Rent Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.8

945 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing

posted by Bum360 (BARTLETT, IL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Theres some things that are good with this game and alot that are bad. The hunting is I guess decent but thats only because when you get a good shot it slo-mos the bullet. but other than that eerything else is pretty weak. the fishing is horribly unrealistic and the style of the hunting is just boring. Honestly who wants to play a game were you have a guy telling you what to do throughout every terrain? thats just no fun. this game to me is 4 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get a Guide and Go

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jul 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easy 1000 gamerscore to be had from this game. It's not for the hunting and fishing purist at all. A guide will help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

total garbage

posted by GIFTS86 (GENEVA, OH) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

very unrealistic for a hunting game graphics are so so and there is a guide with you who constantly is driving deer your way nothing at all as far as i played where you yourself go out and hunt for deer. i gave it a 3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by rnlewisiii (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I really was not expecting much from this game, but it still didn't meet my low expectations. The fishing is completely unrealistic and boring. Some of the hunting is fun, but the slow pace and repetition of the story mode gets old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too easy

posted by SpasmFists (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The new hunting game can be completed with your eyes shut.

Concept: Travel to different parts of the world and kill the animals local to the area.

Gameplay: The game tells you exactly where to go and what to do and where to shoot...boring! Mini games include: Destroying rabbits and ducks with your Shotgun.

Graphics: Pretty good actually, the wilderness looks like Oblivion.

Sound: No music, just the occasional whistle of a bird.

Replay value: You wont even finish your first run-through

Bottom Line: unless you are a big hunter, dont rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010 Not so good

posted by cons2000 (TORRINGTON, CT) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought that this was going to be okay with the new vital organ shot(s), but I found it very fustrating trying to just walk to different areas. I was being blocked by little sticks & twigs & had to go around them. The animals were done nicely though. I have played (and own) alot of Cabela's games and this problem is more severe in this version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good......but bad

posted by zparks0123 (GREENFIELD TWP, ME) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

there are good things and bad thigs about this game.

GOOD: awsome graphics, guns and i love how you can create and hunt your own trophy. what i also liked was how when you called in the animals it actually worked. other games are not always like that.

BAD: what i didn't like was all of the different buttons you had to press to use the calls and how the story mode was soooo short there was like nothing to it.

I would recomend this game to beginer hunters (video game wise) but i would not encourage that people who like realism in hunting to NOT buy this game. rent it first. if not you will be disapointed just lie i was. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great hunting, fishing...not so great.

posted by cowden25 (MURRAY, IA) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to say that i was real excited about this title because of the variety of activities that it offered. The story mode was good, but it lacked the ability to replay locations and events without going through the whole game over. I thought it was odd that it offers several types of hunts, but only trophy animals was all you could rehunt at any time. To me the whole game was ruined when i discovered that you cannot just go hunt pheasants or go fishing, to leave this out made the game seem unfinished. The hunting was great, motions were very smooth and the controls were simple. Once again a cabelas title becomes more of an advertizment than a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring

posted by SHORTY22 (Silverton, OR) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is very boring and lacks a lot of free roam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

How did they come out with this

posted by PsychWrite (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Cabelas franchise of games has not been good in the past and it is not getting any better. When i played this game i liked it for the first half-hour then it became repetative and boring. Track, kill, repeat several times then fish and thats all. I beat the game in about 6 hours and the only extra thing besides story is trophy in which you make a buck to kill and that is boring and the same as the story and you have to play the story to get point to make the deer.

What was good about it:
-Nothing
-Nothing
-Nothing

What was bad about it:
-Everyting (and the graphics were bad even for a next-gen console)

So again i say:

HOW DID THEY COME OUT WITH THIS!!

I suggest you do not rent this game, its repeatative, short, bad, boring, and bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cabela's Outdoor

posted by Bobshow69 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Game is fun and exciting, the only thing is that it is WAAAY too short.... but the Trophy section is excellent!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Why Can't They?

posted by War71Eagle (WHITELAND, IN) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why they can't have decent fishing in a game like this. There are decent fishing games out there and this is a good hunting game so why not just combine the two and move on?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cabela's Outdoor Adventures 2010

posted by lexisx300 (MANDEVILLE, LA) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Not the best ive played. Graphics could be better and some parts are way unrealistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!

posted by 123gameplayer (PALMDALE, CA) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is the worst outdoor game i have ever played. Let alone any game, i have played many dissapointing games but this is the worst. You are extremely limited to where you can go, even if you are trying to get to a place the game is telling you to go. The aiming sucks because if there's more than one animal around one you are trying to shoot at, it will lock on to another animal. Overall the aiming just sucks and so does the game there is no free play, its all controlled. You cant hunt for what you want, whenever you want or even have target practice. Do not waste your time renting this game or waste your money it's extremely dissapointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yawn...

posted by Swamp_Peeps (SALLIS, MS) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

About as fun as a game of Simon Says. If you can follow a poorly disguised path, you can complete this game in short order. Looking at other reviews, that seems to be what most gamers want so I can't really blame Cabela's.

The first Cabela's game rocked but it was everything the reviewers that favor this game hate. It was not predictable and was more of a true simulation. You could free roam and explore the terrain. You could scout, set up stands and stalk game. Yet, there wasn't too much randomness. You didn't have to be a skilled shooter or hunter to learn this game quickly. Since then, all the Cabela's games have been pretty much consisted of following a trail to a point with some super-obvious marker and shooting whatever jumped out. Its a bit like playing a hunting game on a cell phone. Simon says, walk to here. Simon says, shoot this. Simon says, good job.

Money talks so if you want something that requires little-to -no thought, this is right for you. I, for one, am hoping that other voices like mine will rise up asking for real action adventure games that are less "Simon Says". This goes for all genres. If all I want is to mindlessly follow a path, I'll do some "connect a dot" puzzles.

Intelligent gamers unite!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

im sorry

posted by kristyrese (GARY, IN) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i got my game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by gameflyord (LOUISVILLE, KY) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

worst hunting game I have ever played. Pick another one this one is not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not what i expected

posted by gkitti (OAK HILL, WV) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

the only time i have ever played a cabela hunting game was on my ps1. i was new to gaming and couldnt really figure it out. i decided to try my hand at this one from so long ago and i wasnt sure what i was expecting, but definately not a guide telling me what to do the entire time. i made it up to the point where i had to shoot two brown bears at once and i packaged the game up and sent it right back. boring is the one word to sum it all up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

jesse

posted by killknife1 (BURIEN, WA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

all i have to say is careful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh...

posted by xtremgamer (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

the game was alright, i didnt rent it on here i just bought it at my local video game store. it took me about 2 hours to beat. it was really easy to finish and got boring pretty fast. ive played alot of cabela's games and this one was easily the worst of them. in the others you can put different items almost anywhere. for example, the tree-stand, on here you can only put it on tree's that have "fungus" (green and pink leaves) on them.and theres only like one per region. you have a guide telling you where to go, which animal to take, and what to use.if you dont follow every single thing he tells you, the animal just runs off. on all the other games, the only way it would run off would be if it saw you, if you moved while it was close, or if you shot at it and missed.

the calls are frustrating. to use em, you have to push the right trigger after youve gotten it off the select menu, then right after you press it, you have to move the left and right sticks in the right directions, in the right order. if the move is rotating the stick, you basically have to just rotate it over and over really fast or it doesnt work.

you have two hunting choices, story, or trophy creator. in the other games there was quick hunt where you could choose which animal and just have a bag limit.
on trophy creator, you have to get points from story, then you can only shoot that animal, and you have a 5 minute (real life time) to complete the hunt. if you max everything out on the animal it looks completely un realistic. and even if you dont, its still hard to make it look reallistic.

the fishing just sucks. plain and simple. not worth even being on the game.

really the only good feature was the "vitals" feature. it was helpful, but still just made an easy game easier.

i wouldnt recomend buying it. but im not going to say dont rent it because who knows, you may like it. its all a matter of opinion. but with this game, the Cabela's video game franchise, let me down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by theman34 (SILVER SPRINGS, FL) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

good game well made to short it took me about 3 hours but had fun with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game

posted by rayhurley (MAXIE, VA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Great game for anyone in the family who love hunting you will just love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Easy 1000 Gamer score and plenty of Invisi-walls!

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

This game had to many invisible walls, it's irritating and weak but at the very most slightly entertaining.

This is the easiest Cabela's game by far and not their best, you always get timed as you fish and you must walk a pre-set path to pre-set locations were you can shoot animals who can sometimes spot you through solid rock.

Put a few bullets into Bambi's legs and he also has a chance to limp away to safety.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ok Game But

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jun 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

Well I have Just Started Playing the game it is ok but since I live in Kansas and you start Hunting in KansasI Have Already noticed that The Game is not correct in the Way the Hunts are done. Biggest Problem I have Noticed is that You are Hunting deer that are being DRIVEN by a Guide well EXCUSE Me But that is Very illegal here and Not very Ethical. The Game is teaching Bad things to Anyone Playing Because You CAN NOT "Drive" Deer To Hunt them I would have figured that By Now Activision Would have figure that Out but the Obviously havent even Checked the Hunting laws in the Places They have you Hunting in The game. The Game is Ok But could have been Great if they would have made it a more REALISTIC Game by following the Hunting Laws but then they couldnt have made it such a difficult game to Play it is Very very very hard to shoot a Running animal and more often then not Your Going to miss and if you do hit them You will Only Wound them and more then Likely never be able to find Them again to finish them off. Bad Idea by Activision if you ask me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gamefly should allow negative number ratings

posted by ALThumz (SABATTUS, ME) May 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

I would like to rate this game a -5 if I could. Glad I could waste a few hours of my life with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »