Rent Cabela's Trophy Bucks for Wii
view large frontback

Cabela's Trophy Bucks

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.7

379 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Save your "Bucks" for another game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This is the first game on the Wii I've played that is about hunting - and I'm sure it's not the last.
Cabela's Trophy Bucks is a shooter. In the 96 stages, you wander about the area looking for game to hunt.
You shoot at deer, turkeys, quails, ducks, rabbits, coyotes, and so on. You have a limited weapon selection, but it grows as you complete each level. Before long, you'll be using shotguns, rifles, bows, and handguns. The wide selections of game and weapons are the best part of Cabela's Trophy Bucks.
Each time you shoot the animal, you get points on how close/far you shoot it and how prized the animal is. To pass each round you must score a certain number of points in a time limit - usually two minutes.
But Cabela's Trophy Bucks' biggest flaw shows up: presentation. I found no real thrill of the hunt; you spot the animal, then shoot the animal; it drops, and moments later, it vanishes. Besides, the levels get repetitive very quickly After playing about twenty levels (forty minutes game play), I got bored.
Another problem with this game is the graphics aren't very good - the scenery is bland no matter where you go, the game look very much the same, and they're so far off in the distance, they look like still figures.
Adding to the boredom is long loading screens.
Cabela's Trophy Bucks offers some hunting fun, but not enough for me to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time on this game !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by santelli (ANNVILLE, PA) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played this game Trophy Bucks. I think that the game well... sucked. I think it should be a lot more like Big Game Hunter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hunting Shooting Gallery

posted by ZoneOut (WILLOW GROVE, PA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

As a Cabela's game it was ok, but it did have some draw backs.

The use of the Wii zapper was a nice touch that made the game feel more realistic and fun to play, compared to one that I played that did not use this and the controls were odd. The graphics were not so bad. There were definately a lot of levels, guns, and other toys to use.

The one draw back to the game is the hunting spaces. The hunts that I got were all times hunts. You basically have a small amount of time to reach you goal, or you restart the level. Most of the time you only get one chance to get a shot in. Also you are confind to a small area to hunt. You walk so far and then you just stop and can not go any farther. Basically, it is just a shooting gallery. You get a set amount of time and a small area, you miss you're done.

The good thing is that it looks like the Cabela's hunting games on the Wii are getting better with each one. So, hopefully the next one I try will be a bit better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow is this bad

posted by fierohink (BRUNSWICK, MD) Apr 9, 2009

Member since May 2008

I didn't have high hopes for this when I rented it. I've played a few other "hunting" games and I know none of them realistically fill the void of real hunting. But most don't insult your intelligence like this one.

Basically your world is very small and your best tactic is to run at the animals and shooter them FPS style before they run off screen. There is really no advantage to stealth or strategy as the animals are "alerted" to you long before they are viable targets even with a scope outfitted. So rather than use any type of skill, just run toward a grouping of bucks and start blasting.

Yeah... that's realistic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by stubby816 (WESTVILLE, FL) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

i do not recommend anyone buy or rent this game. it is horrible. all it is good for is maybe to set your drink on. please DO NOT buy this game, if you're curious then rent it even though i don't recommend that either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Entertaining! Not Realistic...

posted by Irie5447 (NORTHFIELD, OH) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

OK. I rented this game because I am a hunter in real life and wanted to try out a hunting game for the Wii. This game is far from a real hunting experience where it takes patience and waiting to see any animals. Immediately all types of game comes out instantly in every level. Don't get me wrong this game was entertaining but if your looking for a more realistic hunting game when its not hunting season this is not it. You also have a very limited area in which you can hunt and walk. Example: when deer hunting you shoot say 5 or 6 deer at a time unloading on them to complete the level. This would be unheard of and also illegal in real hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a very good game

posted by LynnD73 (JACKSON, GA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Game just moves to slow, and is hard to shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hunting season is a letdown

posted by RUNDAS (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

don't get me wrong this game is decent but there are a few things that i had first the game is short and can be beat in 8 hours the difficulty is hard like devil may cry 3 hard and you can only upgrade your weapons with just scopes the power ups do offer a lot of variety this game is worth renting but don't expect to buy it anytime soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hunting game

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

shooting the deers were a not so hard but shooting the birds is for the birds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

First Game was better

posted by jgr74zap (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Not to thrilled with this game. I loved the first game a lot more. Played it for a couple of days then sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by Jaaaws (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Not great, not horrible. Nothing special at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

trophy bucks

posted by chronica20 (MAGNOLIA, DE) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

graphics could be alot better,Low varity of weapons. Other than that is very enjoyable and addictive, and fun for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »