Rent Call of Duty 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
7.5

10028 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!!

posted by W4RM4CHINE (MANSFIELD, TX) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

51 out of 62 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I never thought I would give a video game a ten, but since I thought Call of Duty 2 was a nine, this has to be a TEN. The Graphics are off the charts, as well as the game play. Everything plays as smooth as silk, including multiplayer. There are additions to multiplayer and single player modes. Throwing grenades back and melee are sweet additions to single player. The additions of classes and usable vehicles in multiplayer make things alot more interesting. You obtain rank in multiplayer not just by kills, but by using your classes special abilities (such as a medic healing a team mate before he dies).

This Game is a must have for your XBox 360 library, and along with the AMAZING Gears of War, should provide hours of entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stunning visuals, immersive gameplay, clunky menus

posted by sorenmd (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

23 out of 28 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I just had to write a review of this game because it is the first game in a long while (since Halo 2) that truly lives up to expectations. First of all the singleplayer is spectacular. It follows the similar format of previous Call Of Duty titles but also expands the gameplay and offers many challenging but rewarding missions.
Now playing the CPU is fun for a while but online multiplayer is where this title really puts in the "WOW" factor. To start, COD3 offers up to 24 players per game. That is a good start for "next generation gaming". Secondly, the multiplayer levels are very well designed. They are expansive but not too big, they are detailed but not confusing and most of all they are extremely fun to play! The large battles get you on the edge of your seat with all the gunfire straming back and forth. Not to mention you have 7 classes of soldier to choose from in order to suit your playing style. Rent it or Buy it it doesnt matter, just GET IT! (see you online...)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

game review from an older gamer

posted by charlierok (CHARLOTTE, MI) Dec 2, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The call of duty 3 game is great in all aspects except for one!,in which is not a big deal to me but I have heard other players online nagging about the speed on this game its like as if you were in "turtle mode" but I thought it was a big step up with the new larger maps and vehicles to drive around although it is a slow process of getting into and around the motorcycle the concept is great and there is a big difference in the crouch mode when your moving it is a lot faster! I think the game has improved through the years and I am very happy with the way this one turned out thanks folks for keeping me busy on my x-box 360, The Call of Duty game has come a long way !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INCREDIBLE!!!

posted by taz2006 (TULARE, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

25 out of 38 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Ok now there are many games who can promise the best campain mode and online play,but none of them delivered it as amazing as Call of Duty 3. They took a leap in the graphics and also taking it to a whole other level with it's impressive online gaming which is the best I've seen in a game so far due to the jump from 8 players to 24,which is nonstop action from start to finish!With a new game mode called WAR,it makes it the most realistic,because you are fighting for strategic areas in the game,and also you rank so when you become a rank 3,you can send in heavy artillery strikes from airplanes which will wipe out your enemy in a heartbeat. I would recommend this game to anyone,even if there not a gamer,this will sure turn them into one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

War Games , Nice Shooter!

posted by waxface (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a good shooter, the only down flaw was the game was a little short to me...but a good blast for war!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Battlefield 2: Call of Duty Edition

posted by Bondian007 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

34 out of 58 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

If you are renting/buying this game in the hopes that it is the long awaited sequel to COD2, you may be sadly disappointed.

Lets start with what is good about the game. The new realistic reloading times are good, making the sniper rifles more challenging, also good. The visuals and the effects are beautiful. The addition of War as a multiplayer level is a breath of fresh air to the loyal online crowd, and the use of role types (support, medic, assault)is a good concept.

Now for the bad. To get the single player out of the way, let me say this: It is as entertaining as it is frustrating. Even on the Normal setting, the Germans are abnormally accurate. All they have to do is pop their head around a corner or above a barricade and they instantly have a bead on you, no matter what the distance. If you aren't hidden behind something, you WILL be shot. Also there are several times where you are being shot when you have absolutely no idea where it is coming from.

Onto the multiplayer. First of all, the guns. The German arsenal has been reduced to a useless pile of scrap. The Kar98k, once a fantastic bolt-action weapon that required skill that was balanced with its (usual) one-shot kill ability is now a very slow, weak weapon. The Semi automatic has been removed, so your options are limited. The mp40 and 44 are very inaccurate, and can really only be used if you shoot in short bursts. The Trench gun has been significantly weakened to the point that instead of one good shot, it often takes at least 2-3 shots to take down a target. Very sad because that makes no one want to be a Medic.

The maps are huge, meant for 24 people, which at this point is very difficult to fill. So usually you end up running around looking for 4 people on a huge map. The elimination of the lobby and the inability to change the game types and maps efficiently has people frustrated.

Overall, if you think of COD3 as its own game, its ok. But this is not the sequel to COD2. How disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MOH:RS and this game are twins in letdown factor

posted by RllyOldGuy (WEST BEND, WI) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Anyone who's played COD2 was disappointed with this game, we were looking for a step forward in the genre and we got a half-step backward.

Note to Activision and Treyarch: we notice when games have this many quality issues. My favorite is when an enemy a mile away is zoomed in scope, firing produces a melee attack. The enemy is like your older brother smacking you with your own arm - "why you hitting yourself? huh?"

But not to be too harsh, playability and storyline were both good, plus the addition of cinematic play elements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesnt keep that "intense" feeling with you...

posted by Barbadus (CEDAR HILL, TX) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First off I'd like to start out by saying this game was horrible compared to the second one. I am a huge COD fan, but COD3 just doesn't cut it for me.

I rented this game thinking it was going to be better than the second, i said to myself "Man these one on one melee battles are going to be intense!" i found myself looking at planned fights compared to the random or occasional fight every encounter or so. The story also takes place in another story of WWII that no one really cared, nor remembered about. Basically I was "Out of the loop" and looking at a story I haven't read about, so i was expecting intense battles, but they weren't intense, just usual every-day massacres of the Germans we see all the time. And so then you'll find yourself looking at a story-line that really even isn't in order from country to country and what significant part they took place in, they basically go in random order, which really isn't all that fun to me anyways. Sure some of the battles are intense, only near the very very very end, and thats about it, you don't get that feeling that your actually there alongside someone fighting for your life.

I gave it a 7 for its unintense encounters with the enemy, planned hand to hand combat, and a forgotten storyline with somewhat boring gameplay.

Maybe its just me, but i played COD2 on the PC instead of the console, but i doubt theres really a difference in the end. To me this chapter in the story was a disappointment to a WWII fanatic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COD 3, An 8 out of 10

posted by Crushem001 (FLOWER MOUND, TX) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Playing COD 3 has brought back some fine memories of COD 2. The story lines, cut scenes, graphics, and most everything are great. I really like the more involved melee fights incorporated in the campaign. I also like the new explosive deployment system, it's better than just holding down the X button for two seconds. Everything seems to be better in this version, especially online play.

However, with my high expectations, COD 3 lost points with some key areas where they did not improve. Controls are still a bit sticky in my opinion. Your character gets stuck trying to hug around corners and movement isn't fluid in tight situations. Additionally, I found myself stuck, unable to run or jump out of areas especially in houses on more than one occasion. This is where suicide is the only way out. Very Big Problem!
Same problem with driving the jeep. Jeep gets stuck on something, can't drive forward and can't drive backward. Turning doesn't help and before you know it, BOOM the tanks got you. Also in some areas enemy guns go through solid walls giving away their position. I thought they would fix those small glitches!

In most ways COD3 is good. Its definitely above average and ranks up there with other great games. I definitely recommend taking time to play this game through at least once. Call of Duty 3 has some imperfections but overall its definitely a game you want to check out. I give it a classy score 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this one...

posted by Jibbajaba (DAVIS, CA) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: Very nice visuals. Same production quality I am used to in COD games. Great sound.

Cons: This game was WAY too linear. Your path was so restricted throughout the game that it was cheesy and highly unrealistic. The game forces you to make counterintuitive (and counterproductive) tactical decisions in combat (charging machine guns instead of flanking, etc.) Grenades only injure enemies if they land very close to them, and are therefore virtually useless. Every time you load your game, you have to sit through the cut scene from the beginning of the chapter, and there is no way to skip it. I noticed a few bugs as well. At one point I got stuck in one location and couldn't move.

Bottom line: I loved the first Call of Duty for PC, but either the series isn't as good as it once was, or it has just grown stale. At this point, we are re-enacting battles that I have never heard of. I couldn't even bring myself to finish it before sending it back. If you really love WWII shooters, then go ahead and get it, but otherwise give this one a miss and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by shiloh (KUNA, ID) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Call of duty 3 puts you deep into the battles that got the liberation of paris. with better and more touched up graphics, with outfits that were actually worn. This game gives you everything you could possibly want in a ww2 shooter. Especially bringing in the new 24 players online in xbox live with vehicles. this game definitely gets a ten in my books and i highly recommend it to even the gamers who don't like FPSs or ww2 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Issues

posted by NormalGuy (ARLINGTON, VT) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has had me wanting to huck my wireless controller around the room on numerous occasions. The reason? Issues. This game has some bad ones.

For example,
1). NPC AI is so counter-productive, it becomes laughable. Situation: MP42 down at the end of a hallway and you are crouched behind some cover, trying to spot the gunner's helmet so you can pull off a silencing headshot. However, your allies are continuing to run along, getting mowed down in front of you, making a big pile of static bodies that obscure your view, but not your opponents'. Non-realistic fakey stuff.
2). Maps are funnelling. Situation: you are in a field, running to your next objective, you look to the left and see a bush. you go over to check it out and then thump! you hit a glass wall. whaa?!??
3). Buggy. I have gotten stuck a handful of times on my first effort through the campaign behind a rock or a plank of wood or a crate or whatever. I have to wonder who did the QA for this game? Also, sometimes, I would be shooting a guy in the face as he was hiding behind cover but NO damage would be done, then he would pop out and kill me. Infuriating.

On the other side, the graphics are beautiful, the sound is of the highest caliber, and for the most part, the gameplay is a good time. The mini-games become a bore, but still ok.

All in all, quite a disappointment after the precision of COD2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Failure for Trey Arch

posted by thaKreator (DALLAS, TX) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being just a hair different from Call of Duty 2, it was an enjoyable experience with a few different maps, and playing as different characters. What I did not like was not being able to change my joysticks and button configuration. Once you become accustomed to certain buttons/sticks doing one thing, it's hard to transition to sticks that do the complete opposite from what you're used to. The multiplayer was interesting. I really didn't know how many more points I would have needed before I ranked up, but going through different maps, playing as different sides was a nice change from the story mode. All in all, it was a well thought game, but they didn't exactly 'bring it home' with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by spartan921 (WARRENTON, VA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They did not make it as good as any of the others. At one point if I tried to move up I would just die. And the checkpoints were really hard to get to.
You would spend so much time shooting at a distance then you go into a room and get gunned down. The teammate AI is terrible your teammates would just fire blindly or would make you go into a room in order for them to follow. The enemy AI was as much better when a grenade was right by them and they did not just crouch down like your teammates. The graphics looked like I was playing it on a WII .If you play this you will throw your controller in rage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good if this is your first time playing CoD

posted by BRon256 (VISTA, CA) Mar 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've got a few problems with the game to be honest. I felt that Call of Duty 3 was less intense than Call of Duty 2 (I play at Veteran Difficulty if that matters). It was still a bit challenging, but not as challenging as CoD2 was on the Veteran difficulty. Another annoying factor for me were the cut scenes. CoD2 never had them and they never needed them, the other problem about them is that they cannot be skipped. Also, if you have a saved game during a mission, when you load that game, it will show the same cut scene from the beginning of the mission and still cannot be skipped. However, the graphics are very nice and improved and it runs very smooth even in a pit of smoke and gunfire. Although, I can't say much about online because I no longer have XBL Gold (currently) and didn't get a chance to play online.

Pros: Nice smooth graphics, same great gameplay
Cons: Less intense combat, too easy, annoying cut scenes that cannot be skipped

This is a great game if this is the first time you have played a CoD game. For me, I will stick to CoD2 for PC. And Treyarch should stick to Spiderman games and give CoD back to Infinity Ward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by biohazz65 (SHAWNEE, KS) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am an avid gamer and have played many, many FPS games and just didn't like this one. I am a big fan of this series, but I was constantly bogged down by such inane details such as screwing in fuses and rowing a darn boat. IMO there are many times where the game does not provide adequate cues as to where to go or what to do next. I am a former Soldier, I am well versed in tactics and at times just had to hunker down and try to access what the game wanted me to do. Perhaps this was intentional as it does add realism to the game, however I am playing for entertainment, not to be overcome by events. I didn't even finish the game, and I almost never do that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nope

posted by Blockoz (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I HATE THIS GAME SOOOOOOOO MUCH. I HATE IT. I HATE IT. I HATE IT. I HATE IIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTT........ IT IS SOOOOOOO BAD AND IS NOT EASY FOR GAMERSCORE. THE CAMPAIGN IS TERRIBLE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST GET FOR OINLINE PLAY

posted by Anomonys (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I always played all COD games and this is easily the best one yet.The one thing bad about COD2 is the online play got really boring really fast.But COD3 online play is awesome and very addictive.You can play for hours. The single player is also very good because you get to play as Canadians.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not nearly as good as COD2!

posted by dopeman (WESTMINSTER, CO) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Simply put, Call of Duty 3 is a game that was slapped together in hurry to be put out just in time for the holidays. Absolutely terrible compared to Call of Duty 2. In all of the reviews I have read, eagerly awaiting the release of this game, I was told that everything from Call of Duty 2 was still there as well as a few new things. This is completely not true! The main thing I noticed is, the overall feel of the game that COD2 had, is lost. And the thing is, I can't put my finger on what was lost. COD3 feels more like the original Call of Duty, which I didn't like either. The graphics aren't as good as COD2 and I've run into several handfuls of glitches. I could go on, and on. The only thing I liked about this new addition is being able to drive the vehicles and actually having to hit a series of buttons to plant bombs instead of just hitting "A" (think Saint's Row gang tags). But, I do have to cut Activision some slack after all, they were trying to top Call of Duty 2. I don't think anyone will be able to. Unless of course, they just keep coming out with new missions for COD2 every year. COD3 should have stuck with what made this franchise great. Instead, they tried reinventing the wheel. After all, how many improvements can you make on the wheel? And what's the deal with the soap opera style cut scenes? Allies pointing guns at allies and threatening to kill them because they didn't like the way they were talked to? Is this third grade or is this war? I give Call of Duty 3 a five out of 10, and that's being nice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i couldent ask for more.....

posted by Pyramid (MARIETTA, SC) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

whenever i heard treyarc was making it i didnt think it would be good, but i was wrong, the best graphics on the 360 yet, the multiplayer is amazing and i havent even played single player yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

We can do better.

posted by JeebsZ (TUSTIN, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great, the sound design is great, I love not having to worry about medkits and health power-ups, and the intensity stays high through the entire single-player campaign. But seriously, this is the same WWII shooter we've been playing since 1998. If that doesn't bother you, then COD3 will probably be your new favorite shooter.

If you want to play something that doesn't remind you of games you played on the PSOne, however, you're probably better off with F.E.A.R. or Gears of War. Preferrably the latter.

I'll also note that the AI is prone to "hiccups" in the single-player campaign; certain events, like a guy kicking down a door so you can continue a level, just "forget" to happen, and you'll have to reload the last checkpoint to fix it. One of my pet peeves is playing a game that clearly hasn't had all the bugs worked out, and COD3 didn't leave me with a completely favorable impression.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty hits again

posted by RRabbi (MUIR BEACH, CA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

These games are just outstanding. The realism matched with wonderful game play make them worth playing start to finish.

I have not even bothered with the online play, as COD2 was so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like The Other COD's

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

COD keeps getting better, story mode is good, live has some nice features like being able to play with your friends online using the same 360, and graphics are even better than COD2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great looking game but

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Nov 11, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

game looks great best ever the germens fights smart. the fighting is great. the war games to me are at a end how many times can we fight in france year after year. war war 2 did fight in germany as well. i dont understand why we cant have a full war war 2 game. and why we cant fight for berlin. end 1945 in may. i am tired of fighting in france. this is the last war game i will buy. the fight for berlin i will buy. no more france. been there done that lets move on to berlin germany.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What were they doing for a year?

posted by Mollusk (FORT MILL, SC) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

How is it possible that Call of Duty 2 is so much better than this release? There are an unbelievable number of glitches in this game that make playing it ridiculous. Several times I had to commit suicide with my own grenade because I was stuck in the floor of some bombed out building. The targeting seems so random, you never know if you're missing your target or if the game just isn't registering a hit because of a glitch. There aren't any new ideas in this game, no special areas where it breaks from the repetition of killing thousands of Jerrys. You drive a Jeep and a tank, as usual, but that's about it. Worse than the last one, which is unfortunate and unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse