Rent Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for DS
view large frontback

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.2

740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 4 makes a good first start on the DS.

posted by FunnyStuff (READING, MA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

30 out of 32 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is very similar to it's console cousins. The missions run parallel to the console versions. An example is there is a boat mission in both, but the DS version has a slightly altered version.

Graphics: The game stays in the 20-30 FPS range. The explosions are very cool, and everything looks great. The only problem is the ADTS(Aim down the sights) mode has a really flat look of the gun.
Sound:Tons of VO work and great sound effects. There is even some tricks to simulate surround sound.
Gameplay:Everything feels solid, but the tapping the screen to do the ADTS is very sensitive
Lasting Appeal: Good multiplayer, multicart or single cart, but no Wi-FI, unfortunately.
Bottom Line: Get this game if you like war games, if you like FPS on the DS, and for it's good multiplayer(Again , no WI-FI).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

COD4 Kills the DS standard.

posted by LaRueBomar (KENNESAW, GA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I believe this game counts above other FPS titles for the DS system and clearly shows that an FPS can be done quite nicely on the small handheld.

Pros:
- Full Voice acting
- Great music quality that is reminiscent of console versions.
- Simple enough controls that allow you to access crouching and standing positions, sprinting, and sight aiming all on the limited controls
- Touch Screen aiming is fast and precise enough, though not perfect
- Enough variety of weapons to keep things interesting including assault rifles, sniper rifles, one shotgun, one pistol, and a few submachineguns.
- Features to be expected from full featured console versions such as fragmentation and smoke/flash grenades, 2-space weapon slots with ground-swap abilities. Working Hit detection. An instance of night vision. Melee ability. Grenade throw-back feature. Radar/map. Bomb-disarming/planting.
- Three modes of varying difficulty
- Full intense campaign
- Graphics are as well off as an N64 game.

Cons:
- Voice-acting is not top-notch and can get annoying at times
- Some clipping issues cause enemies to randomly disappear and also for you to take damage behind cover, but this is rare.
- Melee ability is not always consistent, and one melee from an enemy usually means death.
- Grenades have EXTREMELY long fuses that take some getting used to in order to use effectively.
-Flash-bang grenades have a short radius that must be used perfectly to be effective.
-Some damage is inconsistent. Head/neck shots are usually instant kills but some enemies will sometimes take entire magazines before dying.
- Sight aiming mode can sometimes be hard to disengage(double tap screen) and can get you killed.
- The one shotgun in the game has a long time between chamber refresh for shots.

I wouldn't buy this game, but the rent is worth it for a good mobile shooter of decent quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for a DS game

posted by vgamefan (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

When I got this game, I didn't expect much from it. I knew it wouldn't be as good as the console games, but this game surprised me. The game play was well done, and it sounded very nice. The graphics didn't push the DS at all, but they were fairly decent. If you like war games for handhelds, this is a good one to choose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid FPS

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you’re looking for a fun run and gun FPS on your DS, COD4 is your game.
The controls are good with the only problem being you will probably keep accidentally bringing up your gun sights it won’t get you killed most of the time or anything but it is annoying . The graphics aren’t anything that’s going to blow your mind but they aren’t horrible either they’re just ok. It takes 6 to 7 hours to beat COD4 on the normal difficulty setting and in that time you will do everything from straight running and gunning to riding around in a helicopter shooting enemies. The mini games in COD4 are both fun and easy to do, there’s nothing quite like using your stylist to defuse a bomb . Now for COD4 multi-player it’s fun fast action. If you have a few friends to play with there isn’t any online play for the game so if your friends don’t have a DS COD4 multi-player won’t do you any good . I should also add that you can play with four people using just one copy of the game. But if you do just use one copy you will only be able to pick between two maps and only able to pick one game type death match. However, if everyone has a copy of the game you get a lot more choices both in game modes and with maps. Bottom line if you want some sweet FPS action on your DS COD4 is worth a rent and if you got two or three friends with a DS it maybe even worth buying for the multi-player.

Be safe all and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Call of Duty 4

posted by jdp2k2000 (TAZEWELL, TN) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I have played and played this on the PS3, so then I saw it for the DS so I thought I would get it well I was so disappointed that it went back the next morning. It is really hard to move and aim and shoot with the stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the greatest game on earth!!!!!!!

posted by JWIN3000 (LOVELAND, CO) Apr 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

if you love shooter's this is the perfect game for you. the controls are hard but its a lot of fun. Definitely rent this game. if you dont you will be severly disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother wasting your time

posted by Joepy3000 (COVINA, CA) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game made my hand cramp and wasn't very fun. i popped it into my DS and i wasn't expecting the game to blow my mind. the graphics are not pretty and neither is the game play. the only thing this game has goin for it is the sound. even that is just ok. save yourself the time waiting for the postman to come and rent something else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks

posted by skywalker3 (KINGWOOD, TX) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game sucks because it was a total ripoff I tried it in to diffrent ds's and it didn't work.Do not rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare

posted by Space_Turkey (SNYDER, TX) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great game, i recommend it for all people that play Ds and are seeking an action FPS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair game bu I could see better

posted by coddude57 (FARMINGTON, MN) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I enjoyed playing this game but I could see a better FPS even on the DS.
Pros
Paralell to campaign
Nce guns and enough variety to be interesting and fun
Cons
Bad graphics
Takes a lot of bullets to kill an enemy (it once took me a whole clip)

Overall, I would not recommend this game unless you cant play the M rated version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great FPS

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

This is truly a great COD game its one of the best even though its one of the oldest I enjoyed it so much, I highly recomend the rent or the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

IT IS OK

posted by Skiingboy (WATKINS, MN) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

The game line is short Not very many guns and I took the mistake of buying the game but multy player is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For me I think its one of the best DSCall of Duty

posted by 007567 (EASTLAKE, OH) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It`s one of the best for the DS for me because it has great grapghics and the missions.Also I am able to play with my friends without the game in single card.I would have rated the other games excellent if I were able to play with my friends that don`t have the card.In all in single player all games are great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was good

posted by Haloman162 (NORTH PORT, FL) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

It wasnt the best but it was pretty good ill give it a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls So Terrible, I Couldn't Play!

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

I couldn't get past the training area because the controls are so terrible! Please don't get unless you think you can control!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad

posted by googoowow (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

it was a good game JUST the it sucky picture get it and you will REGREAT it but going on the guns it,s cool you could say
the story is about the S.A.S and USA army join together
to defeat the ARAIBIAN army and all you fight about is
a nuke that could blow all the S.A.S and USA men up
and for the matter of fact it's nothing like the one
on the xbox 360 or ps3 one OH MY GOSH it is so horrible and i give it
a :( 1 so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game!!!!!!!!

posted by legomaster (EVERETT, WA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

call of duty modern warfare is a great game!but there are a few things I don't like.1:the game is to easy to beat.2:they could have done better graphics.and 3:the ADS is way to sensitive.but all accept those things,it's a great game. 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great first person shooter for ds

posted by lka11123 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game was amazing it was simalar to call of duty 4 on xbox 360 and ps3 the multiplayer was fun i didint expect much out of it but when i played it was great it was also good becuse it wasnt to short and it wasnt too long it can probobly be beaten it three days or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best game ever on the ds i had ever played

posted by sk8ter (GALT, CA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

call of duty 4 best game ever on the ds i had ever played!it is not to easy and not to hard. i am looking forward to play the new one. i would recomeend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by lilcuban (PEMBROKE, MA) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

bad graphics hard controls horrible overall DONT WASTE YOUR TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

First-Ever Cruddy Call Of Duty Game

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 10, 2009

Member since May 2006

I never thought I'd say this, but this is a cruddy Call Of Duty game.

Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for DS is the worst Call Of Duty I've ever played. It MUST be better on other consoles. It's based on, obviously, modern warfare instead of World War 2 battles. Terrible controls. The graphics could be much better. It does have some good challenges, though. No unlockables. I don't recommend this to anybody. If you want to play Call Of Duty 4, I'd recommend trying it on another console. If it didn't have the good challenges, it would be a 1, but because it did, I'm giving it 4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great War Game

posted by wazup11597 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

call of duty 4 for DS is great. you get to go to a bunch of cool places including Iraq Russia and many other places. In most levels you have an M16 aqnd a 9mm. pistol. In some levels you get to have a machine gun. you can also be a sniper. Pick up a gun like an AK-47 and shoot up some soldiers. Some cool things you can do is throw grenades and call in air strikes. In one level you control the gun of a plane, a machine gun missil launcher, and some other missil thing. so if you are into the whole Iraqi War, then this is the game you want. You can also do Single-Card Multiplayer. So over all this game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My Eight year old son loved it

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

I did not play this, however my son who is pickier than I am (saying a lot), loved this and could not put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

posted by sfdsfan (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

Had high hopes for this game as the other console versions are quite good. Very disappointing gameplay - the controls are difficult to master for the adult gamer and the overall quality is lacking. Not a horrible game, but definitely a huge disappointment given what they could have accomplished with the DS console. I do not recommend this to adults or those looking for a highly polished experience like other titles in this franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My first DS shooter

posted by skellum (KEOTA, OK) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

Surprisingly fun to play. Having primarily used my DS for Brain Age, Poker, and racing games, I was unsure how well a shooter would play.

However, the controls were convenient, movement was quick, and graphics were. Although most of my shooter time is reserved for full consoles, this one offers promise on the go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse