Rent Cabela's Hunting Expeditions for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Hunting Expeditions

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
4.7

173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Cabela's Game this gen

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets face it. Cabela's hunting games just been utter disasters lately. Cabela's has 2 main franchises: Dangerous Hunts and Big Game Hunter. They had a spinoff last year called Shadows of Katmai and that one was awful as well. Now Cabela's is trying to make an actual hunting game where you have to be stealthy instead of mindlessly shooting everything. They've actually done a good job with this one, Hunting Expeditions is a third person open world style hunting game you actually get rewarded XP and GP which can be used to buy newer and better weaopns and optics. This game is what Cabela's was back on the ps2 and xbox, games where you actually had to hunt specific animals and if you didn't you'd get penalized and have to redo the hunt. There's nothing mindblwoing in the game but at least it succeeds at being a good Cabela's game. The game has finally brought back the quick hunt feature which Cabela's game have been lacking for the last 7 or so years. Overall if you want a soemwhat true to life hunting game pick up Hunting Expeditions it's actually quite fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bland Experience

posted by micko (VILLA RICA, GA) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am usually all for Cabela's hunting games but this one just does not live up to some of the other titles in the series. The graphics are on par with a PS2 game (bushes made out of an X instead of 3D). Controls are clunky, guns are bland and offer no real advantage over other calibers, no optional firearm (Hunting birds with a rifle?), levels are large but with scarce game and you are either running or crawling with no in between. I think Cabela's is getting comfortable having no competition and so this is the product we get. I was really looking forward to this game yet I was bored in an hour and sent it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting......

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start with the GOOD:

1. Interesting Species to Hunt
2. Fair sized Maps
3. A few Good Guns

Now the Cons:

1. No Trophy Room
2.Cannot Bring Gun for Small Game although its a suggested Hunt ( Who Hunts Geese with a Rifle?)
3.Cannot "Meat Hunt" Females
4.Third person view is very clunky
5.A "Hunter" that cant even climb a Hill!! Really? And who has to gather 36 Trail Cameras to go on 1 Hunt .. It seems they have had a pattern for awhile of focusing on "Ethics" and the Mechanics of things , rather than the Playability , and Variety , or the ability to Hunt the way YOU want. But since No One else makes these Games ...we dont have much choice . So we trudge through the Mud , and Hunt anyway :) Only a 5 Because of this and there are at least a few Animals worth shooting. HONEST REVIEW FROM A HUNTER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by tankvet (CAMP LEJEUNE, NC) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To be honest I think this one took a step back. The only reason I rated this game as high as I did was the graphics are awesome. You only have 2 speeds, running while standing or walking while crouching, there is no low crawl or way to be super stealthy. You can climb rock formations which is a plus...but a i foot step will block your movement because its not a "climbable" step which is really frustrating. The steadiness of your rifle is the same crouching or standing so there is no benifit unless you find a shooting rest. There are specific shooting rests, even though there is a down log right in front of you with a better vantage point you must use an approved rest i guess. I can go on and on, bottom line is this game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

gave it a 3

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) May 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

I wanted play an easy hunting game i was disappointed when i found this is not it... you had to unlock more animals you started with deer who wants to hunt deer that much... the controls was hard i mean when you aim your shot the shot would move you would miss. i get enjoyment out of my duck dynasty tv game more than i did this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

one of the better cabela's games this gen

posted by NCSFan001 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Unlike the dangerous hunts and big game hunter cabela's games this one is a lot more like outdoor adventures. Its actually kind of fun with a lot of different animals to hunt in a decent variety of locations. What is nice about this game is that it is far more realistic than most of the cabela's games this gen; you have to hunt the animals stealthily and they run when they sense you. The guns do varying amounts of damage and can be customized with various scopes and other attachments that change their affectiveness. Overall its a fun game but doesn't take that long to beat or earn the platinum trophy in, so its replay value is kind of low.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just ok

posted by Pilot_Sully (JEFFERSON, GA) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

The game was just ok. Nothing really special. To me, it just seemed as if it was way to easy to shoot anything. There really wasn't any similarities to real hunting. You could just run within 40yards from an animal without being noticed. Then the shooting... You shoot, you hit. It really wasn't challenging at all. I have an older version for the Wii, and I use the gun attachment, and that was way more challenging. Still an interesting game, but I would never spend money on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just Plain Aweful

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Whatever happened to the Cabela's games where it was free roam and shoot what you want as long as you have tags for it? I miss those games. These newer Cabela's games just plain suck for the past 5 years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Eh

posted by CaliberPrincess (CARROLLTON, OH) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Honestly didnt care for this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhhhhh

posted by yamaha4989 (ROGUE RIVER, OR) Oct 29, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

It was better then some of the more recent titles from Cabelas but notas good as the old ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »