Rent Call of Duty 3 for Wii
view large frontback

Call of Duty 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

2477 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game for Wii

posted by zapb42 (CROWNSVILLE, MD) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

41 out of 43 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

If you liked COD2 (I did, but I played it on PC), then you'll probably like this game. It is basically more of the same kind of combat in a different setting, and the Wii version obviously has the new controls.

The controls work really great once you get used to them, and I have no gripes with the setup. There are a lot of in-game actions you come across that make you do certain movements with the controllers, and I think they overused them a little, but they are interesting and don't break up the gameplay.

This is the introduction to an FPS on Wii that Red Steel should have been. I'm not sure what is different about the controls but they seem to be much easier to handle.

The graphics are nothing terribly spectacular obviously, but are very good. Head to head with Red Steel this game looks far better. The models are better, and the lighting effects are good.

Overall this is one of the best Wii games out right now, give it a try, especially if you like shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A controller showcase that's otherwise a rush-job

posted by MrCHUPON (New York, NY) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty 3 itself doesn't change much for World War II shooters. The difference with the Wii port is obviously the new controller. While it manages to deliver compelling shooting action once you learn the ropes, missteps elsewhere bring down its value and the overall experience.

Picking up the Wii remote as if aiming a gun seems intuitive in theory, but in practice it takes a little getting used to. Due to the way the Wii works, this will be true for all first-person shooters on this console as the sensation resembles that of using a laser pointer more than it does actually pointing something at the screen.

In the default - and recommended - aiming mode, you freely move your aiming reticule about the screen. Nudging it against the sides, top and bottom of the screen to changes your character's viewpoint as seen in Red Steel. With the sensitivity all the way up, you can achieve near mouse-like precision, so after learning the controls you'll find yourself with an immensely satisfying experience.

However, other gameplay elements that use the motion controls don't fare nearly as well. Driving proves way too sensitive, while planting an explosive charge is not sensitive enough to detect your motions. Wrestling your gun away from an enemy is a tiring, trial-and-error affair (hint: keep the analog stick and Wii-mote buttons facing your chest). Furthermore, it's a scripted event - you can't pick and choose when you want to try and disarm an adversary (a problem in all versions of CoD3).

The sound and music are fantastic, but the visuals suffer. It does run at 480P, 16:9 widescreen, mostly at 30 frames per second. However even the Gamecube, Xbox and PS2 are capable of better image quality than what's seen in the Wii version with its clipping, glitches and all-around murky textures. There's no multiplayer either, and it all points to a very rushed effort. Play Call of Duty 3 to see how well first-person shooting can be done on Wii, but don't expect any lasting value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sweet

posted by wayway (WARREN, OH) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

pros:
best fps controls for the wii
non repetitive gameplay
non stop action
various ways to combat, not just shoot
driving is better then need for speed carbon
utilizes the wiimote alot more then other fps on the wii. you move your arms like crazy!

cons:
graphics are pretty weak, better then farcry though
the cinematic melee is kind of hard to grasp at first
driving is nice but you cant oversteer or you'll screw up
no multiplayer or online

overall:
best fps for the wii, period. only worth renting though, not much to do after you are done with the game besdies play it over again with increased difficulty. just my opinion though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Call OF Duty 3 is a Great Shooter With Some Flaws.

posted by PenguinBoy1111 (STILWELL, KS) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Call of duty 3 first put me off when it got some poor reviews, but it turned out to be a very realistic experience indeed.

Good- .Excelent graphics
.Realistic weapons
. Realitively long Campaign (14 levels)
. good story
(you can also be French, canadian, and Russian, aswell as Americans).
. You will have to complete objectives that involve using your motion- sensing controler.

Bad - Little to no Wii Zapper capabilities. (You can try, but later in the game you will have to be tearing out your nunchuk to do various objectives.

.Some too- short levels.
. Not the most accurate guns (mostly accurate except the German Scoped Gewehr.

Top 5 Fun Things to do

1. Smacking Germans off of things and watching them fall.
2.Shoot explosive barrels
3. Letting your team do all the dirty work
4.Driving vehicles (Tanks, and Jeeps)
5.Throwing grenades back before they blow up.

Conclusion:
COD 3 is a great shooter game for those of you who arent old enough for the REAL COD. It takes realism away with no Wii Zapper.
The long levels will keep you playing for a while. The vehicles are really epic.

Hardly a spoiler (the vehicle on FUEL PLANT level is EPIC!!!) I killed myself just so I could repeat the level.

Rating- 7.4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Shooter Made Better

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Since Call of Duty is Activision's answer to EA's Medal of Honor, you can almost interchange them (aside from jumping from army to army as COD does). That being said, this is a pretty good shooter with little to few surprises. Yes, you shoot Nazis. Yes, the weapons are authentic (no WWII is complete without the M1 Garand). What sets this version apart is the promising control scheme, unique (of course) to the Wii.
Something I'm sure we'll see a lot of different versions of, is that the nunchuck is the body and the remote is the head. Tweaking these for sensitivity and functionality is where the challenge is. With COD, this is done fairly well. Aiming very accurate, allowing nice headshots (you view down the reticule by pressing "A"). At first, you may have a tendency to stop and aim. You will learn that you will be killed very quickly if you continue this. Being an urgent game, allot of your shooting will be cover fire, and sprays rather than the aforementioned headshots. But, that's how immersive it is and I think it works. However, throwing grenades with the nunchuck was sometimes unresponsive or the grenade ended-up at my feet (bad). Also, the melee attack seems less responsive than it should.
The graphics are quite nice, even on a standard setup. I was very pleasantly surprised!
If you have ProLogic sound, crank it up to get the "Saving Private Ryan" effect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No multiplayer, no buy!

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now im a huge fan of the COD series, all from the Xbox. This is my first FPS on the Wii, it can only get better from here though.

While the story and mission are just as compelling as always, the controls and graphics are just stumbling along. While I can handle the graphics downgrade, I cant stand sometimes unresponsive controls.

Treyarch has introduced the quick actions into the series this year, they dont work well, if at all on the Wii. they work fine on other systems, but the Wii sometimes has a problem reading what it is your trying to do. If you get into a hand to hand combat situation where you and an enemy soldier are struggling with one another, the screen prompts you to do a thrusting motion with the controllers, it seems to rarely work. It can cripple a mission.

My biggest problem though is the ommision of multiplayer online. In this day and age of gaming online multiplayer is essential to the life of a game, here, there is none. After a few missions, for me the game was over.

I suggest a Game fly rental of this title first. We will have to wait for a quality FPS on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wanted to like it

posted by dumptrucks (BURBANK, CA) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, it's not a terrible experience. Rent it, don't buy. Second, the controls are okay but take a lot of getting used to. I don't think we've seen the definative first person control scheme yet for the Wii, but this set-up is playable. My gripe with the game doesn't rest entirely on the Wii specifics. I really wanted to like the game but it just wasn't as solid as Call of Duty: 'BigRedOne' (same developer) They could have spent a little more time on the graphics but just did a straight port and it really shows. The game is hideous looking. That and having enemies that keep popping back up after being downed really soured me to the game. To be fair, that's the case with most COD titles, I just think this time it was the straw that broke the camel's back. I hope Medal of Honor: Vanguard play better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

complicated?

posted by nickymac22 (GRANITE BAY, CA) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game had a good storyboard but the controls were to difficult. I liked the graphics but i think it is way to complicated to play. the hard is reaching all over the controller to press a button. like if you have to reach for the 1 or 2, u have to slide your hand down. And when u slide your hand down it moves your guy to a different position that you were in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow-Wii-

posted by joser916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

what keeps this game from scoring a perfect 10 is no online play! but still love it.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game except...

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well the game play is smooth and the mini games in this are fun like throwing A germ out the window... but when I CHUCK THE FRAG IT'S NOT AS RESPONSIVE ALSO YOU PUT A CHARGE ON TANKS AND SUCH IT DOS'NT RESPOND AS QUICK OVER ALL IT'S A GOOD 1ST PERSON SHOOTER

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rocks !!! 10/10

posted by Juliotico (BERKELEY HEIGHTS, NJ) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

First of all, I would say that the graphics are way better than what I expected them to be. The controllers, both the regular and the nunchuk, work great. It might take you about a minute to get the hang of it, but besides that, they rock. This game has around 14 intense, well created, and worth playing chapters. I beat it, and I am glad that I bought it. This is the best Call of Duty game that has ever been released, a mush have!

Graphics = 10
Story = 10
Controller = 10
Overall = 10

This is a Must Have Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

First person shooter with wii mote is whack.

posted by President (WHITTIER, CA) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is not very fun. If youve ever played Call of Duty on other systems you will be unable to cope with the shoddy Wii-mote controls and diluted graphics. Although lag from throwing endless smoke grenades seems minimal. Boring, fidgity, unresponsive, poor quality. Rent Metroid 3 and have fun playing a shooting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What kind of FPS doesn't have a multiplayer?

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I won't say anything about getting yet another war game because this is our first glimpse of wii style FPS.

Gameplay: 8.0
Originality for a FPS: 1.0
Originality in use of Wii-Remote: 10.0
Replay Value/Amount of time gameplay remains fun: 3.0
Story: 3.0

Gameplay:
I'm not an FPS person, but the Wii Remote makes this a lot more fun. Fun enough, but I'm not sure that makes up for the game's obvious weaknesses

Originality:
Aside from the novelty of shooting arcade style with the Wii Remote this is your standard imaginationless war game.

Replay Value:
This wouldn't be so low if
A) The game was more then 5 or 6 hours long
B) There was a multiplayer.
I was shocked at the fact there was no multiplayer. I've never even seen another FPS without a multiplayer. For shame activision. For shame.

Story:
The story follows an American and a European alternatively. The stories were dull and the only reason this didn't get a 1 was because the American was named "Nickels"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by Zcritic (AUBURN, ME) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This could have been much better, but if all you have is a Wii, and you like this series you might enjoy it.. (very big might)

The good: Graphics were nice, but if graphics are all you care about then why not play it on another system. Mission objectives and layout are good.

The Bad: The controls. Simply put, if you are going to sell a game on the Wii platform you had darn well better do extensive research and testing with the control scheme. The aiming was sloppy. The movement was sloppy (especially the leaning around corners). Throwing grenades? /rant on: Why should this be a "button press" when you have motion sensitive controllers? Lets get with the program here! I want to swing my arm when I throw a grenade -/rant off. The Wii controllers are sensitive and have a wide range of motion. This game does not take advantage of either.

The Okay: You get to shoot things and dialog in the cut scenes is mildly amusing.

The Bottom Line: Unless you have to play this game for some reason then don't bother. Red Steel made better use of the controls than this did (to bad that game was even worse overall)

-Z (still waiting for a good shooter on the Wii)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BOMBS AWAY.... O NO ITS GARBAGE

posted by ETowner (EVANSTON, IL) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

wow don't waste your time I mean. i Rented this for te wii and i was hyped and was shot down with the wii mote. Go rent Ray Man Raving Rabbids its the next mario party the good ones. This game was not the greatest just a typical shoter. Red Steel used more of the wii mote use.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

call of duty 3

posted by acoolgamer (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

The controls are bad and the game has bad graphics.I got stuck on the third level just because the game was to dark.I put the brightness up to full and my tv's brightness up to full and it diden't help.The game is a mess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CALL DUTY 3

posted by BOBASAY13 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

IT WOULD NOT PLAY AT ALL. WE TRY TO CLEAN, WE TRY FOR OVER TWO HRS. SO NOW I AM SENDING IT BACK TO YOU..PLEASE DO NOT SEND ANOTHER ONE OUT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Call of Duty 3

posted by cindyvandusen (ERWIN, NC) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

My 12 year old son said "I did not like it that much." His words.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty fun

posted by 50BMG (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a really good cod game for the wii. It was my first so it will always hold a special place in my heart. I cant state this for a fact, but i think that it has the best graphics of any cod game on the wii. The only downside are the controls. If you're just starting with cod on the wii dont get this. The controls are not that good when compared to the other cod games. They're okay, other that the fact that all of the controls are different. That will mess you up if you start here. Also, it is completely missing the multiplayer, witch disappointed me. But dont let that prevent you from getting it. Rent it first and if you like it, i highly recommend buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

CALL OF DUTY 3

posted by bugleboy_1998 (CANYON LAKE, TX) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Good game, real entense at times. some controls difficult to get use to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game. excelent online multiplayer

posted by zepedrof (DURHAM, NC) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The single player campaign mode is great, I would score a 7 but will give this game an 8 for the online, multiplayer option that is still so much fun and adds so much value to the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazingly great WWII shooter!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I have come to expect alot from the Call Of Duty series, and this game meets my expectations and more. The graphics and story line are extrodinary great for a older COD game like this one.
I highly recomend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

stupid nazis

posted by juicypirate (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

you can kill nazis with guns or tanks or molders in world war two

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

YOU KNOW!!!!!

posted by wayne3 (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

It a cool game. But it needs header levels, and someone that's with you in the times when your in grate battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Bother.

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Simply put...Good Graphics (for Wii), horrible control scheme, boring story, horrific AI enemies, and a Bad camera.

If you play any Call Of Duty games make sure it's on a different system because this is nothing more than a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse