Rent Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
9.0

41925 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shooter of the Year - 9.5

posted by TheSHizNic (NOVATO, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

87 out of 102 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

COD4 offers a fantastic, gripping, and cinematic campaign and a ridiculously fun multiplayer mode with depth beyond any I've ever played.

Positives:
- Fantastic campaign.
- Deep multiplayer mode. With a ranking system that's beyond genius offering constant challenges, and real time promotions, this will keep you busy.
- Amazing graphics (framerate is silky smooth) and extraordinary sound which puts you right in the battlefield.

Negatives:
- Campaign is on the short side.
- Multiplayer's learning curve is somewhat steep.

If you're sick of Halo, pick this bad boy up - while the multiplayer may have a somewhat steep learning curve, the perk system and real time promotions will keep new players engaged and still gives them a chance to have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Intense Fire Fight

posted by lashes (TRACY, CA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

65 out of 80 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is very good. Graphically excellent. Every fire fight is long and intense. The only thing I'd like to see is a co-op play without going on line so I can play with my son and not against my son.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty 4 FTW!

posted by bluefalcon (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 3, 2009

Member since May 2009

33 out of 40 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

The campaign on COD4 is easily worth the buy, but it's not very long. On normal difficulty, it would take about 6~8hrs depending on whether or not you're used to the COD mechanics. The core of the value comes from Multiplayer, where it can get VERY ADDICTING. You can setup up 5 classes for different weapons, and the different number of game types ensures for depth and longevity. The ranking system is equally amazing. There is just the right pace between ranks, and as you rank up you unlock new weapons, new weapon add-ons like red-dot sights and silencers as well as unlocking new skins for them. Also, new perks become available as you rank up such as UAV Jammer (when your invisible to enemy recon) and Sleight of Hand (allows you to reload faster). Taken all into account, this game easily is one if not the best FPS of all time, so it is not only worth the rent, it's worth the buy and will buy for itself over time. Happy Killing!

-BF

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Halo 3 Killer?

posted by desolute (MODESTO, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

102 out of 130 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Short Review:
650 obtainable online ranks, dozens of weapons, and probably hundreds of character customization choices make this a game to definitely not under estimate.

Great Single Player (although its a bit short at only about 6.5hours), the real meat and potatoes of this game is its amazing online play, yes amazing!

Long Review:
For those lucky enough to have played the Beta for this game, you have already gotten a sweet taste of the most delicious online play to hit the 360.

650, SIX HUNDRED AND FIFTY, ranks! Customizable character classes once you hit rank four, and countless ways to approach the online game honestly make this a must buy.

Go ahead, rent it, you'll soon be clicking the Keep It button. Don't be afraid, your copy of halo 3 might collect a bit of dust...but it will be worth it.

I can strongly recommend this game if your a fan of the more tactical, non bunny hop, fighting. Think Rainbow Six but with focus on more open warfare.

This game really reviews itself, so quit reading this and go rent it already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still one of the best.

posted by Sapremic (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing! It's fun and it's got quite a lot of guns and weaponry to choose from. I enjoyed it a lot more than Modern Warfare 2. MW2 felt dumbed down, repetitive and stupid. More than half of MW2s fan base is angry little kids and there's nothing other than taking out your mic or muting them you can do about it. However, in CoD4 (MW2 is MW2, not CoD6) you can stay in party chat and talk to your friends. Even if you were to venture into game chat you'll mostly meet kids who are actually old enough to be playing the game. I blame it on New Age Parenting. Give your kid an xbox and whatever games he wants without checking them, and let the xbox live community teach him how to grow. (A bad idea, in cause you're one of those new age parents.)

Regardless of that, all the maps are well laid out and entertaining. There's even a map pack. And guess what, it doesn't cost almost the price of a game.

I mean, what the heck is that about? 15 dollars for 3 new maps? How about 15 bucks to go jump off a cliff.

All in all, CoD4 is a FAR superior game to MW2, it's more balanced and it rewards players who have skill. Rather than giving noobs the ability to kill pros, it gives everyone a fair chance. If you can't cut it, you can't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CoD4 Its great short and simple.

posted by Av3rAg3JoE (HOT SPRINGS NATIONAL PARK, AR) Sep 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Alright this is my first review so bear with meh.I'll start by saying this, i do indeed love this game its great in almost every aspect. I've been seeing this game compared to halo on multiple occasions, seriously shut up people both games have their flaws and pros and cons so stop the debates and seemingly endless bickering i DO play both as i am a Colonel G3 in Halo and Rank7 level 55 Prestige in CoD4. Sorry about the rant now time for the review.This game is great its graphics are visually mind-blowing, the characters are rendered great, there are no framerate issues, and the game doesnt slow down when something big happens like a huge explosion etc. The story is actually pretty good its not THE best story in a game, but for a game not set in WWII (which is a very tired game concept btw) it had to come with a fictional story and it doesnt dissapoint imo. The campaign IS short about 6-8hrs, BUT remember this, "A game is only as short as YOU want it to be". Couch/Online Co-Op campaign would have been a very nice addition but meh i can live w/o. Now on to the multiplayer,
the multiplayer in this game is very addictive to me i like trying all kinds of things with the guns and perks attachments etc but i've pretty much done all kinds of combos. The Multiplayer DOES have its flaws though. Such as people wanting to ruin a game like Hardcore TD people will just spawn on my team and shoot a rocket on the ground and team kill the entire time...lame, i like the auto kick function though. Somethings can be very "cheap" as a person would say like getting the P90 or Dual-Wielding grenade launchers, which can be i guess but you cant blame the opponent for making use of what hes got remember in online "this is War son!". Alot of people will say things like "expect to get owned by people with better guns" all the guns are good just need to know how to use them and remember "The only to get better is by playing a better opponent". To sum it up its worth the buy imho, peace out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Head Hunter

posted by RORYOG (Houston, TX) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Being that this isn't the most current title from this series of games I'd say it is still one of the best first person shooter games ever made. Whether you play online or in story mode, you always get a heavy dose of action. This is a game in which you kill or be killed. With that being said, it's best to know your way around your primary and secondary weapons.

Story mode takes you through multiple locations in the Middle East and Russia or what was once the Soviet Satellite countries. You also have a throw back mission as your SAS commanding officer. Game play and graphics are always crisp, letting you see every detail of each mission. They also go through a lot of trouble to make sure you see the victims blood spatter patterns after making certain kills. There are about 6 to 10 hours of mission game play depending on your level of skill.

I although am more partial to the online play as it allows you to compete with anyone around the world. Or just one of your trash talking friends that needs a head shot. There are a number of ways to stalk your prey without them ever knowing you're there. Levels vary in size and depth, some giving you better sniper positions, while others have less room for movement with much higher kill/death ratio's. Weapons can be obtained and customized as you advance through the online ranks. Not to mention the interesting perks you gain as you advance. Each game type and level offer numerous possibilities in which you can complete all the challenges which become unlocked as you rank up.
All in all this is one first person shooter that will spoil you for most others, which it already has for me. Out of Modern Warfare and World at War, I choose Modern Warfare. Although WAW is pretty good and a close second as far as I'm concerned. This game sets the bar high for all other first person shooter games, a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hard to do any better than this

posted by MrYates (MANSFIELD, TX) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Considering I have both consoles, XBOX 360 and PS3 I originaly got this game for PS3 (see review) and loved it hands down it was a 10. What isn't there to like about this game, ecspecially if you game online (which I hope you do)! The campaign is short but boy is it SWEET. Its gripping and the most non stop action packed "Shooter" I have ever played. You can make the argument, oh but its run and gun, and to that I would answer with the classic "so what". Its more then just that its what WAR is and for the couch potato whose never fought for oil, this is the closes to War I will ever get. The cutscenes are quick and to the point but give you a great story to hold on to. No more WWII retread nonsense that needs to be "OVER WITH", this is modern day terrorism you are up against and you will enjoy every bit of ousting the terrorist from power.
You are thrown into the middle of a war and as the game starts you feel as if your just another member and in the first battle you will do more spectating as your partners take down folks as you try to get used to the whole thing. But as the game progresses you will become the focual point of your squad and you'll be the man leading the way. This is genius on developers part allowing you time to hone your skills and slowly making you "THE MAN". The only sad thing is that you will be done with the intense campaign in about 6 to 8 hours.
Oh but then your gaming has just begun. Enter online play. This is where you really become immersed in this masterpiece. The most addicting Online play to date, COD offers the best set of upgrades and custom classes as you grab rank after rank on your way to being fine tuned machine in the art of "Mowing down Everyone"! There are numerous different online modes you can Play and I guarntee its for all ages. From 13 to 40 you'll enjoy going heads up with people all over the world showcasing you Military tactics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Thank you Infinity Ward

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

65 out of 97 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Thank you for making this version of COD. Awesome game. One of the best shooters for any console. The only thing that hurts it getting a perfect 10 is no co-op or sqaud against AI online play.

It is a must purchase for fps fans and at least a rental for everyone else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hotter than a tracer round

posted by Mocha80 (FORT COLLINS, CO) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What a great game. Really, you won't find another shooter that is a flat-out rush like Call of Duty 4. Halo 3 is about strategy, Half-Life 2 is about a sense of pervasive dread, Bioshock is atmostphere--and Call of Duty 4 is shock and awe. From the first time you zip-line out of a chopper to scuttle a ship, you'll know you're playing a game so fast paced and polished that you'll have to remind yourself to breath. There's a nice variety in the missions, from quick insertion strikes to big firefights at night with night-vision goggles, a rescue mission reminiscent of Black Hawk Down, a brilliant stealth and sniping mission, and an unforgettable turn at the gunner seat in an AC-130, raining fire from 2000 feet as insurgents move across fields toward allied forces. The radio chatter is exceptional, really creating an immersive experience. And that's just the single player. For multiplayer, you'll find an experience that rivals Halo 3 (personally, I even like it better than Halo 3's slower-paced matches). Really, I can't recommend this one enough. For sheer thrills, it's the best game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

posted by xmasterx (GARRISON, TX) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is outstanding. great graphics, great gameplay, Awesome single player story and everything else is awesome!!!!
and. I was begging my parents not to send it back.
this game is awesome. I recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Shooter Available

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I have this game for the PC and for the 360 and I've played absolutely every aspect of the game possible. It has very good graphics, the characters are very well animated and the in game physics are really good. When somebody gets shot they react realistically and when something blows up it sprays chunks like it should. Not everything is interactable but all the people are and most of the environment is. It has a nice supply and range of weapons ranging from sniper rifles, assault rifles, shotguns, pistols, light machine guns, sub machine guns, RPGs so in the campaign and online you have a nice variety to choose from. The campaign is well thought out and has a gripping story line. The level where you go back to Chernobyl to stop terrorists from getting there hands on spent nuclear fuel rods has the most amazing graphics and is just so brilliant. There's also a level where you get to command a C-130 gun ship and that is fun, blowing up buildings, vehicles and terrorists from above, nice. The online multiplayer is fast paced on some modes and slow on others. The death matches provide you with a chance, depending on the map, to snipe or run in and shotgun your enemy in the face. You got upgradable weapons that you can upgrade by leveling up, which you can level up by getting XP for kills and matches. You can get scopes for your rilfes, grenade launchers, RPGs, all types of grenades and perks that allow you to customize your character and weapon however you want. I like an assualt rifle with Stopping Power, and hip fire. That way you run in and smoke beaches without having to take the time to aim due to the increased hip fire accuracy from the perk and it'll do more damage because of the stopping power perk. You get perks at level 1 and can customize your own class at level 5. And get progressively better gear and perks as you level up, 60 is the max, I think... I only ever got to 45 so I'm not 100% on that. One of my all time favorites, extremely fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

31 out of 48 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic, but the thing you have to remember is that it's call of duty. It's still a run around shoot em up game, but some of the missions are very unique. This game is so intense the ENTIRE time, it's hard to focus on the beautiful visuals. I still like Rainbow Six, because you are more in control of how you achieve objectives and it's more important what weapon/technology you use at what time, but this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'VE GOT 3 WORDS FOR YA....

posted by Crash46 (BEAUMONT, TX) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

BETTER THAN HALO 3

This was one of the most stunning games I've EVER played. The graphics are exceptional, the game play far better than Halo could ever dream about.
Don't get me wrong, I am NOT a Halo basher, but Halo was way over-hyped for what it was. Halo 3 was Halo 2 in better graphics.

COD4MW, is and should be considered one of the best games EVER Made. IMO, it is right up there with the Splinter Cell series.
I now OWN this game. It has the online play I look for. And yes it was a bit short for the single player, but seriously, who has the time to sit for 6 hours str8 to play a game. I don't get paid to play games so it was a 4 day event for me.
If you rent this game, you won't be disappointed.

Thank you COD4MW, you have shown me that you care about what I want in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Grand Slam

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) Nov 13, 2007

Member since May 2006

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty 4, really hit a home run with this game, the controls are easy to use, the single player mode story is VERY entertaining, from the very first mission your right into hard core battle, with great graphics and a beautiful storyline. But the real key to this game is the online play. This is the only game since Gears of War i am able to play online and not be bored stiff. The better you do with a given weapon the more upgrades you can get for it. and you start out as a private, and can work your way up the ranks to a 5 star general based off of how good you do. When you are killed it shows you what the person that killed you saw. however you can skip it, but its kinda cool especially if you didn't see it coming its cool to be like " oh there you are you little..." the game is amazing. to be honest the only thing i was bummed about is that there are no online achievements like reach 10,000 kills online like GOW But other than that i am hooked!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sorry Gamefly, its mine

posted by Gethooked (ORMOND BEACH, FL) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of Halo and to sum it up I am liking this alot more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Only a few VEARY mior flaws.

posted by Glitch78 (INDIO, CA) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Hey guys, Glitch here. You know, I always thought there was a reason for my used copy of the "game of the year Edition" still selling for 40$. 40$! This came out in 07! And Devil May Cry 4 (Good game) Only sell's for (Or at least I bought it for) 15$! (And it came out in 08!)

Now I know what you guys are thinking, "Was it worth 40$?" I have to say this, yes. Yes it was. I was told multiple times that I should not get it because it is exactly like Call of Duty 2, but it's not. Even if it was, that's not necessarily a bad thing. Let's see, You play as 5 characters, "Soap" Mac Tavish (Main character), Sgt. Paul Jackson (Main character), Captain Price (CoD 2?! Main Character), President Al- Fulani (Supporting character), AC-130 gunner (Supporting character). Missions range from strait out shooting, (Basic CoD style) To the longest sniper shot in video games to date! (You start out getting to the Hotel, In Chernobly no less! Then when you get to snipe your target, it's just awsome.)

Probably the only problems I have with the game are A) It's pretty short, not Fracture short, but short. B) I did notice 2 small, small, veary small AI glitch. Before you crawl under the trucks in in 'All Ghuillied up) a guard saw me and started shooting at me and after a few seconds, the I ran up to a guard, and he didn't react at all. Also, there is a glitch that some enemies can unload an entire clip right next to you and you get hit around 2 to 3 times, I could have let this go, but seeing as how you just have to unload 2-6 rounds per enemy, it makes some parts a bit easy, but anything after that would just be nit-picking.

The graphics are some of the best on the system, Especially Cpt. MacMillan. (All Guillied up) His suit move's when he move, it looks all natural.

Now for all you CoD fans who would strike down anyone who says that WW2 is the only setting for CoD, calm down. It works even better, (Says a HUGE CoD 2 fan)

Was it worth my 40$ Yes, now goodbye.
Glitch78

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by jscott (Palo Alto, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

great game. Cant wait for modern warfare 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare

posted by sparten1 (ONTARIO, CA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a totally awesome game. Althought many debate that it is beaten by World at War, they must ask them selves this one simple question: Where did World at war get its greatness? Infinity Ward revolutionized the online gameing world with modern warfare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a HUGE step forward from the previous COD games. The multiplayer just keeps on giving. And you can tell the multiplayer was thought out and not just thrown on at the last second for marketing purposes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by gamer36012 (BUCKEYE, AZ) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best shooter games I have played before(in the call of duty series).I have played this game 2 times and its like I have not even played it once.I have 3 things to say about this game.

First,is that it has a very accurate and good storyline.Nothing I really want to say about the storyline cause I don't want to give away anything in the story if you have not played the game before.

The Second,is the weapons cause when do you get to shoot the P90 or the Desert eagle or even a M129A1 SAW machine gun.

The Third,is the graphics they are awesome.There are very few flaws in the graphics to me,but you have to play the game yourself for the full experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by Raqeeb (BREINIGSVILLE, PA) Jun 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played this game for over 2 years now and never get tired of the multiplayer. The control scheme is intuitive and easy to control. The multiplayer is so well balanced that it makes for a different experience every time that you enter into a lobby. I just hope that Modern Warfare 2 is as good as this one was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hidden joke/easter egg

posted by Overnuke (LACEY, WA) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ya know the sci fi channel show star gate Atlantis well the Cornell guy wen he is in combat he carrys around a p90 so you have the be a Cornell to unlock the p90 in multiplayer it did not take me long to figure this out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Word... Amazing

posted by TooLFan (GETTYSBURG, PA) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

That's it. This game is just simply amazing. Guaranteed to get your heart pounding and make you feel like you are right there on the battlefield. The graphics, the sound, the experience, everything just comes together just right to make this game perfect.

Graphics- Breathtaking. One of the best looking games out there to date. Grenades exploding everywhere, guys running around everywhere, incoming air strikes, and bullets flying everywhere look so real, you will be fearing for your own life.

Sound - My surround sound speakers cranked way up made my heart racing out of my chest, need I say more?

Gameplay - Some of the best in any game out there. The story has you hooked all the way through. The variety of weapons is enough to satisfy anyone. Lots of intensity while you and your squad are raiding the locations. I was on the edge of my seat most of the time.

Multiplayer - One of the greatest systems for ranking/scoring on any Xbox Live game. Ranking up unlocks new guns, game modes, and challenges for you to do rather than just shooting other people.

Overall - Just take this game off your list and go out and buy it. You should already be playing it fool! You will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost 10

posted by DBPowell (OVETT, MS) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

---The wait and hype were worth it. Great graphics and game play make it all worth while however if you cannot play on line you may be disappointed. The campaign mode is short(to short) completed in a little over 6 hrs start to finish(Hard Mode).So while I was impressed they left a lot to be desired in the campaign mode that will leave some players disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse