Rent Cabela's Survival: Shadows of Katmai for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Survival: Shadows of Katmai

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
3.8

564 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great commercial - horrific game

posted by Spinal101 (GLASGOW, KY) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I honestly don't know how this franchise has made it as long as it has. I took a chance in renting this game because the commercial made it look so good. Never again - Survival is the worst controlling game I have ever played. I honestly don't know how this "game" got past the final approval. The only real survival is how long it can last in your disc tray before you package it up and send it off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad enough to score a 1

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Nov 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I've written lots of reviews, but very few are terrible enough to earn the feeble rating of a 1. Cabela's Survival game takes home the trophy for the worst "hunting" game on the 360. It's hard to believe a company like Activision jumped on board with this pile of hot garbage.

I also find it hard to believe that this game would be any better using Cabela's giant plastic toy gun for the gameplay. That thing is as useless as the SNES Superscope or the Powerglove. So most of you will be using a controller like I did, and you'll find the sensitivity to be at the rate of a WoW gamer's mouse.

Right off the bat I could tell the controls were going to be a problem. You cannot adjust the ridiculously high sensitivity, which to me makes no sense for a game where 1/2 the play is gallery shooting. It was almost unplayable, but you can kind of get used to it, but it's not fun regardless. Also, like half the buttons aren't even used, and the ones that do are awkward. When A button does nothing, why would you make LB jump? And LT switches guns instead of aims or zooms, so you'll be pushing wrong buttons for sure.

Survival also looks like it was developed for the Playstation 1. The graphics and sound are horrendous. The story mode is a bad survival tale, and looks like it was a mimic of Man vs. Wild's recent game, but even worse than that, and you don't have to drink your own urine.

There's only 57 other Cabela related games out there, so try one of those instead. I would not recommend renting Survival, because even doing it to just get the achievements was a horrible waste of time. You will only be disappointed by a horribly bad looking and unresponsive game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible!

posted by Rustycaps (MESA, AZ) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I didn't think I would ever find a game that I'd rate this low. I had to rate it something because it at least loaded when I put the game disc in. The game had no story line to speak of and made very little sense. At first I was excite to play a game based on survival.

What we got instead was a terrible story line that was divided by each "mission". There was really no transitioning from 1 level to another. Controls and levels were preset with 1 determined path and it felt like a really poor version of tomb raider. No real survival story was used and on some missions enemies spawn constantly regardless of how many you've killed. Crows are apparently blood thirsty carnivores that attack humans in packs, but only when you're dangling from a cliff.
In one particular scenario, you are required to hunt for a moose. You must climb cliffs without any gear in freezing temperatures to get to an area to hunt for a moose. Meanwhile you kill several large predators that would likely feed you and your hungry companions for some time. The story doesn’t take that into account and you just leave that on the ground because the game wants you to find a moose. I kept wondering "Once I get this moose, how will I get it back to the cabin I cliff hiked from?” In reality no one could so the game based on "survival" really had no idea what it was doing. I didn't expect much from this game to begin with, but I was shocked at how high a rating it had when I got it. Do not rent, it is not fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by sammerk (ROCKFORD, IL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

maybe worst game ive ever played and terrible video game acting now you know its bad when there animated and cant even act

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game wouldn't work

posted by kylej06 (PAINTED POST, NY) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

wouldn't work in my system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Survival

posted by jhjudy1955 (UNCASVILLE, CT) Feb 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game disc was unreadable, returned same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by FirefighterJBW (CONNEAUT, OH) Jan 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Horrible Horrible Horrible, I played it for 5 minutes and then sent it back it was the worst game that I have ever played. It would be better on kenict..This game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Survival

posted by babykitten2443 (PORT ALLEGANY, PA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game ok but the gun aming was way off & then you come to kill the bear after going through the mines & it inpossable to kill him

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by Deedandude (KINGSTON, WA) May 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game just plan old sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD GAME DO NOT RENT

posted by fivestars (BUDD LAKE, NJ) May 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The worst game I played in a long time...the tv ad look good enough so rented it...bad idea...controls very bad.. it looks bad...had it in the disc tray for about ten minutes...died about a dozen times. VERY BAD GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabales survival

posted by dubj11 (TROY, ID) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

they make this game sound so cool but it sucks!!! they make it seem like it is so graficy and its not at all!! i played the game for 15-20 mins and i thought it was super stupid!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

cabellas survival of katmai

posted by alkyholic (GRANTS PASS, OR) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow ! very slow and boring game ! i like all of the cabellas hunting and fishing games, but this one is very boring !!! oh well !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Totally is an awful boring challenge

posted by roberts666 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is WAY to short and in my opinion horrible. The game has really good graphics and that is about it. The story line only took my a total of 1.5hrs to complete, yes that short. Challenges are not in anyway of being a challenge. I was hoping that this Cabella's game would be top notch after the last few fails but yet again it wasn't. I wish that I didn't even rent it and that is how bad it was. At first based on the opening scene and graphics I thought it would turn out to be acceptable. The longer I played the worse it got.... If you want easy acheivments then get it other than that don't. I wouldn't spend $5 for this game if it was on clearance, I probably wouldn't take it if it was free...
I played 1.5hrs, completed and sent back all in one day.....
Horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent!

posted by ApexGamer808 (LA MESA, CA) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible for starters the camera angles used in this game make it very difficult to move the character and accomplish the various missions. For example if your running forward you should have a camera view of whats in front on you and NOT just a view of you running. Also the graphics remind me of something you would have seen on a SEGA 20 years ago. Its too bad because I think the story line and concept is good but too bad the cheap graphics and lazy camera angles ruin the possible good game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT RENT!

posted by JohnRedCorn (FONTANA, CA) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great commercial. horibble game! bad graffics! waste of youre time, trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Liars!

posted by chloe84 (GREENE, ME) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

These people are lying! This game is a fantastic game and you can play it over again and again if you like adventure. They are probably just mad that they couldn't beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

well....

posted by codkilller (MOUNT PLEASANT, IA) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is a good game so far,dont really get the story though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cablers survival

posted by Wwetna1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Don't even get this game it sucks the only gamr i well only give a 1 becouse i put it in my xbox 360 for 15 secounds and i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by avatar3 (RIVERDALE, GA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

dont rent it worst game in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

cabeles surv. review

posted by miamicanes (PANAMA CITY, FL) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Dnt have much to say except that it sucks.My advice dnt waste ur time renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Oh Katmai help me!

posted by ZBEK37 (LANCASTER, OH) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This was a rather different game in which it felt like I was a superhero, parkour, gun shooting master. 3/4 of this game was spent jumping from ledge to ledge, and the other 1/4 was spent shooting random wolves and birds coming out of random places. The story mode was SO STINKING SHORT that I got it on Monday, beat it on Monday, and sent it back Tuesday morning (and I spent a lot of time looking for hidden stuff)! The "arcade mode" or whatever was like one of those Cabelas Shooting Gallery games that you would find at a bar. Overall, this game was one to just mess around in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cabela's Survival Shadows of Katmai review

posted by Janja (ROSSITER, PA) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The Reason i gave it a 5 was well i played it was fun for about 5 minutes and then it got really boring. I know some people will disagree but that's their opinion which is fine by me.

pro's
decent graphics
good environment changes
fair amount of weapons/items

con's
horrible controls
tends to have a werid display of pressing a certain button and not even close to it
Makes you think ( just kidding) easy puzzle's

many more but i don't want to make it a long review, plus its my first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by sumnerguy (KANSAS CITY, KS) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

this game looks fun but when you really get a chance to play it, it's very dumb your basically doing the same thing over and over and over again it gets very old quickly do not get this game. would rate zero

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by wyattlopez (RENO, NV) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

ok game but very boring all u basicaly due is fight and hunt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak, even for Cabela

posted by Diegster5 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

this game was sucky, even for Cabela's hunting games. The graphics were horrible for being made in 2011, the controls and camera were weird, the achievements were easy to get, it had nothing to do with Cabela's hunting, and you get bored of it in like an hour. The only good thing about this game was the story. It's a weak game but not the worst game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse