Rent Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.9

16707 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Near Perfect

posted by eedobaba (MEMPHIS, TN) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished the campaign in this game and I have to say that it was near perfect all around.

Story - 10
The Story was told outstandingly. Unlike some military games, whose story is confusing and doesn't even give the player a goal, this game has distinct elements that are easy to understand, while still not being too simple. There are a few chapters that actually are only for story, and include no traditional gameplay. For example, the prologue ends with a segment where you, as President "Al Fulani", are publically executed by Kahled Al Asad, setting him up as a major antagonist in the game.

Graphics - 10
The graphics were absolutely outstanding. From the blurry, delayed effect scene when the player is dazed, or the amazing, gigantic scenery seen in levels where the player flies over an entire city. There is one graphical effect in the game that actually had me clapping. When, in a military chopper, you witness an atomic explosion from the center of a city. A passenger next to you flies out into the chaos as the cloud expands. Ohhh... Ahhhh....

Music and Sound - 9
The music is generally well done and placed. It gives a good sense of drama to the levels, as well as the scenes. Voice acting is top notch all around, in English, Arabic, and Russian.

Gameplay - 9
The gameplay is pretty awesome. Frustrating at some rare points, but generally satisfying and delivers a good wow factor. Some small areas (like reload times, sudden inexplicable deaths by grenade) left me a bit annoyed, but overall the levels are well designed and the AI also seems very realistic.

Overall - 9.5

A pretty awesome game. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best shooter all year!

posted by Artisgr8 (KENMORE, NY) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

37 out of 40 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty 4 is the best shooter I have played for ps3, the graphics and all around game play is excellent. The campaign and online is fun and keeps you on your feet. Online is amazing there is so many options. After you rank up you can start creating your own weapon sets. you can choose your own primary weapon and add to it for example you can put a scope or a silencer or a grenade launcher on it. Then you can choose your pistol/ sidearm and your special grenade type. After that you can choose your 3 perks which are bonuses. I didn't expect this much to come from a group of game makers who primarily are know for their ww2 games but this is amazing. I bought this game and if they make another I will buy it. It's just such a amazing and fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by seat19 (RICHMOND, KY) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game never had played a first person shooter game like this before. It is a little old and it takes a long time to get good at it but is excellent for the price and you may develope a mild addiction like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still Awesome!!!

posted by MYSTOP84 (FOLKSTON, GA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is still the 2nd best call of duty out..(behind mw2) even tho not many things make mw2 much better. i highly recommend trying this game! its still really, really, really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best shooter of all time

posted by boshman12 (WEATOGUE, CT) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

in this game you have not only a visually incredible game with a good single player but you also get the greatest multi-player experience i have ever played and i very highly recommend this to any shooter fans. before I played this game I really didn't care about the series but this game had me impatiently waiting for infinity wards next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Almost perfection

posted by Sutherland (ELK CREEK, VA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you own a PS3 then you must own this game. Two years and I still play this game at least every other day. This says a lot considering I have never been a big fan of the Call of Duty franchise, but this game had me hooked from the get go.

Great graphics with near flawless controls, a story line like a Tom Clancy novel, and awesome online play.

This is a must own game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome, but short

posted by dougc1 (GLENMOORE, PA) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave COD4 an 8 not because of any real flaw with the game, but it's length. As I am not an avid online player I will not be reaping the true rewards of this game. It seems as it was geared toward the online combat lovers more that the home gamers as the game play only lasted a few hours.
That said, those few hours were spectacular! The advances in game physics and Bot AI take the monotony of older FPS out of the equation. I particularly like that you can't just sit in one spot and go sniping fro more than a few minutes. They will find you...and when they do...ouch! It's really designed to keep you advancing. When you find a good spot to shoot from they just keep coming and coming until you actually feel like you have to either run away or charge in.

If you don't play online, don't buy this one, but it was definitely worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by skatac10 (NAPLES, FL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Im sure by now everyone has this game...but ive been playing online since it came out and this game never disappoints me. Its by far the best online-enabled game on the ps3 console. I was a huge halo fan until i played this game! Buy it if you haven't already. Whats not to love...there is like a million different customizations that you can do with your weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

call of duty MW4

posted by bruceclan99 (MESA, AZ) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it would probably be a good game if I could play it ,never could get past the confirm screen .could not play the game unless you disconnect from the web there are tricks and other ways to get around it but i shouldnt have to do that !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hacked

posted by epicdudeM (GOODYEAR, AZ) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this games seems to be hacked because i have played this before it worked but now i can't even get to the title screen will someone fix this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by spark12 (JAMESTOWN, SC) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fanamanel game i love the modern werfare series i higly recomendmend this game when ever you get a chance go pick this game up worth it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Modern Warfare

posted by youraveragegamr (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be entrilling. It was gripping, fun and climatic. From the brilliant campaign, to the great multiplayer. This is a game worth playing, especialy if you like mw2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game just too short lol

posted by Kevdude99 (MONTICELLO, FL) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game in terms of Combat Action was pretty darn good! From the realistic Urban Scenarios , to Missions. Even after a decent amout of Levels, I was still upset when the game ended. But then again , ever had a Game where even after 47 levels .....you still want more? The only thing lacking here was to my taste, choice of Loadout weaponry, and a totally interactive enviroment. Great game overall!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by jay13king (DULUTH, GA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

call of duty 4 modern warfare is the bomb,and trust me this game will give the real experiance of combat today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by wiiman411 (GARLAND, TX) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played many FPS games. There are many good ones, and many poor ones. But CoD 4: Modern Warfare is by far the best FPS shooter game I have ever played. Enough said......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST THERE IS, THE BEST THERE WAS..........

posted by davecomas (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

AND THE BEST THERE EVER WILL BE!!!!PERIOD. NO OTHER FPS CAN TOP THIS GAME. ENOUGH SAID!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game so far

posted by GeNeReL (BLUFFTON, SC) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think that this is one of te best games that anyone has made ever because it has eveything that you want to oneline and everything on it like shooting with a 50Cal. its so realife to me and everyone that plays it i think that its the best type of game and i hope that call of Duty 5 is just the same if not then alout better. But if you can make it like Halo kinda like with all the vehicals and stuff with a 50Cal. on top of it like in the real wars and stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Over the top

posted by zambodia (CORDOVA, TN) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Huge step forward in immersive realism. Up close and personal battle action. CG detail unlike anything seen before. Use headphones for spine tingling sound. This game is cocked, locked, and ready to rock!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best online title since Socom II

posted by guitarman5 (LODI, CA) Jan 1, 2008

Member since May 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game should come with an addiction warning.

Very exciting single player and one of the deepest online experienced to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

HALO 3 WHO????? THIS IS AN 11 OUT OF 10!!!

posted by JAJohnson (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THERE'S NOT 1 ASPECT OF THIS GAME THAT IS EVEN CLOSE TO WRONG! PERIOD!!! WORTH EVERY MINUTE OF THE WAIT. WORTH EVERY PENNY! DEFINETLY 1 THAT WILL BE PLAYED FOR MANY MANY MOONS! ENJOY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding

posted by JINX1391 (COLUMBIA, MD) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

One of the best FPS I've ever played! Comparable to Golden Eye in its day. On line play is simply amazing, with different matches and exciting unlocks. Single player mode plays more like a war movie than your basic point-A to point-B shoot'em up. Simple plot line, add ridiculous graphics, more "WOW" moments than you have mag changes and you have a must play for any level of FPS fan. Definitely a must play for 2007/2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Online is where the fun never ends

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Most online shooting games the only way to make you player unique is changing the color of a uniform. With this game you can customize your player according to the way you play. Whether you are a up close and personal person like me or sneaky, sniper type you have abilities that you can add to your player which makes it pretty sweet. The story line is kind of short but the story is pretty decent. The graphics are good and this is definitely the best shooter on PS3 so far. It's worth a buy with the replay value being online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Halo 3

posted by johnnyred3 (LAKESIDE, CA) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

On Xbox live, Halo 3 is the most played game, everyone knows that, but if you have played Halo 3, it is nothing compared to Call of Duty 4 on live. The only let down about this game is that you will probably finish the story mode in about 5 hours, but honestly it doesn't matter. So if you don't have internet for Xbox 360 or Ps3 don't bother with this game, but if you do, I don't recommend renting it, I recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bravo Infinty Ward! Well done!!

posted by GoldGlove2 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

My hat is off to these guys for making a superior game to all other FPS's. I was a huge Socom fan back in the day and this game blows Socom out of the water. This review will cover the multiplayer as I haven't even bothered with single player yet, I'm an online guy.

First off the different styles of play to fit your preference are executed perfectly. I have fun playing with all styles, whether it's run and gun, loud machine gun plowing through enemies, or using stealthy tactics to snipe or sneak up on enemies, it's all fun and developed flawlessly. There really isn't a useless gun in the game! Customizing your weaponry and special abilities is only half of what makes this game superior.

From adding slightly more health, dropping a grenade at death, and more damage and wall penetration to bullets, you can change perks to fit your style.

The actual gameplay is a blast and actually makes you feel like you are on a battlefield. The graphics are the best I've ever seen on any console, the realism of the weapons, the explosions, the bullets coming through walls, all add to the realism and strategy of the game. An example of this: Choosing a sniper rifle, you can choose UAV jammer, stopping power to bullets, and claymore mines as perks, and when you actually lay down in grass, you literally are invisible. I had 5 guys literally walk right on top of me for me to toss a short grenade and snipe them all without them even noticing me.

Teamwork is actually very well implemented in this game as well. The use of the radar, UAV's, airstrikes, and helicopters to accommadate the team strategy takes teamwork skill, yet isn't impossible to execute like most other online shooters.

Many under-rate this aspect, but the accuracy of actual kills, lag, or missed glitch shots are non-existent, it's as real as it gets here. If you still think a kill is BS, watch the Kill Cam when u die and see how you died.

If you like GAMES period, buy this one, must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Brilliant.

posted by PSForLife (ONTARIO, NY) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best first person shooter I've ever played. Far better than C.O.D. 5. The story mode should only take a few hours to complete, but what an amazing few hours they are. The graphics are absolutely brilliant, the gameplay is smooth, and the controls just flow. The Online is what people buy this game for though. It is never-ending fun that is never the same. There are so many people with different perks that you will never have 2 identical matches. And the levels are beautifully crafted, especially shipment and strike. I only wish Infinity Ward had not given up on making new content, like levels and ranks. Once you reach the top rank you will probably move on to another online game, but you will never completely stop playing this game. And I also heard the Call Of Duty franchise is adding another modern warfare game later this year, watch for it, it will be the best game of '09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse