is good with lots of development and fun new tools and weapons.
-Zombie mode is now 10X better due to the new Transit system
(zombie maps are now more open and have more to go on)
-New class and loadout selections in multiplayer
-Some new Gimmicks add too multiplayer maps.

The Bad:
-Multiplayer maps and Spawns
I can't go into more detail but say that the multipayer is a bit sad.
As i played through the game it seemed way to easy to spawn kill people or trap them very easily.
-No lives XD
Well this really doesn't need explanation but i wish there was some sort of a lvl cap for a day.

The Opinion:
-Would i say this game is worth the rent? Absolutely! The campaign seems like it could keep some players at bay for awhile.
And not only that, the zombies mode is actually worth a try for all those who may not have liked it.

-As for the multiplayer, this has always been a very strong component to the CoD series, for those who are very good at the CoD games, and can do pretty well in a match (usually having more kills then deaths) then this should be no problem for you to adapt.
-But for those who are mediocre and wish to try there hand against the community, prepare for some frustration, losses, and rage quitting XD

Otherwise i would give this game an "8" and say that its worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what a disappointment!!

posted by dja3362 (VERMONTVILLE, MI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There was some good things about this game. New weapons. and the zombie game type.

This game has a lot of bugs in it. The multiplayer sucks. The maps were not set up to be a run and shot game. Mostly just camping it feels like. The campaign was a little hard to follow and it felt like a old game. nothing really stood out. This game was a let down. DONT BUY. maybe rent. I am just going to set this game down and go play Halo 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst COD ever!!!

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Nov 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me first start by saying that the fanboys will hate on my review for obvious reasons and that is okay at the end of the day you need to make up your own mind but this is my opinion.

I have been a hardcore COD fan for a long time. I have watched the game turn into the most cinematic event ever and one of the most beautiful games of our time, that is until BO2 came out. I am all for change if it is good, this however was not.

Graphically this game is multiple steps backwards, it looks like a Goldeneye HD game instead of the masterpiece that was MW3. Sound quality is par but again nothing compared to the last game. Gameplay is similar and other than the fact they brought back the running dive not much has changed there.

Now for the game breakdown, the campaign story is just boring, the readers digest is we are at war and have "futuristic" toys at our disposal, (something that GRAW did much better.) The multiplayer feels unfinished and without any form of polish. The Zombie mode feels tacked on because fans wanted it back, the care that the mode had before is not apparent, however there is a new mode that has a few minutes of appeal, until you realize it is just a cover up for the same thing. Guns of the future are all apparently going to look like they came from Borderlands' Pandora, and finally the power ups that are not just re skinned are just not very fun or useful.

I will say this is after playing the game for around four hours with a friend of mine and that we had all but made up our minds in about 30 minutes, however if you have been a fan of Call Of Duty this game will leave you wanting more. If you are new to the series please don't judge based on this. Whatever you do RENT BEFORE YOU BUY!!!! i cannot stress that enough

Sorry COD im switching over to HALO (which hurts my soul a little)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mehhh

posted by jm0ney (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

now i remember why i didnt play the last call of duty u die way to easy its like a 1 shot killl everytime.. at least in battlefield you take a couple licks before you die.. i brought this back to get far cry 3 lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just OK

posted by TabulaSplicer (CONCORD, MA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story was a bit ridiculous. Charging tanks on horseback? I mean the campaign made no sense what so ever. Combat was not nearly as engrossing as Ops I.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call Of Duty Returns.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Nov 12, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

17 out of 38 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Treyarch has been known in the past for straying from the CoD formula, with World at war after Modern Warfare and Black Ops 1 with Modern Warfare 2, Treyarch has been named the TRUE CoD devs and with Black ops 2, the name holds up. Here's my verdict:

The Good:

The future is black...and it looks good: Its shocking, a Call of Duty game ACTUALLY looks good? Yes its true, the art, the futuristic environments, all look great.

What? A good Campaign?: While a bit on the short side, the Campaign is pretty good, continues Blops 1's storyline, it even puts you back in the 60's for a bit with guns in all, the choices system is a huge boost in replayability.

BRRRRRAAAAINNNSSSS: Zombies is back, With even MOAR fun, how about Good ol Survival? Check. Player vs player vs Zombies? Check. A story based Zombies Campaign? Check. Epic new Characters and guns? Check.

World (In)Famous multiplayer: Didn't get too much playtime with it, but I did get to the pick ten system, very interesting, I see it being a bit more versatile but only time will tell to see what players will do with it. The biggest standout was the GHOST replacement, if you think you're gonna sit and camp and be off the map, you're sorely mistaken...

The MEH:

Another CoD another boring menu: Not a big gripe, but every menu in CoD since MW2 has looked relatively the same, would love to see SOME change, but again, not a big gripe.

The BAD:

Nuketown 2025 and Zombies are Preorder bonuses? F off Activision!: I've seen the gameplay for 2025 and I have to say, EVERYBODY deserves to have it, its a Jetsons-like map that plays every bit like the good ol Nuketown we know and love...but Acti, you guys suck for making it a preorder bonus.

Overall: Its the best CoD since 4, we really haven't had this much bang for your buck...ever. I mean, Multiple playthroughs in the campaign, Zombies Zombies and even more Zombies, and the so bad its good Multiplayer. Its worth it this time around guys,

Its a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as good as it could be

posted by BDRAGON (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Everyother game in the world is striving to make the next best game, the COD francise has come short in that department. with this new one, after starting a mission you can't end in the middle go back and change your loadout. after you've chosen what you thought you wanted you're stuck til the next mission. if you make it. even if you restart your game your still stuck with what saved.

All they did was keep the same basic cruddy game and added new skins and weapons. your AI teammates in campaign are still stupid and there is still a huge lack in what to do next. like the second mission there is no explanation of what to do at the research facilities doors.

what a waste of money I'm going to back to play Borderlands 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse