Rent Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009 for Wii
view large frontback

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
5.0

648 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It's good to be "Dangerous"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Just like the other Cabela games, you hunt deer, lions, snakes, and other animals.
But this time, some of the animals will strike back and the hunter becomes the hunted. You really have to be careful where you step or it's game over.
The reversal adds some tension to Dangerous Hunts 2009 (which lacked in Cabela's Legendary Adventures.)
But the thing that they haven't fixed from Legendary Adventures is the hunter sight.
When you press the 1 button on the Wiimote, you can spot glowing track and glowing animals through the dense cover. This gives you a chance to follow the tracks, and position yourself in the right spot for the right shot.
But it is still as clunky and slow as it was in Legendary Adventures. With it on, you stumble along at a very slow rate.
It would be better if the sight was instantly activated, and you can move about normally.
Another problem is the bonus missions; it's far too easy to wander off the area of play.
But I had some success in finding and shooting the target animals in Dangerous Hunts 2009.
This is one hunt you should try out (rent) before you invest money in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maybe too true-to-life?

posted by nateamus (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I have never played a straight-up hunting game in my life. I have hunted. I have not pretended to hunt. So credit or discredit me as you please on that while I continue to say...

CDH starts out kind of cool, and then you get a taste of close quarters combat and it gets really cool, thennnnn... it gets frustrating. There were more times I felt I was being attacked by ghosts of the animals I killed than I felt I had a fair chance of surviving a physical attack. It's something to do with the fact that the animals can be small and vicious, and the grass can be tall and static - not wavering at all with movement. I think they've added some unique elements to the gameplay but the fact that you can't tell something is coming at you by watching your environment is just plain ridiculous. You have to rely on your "hunter instinct" rather than obvious things, like directional indicators.

I didn't enjoy it, but I gave it a 5 for introducing some pretty cool effects and style that I've not seen in a game before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too many interruptions

posted by djd1978 (BASKING RIDGE, NJ) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Cabelas Dangerous Hunts is a decent game. The graphics are pretty good and it's smooth enough. What I found irritating about this installment compared to other hunting games I've played is that it's too structured. I'm more of a fan of buying some tags, going out in the woods and hunting at my own pace rather than being coached through each mission. I also didn't like the fact that you can't automatically go into melee mode when animals get too close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game but too short

posted by aquasquid (PRYOR, OK) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was a good game my only dissapointment was that it was soo short i had it beat within a weekend and that was only playing between cleaning up after my kids and helping my wife. so i didnt play nonstop but if i had to estimate time it took to beat it prolly around 8 or 10 hours to beat the whole game bonus missions action zones and all it was worth renting but i would not sugest buying it unless you just have the money to waste once beat it is a bore

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kinda Boring

posted by cwgrlup726 (MISSOULA, MT) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Way too much talking, not enough hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the alpha

posted by spirit611 (LAFAYETTE, IN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

my favoriteshooter! nothing wrong with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I got this game because I love the games when you go into Wal-mart and play; Also I bought the gun that goes with it. I hated it and I returned it. The graphics are okay but it just wasn't fun. I kept getting lost between every mission. I also had a hard time finding some of the animals. It is hard to walk and shoot. I wish it was more like the ones in arcades.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabella's Dangerous hunt's

posted by 18lbsboost (DANVILLE, IL) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I rated this game low only becouse i did't get to play it. When i loaded it in the wii it showed an error.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dangerous hunts for the prey...

posted by windzor (MOUNT OLIVE, AL) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Using the wii mote and n-chuck only:
game control is a little clunky and awkward for what you must do to complete challenges.
My biggest complaint is with the view angle. There are many times that the first person perspective causes you to loose the prey or other animals completely, even if they are right in front of you attacking you.
Only way to describe the effect is like wearing binoculars strapped to your head constantly. Some to the point of extreme frustration...

If you can overcome this short coming there are some fun aspects of the game. Would not ever buy, but would recommend for the hard core hunter as a try it rental FIRST!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little above average

posted by davidlee (dover, NC) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The game starts off pretty good..... in africa hunting lions. You have some pretty cool abilities in this game. You can kill an animal, then hang him in a tree as bait. You also have Hunter Sense, which enables you to find an animal by seeing his body heat. The big game is fun to hunt, particularly the grizzly bears and elephants. The smaller game, however, such as wolves, tigers, and hyenas, can be very frustrating, since it is next to impossible to see them coming, and you are often attacked by packs of them. Once they attack you, it's pretty much game over.... try again. The controls were a little hard for me to get used to, but gets easier with practice. In some stages, particularly in India, you can get lost in a maze of tall grass, and wander aimlessly for hours. The close combat with the knife was pretty exciting. Overall, this game leaves plenty to be desired, but it is somewhat entertaining and challenging. I would reccommend as a rental before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesomeness

posted by mrswis (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game gives me a huge adrenaline rush,it feels like im actually in Africa. I'll admit I jumped a few times when something came running out of nowhere.This is a pretty awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

dangerous hunts 2009.

posted by gorthog (GREENSBORO, NC) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This is a good game if you don't get motion sickness.There is a lot of spinning and tracking. I found it hard to stand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by telitaker (STRATTON, ME) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

this game rulz i love the graphics. i like going into head-to-head melee.this is the beast dangerouse hunts yet!!!! keep makin good games cabelas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hunt Not Shoot

posted by Butters7 (CAMANO ISLAND, WA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I was bored with this game very quickly. You can wander aimlessly through the scene and find only snakes and bees. The jungle scenario is especially bad. There are just too many phantom animals about. If you like the hunting instead of the shooting this might be satisfying but I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009

posted by Borkchop (FOLEY, MN) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

What a disappointment! All of the other Cabela's Dangerous Hunts were absolutely fabulous,(On the Playstation). I thought buying the Perfect Shot hand gun for the Wii Remote, and this game would be an awesome time. I was wrong. This game lacks serious quality, from the weak graphics to the horrible sensitivity aiming system. Overall I like the continuation of the animals attacking you, but it kinda just gets old after awhile. I just wish that somebody making all of these Wii shooter games would take a little more time, and make it great, not just ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i did not receve this game in the mail got other 1

posted by anthony12 (HOWELL, MI) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game looks fun but i have not got it in the mail so i am kinda disapointed because i like getting games for 8.95 a month so i would like to get aq nother one shippeed to me with in the next 5-6 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Point and click... the trigger!

posted by yourself (Battle Creek, MI) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I have to admit, I'm a sucker for shooting anything in video games- zombies, enemy soldiers, aliens, ducks. In fact, it's duck that made me want to play Dangerous Hunts in the first place; I would play Duck Hunt on the NES for hours, if I still had one.

So when DH came out for Wii I immediately went for it. I already own a Perfect Shot and the Buzz shotgun (best.shooting.accessory.- ever), and after seeing how playing Big Game Hunter with those made the experience 100% better, this game looked perfect.

So, my review: It's a lot like the other Cabela's games, you wander through the jungle/woods/tundra looking for something to kill. There's a primary objective (animal to find) and usually a side quest, but this game also throws out the random attack from snakes, hyenas, wolves, etc. to keep you off your guard. I highly recommend stopping every few paces to use your "hunter sense" to look around, just in case. Chances are if you haven't seen anything or been attacked recently, you're about to be.

GOOD: Graphics are pretty cool, the Matrix-like bullet time view is great, and there's tons of animals and environments. It'll keep you playing a long time. Also lots of weapons and upgrades to purchase. The Wiimote sensitivity has been done very well, too. Not too sloppy, not to tight.

NOT GOOD: There's a set path in every level, you can wander around to some degree but that's just frustrating after a while. And there's no good jump between levels, it's literally just "BOOM" and you're loading up the next level, no explanation of how or why or what. I expected more, especially since there seems to be a story going on around your character, but the transitions between levels just ignore that.

Overall, it's a good hunting experience and a nice retreat from regular FPS. Get out the shotgun, buy some camo cans of Busch Light and head into the woods...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good tittle

posted by james1981 (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

horrible.u end up spending way to much time walking around the trails.U have this big screen but only one way around.when u finaly get to shoot at the animals it sends u into mode were u dont really do anything.this game is horrible wish i never waisted my time.the creators should be fired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

if you are going to rent this game

posted by Jmorel44 (BRONX, NY) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Its a great game but when you play it you must stay calm or you will start getting eaten apart by the animals and don't hesitate to shoot even if you shoot the animal in the leg it will do considerable damage and remember that you can UPGRADE YOUR GUN.
I found that out after I beat the game.

TIP: When fighting an animal that likes to run circles around you. Go in circles as well so that it can't blindside you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for real-life hunters

posted by zanyterp (SALEM, MA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I had thought this would be similar to the arcade game and you would shoot the animals as they came across the screen; it is not. You need to move & try to find the animals just like you would in real-world hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

some new and old stuff

posted by 2008Flyboy (MARION, AL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

you hunt similar animals from dangerous hunts 2 great graphics it is too short and is very hard. the story is like dangerous hunts 2. no free hunting and you can't repeat levels. something cool you can do is you sometimes use the remote to escape animals. It's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »