Rent Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010 for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
5.4

778 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

The best console hunting game ive played.

posted by Lee117 (NEW BERN, NC) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

About 4 years ago i bought a hunting game for the PC called Hunting unlimited 3. This game had everything a hunting game was suppose to.
Free hunt, challenges, and a whole wide arsenal of guns and equipment.

Any other hunting game ive played for a console lacks everything it should have. They just werent very i, i dont know...friendly... the expericances were just bad. I recently bought Cabelas dangerous hunts 2009, and i couldnt even get past the first mission.

This game makes a leap, while it technically doesnt have a "free hunt" it has something called trophy chase. You can pick an animal and edit its appearance and score. You then get 10 minutes to hunt that one animal. What i find aggravating about that is, unless you give your animal ridicosly large antlers, and make it albino, its almost impossible to tell the diffrence between your animal and another, and if you shoot the wrong one its game over.

Story mode wasnt very satisfying. I beat in in 5 hours and you seem to have about 100 tags for every animal. Unlike it should be, the story mode isnt free-roam. Its straight forward, and if your not suppose to go there you get stuck on a 2" rock...you usually follow a path, and if you scare the animal away, sometime and annoying game warden voice says, "your target animal heard you and got away!" or they might run off for 5 seconds and then come right back.

I was really looking foward to bear hunting but you cant do that in trophy chase, and you hunt two in the story mode, which takes about 5 minutes. Also in story mode, you have to get ALL the story-based trophies in one play-through because you have to create a whole new saved-data and all your stats gets reset >:(

The trophies are pretty easy to get, in 3 days i got to 86%

I give it a 7 because, while its still not great, it is a good leap.

The duck hunting, and the fishing, just isnt anything worth mentoning...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

some good points, some bad

posted by utgamer (CLEARFIELD, UT) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I agree with alot of the review here. I was disappointed with the no free roam hunting, really short story mode, very limited firearms selection, and the boring fishing missions.
However I did like the breath mode so you could see the heart, lungs, and spine that was cool, but every time you look through the scope it would kinda auto aim so you couldn't look around the herd. Also I could never take a shot more then 77 yards, how is that realistic? A trophy buck is standing 90 yards away and you can look though the scope and see it and you can shoot what would be a one shot kill and the game says it heard a gun shot and it runs away, come on I can hit a pop can at 150 yards no prob with a 223, so why is it that a 308 can't shoot that far? I get the whole stealth and stalking but come on, your using a rifle with a scope, your not trying to chloroform them.
The firearm selection was pathetic. Last time I checked Remington was not the only company that makes guns. 7 rifles, 3 shotguns and one hand gun? Many hunter own that many or more, so you would think that could have more of a selection then that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cabelas outdoor adventures 2010

posted by Beneli (CLEAR SPRING, MD) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you like hunting dont even think about getting this game it has terrible graphics lowsey story and unrealistic adentures if youre looking for a good hunting game rent Cabelas Big game hunter 2010 its beutifull!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not the greatest

posted by ps3ova360 (HOUSE SPRINGS, MO) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

when i first got this game i thought it sucked the graphics are horrible then i played story mode for a little bit and all the sudden it said story mode complete. so i played trophy chase which is where you can create your own trophy animal so i created a trophy of every animal possible and killed every single one in under 5 minutes. this game is WAY to easy to beat and one thing i didnt like is there is no free hunt mode... so i would not recomed this game to ANYBODY if they are a true gamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'm disappointed in activision

posted by dcdime (SUNSET, LA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game was a total waste of time it was a terrible game. It was to acade like and takes away from the hunting feel

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game rocks

posted by johnpro (PARK RIDGE, IL) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

Well i bought this game after playing the demo on the 360 for big hunter coming out at the end of September. Now somehow, these 2 games are being released in the same month, and have quite a graphical difference between the 2. Big game hunter looked surprisingly really good, was impressed. Now for some reason out door adventure doesnt look nearly as nice as big game hunter. or there is that much of a difference between the 360 and the ps3. Only way to know for sure is to just wait until big game hunter is out, since they are technically 2 different games.

This game is still solid, nothing like shooting some animals in the face, even though you get low points for that. got to shoot them in the heart.

For the guy who got stuck at the point where you have to place the tree stand, try looking for that info online before posting your child like response. All you have to do is open your inventory with right 1, then highlight a non weapon, like the spray, then hit X to bring up a list of other options/calls/scents/stands pick your object and hit X to replace the spray with it. Of course you have to be by the right tree as well. this is how you change what type of guns you are using too.

Id say this a definite rent if not own for the price they release them at. It is a very cool, good change of pace from the same old stuff that has been released over the years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cabelas outdoor adventures 2010

posted by taylorlunc (THOMPSONS STATION, TN) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

i enjoyed this game so much that i bought this game.you so need to try it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

piece of %$#$

posted by RageInDeat (SYLACAUGA, AL) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

you cant even play through the game,you'll come to a point in story mode not lone after you start,your asked to find a special tree to mount a tree stand once you find it,no matter what button you press you cant mount it,thats part of your objective to move on in story mode.........the game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game play

posted by duncan1989 (GREENWOOD, SC) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

this is a fun game to play but the animal behavior and the game play is a little crazy. it seems like the deer run away from you even if they cant see you cause i was behind a rock and the deer still ran away even though it couldn't see me and i know i didn't smell me cause i had on the scent killer so its alright but does suck at times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

About This Game

posted by RedCrushLax14 (NEW TRIPOLI, PA) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Hi, This game is very hard to get uesd to controls. If you play Call Of Duty, Red Dead. Its is hard the fishing i can give the game 7 out of 10 stars. For hunting i give it a 6. Thank You For reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, and Simple

posted by Bridgetn88 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) May 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have never hunted a real Animal in my life, and I can tell from this game its probably a lot easier to do on my PS3 then with a Bow in my hand. But this game brings a lot of fun to the table, auto focus aim, the guide step by step telling me how to hunt and stalk. It was a very fun, and relaxing game.
I recommended this game to anyone who likes hunting in general, but wants a relaxing, and easy role-play setting to chill to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had fun but the controls took some getting use to

posted by StarWraith (SHEBOYGAN, WI) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The controls are a bit odd at first. It wasn't natural for me to use 2 fingers on the left triggers (which are used for aiming), but I got use to it after awhile. While playing the main quest I didn't have much trouble following where I was suppose to go but there are optional oppurtunity hunts that were hard to find at times. Besides that I didn't really have any other complaints. I always enjoy sneaking around and trying to get the most optimal spot to take out those poor defenseless virtual animals. The other nice thing about this game is, the trophies are not that hard to get. So if you like getting them you won't have to spends hours upon hours getting them while you could be getting a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could of been better but..

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

it could of been a decent over all hunting game except for the a part on the 2nd Region were you have to mount a tree stand which is impossible because the game itself didnt equip you with it nor would it allow to manually equip it yourself so you never will or cant get past that point in the game . that or it may be due to the fact that it was a bugged/botched copy of the game but from what ive read/heard it wouldnt be the 1st copy of the 2010 version thats got the same problems i had with . all i can say is thank you gamefly because otherwise i would of wasted money on buying this game only to trade/return it. this is a must rent nothing more .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

cabelas outdoor adventure 2011

posted by mantisjr (ELLENWOOD, GA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

this game is very bad the shoots are not relesitc. if you want a hunting game then dont rent this because you do missions. even if you shoot them point blank they dont fall down. but the good part the graphics are buetiful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I recommend this to the true hunters

posted by Rptr777 (MESA, AZ) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

This game is a good hunter no matter what everyone else thinks, this game is at least worth a rental. I would have loved to see the game last a little bit longer. I loved the slow mo shot screen, seeing your bullet or arrow enter the animal in slow mo is cool, yes the graphics weren't so good but they were average. In order to play hunting games you need patience, skill and the slightest movement when your aiming. If not the gun will go too far in the direction you want it to. All in all this game is a good hunting game. This is for those that have patience and love to sneak up and shoot animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

thumbs down on cabela's outdoor adventures 2010

posted by bigfish62 (CASNOVIA, MI) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

the game emphasizes ethical hunting by shooting with one shot vital kills, but has has you shooting at running deer, which is not ethical.
game is hard to navigate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dumbest Game EVER!!!

posted by SHOE27 (HUNTINGTON, IN) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010 is one of the dumbest games ever. I played it for maybe 15 minutes before I decided this. It is the worst game to try to navigate. I rented the game to shoot animals...NOT walk around looking for the checkpoints for 3 to 4 times longer than the actual hunt. The game did actually seem fun for the minute and a half that I was able to hunt. My rating, only because of the mindless wandering, is two fingers way up....)B-\

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An Okay Game

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) May 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The game isn't great, but it isn't terrible. The game plays and feels more like an introduction to hunting and fishing than anything else.

You lose if you shoot something you're not supposed to, but you simply restart the section. Most of the game is walking to the challenge...completing the hunt, walking to the next, completing the hunt.. going fishing then going to the next hunt.

Big Game Hunter is supposed to be the better hunting game. But for the trophy hunters out there, if you're going for a Platinum this game is good enough that the trip from trophy one to plat is enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by Kenny007 (WALLINGFORD, CT) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

This isn't a terrible game, but it's not all that exciting either. I guess that's to be expected from a hunting sim. I come from a family with generations of hunters, so it's not that I'm unfamiliar with how a hunt will go that I'd expect a game to be any different.

That said, this game makes me feel like a hitman sent into the woods looking to kill anything that moves. The amount of animals this guy kills is insane when compared to a real life hunt based around an animal or two. I don't have any problem with shooting real or virtual animals, but I did laugh a few times as I shot anything that scampered in this virtual setting...all the while the Guide is egging you on saying "HEY! WE HAVE A FEW MORE TAGS! WHY DON'T YOU SHOOT ALL THOSE!"...lol.

The gameplay is pretty straight forward, stalk (an odd word for that. The game will penalize you if you stand and stalk, not only because you're a large visible target, but that you make more noise. However, if you crouch and move, you can make all the noise in the world [or so it sounds like in game], but the animals won't care), aim, find their vitals, and fire. A cool bullet follow effect, seen in past games like Max Payne, is employed for really good shots. Then you blast the next animal he points you at...until you've conquered the forest!

It's a pretty forest to look at graphically.

The controls are a bit odd for me. I tend to use my pointer finger to use the L1-L2 or R1-R2 buttons, but this game wont allow for that. To aim, hold L2, to hold breath, hold L1, to fire press R2. It gets a bit odd for me, but that could be just me.

I haven't beaten this title yet, but it looks to be an overall easy plat that will probably take me between 6-10 hours. That's a draw right there for some (reason why I got it personally).

I can't say I've played many hunting sims, but surely you could do worse than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so bad

posted by XxGamerxX (MACHIAS, ME) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I had this game in my gameQ and when they shipped it to me I checked the user reviews, and I was ready to send it back before I even received it.
Once I got it I tried it out, IMHO it isn't as bad as some people make it sound but its definitely a rental game.
Graphics are OK not all that bad. It can get a little aggravating having a guide tell you your every move and since their isn't a free roam you cant go anywhere you want. Which some people may like since its straight forward and an easy but fun game. I like how when you scope in on your prey you can see the lungs and heart which comes in handy to get trophy points. Also its easy to get a platinum trophy.
I hope this has helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

an ok game but could be better.

posted by jimbo2 (HASKELL, TX) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game wasn't what I'd was hopping it would be and I only played the first five levels. At the highest I'd give it a 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very Weak!!

posted by sturgill90 (PENNINGTON GAP, VA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Ok, let me start this by saying that I am a huge fan of fishing games and I have also played a couple of really good hunting games. So I thought with this game I would have the best of both worlds. Boy was I WRONG!!!!

This game is very weak. I'll start with the hunting. First off, there is no way that anybody can tell me that an Elk at 102 yards is out of range for a 308, but this game did. Also, whats up with the "magical trees" that your stand has to go in?? Stupid. The graphics are very weak. Whenever you have to go do something or go somewhere, the game basically has the path laid out for you and it is impossible to go a different route. Your guy won't go through bushes or cross downed trees or anything unless its on the pre-determined route. Stupid. I would have rather hunted duck, pheasant, and grouse the whole game because that was the funnest part of this game.

Now, on to the fishing. Stupid. You have some kind of crazy fishing challenge in which you have a ridiculous amount of time to do something that you wouldn't do anyway. And the graphics, WHAT GRAPHICS??? Technique sucks, lures suck, and the whole way that you find fish sucks!!

If any game makers are reading these reviews, bring back the fishing games where you fish in a tournament, win money, and then use that money to buy better gear. Also, put real lakes in the game and many of them. Then, make the camera be on the fisherman while he casts, but then, when the lure hits the water, I want an underwater cam to see how the fish reacts. The best fishing games (its sad to even say) was for the regular XBox and Super Nintendo. So please, GET IT RIGHT.

Oh back to the review, game sucks, don't waste your time, I was generous by giving it a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cabelas 2010

posted by frogger334 (OXFORD, MA) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

For my review of cabelas outdoor adventures 2010 i would first like to focus on the gameplay. The gameplay wasn't what i thought it would be, because i thought you would be able free-rome but you actually can't all there is in that game is missions and also the trophy creature mode. the trophy hunter is free-rome for 5 minutes but you have to find, hunt, and kill the trophy that you created only. the missions aren't to hard its actually pretty easy. the only annoying thing about the game is the guide he willl never stop running his mouth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by yourself23 (LANSING, MI) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game was not very good they put you right where the animals were you barley had to go find them. If you feel lazy and dont want to move around alot this is the game for you. Also the aiming is horrible I will never rent this game again.

Pros: Ok graphics but needs better rendering time

Cons: Pretty much everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok, could have been alot better

posted by FenderAce (Millville, NJ) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game was ok, the only problems with it were then fact that you would take a shot then end up walking fro 10 minutes just to take the next shot. Also there is no free hunt! Every hunting game since Cabelas Hunts 2004, there is no free hunt. There is only story which is a set animal and that the guide tells you the exact spot. There are usually 3 females and 2 males and the trophy buck is always hiding as far as possible from where you are. I miss the time when you could get pic a spot in the world and do a real hunt, place decoys, sents, calls and tree-stands and then wait for your animal or just simply go off and search for any kind of buck and then start the hunt. Also in this hunting game you can only use a shotgun to hunt birds, when it is leagal to hunt bucks with a shot gun almost every where. I do like the option to hunt with a bow. Exept for in parts you can only hunt with a bow or a pistol which could make sence if the property owner says so or if your outside the leagel fire-arm hunting grounds. Altogether this game is ok but could be so much better with a free hunt but the trophy chase kinda gives you that feeling but it is entirely not the same, please Cabela, make a free hunting game! Please!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse