Rent Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2011 for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2011

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, DS
GF Rating
4.4

745 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I gave it 30 minutes and sent it back

posted by Downfall (WILKES BARRE, PA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The beginning is long draw out, and the game play would be better if you could see what was attacking you. It is ashame since the graphics were really great. I say pick it up in the bargain bin and save yourself a spot on your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Well Lets Just Say

posted by ThaTruth21 (WEST HARRISON, IN) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game could of been much better. First of all, the new Hunter Sense is horrible, lacking clarity, quality, and helpfulness. The Story is pretty much walking around constantly using hunter sense or otherwise a alligator, snake, or other animal will kill you instantly if you dont have VERY quick reactions.
Multiplayer with split screen would have made this game a little more fun, but the sense that they cut this out and multiplayer is basically a 1980s arcade shooting game makes that sense of the game a fail also.

Galleries are OK, but not nearly good enough to make this game rentable.

Againg to wrap it up, Story mode has a nice story behind it, MAYBE good enough to keep die hard fans entertained, but if your not a DIE HARD Cabelas fan then this game is hardly worth your time. There is no opwn world hunting, just following pre determined paths and again avoiding hidden animals (and I say animals because SNAKES are NOT game.) Thats pretty much it. If you rent it, be sure its the only game you have rented or youll probably play the other game instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was an okay game but..

posted by bender56 (TUCSON, AZ) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would say graphics could been a ton better. The game was REALLY short took me about 4 hours to beat it. I liked the story line tho it was good. What I didn't like was the hunter vision. Hard to work. Kinda brought the game down to a lower score in my book. It was some what fun tho. 2010 was better I'd say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET THIS GAME!

posted by WvBigNick85 (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible! My eyes are bleeding from playing this game! My PS3 just blew up because this game is that terrible. It couldn't take how awful it was! The people that made this game should NOT be allowed to ever make games again or touch any thing that has to do with games even bored games! DO NOT get this game!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2010 version was mcuh better

posted by BallzyDAN (PALM BAY, FL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game should be called 'defending yourself in the most insane wilderness'. What I played of the 'story', was awful. I only killed one animal that wasn't trying to kill me. I wanted to hunt, not watch a father lecture his sons about hunting and who's better at what. When the action begins I felt like I was in pet cemetary.

You can choose the classic hunter sense luckily, because the new one makes it really hard to see.

Galleries keeps this game from being a complete fail.

Hardly worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is terrible

posted by abcdfg (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Seriously, no long review needed. This game is a horrific waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cabelas series definitely improving.

posted by Knightofthe9 (GARY, IN) Jun 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've seen a lot of negative reviews on this game and I believe that in most cases they have been unfair. For those that are fans of Cabela hunting games this one has come a long way in terms of story and playability.

Sure if you want an epic game with the best story and graphics then play Assassins Creed or something that has had 4yrs in development, but the Cabelas series churns out a game, sometimes 2 in a year. Considering the time frame these games are pretty cool, especially this one.

As far as the new hunter sense goes, sure it's not good, just switch to "classic" hunter mode and you won't have any problems at all. The story is one of the best, at least this time it has a story which I thought was cool.

Basically this is a true hunting game with a difference, you often become the hunted, it's harder than previous Cabelas hunting games, you need patience and it is a lot of fun for those who like these types of games. The graphics aren't too shabby for a game that has been created within a short time frame.

If you accept this game for what it is rather than compare it to other games you'll enjoy it. The extras is pretty cool too, survival mode and trek can be quite challenging, especially if your going for trophies.

I can honestly say this game was the hardest for trophies, other Cabelas i've played, I managed to platinum first playthrough, with this one i'm on my second playthrough and still haven't platinumed it yet.

If you want an awesome game with top of the notch graphics and an epic storyline then don't bother with this one. If you like previous Cabela hunting games, and I mean that you really enjoyed playing them, then you should love this game, it's a lot of fun, and you can play up to 4 players in the extras and that is a lot of fun too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

COMPLETE FAIL!!

posted by MikeZzz (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Have you ever played games on ps1? well if you rent this game you will have the same experience. Terrible all the way around..shooting is lame, layout, graphics, story , controls, sounds effects and HUNTER SENSE!!! What were they thinking...NOT RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by gtown444 (JANESVILLE, WI) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by 1defuser (MILLINGTON, TN) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was nothing but a big disappointment. Not very creative and no options other than just walking where the paths lead you. Very reptitive and boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Whats the point

posted by XMANIA (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game i hated. I had bought this game and it didnt even work. I got a worrinty so i went to go trade it in and when i got the new one the gun wouldnt even turn on. Trust me this game is not worth it to buy or rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Wightman (ANDERSON, SC) Oct 26, 2010

Member since May 2008

2 out of 21 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

It is amazing, BTW FIRST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Campaign Sucks - Gallery Great

posted by OtHChaplain (GLENDALE, AZ) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I love the gallery part of the game. The campaign is stupid with a ridiculous story line. BUT, the gallery is great. Why not just make a really cool arcade style game. I would buy that and have hours upon hours of fun. One problem with the gallery is that you have to achieve certain things in the campaign to open some gallery levels. So you might have to go back and be tortured playing the campaign just to get a new gallery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by randomhero2022 (CASSOPOLIS, MI) Jul 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

The worst Dangerous Hunts game ever. Its has very unrealistic graphics and POOR gameplay. Mainly you just walk around through paths trying to avoid big cats, crocidiles, and snakes with hunters sense, which make sure is on classic. The big hunts like bears and other big game are in arenas with no REAL hunting what-so-ever. The multi-player is just like an arcade game but with better graphics. When i play a hunting game i like tracking and lining up a good shot, not just walking around waiting for the next predators to jump out and try to kill you.

Overally, i think cabelas could have done much better and i do not recomend this game to anyone but people who like playing big game hunter arcade games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trust me

posted by Jeemo67 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is not worth the rent because of the graphics please trust me its your fault if you didnt read the reviews.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabelas dangerous hunts 2011

posted by matthewsboys (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

fun game to play just for fun more like an arcade kind of game it would be much funerif they could make it to where you have to track down your prey or target or whatever that would be much more interesting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what you'd expect

posted by flashback67 (LA VERNE, CA) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I have been a huge fan of all the Cabela games. I was so looking foward to crawling around in the bush and mountains and sniping some unsuspecting Grizzley with a hollow point thru the skull.... however, as I put this game in and started my initial trek thru the wilderness I killed an elusive legendary Elk (which was way to quick and easy) and moments later I found myself shaking a rabid wolf from my arm as a half dozen others waited to latch on to me once he let go or got his head blowed off.

I thought, "wow", thats kinda sucked, hope that dont happen to often". But it did happen. A lot. In fact every 50-60 yards I walked I was either getting bit by the hungry hounds or mauled by a pack of Cougars.

Look, the people that made this made it way to quick and with ill regard for reality (Ill give them props on the graphics but thats it). I mean come on, why wouldnt a mountain lion drop to its knees when you have your scope dialed into its pupils? And the fact that it took a dozen rifle rounds to the heart of a bear to drop it made this game very boring and repetitive.

The bar on todays video games is way higher than what this game delivers.

Pass on this game. Not a good buy or rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrid and a disgrace

posted by Cazz (OCEANSIDE, CA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

lets just say I was a fan of this series, with the arcade games and all, but this was just terrible. I liked the older versions because of the realism... Here, A dang wild dog will take 3 blows from a perfect shotgun blast to the face before going down. Animals come at you way too fast at horrible angles, deeming it almost impossible and frustrating at moments. Hunter vision was garbage as well and it took me a while to know wth I was actually looking for since they never even explained what it was for. Even for a rent, don't even try, pass it off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by kaneb (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game is lame its nothing but a 2011 duck hunt...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cabela's hunting 2011

posted by ksasg (STANWOOD, WA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game was good but it could be longer in the stories....they sould add more to the stories .......... like they need add more not just alaska and africa and u only kill one deer in that i think it kinda suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short & Cake walk

posted by Eepzilla (PITTSFIELD, MA) Feb 22, 2011

Member since May 2010

Beat the story mode in a matter of 2-3 hours.

"Boss" fights are easy and the same for the most part.

Levels are just repeatedly walking through a way one path of wild animals trying to kill you. Easy to kill foes in predictable places.

The last "Boss" fight was easier than Super Mario Bros on the NES.

Contorls are bad if you dont have the move due to it taking to long to scroll across the screen with control.

Graphics are good.

Rent if you wanna play dont buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2011 two thumbs down

posted by ripp13 (COOKEVILLE, TN) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

This game is a real let down it has two modes a story mode and a gallery mode story mode starts off great a lot of action everything you would expect from the game and then it gets very easy the last stage is almost laughably easy. gallery modes isn't horrible but a definite disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Reasonable Game to Rent fair balance

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

First off, to enjoy the game there are 2-3 important notes:
(1) If you have Move I recommed it greatly but limit to the Shooting galleries if you want a challange than dare to use it in the storry, Story mode with move had a few issues, Mainly the lack of Zoom in for the scope rifle, YOu use the directional Move for the 2nd controller in the story and this is bulky and unless you have a gun which holds them Both in place ( Such guns only seen for same in the U.k> currently.)
(2) go to your options menu in the story mode and switch to Classis, view the default/new hunter sense. is BADD!
(3+) in general Play through the story mode or a few parts of it so you can unlock more gallaries, Using the PS3 controller makes simple work of this, Sure there are some quick reaction parts, Just adjustyour options to comfort. Mainly consider the brightness and sensetivity.

The Game in review is fair-good (5-6+) The story is challanging enough to 100%,
Story consists of a lot of differant appearance and feel in the levels, thus i'd recomend working through all of them, don't give up on some like the Fire level just beat it then you can replay latter if your trying to find all the items to 100%.
The Shooting Gallery is Linear and automated. You really Should Use Move for this. its easy enough (if callibrated right) and you are nto required to use 2nd controller to walk. Just point and Shoot! There is a plethra of galleries Enjoy them all at your convenience

There is little time restraints hlolding you back form completing everything 100% I didn't play through all the galleries, these would be Fun for groups of 2-4 though the story mode and a few galleries takes less than a week. You may just want to re-que and rent it again when you know you'll be having company whom would enjoy the shooting gallery.

Lastly as a note which might help. I never played the pregames to this, so I don't know how the 2011 compares to the '09-'10 it sounds differant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING! VERY Boring!

posted by xRenegade (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I really wouldn't even consider this to be a hunting game. The only thing you do the entire game is walk around shooting 'hazardous' things like Snakes/Crocs/etc.. Its very boring and certainly not the best Cabela's Game. You don't actually hunt, you just continue walking around in a pre-set path until something comes after you. Its very boring. I would not recommend this Game over previous Cabela games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dangerous Hunts

posted by j03eon (BRONX, NY) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

its okay... not all that... def need the (ps3 move)...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse