Rent Call of Duty 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.0

2824 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Once again, CoD brings the atmosphere.

posted by Squishy503 (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

At first, I was pretty angry when I found out that I was not going to be able to play CoD3 on my PC. I'm a Keyboard & Mouse First Person Shooter by far. I had to get the game though, and it was a perfect choice for PS3 given that nearly all of the other launch titles were horrible.

I don't regret it at all. Playing this series is an experience, for those of us too young to have fought in the war. And it's an experience I would recommend to everyone.

The graphics are so stunning, you really feel immersed in the game. The audio as usual can give you nightmares of bullets whizzing by your ears.

'nuff said - GET IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!!!

posted by scj2005 (IUKA, MS) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This Call of Duty is the best yet. The graphics on the PS3 make it even better. I actually thought I was fighting the war when I played the game. The guns in the game are great. Everything about this game is awesome. The best part is I am far from beating the game and still have lots of game hours left to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Call Of Duty presents an excellent "Theater."

posted by MooseQuest (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Whether you are new to the Call of Duty series, or coming back, you will be impressed with the game play and graphics of this WWII first person shooter. Equipped with storyline and multiplayer modes, you battle your way through intense stand offs between the Allies and the Axis powers.

This version, very similar to the Xbox 360 version gives you slightly more game play, but still delivers comparable graphics. The first thing you will notice about Call of Duty 3 is the game play scenarios presented to you. You are part of a squad, in which you are instructed to do certain tasks. Most of them combat related, but the game seems to revolve around your actions, rather than your AI comrades.

If you are into WWII games, and loves first person shooters, the online play, story and over presentation will be a sure win.

I recommend this for rental.

-Moose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is a great game. ..

posted by alexmcg (VANCEBURG, KY) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was the game i picked up at launch and all I can say is that I am very satisfied with it. Within the first couple of minutes I was amazed. The biggest thing for me was the ability to melee with the motion sensing sixaxis (!). Even from the first level the visuals are astounding. The minute you get boosted over the wall in the first chapter you feel like you are there. I haven't got to test the online play yet (stupid, stupid laggy sattelite internet) but if you like the online in call of duty 2 you will probably enjoy this as well. My only complaint is that I wish you could skip cutscenes you've already watched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than resistance

posted by LordMerlin (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I first rented this game from Gamefly for my 360. Once I got my PS3 I bought it for my PS3 and sent the 360 version back. This is a great game. The one player mode is extremely fun and pretty long. The graphics are above average and good sounds. True to the Call Of Duty franchise you live the life of several different soldiers throughout the push to defeat the germans.

The on line mode is great except for a few flaws. It fits my style of playing as a run and gun type of game but also fits other styles. A major flaw in my opinion is a lack of ranking. You get promoted by doing various things but it doesn't stay with you once the match is over. I think this is something they will add soon. And the other major flaw is not enough people are playing it. Their is usually only 1 or 2 games full of 24 players and the others have various amounts usually below 15. Overall I feel it's the best game out for PS3 right now. Defiantly worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like the idea but.....

posted by irish93 (SAUGUS, MA) Jan 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played call of duty 3 for the 360 when it came out and when i got a PS3 i heard that it used the sixaxis to hit enemies. Well it was fun to hit them like playing the Wii but the problem is that when you.....attempt to hit something
you loose your thumb position on the controller and probaly miss leaving you WIDE open for a KAR98 butt in your face leaving you pised off that you were sooo excited to kick some germen butt. All in all COD you did it again but please next time keep the SixAxis out of it. K?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Soldiers Delight

posted by steele24 (PALOS PARK, IL) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was pretty good. The graphics were good and they didnt make this game impossible. Everything about it is pretty cool. They use realistic guns and you can not advance to far ahead of your platoon without getting killed. Definitly worth a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Masterpiece Duty Given Flaws

posted by Se7eN7 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although the Call of Duty series often gets more exposure for it's multiplayer, it really puts the single player experience to shame; certainly an experience! As a veteran of the last 2 tours of duty, I can honestly say the game does them justice.

To be specific: The series does an excellent job of pushing you beyond the typical shooter experience into the time/setting/emotion (LOVE DEM "DEATH SCREEN WAR QUOTES" BTW)! & characters (whom play a much more significant role in this version and is well executed). The missions are packed in variety and will ask a lot of you...

Sometimes too much: If you're not feeling the ~(above) or into shooters - the daunting amount of enemies and challenge will not feel accommodating to most gamers. Fortunately, you just deal with it 'cus thats just war baby! That said: More testing was certainly necessary, as I've encountered various problems..

My first concern especially for the less hardcore is the constant threat of "Respawning" Nazis. Worry not, to the contrary this doesn't always happen, yet the mere threat or knowledge of it even being a threat really pulls you out of the realism into unrealistic actions. Given, it is often the fault of the player not advancing, objective ect - yet, an enemy is an enemy - until you learn its a respawning enemy! (not worth the bullet in his head)

Speaking of wasting ammo: I ran into multiple invinceable nazis and other problems that seem to be caused by not doing exactly as expected or those objectives like a good boy.
Finally, the graphics are so amazing there are some FPS issues, but to the PS3's credit they are certainly the code and only happen when they really shouldn't.
Don't let my notes scare you away from this helluva rental: I beat it in 2 days yet the hard difficulty and multiplayer are making this a keeper! Unfortunately the game is perspectively doomed to focus on some far lesser known battles than others in the genre, yet intriguing.

Publicly 9++Recommended yet personally {8+}

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its Alright

posted by Yoshimatsu (LINDEN, NJ) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good the only thing thats messed up is in the single player I get stuck in the wall sometimes and had to start from the last check point. And I didn't like that when you load the game up again to continue playing you had to watch the Non high definition video again before you can play.
Other than those problems the game was alright and multiplayer was was better.
I think COD2 was better though they downgraded on this one I think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome

posted by ren1151 (amarillo, TX) Dec 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was the best war game i have ever experienced i had so much fun playing this game exspecally with the combat where you use the controller to fight i thought this was a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

COD3 a solid play!

posted by Acoustek (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For the single player experience you get a solid/fun and very interactive campaign. But where this title shined for me is the Multiplayer, playing maps with 31 other people ( I dont know what the other reviewer was saying about only playing 8 on 8) brings alot of fun and intensity. The high level of realism when you shoot and kill someone (physics of body falling in different directions) just brings a smirk to your face. The different loadouts you can have bring alot of diversity to the maps aswell as tanks (nothing like climbing on a tank dropping a grenade into the drivers hatch and jumping off before it explodes) The maps are very well made and range from tight semi destroyed cities to open forests with tiny village's in the middle.

A great fun ride and I played the multiplayer more than I played Resistance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing New About This One

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Just an okay game. Doesnt seem too different than previous versions. Yeah, the graphics look great with the PS3, but thats it. I completed it in 2 days, good thing I rented it.

The on-line portion is ok. Great graphics again, but thats it.

One thing I really did not like was the boundaries of the game. If you wanted to flank the germans, sometimes you went out of boundaries and died. There was no notice, just dead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT NEXT GEN

posted by kudos9 (HEMET, CA) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am a FPS games fanatic but for some reason i've never been a fan of this franchise or any other WWII/ real historical war games. but i still try them every time a new one comes out. i guess you could say that i prefer shooting zombies or aliens or any shooter games that has a sci fi or scary theme. you might say that my opinion would be biased now that i've said all of this. but my opinion is not going to be about the story or gameplay. its about this game crossing the next gen console particularly the ps3. im not going to sugar coat it so ill just say it. it looks very PS2-ish! the graphics are so last gen! the only next gen that it has is the tilt control when bashing enemies that are close. besides that, its not at all different from the previous ones that has been released on PS2. but for those who has followed this series, its a must to have this game. just dont expect to see something spectacular graphicwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good PS3 Shooter

posted by TheKMan (GLEN ELLEN, CA) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the first Call of Duty game that I have actually played start to finish and I guess it was pretty good. I really enjoyed the gameplay with the different weapons, jeep driving and best of all, tank driving. I played it on normal and it wasn't too hard, there were some places I had trouble on but no more than a couple of tries to get it done. However, I did not like the use of the six-axis controller at all. When you plant charges or bombs, you have to turn the controller in a upside down motion and even by the end of the game I hadn't completely figured it out. Also the storylines were pretty bad. You hop from US to British to Polish and none of them were entertaining and you couldn't skip the movie. Finally, the online gameplay really sucks. You die almost instantly and there is almost no one playing it so don't even bother playing online. But that doesn't really matter because the graphics are pretty great and the almost non-stop shooting makes for a good time. So, rent it, do not buy it, and enjoy a day or so of fighting the Germans from various points of view.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shoot , Communicate, Move on out!!!

posted by nodoubt197 (RICHMOND, MO) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has awesome detail you won't believe your eyes. I'm an army vet and I loved all the hiding places where you could snipe the enemy from. This game is ferocious because it hits every point in war. This is the best. You will have fear in some points but once you think your strategy through you will be OK. Great game I salute the creators of this beast!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could've been better..

posted by PanzerAce (Brooklyn, NY) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The Graphics are awesome; Gameplay is average, it's the typical run and gun; Storyline is average - nothing big about it.. even though you fight for different countries, it's not that big of a deal, it's all the same thing with a different plot. The AI is average, could be very cheap in some scenarios, but overall this game is average and frankly, you'll get bored of the campaign sooner or later. The feel of the guns are okay but it's not the best shooter either. Im a huge fan of WW2 games/movies and this one is just about average... not too bad and not too good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game holds your hand through every level

posted by Snooped (Glenview, IL) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Read the title of this review!

Go here shoot those guys....

Come do this....

Over Here now...

this game is BAD... the graphics are good but if I just wanted to look at something that looked real I would watch Full Metal Jacket on DVD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sloppiest Port I've Ever Played

posted by LynxFX (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The first Call of Duty was great. The second, was ok with some good moments, the third is phoning it in and with the PS3 version, they are using two tin cans and a string. I can't believe they allowed this game, which is so full of bugs it can become unplayable, to pass through and end up on retail shelves.

There are so many things wrong with this game that I don't even know where to start. I'll just list some of the major annoyances.

First, the cut scenes, which you can't skip can go on for 5 minutes. Ok, so you sit through those once. However, say you save the game and quit even after getting quite a few checkpoints into that current level. Once you load that game, you have to sit through the same old cutscene once again. You can't skip it, and most of the time you are well beyond the area that the cut scene is even referencing.

Getting stuck. I've been stuck not once, not twice, but literally half a dozen times. I've been stuck behind rocks, stuck at a fence, stuck at a crate, stuck on top of a crate, stuck by a vehicle, and stuck at a bridge while in the jeep. On most of the occasions I had to restart, I couldn't get myself free. That is inexcusable for a game of this calibur.

Glitches and bugs. I don't know how many times I've seen other characters appear and disappear, speed up, slide across the screen and mostly just get in your way.

The sound. It would be nice if the surround sound actually came out of the speakers it is supposed to. This is even during cut scenes where they have complete control on where the character is looking and they can't get it right. Again, poor programing.

The graphics, glitches, poor animation, and nothing new that I haven't seen on the original Xbox or the PC. Guess that is why they only took less than a year to make #3.

The game itself is very typical of WWII games. No new territory here, so if you have played the originals or any others such as MoH, save youself the time, pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good accion game

posted by Parcerito (MIAMI, FL) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game really involves you into it.. get some HD cables and turn the volume up and I assure you you'll be on the edge or your sofa. one thing I didn't like is the repetitive problems to get a hold of a multiplayer online game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fall of Duty lol

posted by topgamenyc (FOREST HILLS, NY) Jan 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Ok Well I rented this game because I heard a lot of hype and you know what that all it is hype!
The game looks great but its really not Flashy very bland to me game controls are clunky.
The game to me is boring to me.
I played for and hour after getting it in the mail but that's all.
The on line gaming stunk it was wak.
resistance Fall of man is so much more fun to play and is more suspenseful and the online gaming is reliable. There is always a match available and its fun and fast paced and brightly lit with beautiful backgrounds. Fall of duty is bland and generic to me. Skip this one and go to Resistance or try both and you will write a post like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAME RULES

posted by 25sucks (NORTH BABYLON, NY) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

ONLY THING I DONT LIKE IS THAT THE ONLINE ONLY 8V8 THAT PISSES ME OFF CUZ 360 HAS 12V12 BUT IM WILLIN TO TAKE THAT BUT THIS GAME RULES!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

so many glitches (single player)

posted by iplaythru (OCALA, FL) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

On the single player mode, I had to restart the same mission 4 times because I would get stuck on NOTHING, I would fall through the map, or I couldn't get my player to respond to movement (I could shoot but that was it). I tried to just suffer through it and make it to the end but when I got the mission where you first had to use the mortar, I couldn't get the thing to turn left... it'd go right but that was it, so I restarted the mission and made it all the way back to the mortar but it still kept turning me right -_- I just couldn't do anymore of this...that's as far as I went, maybe its better after that, but I doubt it. I got shot through walls by ai, more than once, which is just great. Oh and soo many frame rate issues on PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Call of Duty's Black Sheep

posted by RossWyatt (NORTH WILKESBORO, NC) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is considered by me and many others to be a complete mess and is pretty obscured by most people. What makes it so different from the other Call of Duty games is that it was developed by none other than Treyarch instead of Infinity Ward like the first Call of Duty games.

Another thing is that this was the first Call of Duty from the main series to not be on the PC. There were many bugs and glitches in the game as well, where you could be hiding behind cover and still take a load of damage or your team mates could push you out of cover, leaving you wide open (which could seriously $%#& you off if you were going for a play-through on Veteran difficulty).

The controls also seem awkward compared to the past and future games. You have a grenade cook timer around your grenade in this game which isn't in any of the others, and if I can remember correctly, picking up a thrown enemy grenade was also awkward.

One last issue with the campaign are the awful checkpoints that it gives you. You could do so much work at one point, suddenly die from whatever it was that killed you (most likely a glitch causing you to get caught in the enemy fire) and be sent back and lose 30 minutes of your hard work picking off enemies and trying to stay alive.

However, the story mode was pretty compelling and nice, and had some great character development, which I think is a plus. The game did that part better than it's predecessors.

I'd recommend this game only if you're into Call of Duty and would want to try a gem in the series, otherwise it wouldn't hurt to pass this one by as it's considered to be a load of $%#&.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Probably more fun in 2006

posted by UltraMedic (FRESNO, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Just wrapped up my first single player experience with a CoD game and it was... well interesting. My first impressions were pleasantly intense as you are thrown straight into combat with a squad of trained soldiers and little tutorial is required. I love that the game is based on historical events, and honest to god I've never gone to war but I imagine this would be a very close comparison.

Graphics: For it's time I imagine this was an excellent title for the PS3... obviously it does show it's age as I am playing it 5 years later but it does hold up well. Minor screen tearing and shakiness can be slightly annoying at times but nothing too distracting.

Gameplay: Easy to learn, and surprisingly easy to master... I was sniping heads all over the battlefield in no time with little difficulty. The targeting gives some assist which without it I'd probably have given up long ago. My only problems in this department is the AI is very poor. The enemies will stand around long enough for you to run up to them and just bludgeon them to death in most cases... even in major conflicts I can just run all over the battlefield like an idiot without dying. The allied AI is equally as bad... for the most part they do create extra targets to allow you a little time to run from point A to point B but when your set up somewhere and trying to retaliate, they often get in your way unexpected. Unfortunately the game makes the mistake of allowing friendly fire which will end your game abruptly. This is very irritating.

Sound: Awesome, sounds like fireworks everywhere. The guns could use a bit more polish... but I imagine with surround sound this would be an extremely intense experience.

Replay: As all CoD duty games the real fun lies in multiplayer... I'm personally not into it because I'm not very good so I never got around to checking it out.

Load times: Quick.

Overall, not a bad experience. Rent... but save your money for MW3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Call of Duty that differs from the later ones

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Concept: Take the roles of four soldiers in the American, British, Canadian, and Polish armies, and fight in over ten missions to push the German forces out of France.

Graphics: Definetly outdated now, especially compared to later games in the series, but the graphics aren't bad, although the build and body shape of the soldiers looks a little funny to me for some reason.

Sound: The music in itself is no way memorable, but when the music is used in the correct timing, people will remember the heoric mood it helps give off. Voice overs are done well enough, but there's nothing special to report on besides PVt. Huxley's western hick voice.

Playabillity: The 1st person shooting action is definetly solid but it does feel a little shaky compared to other shooters. The one shot guns are definetly the most deadly but while some machine guns are deadly and fun to have in your grasp, a good chunk of them are very hard to aim with, and lock on doesn't help (especially with the Thompson). Throwing a grenade back is a lot easier, even than the later games. Plus, the tanks are fairly easy to control making them a fun level. Plus, theres a lot of button sequences, included in planting a bomb, going hand to hand combat with a german soldier out of bullets, and a few other random things. I would recommend disabling the tilt for the controller though, as it's practically useless.

Entertainment: Playing as four different characters keeps the story interesting, and the gunplay is not just fun, but addicting. I could imagine playing this whole thing through and through without stopping.
I would recommend this game to any Call of Duty and 1st person shooter fans. COD 3 is a good addition to it's series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse