Rent Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
3.8

1704 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dangerously Mediocre

posted by Cletus (CANTON, GA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

45 out of 50 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Cabela's has been placing its brand name on hunting games for a long time now. Each new cabela's game seems to fix the problems of its predecessor, while at the same time presenting its own set of problems. The newest addition the Cabela's family, "Dangerous Hunts '09", is no exception. The game has several good aspects, and some aspects, well, not so good.
In the game, you play as a professional hunter. Your hunting renown has spread far and wide, so you get many calls for help from around the world to thin out populations of dangerous animals. Gameplay is relatively simple; You begin each mission with an objective animal(s) that you need to find and exterminate. You have a map that you will quite often show you the direction you need to go to find the denizen. Doing this can get boring pretty quickly; but thankfully, the game contains several mini-games that somewhat spice up gameplay. One of these minigames is hand-to-claw combat, which occurs if an animal gets to close to you. To succeed, you need to press the fast-action commands that appear on screen. The game gives you way to much time to press the button, though (Someone unfamiliar with a controller would probably have time to look down and find the button). Another mini game is crossing narrow bridges, which force you to balance your character with the left stick. To further add variety to a game that is fairly dull at the core, in some missions you shoot from vehicles.
The game's graphics are completely gorgeous, especially the levels in the cold north. It is important to note, though, that although the environments look wide open, most of them are quite linear. What made me mad was the fact that there is often an invisible wall directing you in a linear fashion, rather than a physical obstacle.
This game is short and repetitive. The special features and mini games are just enough to keep you playing until the end, but I guarantee that you won't be crying as you mail it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great graphics, terrible play

posted by Kildar (WAKE VILLAGE, TX) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This was the first one of these i've played. And i have to say, while it is a somewhat realistic game, that i didnt enjoy gameplay at all. its sluggish, and hard to control. especially as someone who is used to FPS
gameplay. I was expecting something along the lines of, you stalk and hunt a critter until you get a good shot, then take it down. Instead its more like you wander aimlessly until you happen across one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay but lacking

posted by BoomKnight (GEYSERVILLE, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Cabela's made another mistake by not remaking the first dangerous hunts but instead they made another mission based one. Don't get me wrong this game is okay but its missing that desperate feeling you get when stalking. The story line was lackluster, although better than the second one it could have been spiced up a bit. Gameplay is more of a simple game instead of hunting, like a really bad Call Of Duty, if only they just remade the first one with next-gen graphics, better AI, open ended maps, more animals, and even co-op hunts they would make a lot more than they did now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time with this one

posted by furrymoose (THREE RIVERS, MI) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

probably the worst cabelas game ever, there is really not much hunting involved, mostly you are attacked, then have to push corresponding buttons to fight, physics are terrible, map environment worse, not sure how it got an 4.4, cabelas alaskan adventures is worth the rent, at least you can get in tree stands and blinds, and call in the animals. but dont get this one, i kept it for one hour and it went back in the mail. happy gaming everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how this game sucks

posted by turtlle (CONNELLSVILLE, PA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

you can drive it,s hard on normal all over it is bad don,t buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WKOFBS!!!!! Game sucks!!!!!!

posted by RORYOG (Houston, TX) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you're expecting this to be slightly like the arcade game, think again, you're in for disappointment. I guess my fault for not reading the review! This game has decent graphics and an okay game engine. Other then that, I hope you have patience, stalking prey can take forever depending on the level. Shooting and aiming are unlike any other game I've played, in that switching weapons/aiming are on the same side of the control. Which allows all sorts of damage in between changing weapons and training your aim again. Unless of course you're looking right at it. Prey will more often then not find you as you move around with your hunter vision. Then throw you into one of the worst action modes I've ever seen. Press this button to fend off a lion, that is on top of you about to eat your face, right that's the ticket. This game is definitely for hunting enthusiasts, or people that have a lot of time and like games that suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT SO MUCH

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game but was let down. Do these game developers not know the term sandbox. No real good places to hide and hunt the animals. Most of the time the animals are not free romaing, you get to a triger point and a cut sceen and then some random button pushing. I say skip it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Cabela Game Ever

posted by bobbowski (CALIFORNIA, MD) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game of the series and I have played all except Alaska.

It isn't even close to a hunting game on any level or in any game type. I have played a lot of really bad games but this ranks up there as one of the worst of them. There is no strategy involved. I may have used the scope once or twice during the entire game. I killed more animals with the butt of my gun then with actual bullets. It's like the developers (if that is what they call themselves) that created this mess wanted to turn it into a FPS or something.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone, including my worst enemy. Horrible game, to be honest I think I had the least fun playing this game than any other on the 360, which includes over 90 retail games and over 50 arcade games.

1.5/10
Positives: A few of the areas you "hunt" in look nice. If you are a completionist or gamerscore collector it can be over fairly quickly. (8-15 hours depending on skill level)
Negatives: Not all areas and levels are well designed. It's not a hunting game. Bushes have the ability to stop you from moving forward. It's not a hunting game. You don't actually need to use a scope to hunt. You don't actually need to shoot more than a few bullets to finish the career mode. The action zone is one of the dumbest ideas ever for a hunting game. What hunter in there right mind would run around a field full of lions or bears or elephants or rhinos or any of the other big cats. It's not a hunting game. Let me reiterate, if you get this game expecting a game about hunting like the previous ones in the series, forget it. This is button mash fest that asks you to run around rifle butting most of the animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so bad its funny

posted by Mattk89 (ORCHARD PARK, NY) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I actually found this entertaining because it was so bad..all this game involves is running till you get into a cutscene with an animal then mindlessly press buttons. Its funny though..but I dont think that that is what the developers were hoping for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Most unrealistic Hunting game EVER

posted by Joshin1 (WARREN, OH) Jan 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You may think this Dangerous Hunts game would be at least decent considering the previous ones were good. (or at least I thought they were) This games SUCKS! The graphics look like N64, the dialog is cheesy, the game is as boring as watching paint dry, and its not really a hunting game. You approach animals and hit A, B, Y, or X (which ever button comes up) to trigger an unrealistic cutscean mini game. A crocodile came at me, and the A button popped up. I pressed it, and the hunter you play as did a back flip over it before stabbing it in the head. What kind of hunter does that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a shame

posted by redmyst (THORNTON, CO) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thoroughly enjoyed every hunting game cabela came out till this one. Bad story, bad action, bad interface, bad everything..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cabelas big game huner 09

posted by SgtDoink (Dickinson, ND) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok.. this game has a storyline thats not that bad .. but the movement i thought was really bad .. and when you get attacked your screen turns like 80 percent red so you cant see the outside part of the screen so that makes it was harder to shoot accurately... easy acheivments though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Game

posted by neilson (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

13 out of 22 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I wasn't really expecting much from this game so it says a lot when I still found myself disappointed. The gameplay works well (although actually "tracking" something usually happened by coincidence for me), and that's about where the positives end. You spend most of the time trying to move through environments in which many pathways are impassable. In order to make sure that you're even heading in the correct direction you have to pause the game and look at your map. This should have done with a mini-map or compass included on the HUD somehow. And finally the hunting. It's fun shooting animals, but there is no penalty for missing. As an escaped target gets closer you are prompted with a series of button presses (a la God of War) to begin a pre-animated melee kill. Overall, this game tries too hard to be something it isn't and misses the scope of the hunting genre (no pun intended).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by Ax1994 (ROCKFORD, IL) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME SUCKED, LEVELS TOO SHORT, TOO CONFUSING, THIS GAME SUCKED

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WEAK at best

posted by bigwinn (POND CREEK, OK) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Cabelas needs to stick to selling merchendice or invest some serious money into their video game development. I understand ACTIVISION is the maker perduicer or whatever, but Cabelas needs to say make a quality game or get someone else to do the video games for them. Worst hunting game I've ever played. Deer Hunter for the pc 12 years ago was way better than this. You dont even hunt, you run around until you see somthing to shoot or until your attacked. Bates, calls, rattels don't work. If you miss or startle the animals you just chase them around the map till you can shoot them. The animals that wont kill you will run through you if your in the way then sometimes they will turn around and go right by you again. Cabelas really took a shot in the nards with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's Poorly Executed Hunts 2009

posted by evanpage2 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've played most of the Cabela games except for Trophy Bucks. This will be the last one I play. Each one seems to improve graphically, while becoming much more frustrating and bland to play. There is no more radar (except a general map in the pause menu.) The missions have become almost entirely button pushing, with the occasional shot fired at the end. It is so bad that even a head shot to some targets don't hurt it unless you have triggered the button-pushing cut-scene. Its not about hunting as much as finding check points and trying to re-orient your self after a cinematic mini-game.

This game is a must-avoid, and on a scale if 1 to 10, earns a -11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good story lines

posted by matt16 (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played the other Cabelas hunting games and this one was by far my favorite. the suspense and thrill it left me was one i hadn't experienced with these games before. towards the end i felt as if some of the maps and stories were repetitive but overall its a fun game and i would recommend this to friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by mlambert66 (CRAB ORCHARD, WV) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

cant believe i wasted my time on this game its bad u never really even get to hunt

DONT GET THIS ONE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good...

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not bad, not great either. The gameplay is fun and pretty easy. Not bad graphics. The only real set-back is that the game isn't very long at all, you can beat it in just a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

cabelas dangerous hunts 2009

posted by nnla14 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

worst game ever if u bought it even rent it dont waste precious moments on gaming u will regret it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just plain bad....

posted by willisfran (MERIDIAN, ID) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was not at all what I thought it would be about.. Since when does hunting down furry animals have to have a story line? Although some aspects were indeed fun, others were, like I said "just plain bad". I think Cabela's could have done a little bit better of a job on the U.I. just for the fact that it was just so generic. The grapics were pretty epic but the non open world killed that when I discovered that Africa has a invisible wall!!! Turns out the open world grapics are not so open world after all. Thought for sure that this game was gonna be better but I sent it back the same night I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really Really

posted by Painamatio (LORAIN, OH) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now I know why i rent games.I want to throw my tv out the window on this on and I swear i herd my xbox laughing at this bucket O poo.
Glad I did pay for this game thought it was suppoed to be a hinting game not a lame Fps.I think the developer should not play guitar Zero before they get a freakin ideal.for instance you shoot a snake in the distance IN THE HEAD and somehow the headless snake still attacks so you can tap a button to freedom LAME. Same goes for other shoot fired at other game you shot it you killed it you know it but they have to do the controller version Of guitar hero for you to actully kill the thing.So if you do play this thing beware of zombie snake moose and bear OH MY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dangerous Hunts 09

posted by tKILLtYA (HURON, SD) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DO NOT rent this game. I cant even believe it made it out of testing. Way to linear and way to much action. What happened to stealth in the hunt?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So basically it is not fun

posted by kojakstar (COOPER, TX) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It did not feel like hunting. It felt like a FPS with animals. And the whole log crossing... how weak was that...?!?! Not fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009 Review.

posted by sadstatue (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009 is a bad game that can be made into a better game just by taking out some of the annoying bugs while playing. One of the most annoying of all is that you don't have the freedom to roam where ever you want, For example if you're walking in the wilderness there are invisible walls blocking you from where you want to go, so you have to go around the invisible wall to get to where you want to go. Another annoying bug is that you run really slow, so when you're hunting it may bore you cause it takes forever to get where you want to go. The graphics could be better too. The storyline is really short and you can probably beat the game in a hour and a half if you play it nonstop. The storyline is really cheesy, and the voice acting sucks. i wouldn't recommend anyone renting this game. I regret ever renting it. The game will probably be fun for the first few levels but after so, it gets boring.

However, there are some fun things to do in Cabela's Dangerous Hunt 2009. There are some cinematics in which you get to take part in. For example if there a lion coming at you, it will turn slow -mo and you get the chance to press a button it tells you to press on the screen and certain actions will happen. There are also things like balancing you're character when he crosses a log bridge above a raging river and many more but this game has more downs then ups, so please nobody rent this game if you do you'll regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse