Rent Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified for PS Vita
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

397 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

This one should have stayed Classified...

posted by SirYami220 (BRISTOL, CT) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

A Call Of Duty title for the PSVita was something that me and many others were looking forward to. Unfortunately this one misses the mark by a longshot.

A Botched Campaign
For starters, the Campaign mode is not an actual story. It comes in the form of short and disjointed Operations that don't seem to make much sense. You get to choose between 3 difficulties for each one. If you choose Veteran, prepare to see the intro to a level many times because you can't skip it. The enemy AI borders on downright stupid to straight up psychotic. Sometimes you can watch an enemy throw a grenade at the wall in front of itself or shoot a car it's using for cover until it explodes. All of this makes for a generally bad Campaign experience.

Control Issues
The controls for this game are a little on the floaty and awkward side, especially when throwing grenades.

Graphics
The graphics for this game are impressive, but levels might come off as a little dull.

Where's Zombies?
Instead of Zombies we get a mode called Hostiles which is similar to Modern Warfare 3's Survival mode, albeit stripped down. You kill all the enemies in a wave and get a care package which can give a killstreak, ammo, or a new weapon.

Multiplayer is typically what COD fans buy the game for and this game delivers on it somewhat. You have almost everything that its' bigger brothers have but again, it's stripped down and very basic looking. Loading and waiting times for lobbies are a little long as well. Sometimes you might get kicked after a match has finished loading up with no explanation at all, leaving you to find another match and wait some more. However , the gameplay for multiplayer is probably the best aspect of the game save for occasional spawns in enemy crosshairs and claustrophobic level design.

Final Thought
All in all, this game is definitely not worth the asking price. It doesn't live up to expectations. It feels rushed, and we all know how rushed games tend to turn o

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At Least It is Something New

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

COD Declassified is a step in the right direction. It adds another FPS with multiplayer which is good and it adds another game to play. That being said I found the controls hard to use. I'm not sure they could have done anything better with the lack of the additional trigger buttons but I was taken out several times just because your fingers have to leave the joysticks at times. The other drawback is lobby size and map size. Too small to have much longevity. It seems like you are doing the same thing over and over and are on top of each other the whole time. I would say this is a renter or purchase if you really, really want a FPS with multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Best on Vita so far.

posted by Volc (SHEPHERD, MT) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

The Multiplayer is outstanding, haven't tried Campaign yet but i've heard it's 2 hours. The multiplayer has a rank system as usual, the maps are great, weapons are great, controls are very well thought out. I only wish it had Custom Games where you can practice against bots for when internet goes bad. Overall i give it a 9/10 because there's some things i feel it needs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thank God I rented it and didn't buy it.

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 27, 2013

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thank you, Gamefly for preventing me from shelling out fifty bucks on this pile of junk.

I'll start by saying that this game is not completely without good qualities. The visuals aren't terrible and it does feel/play like a COD title. They also got some voice work done by the same actors as the other Black Ops games so there is some continuity.

Where the game falls down is the campaign structure. The levels are timed missions that are loosely related to one another. Did I mention there's almost NO checkpoints? Consequently, the game is essentially a collection of frustrating mini-games.

Throw in the atrocious AI and you've got a big time disappointment. Black Ops is a title that should have been a major system seller for the Vita. Instead, it will probably wind up preventing some people from buying the system. Sony deserves better, Activision.. And so do your customers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best Vita shooter, but it's fun.

posted by MatthewX (JUSTIN, TX) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I felt this game was just fine, it ain't going to be the Vita shooter everyone is hoping for, but it's a fine good effort made by Actvision. Plus those critics are just jerks to this game as this game is very good in its alright. The Vita touchscreen is clunky at first, but useful once you get the hang of it. The graphics are good for a Vita game, but it ain't a Uncharted beater, as they have the best graphics. The levels are decent, the multiplayer works (if you can find a playable game as I had problems connecting to a good game) and is very fun, and overall I thought it was a decent game, it's not the best shooter out there, but at least they tried, and for that... they should be commended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MP fun all the way!!

posted by jayd1k (OREGON, OH) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I've had a lot of fun with the MP in this game! Needless to say there are a few issues with it. I didn't grade it for what it doesn't have but, for what it does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game; No Checkpoint

posted by alc322 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Excellent graphics. Controls can be a little loose compared to the PS3 version. Auto aim not as precise but with practice, you will get the hang of it. No checkpoints mean if you are almost at the end of your mission and die or don't make it by the end of the timer, you have to start all the way to the beginning of the mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a Joke!

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is wack....10 Five minute missions is all they could come up with in the single player ...really for 50 bucks, 10-15 dollars more then other vita games and all we get is 50 minutes of single player....if it was episodic like the Walking Dead then it would be ok but to add a premium because its a COD game should call for a class action lawsuit by all those tricked into buying this game

Multiplayer is subpar once you get a game...took me 15 tries to finally get pass the saving drop screen to get about 10 matches in all of them extremely laggy...all maps are extremely small like one house nuke town small...add lightweight and silencer and your 20-5 easy every game

Graphics are good, shooting mechanics with the exception of throwing grenades are good... but just a very lazy effort by a company with 100's of millions in the bank that would rather put out a 100 dollar effort and get fanboys to still buy/try their game then make this a must have game on vita

Total letdown 1/10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not too shabby

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Dec 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

I don't know why I let negative reviews stop me from enjoying this game sooner. I have not tried anything single player so I won't speak to that - then again if you buy COD for single player there's probably something wrong with you.

I have been a long time fan, I am skipping ghosts though.

That being out there, this is mobile call of duty. This may disappoint in terms of kill streaks (which is a positive for me) as they don't enable you to blow up the whole map or anything like that. It's truer to what made me love COD4 in that it's more about who can shoot who better and less about over the top killstreaks and technology that takes the skill out of the game.

I call it pure, others may call it whatever they want.

Bottom line if you have ever wanted mobile COD you must try this for the multiplayer alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

controls are terrible

posted by grandamgtstreak (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

Don't waste your time they defiantly did not take anytime developing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's So Awsome!

posted by icanhaschezbugr (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I thought that this was one of the best mobile games i have ever played! sure the campaign isnt that good but its kind of a challenge also the multiplayer is stunning i love it so much. hostiles mode is also very exciting. i recommend renting this game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not COD

posted by JDHurst (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

COD: BO declassified is not bad, to start off, there really is no campaign, there more like time trials with a touch of story, and really is quite disappointing, but if you own a vita and can play online its a good portable online shooter, now it doesn't have a full fledged multiplayer it is vary refined, but still fun to play.
all in all if your renting or buying this for a call of duty single player experience don't. the multiplayer is what gives this game value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MP!

posted by Ihavejameswoods (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) May 18, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

MP is worth it. I didn't play the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Best Handheld Shooter out there

posted by Viewtiful_Josh (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

If you're looking for the closest experience to a console version of a FPS then this is the game. Sure, it is nothing compared to them, but it comes close. NOTE: Since this game is on a handheld, the console versions will have no effect on my reviewing of this game.

The single player levels are action packed and well designed. You get to see helicopters crash, breach into rooms, and have some entertaining gun fights. You have 3 levels of difficulty which are pretty hard. There are time trials and a game mode where infinite number of enemies come to kill you. It's fun to play and it really doesn't get repetitive. The only bad thing is the amount of content in the game. There aren't that many campaign levels to play, so you will beat the game in a heartbeat. But that's where multiplayer comes in... but it doesn't really save the day either. The load times have been improved but you still get kicked after waiting for so long to play a game. I ran into that problem 3/10 times I played online. Not consistent, but it's there to haunt you. I wish they released more maps because it is a shame that there are a few multiplayer maps to play in. The size of them are perfect for the number of players playing though.

It's a fun game to play, but you're going to either beat it or get bored of it quickly. Nevertheless, this is a great game to rent-- a reason why there is GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Mediocre Experience

posted by eh_rok (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The single player mode in this game is fun, but it is marred by a lackluster story and a terrible use of a checkpoint system (hint: there isn't any). Every time you die, you are forced to replay the entire mission from the beginning, cutscenes and all.

The multiplayer mode is the only saving grace for this game, although it too isn't that great. On it's own, the multiplayer modes in Declassified work quite well. As a Call of Duty game, however, they aren't that good. People expect a certain level of quality out of the Call of Duty franchise that just isn't present in this game. While the leveling and perks system are all here, the controls are gimmicky and difficult to use (pulling the grenade from a touch icon takes way longer than simply hitting a physical button). The maps are all either too small or too big for the maximum 4 v 4 gameplay. Some people will still enjoy this game, but this will be a waste of time for most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by blake42 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i was expecting so much more from this game!!!!! it is so hard to move and aim at the same time for me,such a disappointmint. the graphics are average and the campain is just a whole bunch of special opps!!!! made me so sad D: so all in all this game is neither a rent or a buy in my opinion. if this is a must have game for you well all i can say is get it. if you like it, good for you, if you dont well i know why.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Feels like a rushed title

posted by jm551 (GONZALES, CA) Mar 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I wasn't expecting it to play like the console version but it felt lackluster for a Vita game. Also, the graphics are pretty average and aren't nothing special. As for the controls, they're OK but aiming can be a pain (don't forget to adjust control sensitivity settings). You use the touch screen for melee and flashbangs/grenades. The Vita can do a lot better than this. This is the best FPS on the Vita to date but it's not a very good one either. Rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

black ops declassified

posted by holeymoly123 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

this game suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as everyone makes it out to be!!!

posted by dropbeats (SUISUN CITY, CA) Dec 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

The game is not all that bad IGN gave it a 4 Game Informer gave it a 2. I give it a solid 7. The multiplayer is fun and the campaign or single player is just as its advertised as a pick up and go shooter. Its not console quality by any means but what do people expect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call Of Duty Is now Portable.

posted by musicflow69 (BATH, NY) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game gets alot of hate. The story mode might be weak but the online play is there. I had no issue getting into matches but I also have open Nat. It honestly felt like Call Of Duty. I wish it had a Search and Destroy mode. Overall I had a good experience with the first Call Of Duty for Vita. Biggest complain is the maps. They could of been more interesting and a little larger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

non

posted by codygliss (SAVANNAH, GA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

I dont know what they were smoking but it sad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very impressed!

posted by emordecai (FREMONT, CA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

I am absolutely blown away by how close this is to the console version. the online play is smooth and gameplay feels great. there are tons of upgrades as usual and it's really fun to see what the new upgrades do to your weopons. the single player is there but who cares about that. i give multiplayer a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its a good game don't let the bad reviews kill it

posted by talamant3z (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

okay i was very very excited about this game but i waited to buy it. after reading many really bad reviews on the game i felt like i dodged a bullet. after getting bored of playing the same games on my vita i went ahead and bought it. in all its not as bad as everyone has reviewed it. if you try and compare this to the console version then yes its a bad game (really can't compare the two but some people are) but when you look at it as a portable game then its a great fun game. i rented resistance and sent it in the same day boring and didn't keep my attention but that's a different story. missions are quick and not much of a story but its fun and will keep you busy. the best part of the game is online. it has all the perk,kill streaks, and ranks as the console version. A couple of the maps are remakes but still fun. i have tried to find a fun portable fps on my phone and ipad and i will say this is a lot more fun and better to control. give it a chance don't look at it same a console clone because its not but its a great alternative

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »