Rent Call of Duty 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Call of Duty 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Xbox 360, Wii, PS3
GF Rating
7.9

1887 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Call of Duty 3

posted by Snowcrash (MARION, VA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In terms of graphics, sound, historical accuracy, this game could be the best in a line of great WWII shooters. The firefights are large in scale and more intense than ever, giving you some great pulse pounding moments where you have to grit your teeth sprint into the fray and hope for the best.

The controls could be tighter, sometimes resulting in difficult moments. Sometimes the AI either did a good job of not seeing you in the thick of battle, or did a bad job of target recognition. Your character can also be shot through some barriers.

For fans of the series or WWII buffs, this game is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tHIS GAME IS GOOD

posted by darkSEKTOR (LONG BEACH, CA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

WELL CALL OF DUTY 3 HAS CHANGED WAR GAMES AS WE KNOW OF IT...BEING ABLE TO SET BOMBS INSTEAD OF JUST PLACING IT U HAVE TO PUT CERTAIN BUTTONS FOR U TO ACTIVATE THE BOMB.....THE OTHER WAS HAVING TO FIGHT SOME GERMAN WHEN THEY ATTACKED YOU IN A MELEE YJAY WAS GOOD OEVERALL IT WAS GOOD AND HEY IT MAKES WE WANT 2 PASS IT AGIN FOR THE 7TH TIME...LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Success For Call Of Duty

posted by sora199362 (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Nov 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

32 out of 37 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

You first start out in a camp somewhere in france and it shows you the basic's. The Graphics are almost as good as the next gen ones (so there really good). The story is very engaging and cool. The controls are very easy to learn and this game does give you a challenge (I already beat it and it gets tougher as it goes. It has a medium length story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Look no further

posted by DeadChaos (CHEWELAH, WA) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your searching for renting a good war game for the ps2 then grab this one, short but worth it definetly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD.

posted by KingBooker (HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great graphics, fun missions but overall the game is pretty short. And I hate how once you finish the story mode.. That's it. I suggest for serious gamers put it on Hard difficulty as easy and normal will make the game much easier to breeze through. On hard, it may double the game time, if that's what you are looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 3

posted by volunteer (GERMANTON, NC) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game rules!! the story line is great,the weapons are good and the graphics are very good especially between levels.
The only bad things about this game is that the germans are way to accurate.I was behind a little stone with about two inches of my body uncovered and they still hit me about a billion times.another thing is that the germans are to smart and they throw about a hundred grenades at you.
the good things are the new lock up matches they are pretty easy but are fun anyway.they also have a new thing where you can take out traps or plant bombs on your objectives.the wierd no life system which is the only time when you can die is if you are hit about 20 times in a row you have to take cover and not get hit anymore.if you get hit you die.if youdon't get hit and the red goes bown you live to fight another day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bad rain fall but give it a chance

posted by bonceboy (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Games good but when rain falls in some levels you can't see anything but the story lines great and well worth playing I think if you get a chance you'll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best war games so far

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Nov 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I can barley rememeber all the other call of duty games at all, because i dident think they were any good, they were dull.

Well, leaving that out, i think this is one of the best war games i ever played, so far. Leaving out all the other call of duty games, i think this is one of the best so far, on its own. The graphics are great, very real, especially the cinematic cutscenes. And i think the voice acting is very good too, and the sound is great also. All through the game, you are involved in war battles pretty much, there is nothing really like you are one man, and just taking on an entire army of nazis. And this game has great war battles, with all the explosions going everywhere, there are great explosions, and all the debris and stuff exploding. And the grenades can really get the job done.

The guns in the game are great, they really take care of your enemies well. I like how bloody the game is, its pretty bloody for a teen game, but its not gory. I like how your ememies get tossed around like rag dolls, and flop all over the place. I like how there are little scenes where you can fight by tapping buttons, and sometimes your enemy will have a different death for each on you fight. I like how you can call in airstrikes to have bombs from airplanes wipe out tanks and certain machine gunners. And i like all the explosive barrels you can shoot. The game is very interactive, with all the gameplay videos, and your character gets the wind knocked out of him all the time. I like how there are no life packs, and you can just rest up until your life goes up. The only thing i dont like, is the frame rate kind of, and how your enemies can disappear out of now where at times, at anytime. I also love your squad, seeing you and your squad running everywhere, and moving around is great, and seeing them fighting and shooting.

Everyone would like this game, lots of action and excitment, and great war battles. Great on its own. Also some bonus material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Killer War FPS

posted by CmndrPants (IRVINE, CA) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

- Loved the stories
- Great music score
- Nice WWII Guns
- Good physics

Could use...
- more team action (not so much like SOCOM, but a lite version) options in Single Player mode.

Wishing...
- ...I had a network adapter to play it online!
- ...I'd played it in HARD mode, Normal was kind'f easy.
- ...the game was loooonger. Maybe throw in a few russian fights for Stalingrad and the likes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow!!

posted by beefjahook (SUFFERN, NY) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good. i recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EXCELLENT GAME

posted by deomiami (MIAMI, FL) Feb 3, 2007

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very nice war game. After I got it I couldn't put the game down. Very intense action, nice graphics, awesome game play.

Weakness:
Shooting around corners, jumping obstacles, and objects interaction were a little poor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Gdogman (BELLEVUE, WA) Dec 30, 2006

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was great It had great graphics and it really made me fell that I was really in world war two. I recommend renting this game and never returning it. This is the best call of duty game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The greatest Call of Duty game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by videocrazy (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 29, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

On a thrilling game you start of as a rookie and end as a Officer with five stars .The controls are very easy. It gets harder as you go but I think you can handle it. I had a party and we had a line all the way from down stairs to the game room just to play it people even waited 1hour and 59minutes just to play it if you like shooting, action, blood and super cool games I highly recommend Call of Duty 3.All you need to do is press a button and you will have it mailed to you. If you like what I said press the button that says this helped me chose if I wanted it or not. Have a great day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very good BUT!

posted by bull70 (PORTLAND, TX) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was very good but! I had some problems
with it, such as when your driving the jeep
on the roads with all the trees and its
kind of dark, you really cant see where
you are going, and the map isnt really that
helpfull, the only way I could find my way
is the codriver kept saying turn around
or wrong way! but other than that it was one
of the best games I've played!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Freshness is appreciated.

posted by JohnnyBoy (RENO, NV) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the WWII genre there is a certain amount of staleness. It has become the butt of many jokes of game review programs and articles. Some cases, deservedly so. But, with COD3, a lot of previous problems have been eliminated. No more squad mates sticking their kiesters in your face just as you about to shoot. Plus, even though it can be frustrating, the enemy A.I. has been increased. Making you think your way through missions, rather than "Rambo-ing" it. Additional features, such as the ability to toss a grenade back at its thrower, and the gut-wrenching hand to hand with a German soldier up the playability. With stunning graphics, environments, weather, etc. This has got to be the best WWII FPS out there right now. Can't wait to see what Activision puts out next in this series. A definite "10."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but short

posted by Victoria (MARRERO, LA) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was great! I loved how it kept you on the edge of your seat the whole time! It keeps blood moving and your eyes on the screen at all time! Its hard to put down the control. But the down side. Its very short! It didn't take long to beat it at all. With breaks maybe a week at the MOST with out. You could beat it in 5 hours. Still worth renting and owning though! Lots of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as Call of duy 2 :'[

posted by gameralert (BATON ROUGE, LA) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

yea so its not as fun as call o duty 2.

at first u think its boring then its ok and then its good.

the thing i hate about it is when you get shot u cant c a thing because the screen turns all blury.

anothe rthing is that u dont have health.
anytime u get shot alot at one time the screen will say get somewhere safe, if u get somewhere safe u wait until ur health comes up, but if u keep getting shot youll die

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Come on!!! Still no states for online!

posted by riztik (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The first person was a little shaky but the story line ran at a good pace, nothing new for the PS2. Some next-gene stuff was added to the mix like no mission brief, flowing movement, and face mapping was a big diff. One of the down falls was win I went online, the skein lagged and no save-able states. That's if you don't die win your spuwn is right next to the anther team. Loved the up-dated controller, way brake something that works! You will find tons of bonuses stuff, that you could have got in high school text books. These is a must rent, but like NBA Live, gets stop there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Booooorrrrring

posted by Greg1980 (CANDLER, NC) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game was boring. That pretty much sums up my view of the game. Maybe it has to do with the whole new way of taking damage. It just seemed that at the end of the mission, my guy should have had more holes in him than swiss cheese. The level design was ok, but the artificial intelligence was sub par. Also, the setups for the cut scene were very annoying and poorly done. The extras were not even worth looking at, I mean who cares about the bios of the characters in the game, and how many times can we be given an extremely brief synopsis of what an M1 is. If you don't know what it is, then go rent COD 1 or better yet, go pick up a history book. All in all, this was a very disappointing FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i hated it

posted by dan4071 (CHARLESTON, WV) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

i loved the other ps2 COD games and the PC ones as well. but this one, just sucks. it feels like it was hastly put together. the graphics during cut scenes are good. but other that there awful. i was laying prone in a field. and there was a layer of transparent dirt! there was the solid texture and above it. was transparent. the guns look awful. i picked up a MP40 off a dead german and it looked like it was ready to be put on display in a museum, all shiny and what not. ya it looked good. but not realistic. i might pick this game up for PC when the price gets down to $30, maybe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best call of duty game after MW3

posted by XboxLPB224 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Game

posted by packman70 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game has great gameplay but the graphics are not so good. If you want good graphics and you have a PS3, get that version because the graphics are much better. The plot of this game is a pretty good plot althogh having to frequently change characters it can be confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but...

posted by snow (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

A fun WWll game but since the newer CODs came out, it stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i......

posted by gameman247 (EL CAMPO, TX) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i am at a loss for words................... it was.......AWESOME so great i couldnt beat the third leavel tough lol i love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst 1st person shoter ever

posted by gethen1 (Hudson, NY) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

The game seems very historical and it is but it is annoying to play. The cross-hair just suck and if you get hit your screen goes up and down, up and down. So if your not looking for somthing historical its not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse