Rent Call of Duty 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Call of Duty 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.5

10446 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

360's Almost Killer App.

posted by macs133249 (TENAFLY, NJ) Jul 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

28 out of 31 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I'm going to be straightforward, if you like first-person shooters, go out and buy this game right now! You don't even have to finish reading my review, I'd rather you experience the same amount of intensity that I did. If you're still a little hesitant, stick around. If you don't like first-person shooters, this won't change your mind, and it's not the greatest to start with, either. If you want to find a perspective changing FPS, I recommend renting Half-Life 2 right now, then come back later.

For those of you who are still here, welcome to my review. I'll quickly give you an overlook at my ratings for the game.

Sound: 9.5
Graphics: 9
Gameplay: 10
Lasting Appeal: 9
Overall: 9.5, but they don't have that as a choice here, so it says 9, but it's really a 9.5.

Now that you have that, lets dive into it. First off, I want people to know that even though the online was said to be bad, they recently had an update free through Live, and the interface and options of the new online part is great. It is very fun and the new maps are really worth downloading, you will get a lot of mileage out of them.

So, the graphics in this game are incredible. A lot of things aren't destructible, and some textures are a bit bland, but the surroundings are extremely detailed, and the smoke is awesome. The sound is beautiful, and really helpful, this was the incentive for me to get surround sound.

But nothing will surpass the amazing gameplay. The single player campaign is flawless. Every battle is crazily intense. It really gives you that feeling of war. The AI is the most groundbreakingly human to date. You will play through a section for a second time(which you'll be doing a lot if you play on hard or veteran, which are super difficult) and it will seem totally new, because the AI is so eerily genius. The shooting makes up the majority of the game, which is so much fun. There are a lot of missions that mix things up, eg. calling air strikes, tanks, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Call of Duty ever made

posted by Ageman (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was done so well I love looking up on World War 2 and I read all of this stuff on World War 2 but never will see it for my self I like to play this when I'm in the mood for a good true story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, one of the best world war two games

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

COD2 is a great game. It's definitely worth a rent or buy, the single player is like any other shooter you have to do a role of tasks and doing so kill tons of enemies. Multiplayer and co-op are awesome its like all of the other cods, like death match and capture the flag are both great. Graphics are great for a launch title and controls are the same as black ops and modern warfare. For some weird reason i love the weapons and in COD2 machine guns have major kick back but rifle are great handling. My only concern is glitches like if you kill an enemy near to a corner they start spinning and junk. But overall a good game worth a try to break away from black ops. 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Call of Duty 2

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a truly awesome video game. I love the COD series and I think that this game is one of the many reasons why. You get to play as many different soldiers on three different campaigns. It includes the D Day battle and Crossing the Rhine. This game is pure magic compared to other FPS's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One of the best COD campaigns

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jan 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the grand daddy to call of duty. It was awesome back in the day and has an amazing single player campaign. World War 2 stuff doesn't get much better. I thought I was in a movie. This was ahead of its time.

Renting it now would make the game feel ancient. It's hard to believe how much the games have improved. Like most oldies, there is only 13 achievements, almost all requiring veteran difficulty. It's extremely difficult to get 1000, but if you have the patience it would be quite an accomplishment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Call of Duty 2

posted by TheGameGuy (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game and Ghost Recon are the best FPS on the 360 to date. Great controls, visuals, and game play. Call of Duty 2 sports great A.I. the enemy will try to flank you and throw grenades at you if you camp. The difficulty level seems just right and is extremely challenging on the harder difficulty settings. You will get around 10-15 of game play in the single player missions.

Good: Great visuals, Agro A.I., impressive quality sound.

Bad: Only 8 player multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really good FPS…

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

A really good FPS…

Call of Duty 2 is a very good game. It offers realistic shooting, great graphics, nice sound, and fitting controls.

The Good: I’ve been reading some reviews on here and I’ve been seeing that people are comparing this game to Halo 2….to clarify this, this game is NOT like Halo 2, or any Halo for that matter. It is, however a very good FPS.(I say it’s not like Halo because this game is much of a realistic shooter, and Halo is not). The graphics is very good, and the gameplay offers countless hours of playtime. The AI presents a good challenge, sometimes too good, and the game have a few surprise that keeps you entertained throughout. The online mode is almost perfect. The only problem is that you have to find a new room after every game.(which is not bad because you’ll be in a room and in a game in less than a few minutes).

The Bad: Online pay only supports up to eight players – that’s something that could have been improved. Why not 16?

In summary this game offers a really fun experience both online and off. This, along with GRAW, are must own titles for FPS fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than call of duty 3 by a mile

posted by gecko (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It was a very good shooter with a lot of action.

Graphics:9

Fun:10

explosions:8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

9.3

posted by BroKenX (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is truly one of the best games I've played. The realizm is spectacular, and the AI doesn't do the same repetative dance. What it lacks in multiplayer, it more than makes up for in campaign. With stunning graphics, surround sound capability, great AI, and wonderful interface, this game puts the most realistic shooters out there to shame. If you've got an HDTV and surround sound, you'll love this game. It includes all of the major battles of WWII, with great realism, and storyline that really puts you in the game. Veteran mode increases the realism by actually making you human; a bullet or two can put you down, and the AI has accuracy like the highly trained german troops they are. Superior tactics and grenade placements are neccisary to complete Veteran mode. - My only complaint is the multiplayer wich I never really got into, the maps were decent, but the sniper rifles were way too versatile to be fair. It doesn't take much to dominate the multiplayer with just a sniper rifle (one shot kill), even in close-range combat.

Gameplay - 9.3
Video - 9.5
Audio - 9.5
AI - 9.5
Gameplay - 9.5
Multiplayer - 7.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Amazing graphics, storyline, just epic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Now, its as good online as offline

posted by HUSCLES (CHICAGO, IL) May 3, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I remember popping in COD and saying, "man this is what games should look like." I then remember saying, "this is how games should play." I went online (after the patch) and realized this game is amazing. The game runs at a smooth 60 frames per second (on and offline) and it gives you an incredible first person shooter experience. If you haven't played COD, do it now. It is a must own game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Step up from previous CoD games!

posted by drpcken (Jackson, TN) Jun 2, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First of all, I've never completely finished a CoD game in the series. But from the moment I turned this on I was hooked and had to finish it. The momentum of the game play keeps you battling your way through the Germans until the end.

On the Normal difficulty, a seasoned gamer can finish the game within 2-3 days. But the veteran difficulty is a completely different story. I found myself sheltered behind the same sandbags for upwards of 30 minutes trying to find out where the enemy fire was coming from in order to continue on with the mission. This difficulty factor will ensure great replay ability and a longer game experience than most FPS's.

Graphics: 7
Sound: 8
Gameplay: 9
Overall: 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pros, Cons, and Ratings

posted by JJL360 (BILLERICA, MA) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game as most of you probably already know is a classic, hands down; but just like every game it has its pros and its cons. Here are what they are..

PROS:
1. Graphics are great
2. Gameplay is very fun
3. Unlike other games, it is sometimes an actual challenge

CONS:
1. Short campaign
2. Some objectives can be frustrating
3. Multiplayer (in my opinion) isn't that great unless you are on xbox live, then it's great!)

FINAL RATINGS (SCALE OF 1-10)
GRAPHICS - 8
GAMEPLAY - 9
CAMPAIGN - 7.5
MULTIPLAYER - 6
XBOX LIVE - 9
OVERALL - 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The biggest war of our time's biggest game

posted by that1guy (ROCK FALLS, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Oh no another WW2 shooter almost every person in the world says or thinks this when they see a new medal of honor or any other ww2 shooter clone but if you have to play one this is the one to play why? because it follows the same story system CoD1 had you play through the russian campaign then the British and last but not least the US campaign with the ever typical storming of Normandy beach yes this is probably those most unattractive part of this title is this level but thank god you spend little time on the actual beach and with intelligent enemy AI you actualy are challenged on evey difficulty but the problem with this game lies in the multiplayer some games you have the time of your life but other games you just have to quit and the main reason is the extremely horrible lag in almost evey game but that's if you even get in a game see sometimes it keeps kicking you off lobby search and it blows chunks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

As close to war as I want to get

posted by kramm4716 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 6, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

14 out of 28 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty 2 starts out really intense. There's no messing around - you think you're going to do a training mission when you're attacked and thrown into the mess that is WWII. Fire comes at you from all directions, your comrades fall all around you, tracer rounds whiz through the air. You get hit and your screen flashes red as your character stumbles and loses his aim. It's impressive.
However, the lack of a health system causes this excitement to wane quickly. If you take too much fire, your screen clouds and the game announces you're hurt and need cover. Get cover for a few moments, you're back to normal and in the fight. So, rather than play it safe and generally care about the life of my character, I found charging into a difficult section was the best tactic. This was fun for a while, but for this game, I expected more realism. The few times I did die the save point was so close it didn't matter.
Like the others COD's, this game recreates real WWII scenarios and locations. Weapons look authentic. The music is majestic, though on the default settings, it can be a little hard to hear your buddies. Charging up a hill with mortar shells bursting all around you is a little too realistic for comfort. The couple of tank levels were a nice change, though I would have liked a few more to explore that idea more.
The four different characters confused me. It was a way to explain why I was playing in different areas, but I didn't have time with each character to care about him. I never saw what they looked like, nor did they have any obvious gameplay differences, so all that changed was the accent my buddies had. It never let me immerse myself in a story - I was just out there killing as many Nazis as possible. The ending also lacked any sense of real finality.
Final verdict? It's a fun game well worth playing. It's great in 5.1 if you have it, because you can hear the bullets fly. I'd rent it, play through it, return it and go back to Perfect Dark Zero multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really fun game

posted by c_bolt (NORTH BEND, WA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the best COD game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't play this on veteran!

posted by libra92310 (PHENIX CITY, AL) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love acheivements. However I've never gotten a full 1000 points. So I jumped at the chance to get all thirteen acheiements. In order to do this though, you must play and beat the game on veteran. Now, I don't usually play games on the hardest difficulty. I normally play on normal, but this time I clicked veteran. If I knew the torment that I was in for, I would've switched right back to normal. This game becomes a chore to play on veteran. First of all, the enemies are super-freakin-human! How many shots in the head do you think it takes to kill someone? One, right? Well, believe it or not,I unloaded an entire clip on one guy in the FACE and he just shot me ONCE, in the face and I died. Secondly, your AI teamates [ if you could call them that ] Are no help whatsoever. They jump right in front of your line of fire, get in your way, blocking any exits when you are running away from a grenade. I tried the game on normal and it is a blast, I just wish I could say the same for veteran. So, in conclusion, no matter how much you love acheivements, don't bother with this game because it is not worth the pain. [P,S if anyone has any suggestions of games that give 1000 points easy, without having to revert to the hardest difficulties, I'd really appreciate it].

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REVIEW THAT THE MAKERS SHOULD SEE

posted by AOFscreamX (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 31, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My fav Xbox360 EVER MADE! not much wrong with this game i think i guess you gotta like WW2 guns and that alot of my friends dont liek this game cuz of the guns old guns blah balh balh i really dont care thsi game is like!!!! #1 mostly online the maps are great the guns sounds lights everything lol i dont even kno what to say this is just a good game every person that has a 360 needs this game if you have xbox live YOU BETTER HAVE IT! sorry i dont kno what to say other then rent this game then buy it or dont even rent it and jsut buy it trust me its worth it get 4 friends or friends online play have fun #1 online game for the 360

Reviewed by: MIKEeB
GamerTag:AOFscreamX

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This might be better than Halo!

posted by Fatman (HIGHLAND, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Okay. The first Call of Duty sucked but this rocks, I mean this is better than Halo 2 ( I'm a Halo fanatic in a crazy way). Dude, if you like FPSs you will love this game. If you are still with current-gen systems I suggest Call of Duty 2 for Xbox and PS2.
+ If you like this game and have an Xbox 360, keep an eye out for the new Brothers in Arms game ( It looks awesome!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent World War 2 shooter.

posted by Arinthel (Dahlonega, GA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful


Sound: 9
Excellent sound. The sound of soldiers yelling, guns firing, bullets whizzing over your head, is very well done. Does not get a 10, as the locational quality of the 5.1 sound could be better

Graphical quality: 9

I expected a next-gen title to be a little more stunning, but excellent graphical quality nonetheless gunmetal shines in the sun, soldiers have realistic looking faces, and buildings look appropriately torn down and beat up.

Level Design: 8.

Fairly well done, but nothing special. Most missions prevent repetiveness from setting in by varying the action between indoor and outdoor settings, and presenting unique challenges at various points. The flow is good, but extremely linear. In a few cases, the game can confuse the player by trigger scripted speach, then not opening doors or passageways until after certain enemies have died.

Gameplay 5

The game's major failing is here. Most of your missions will be spent popping up and down behind the same piece of cover, sniping down dozens of germans, who seem to magically respawn until you have killed a few dozen of them. Then, you get to advance a few hundred feet and do the same thing....again....and again....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost perfect...

posted by Nicholas (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I haven't spent much time with this game, but from the 1 or 2 I put into it I felt that it was one of the best Shooters I have ever played. Sound is A+, Graphics also get an A+. If you are going to play through Xbox Live I would make sure you have a decent amount of time on your hands. Unlike other Online shooters, you must, after every game, join a new lobby room, which just felt time consuming. Other than that, I wouldn't think twice about buying it, I'm sold!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very average game with very average graphics.

posted by BAsooner (BROKEN ARROW, OK) May 29, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I don't know why everyone is in love with this game. The Good: 1) Simple controls. 2) Game flow. By this I mean that when your are shot you can simply take cover and rest for a minute to regain your health, not very realistic but it keeps pace of the action up.
The BAD: 1) The graphics are just OK. 2) Unoriginal storyline. 3) Set game path.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's good just don't expect it to blow you away

posted by prime8six8 (CUMMING, GA) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

First you should know that i never really liked the other Call of duty games that much but figured that after reading so many reviews that say this is the best launch game and that it puts you on the edge of your seat the entire time, I should see what everyone was raving about. Well.... the gameplay is frantic but it gets a bit repetitive and the levels are pretty linear. The graphics are good with some good textures and some not so good also everything is kind of blocky looking. The smoke was not as amazing as i had heard it was either. The lighting was O.K. and as far as sound goes it was well done but if you don't have surround sound sometimes the voices get too quiet when look look away from the characters. The Online Multiplayer is pretty Standard stuff and works well but it isn't going to stop me from playing Ghost Recon. So I'm sure some people will click that this review was not helpful because they disagree with me and because they loved this game so much, but I'm just giving my honest opinion and isn't that why we write these reviews in the first place. Call of Duty 2 is definitely worth playing just don't expect it to be the best FPS ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OMG

posted by Gamestar34 (LITCHFIELD, OH) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you have CoD:4 then you know most of the characters.... Which surprised me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's A Double Edged Sword

posted by Cuzit15 (OHATCHEE, AL) Feb 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

On one hand, it's really fun on the Easy or Regular modes. It's really, really fun. On the other hand, it's literally almost impossible on Hardened or Veteran mode. It's no fun at all on those modes. The game tries to make you take cover on those modes because you have so little health, but there's no way to take cover except crouch behind a wall, and in order to shoot someone you have to leave cover and quickly get killed. And I want to see someone just run through the game shooting and enjoying yourself like you can on Easy. As little health as you have, you will die quickly.

I don't like to do in-depth reviews on GameFly due to such a short amount of writing space, but let me say that the graphics and sounds are top notch. The controls are really nice, as well. The AI has its rough spots, but for the most part they're not even noticable.

My gripes are:

1. Horrible controls for the tank levels
2. Either too easy of a difficulty or way to extremely hard of a difficulty - no balance whatsoever
3. Times when the game feels like it's "cheating" - play it, you'll see what I mean soon enough
4. Repetiveness (all shooters are repetitive, but even Halo or Gears of War was still fun to play even when doing the same thing over and over)

And that about sums it up. It's fun to play if you're playing it for fun. However, if you want Achievements, stay away.

The ones you will get "having fun" are:

Complete Training
Won the War (Complete the game, any difficulty)

The rest of the ones are for beating each level on Veteran difficulty, a task near impossible, even for someone like me who is an expert on Insane GoW and Legendary Halo/Halo2. I upgraded to the 2-game plan on Gamefly just to keep this game longer to get the Achievements eventually but not immediately, and still be able to have another game to work on.

Bottom line: Rent it for fun, because it is literally work to try to earn the Achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse