Rent Call of Duty 3 for Xbox
view large frontback

Call of Duty 3

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
8.1

1042 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call Of Duty 3

posted by hainzy (LIVERPOOL, NY) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics
i think this was a pretty freakin good game
the story is fantastic
it really felt like you were there
you really get to know your squad
the xbox live is amazing and it is totally amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great

posted by cheesyvade (HOOVER, AL) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright first of all I'm a HUGE shooter fan and if you don't like shooters or you like 'em but you hate getting cover then this is NOT for you but for WWII fans or shoter fans this is the real deal.OK first I wanna say that the graphics are way revamped from cod2 and the gameplay is absolutely amazing,the first reason is that you get to interact with so much,lik in most war shooters you just watched your guy put up charges but in this you press a combonation of buttons to plant one.One of the very few flaws is the length,it is only 14 missions but it is as actiopn-packed as about 30.another good thing is that you get more choices, like if you want to flank or charge or whatever.But there is only one thing that seems wierd to me if they can make cutscenes look like a 360 why can't they make the gameplay like that?Another amazing thing is the fast paced loud multiplayer you can choose your classes and each one has a different wep and ability,for example, the medic can heal people and the scout(or sniper)can call artillery strikes which in my opinion are amazing. So if you had enough time to read this review then you've gotta lot of time on your hands so go buyor rent(preferably buy) this game. If you wanna play this halo2,or splinter cell double agent my gamer tag is cheesyvader

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best Cod Game for a console system

posted by CaptainTig (BOTHELL, WA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Wow. Ok, I just got my preordered game of COD3 today. It has some of the best game play ever. The best part about it is the "Battle Action Mod" where everything slows down and you have to fight some German fool fist to fist. This truly is like the best installment in the COD line. The cool thing is, they actually made the game play and most of the graphics work the same between the current and next gen. consoles. I consider myself really lucky to already have my own copy of the game. One way you can tell how good a game is, is that if it makes you want to replay a level even if it's so hard its actually annoying again. It had me wanting to replay it by the first level. Anyone who has the money needs to buy this game. It is so dam worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The closest thing to war without signing up for it

posted by nyyfan (OSCEOLA, IN) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

as i said this is probably the closest you will get to war without actually joining the military. i loved this game! if i had to choose something bad about it it would be the graphics of the people but it makes up for it with the storyline and the other graphics. This game is so realistic it scared my little sister!!! it has a little bit of comedy, a lot of action (duh) and tons of explosians. plus in games like halo & halo 2 you just team up with the other soldiers and help them out, in this game you get to know all of the soldiers so you know them well and it is not like gta san andreas where you can kill someone with a few punches or a few shots it takes a lot of work to kill an enemy soldier and for your friends to die. i have not beaten it yet but i looked it up and there is 14 lvls so that is kinda short for me. Each soldier has different attitudes, accents, personalities, and specialities so you can actually care about some people and others you could care less about! This game will test your shooter skills, your logic, your use of tactics, and how well you trust other people i can almost guarantee that if you just go running into a building (without cheats) you will most likely die. In this game one of the many upgrades is the hand to hand fighting. Now i am not going to lie really all it is is when you get close to Germans and they will sometimes grab your gun, what you have to do is fight for control by hitting left trigger and right trigger FAST then you get to punch the dumbass. Finally when you set bombs you do not just watch your soldier do the work YOU have to do all the work. first press either A B X or Y then set the pin then press one of the main buttons again and then run like heck! Now after reading my long report just go rent the darn game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best shooter ever

posted by deathrider (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

IF YOUR LOOOKING FOR A GREAT SHOOTER THAN I RECOMEND THIS GAME. IT HAS FAST ACTION GAME PLAY AND GREAT STORY LINE. IT HAS MOST OF THE GUNS IN MOST SHOOTERS AND MORE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best Call Of Duty Game yet

posted by naughtydog (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This is the probably the best call of duty game yet it is a fast paste shooter. If u liked the first 2 then this one u might want to check out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game did not work.

posted by crazyzac12 (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game did not work on my 360 even though it said xbox games for 360. So i sent it back the day i got it. I thought this sight is reliable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

call of duty 3

posted by hfoskettj (Amarillo, TX) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

I have now played both the x-box and the 360 version and although my told me she has never seen anyone get killed as many times as me I enjoyed the game very much it is pretty accurate and focused on wwII events but there when you get killed it was for real

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of duty 3

posted by ruthvillan (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game was fun to watch my son's really enjoyed it and that makes me happy when the like certain things. I give it two thumbs up and a number 10 on how much they enjoyed it. But they finished the gam in record tim and they wanted a new on so I had to send it back for the next game which will be godzilla and they can't wait to get it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 3

posted by ROXTEDDY19 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I played this game and it was thrilling and exciting - it felt good to kill all the bad guys. There were some sad part where good people died. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty 3 (ps2)

posted by cole722 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) May 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Call of duty has many great levels, as well as many great character. I think that if anyone played this game,they would buy it.You should make more different call of duty games, and make it for other systems.Well that's all for now, I will be back writing about more of your sick games.BYE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good at all

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

Call of Duty 3 on xbox was horrible. It wasnt as bad as some games for the xbox but still it was pretty bad. First the graphics compared to like halo 2 are horrible and it was made after halo that just means the creator did a horrible job and obviously didnt try to make this game good. I highly advise you dont play this call of duty rather play call of duty 4 which was in comparison years better than this peice of junk. Dont even try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!! Will cause motion sickness through

posted by romeneast (TWIN FALLS, ID) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I really enjoyed playing this game, except after a bit of game play, my head starts to hurt and I get a bit sick to my stomach. Other than that -- Great Game and would get for my collection just because I a bit of a war freak. Grandfather was in WWII and my father was in Vetinam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game rocks

posted by bballgamer (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

this game is awesome. The levels are hard so its challenging but easy so you can get through them. i got it for my bday and i cant stop playing it ive only got 5 words: buy it or rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Excellent graphics BUT ...

posted by mfvhgames (MIAMI, FL) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Let me make clear that this is my first xbox 360 game as well as my first experience ever in game consoles. My previous gaming experience comes from PCs (Windows/Linux/Mac).

The game has excellent sound and graphics, don't get me wrong. But it's my experience as a player what made me give it a "WEAK" rating.

First the annoying extremely long, no choice, boring dialogs before each level.

Second, the limited scenery. Only France.

Third, sooooooooo difficult. I'm playing easy level and I feel pretty disencouraged to continue.

Fourth, what these guys have been doing??? Same weapons as COD 2.

Finally, for me, the game doesn't worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT

posted by B182xfan (NEWTON, NJ) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This was a great game it was full of non stop action the cut scenes are within battle so it seems like the game never slows down witch is great the guns are basic war game favorites if you want a non stop action packed army game dont rent this BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best War Game Ever!

posted by Millmen (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This was the best war game I've ever played. From the smoke grenades to the recoil of your M-1 Grand, you forget your playing a game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

CoD 3= Best WII Shooter

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Jun 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

I know there are a lot of WII games on the market. Some of them suck and some do good. Call of Duty 3 is one of the best. It has better graphics, new gameplay, and still has awesomeness that we all love. The new gameplay includes driving a jeep, and a solider trying to take your gun and pressing the triggers to stop him also usually when you place a bowb you just press a button. Now you have press a button then rotate with the thumbstick and press another button. Which is good cause it adds interactivity to the game. It still has that craziness from the other Call of Duty games where you need to keep your head down. You also know your squad better to. If you love shooters. BUY THIS GAME NOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call of Duty 3

posted by Rid117 (ROBERTSVILLE, MO) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

A new installment in the best WWII series of all time. Once again step onto the battlefield and turn the tides of war in your favor.

The game play of Call of Duty 3 is very similar to previous games in the series, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Call of Duty 3 does surpass its predecessors in many ways such as level design. The biggest change in the game play is the fact that if you want to progress in a level you’ll have to press forward at all times. This means that you cant just take cover in an area, and shoot enemies until they stop coming. You’ll have to keep moving into the middle of firefights, or else enemies will continue coming and you’ll never progress. This helps make the game more exciting. Some other smaller improvements have been made such as having the ability to return grenades thrown at you by the enemy and close combat melee sequences.

The graphics in the game are well done, but there is not anything revolutionary about them. One complaint is that the faces are still very generic on the NPC’s

The audio of the Call of Duty series is award winning and that same level quality remains intact here. There have been no major improvements in this area, but there may be no room for improvement.

Overall this is a must rent for single player only gamers, but the multiplayer is very good and may put this game above a rental into a buy.

Additional Info
· Xbox 360 multiplayer- 1-4 single screen, 2-24 system link and Xbox Live
· Xbox multiplayer- 1 player, 2-16 system link and Xbox Live
· PS3 multiplayer- 1 player, 2-16 online
· PS2 multiplayer- 1 player, 2-16 online
· No Wii multiplayer
· 8.8 Gamespot (360)
· 82% GamesMaster (PS3)
· 6.5 Nintendo Power (Wii)
PS3 and Xbox 360 support 480p/ 720p/ and 1080i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Duty 3

posted by carboy292 (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) May 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

The story line was constricting, you cant do whatever you want. They tell you what to do. The vehicle controls are strange. The cinematic are very cool. The game was good overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pick up your MP40, it's time to liberate France!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

It's time to fight WWII for the hundredth time in Call of Duty 3. While much of this may seem familiar, there are some new twists on this rather tired genre. CoD3 takes the series in a slightly new direction as it focuses on one major campaign: the allies last surge to liberate France. Traditionally, CoD focuses on the British, American and Russian forces. However, the Russians are nowhere to be found this time. Instead, CoD3 brings in the Polish, French, British, American and Canadian forces, a much more diverse cross-section of the allied forces than in previous games. CoD 3 adds some new twists to gameplay as well, such as quick time button pressing to wrestle attackers and prime explosives. You can also pick up and throw grenades tossed at you. Sections like calling in strikes, firing mortars and driving a jeep break up the shooting throughout the 14 mission campaign. Although, while these new additions are welcome and work fine, there's still a "been there, done that" feeling. It's not that Call of Duty doesn't constantly outperform it's competition, it's just that the subject matter is worn out. How many times can I storm the beaches of Normandy? Also, the graphics and sound, while great, are pretty much what you got in CoD 2. Navigating in the driving sections also proved confusing. Still, this offers over 10 hours of gameplay in single-player and conceivably much more online. If you want to head back to the battlefields of WWII yet again, Call of Duty 3 delivers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 3

posted by LordXbox (SUGAR LAND, TX) May 27, 2007

Member since May 2006

This is probably the best COD game I have played. There aren't many downfalls of this game except the tank missions. The tanks are hard to turn with. But probably my favorite part of the game is not having a life bar. This game is between a renter and a buyer. I hope this was helpful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Is the cut scene over yet...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Apr 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

Once again, another great COD title to fill out the series. As with the other 2, the story, game play and graphics are superb. No real advances or improvements though, but no surprise being the end of the console's lifespan (XBOX). You're still stuck to their story so there is little to do outside of the mission set forth before you, and the intros and cut scenes are enough to drive you mad, they take forever and there's no skipping them. The pros greatly outweigh the cons though. A lot of adrenaline pumping fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same candy, different wrapper

posted by Armyfreak (TORRANCE, CA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Yes, this game did have some good graphics, especially the cinematics. But Call of Duty 3 is uses the same graphics and control systems as BigRed One. Every enemy looks the same, and uses the same voice over and over. The weapons available in COD3 pale in comparison to COD1 and 2. And the tank combat in the game is unrealistic, not to mention that there is only one level where you are in a tank.

Call of Duty: Finest Hour broke the backbone of EA games and their Medal of Honor series in sales and reviews. Finest Hour offered a wide range of weapons, tank on tank combat, easy control layout, realistic weapon accuracy, excellent weapon sound-overs, and a wide array of playable characters.

Then came Call of Duty 2, which left Ubisoft's Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood in its highly detailed tracks. Offering superior graphics, perfect sound and voice-overs, realistic weapons and accuracy, the brand new off the drawing board "Duck and Heal" health system which is used in almost every shooter game now, and almost every weapon used in WWII at your fingertips.

But at the same time as COD2 was released, came Call of Duty 2: BigRed One, which sold out in store nationwide the first day of it's release. But is less than a week, the BigRed One came under fire, with many complaining of it's lack of graphics and storyline, as well of the many times that the word "MEDIC" is yelled. BigRed One seriously disappointed many gamers, and damaged the reputation of the Call of Duty franchise, which was saved by Call of Duty 2, but serious damage was done.

Then came Call of Duty 3, on the XBox 360, which left every WWII game before it in the tracks of it highly detailed and realistic tanks. COD3 offered all the goods of COD2 and left little to complain about. But then the XBox's COD3, which is basically the 360 version's dumb cousin.

If your looking for a good, challenging yet highly detailed game, SAVE UP FOR A 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, short playtime

posted by 1Shooter1 (DELAND, FL) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I enjoyed this game as i thought i would.......the first evening i got the game i was very pleased, not only graphically pleased but game play proved to be unique and non-loathsome. Initially i thought i would dislike using the d-pad to throw smoke and frag grenades, but as soon as i got into combat i realized i was helpful and easy to get used to. My only dislike and problem with the game was how short it was to complete. I wasn't expecting prince of persia warrior within long but it definantly could have been a few More levels for the intense shooter it was, and also the gameplay ALMOST got repetitive a few times but quickly saved itself from boredom with a level completion or a difference in scenery. Good weapons, especially the sniper rifles. The springfield was superior, especially with the scope. BLAM!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse