Rent Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009 for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2009

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
3.7

1055 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

the game is iight

posted by Patryk (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Feb 28, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the game is ok even tho it could be better. i was expecting something way better after last parts of it. The game is good for people who like walking around forest or desert for like 20 min looking for animals to kill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cabela's Should Be Ashamed Of Itself

posted by shooter2 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. I have limited hours for playing games and this was a huge waste of my time. I am really surprised that Cabela's would attach their name to such an inferior game as this. It would really be worth their while to have a company develop such a game in the 50 dollar range that would allow the character to move over a larger terrain map while giving the character the abilities that a real hunter has such as jumping, running, climbing steep terrain, etc. etc. etc. The character in this game is so limited in abilities as to be completely unrealistic and therefore extremely frustrating and unfun to play. I've been buying Cabela's fishing and hunting clothes and equipment for years and am very happy with the quality of their stuff but they put their name on a real dud this time. If you are into wasting your time and being frustrated all the time get this game. If not, stay away as if it were a grizzly bear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

short hunt

posted by darkmantf (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a fun and fast game. Very short career mode. not many weapons either. It was worth renting, but i wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't even rent this game!!!!!

posted by tony1973 (OTTAWA, IL) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

26 out of 31 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Don't even bother renting this game! I have played all the other Cabela's hunting games and I must say this one is the worst out of them all. If you have an HD tv then the graphics are ok, but if you don't then they really suck! It is really bad when you get the game and 5 hours later you beat it! I can't believe Cabela even put their name on this game. At least on the other Cabela hunting games you could at least change the zoom level for the rifle scopes, you can't even do that for this game. If you don't believe me then go ahead and go out and rent it or buy it, but I wouldn't even waste my time or money on this one again. Cabela you really need to go back and take another look at the old hunting games and so what you really did wrong with this one. All the other Cabela hunting games had better graphics and the difficulty on them where so much better. They have this newest game beat hands down in my book.
But like I said go ahead and get the game and see for yourself. I'm just giving you a warning..
If you like it then so be it but, if you don't then I would have to say " I told you so"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No good

posted by lownbreezy (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Games that are priced at $39.99 are never good but for some reason I tried this one. That was a mistake. I give activision credit for pricing a bad game accordingly though. Graphics are poor, gameplay is not good etc... My biggest issue is the actual action in the game. Once your seen (which is always)you spend all your time spinning in circles trying to find where the attack is coming from. Rarely do you find the animal 1st and actually hunt anything. Usually it is walking, hear a roar from somewhere, and the screen turning red from damage being inflicted. When you get done spinning to find your animal its not even fun because you just shoot it at 4 yards away and start walking again to do it all over. Do yourself a favor and pass on this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game

posted by normanjr44 (SAYRE, PA) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i honestly have to say that this was the worst game i had ever played i feel like i had waisted my money. i played this game for about 20 or 30 minutes the day i got it and by the next day i shipped it back. Please do your selfs all a favor. DONT RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dumbest Game EVER

posted by Mikajay (MARSHALLVILLE, OH) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

To consider renting this game is a waste of life energy better spent sorting samples of belly button lint. Lame is to kind. Only adjectives to crude to print would correctly describe this atrocity. Activision should beg us all for forgiveness for even putting their name on this trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game has got be a joke!

posted by REINFECTA (SAND LAKE, NY) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

do not waste your time..........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Have you no shame,Activision?

posted by Nobama2012 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

My friend told me this was an AWESOME game and that I should put it at the top of my game Q. He also thinks Michael Moore makes credible documentaries so I should have known better. I read the predominantly negative reviews yet I rented it anyway and I'll never get the 2 hours back I wasted playing this horrific abomination of a video game. Avoid this game like you would an Uwe Boll movie!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Garbage

posted by Tyler0562 (KEY WEST, FL) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All i can say about this game is don't waste space on your Q for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad, Mini-game ruined it.

posted by Mrolli1 (AMISSVILLE, VA) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first look, The game is decent. Graphics are pretty, environments are decent, Weapons & ballistics are somewhat realistic, and at FIRST the basic controls are easy enough to pick up. However, with that said, The PS3 version of this game takes advantage (if you can say that) of the 6 Axis Control. When you are being attacked by any of the predators in the game, it launches a mini-game, and its HORRIBLE... Wow is it bad. One of the first Hunts you go on is in Alaska, where you spend 30 minutes tracking a bear, shooting moose, starving wolfs, and talking to Park Rangers along the way. When you finally find this bear, instead of using one of the 3 weapons you have instead you are forced, to wrestle with this bear... In order to succeed, you'll need to move the controller in a few pre-instructed movements, Which is the end of my review, due to the fact that no matter how many times I tried, the movements are impossible..... Ended up shaking the controller like a Parkinson's patient. In the end, if your looking to work on your patience while throwing a PS3 controller all over the room, this is your game. If you want a HD hunting experience... Put the remote down, pick up a rifle and go outside.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best

posted by RogerC (BOISE, ID) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not saying that it's a bad game. Personally I like games with better graphics. I really enjoyed playing it though. The hunts were real enough, but the animals all looked fake. I understand that it's a game and no matter what they will look fake enough but the rendering was ehhh.. I recomend changing the trigger button, because (R2 & L2) are a little touchy on the new controllers. I scared myself to death multiple times.. lol.. anyway i rated it a five because of the rendering being so bad and the lame story line.. Also it was a little short in length of the game. But it does have other missions and hunts that you can do that are a little more intense than the story itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Control Options

posted by BigWilly32 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The concept, graphics, and game style are really nice. The fact that you are only offered two controller setup options makes game play horrible. I sent the game back after only 20 minutes of play due to not being able to set up the controller how I wanted it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best

posted by teteyyreyr (DACULA, GA) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

coolgame best evvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvver

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME GAME

posted by 159753 (Saint Paul, MN) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game was awsome steyed up til 3:30 to beat the seasons mode. I like the automatic rifel you get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

so so could be much better

posted by jcca77 (GLEN ROCK, PA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It is just OK... has a lot of flaws. Graphics could be better... when trying to shot something on the move everything get blurry. Does not really portray real hunting. If you try to sneak up on something or get by something it always sees you no matter how stealthy you try to be. Has a fun factor but a lot of flaws they should fix.
Should you rent it? There are a lot of other games coming out. choice is yours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

warning ! do not play on your shiii t tube tele

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

the cutt scenes look awful some times the game play is fun and the graphics of the game play is really not that bad compared to call of duty 2 which was made by infinity Ward which was a thousand times better then call of duty 3 but anyways play in 720p it looks pretty good so if you have a standard tv your out of look go find another game this game looks choppy pixel la ted at 480p the truth is i enjoy this game its not bad at all you kind of get into and that say you cant bee sneaky yes you can i have still killed all of my animals with one bullet in the head there is nothing wrong with the controller and the game play is fast and fluid even more so when you are beating hyenas up in africa with the end of your gun shaft it really gets you on the edge of you seats so i repeat once more do not play on shiii t tv that means no standard but h.d. thank you and enjoy by the way i am defiantly buying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

awful

posted by felicia18 (LELAND, IL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is nothing of what i have come to love and expect from cabellas games. movement is dificult from the start such as moving through forests jungles and other various hunting grounds is very limited and difficult to navegate the game did have some very fun side missions and entertaining hunts but i do not reccomend for anyone who has enjoyed past cabella games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste Of Time

posted by DrTime (OSAGE BEACH, MO) May 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

Grizzlies on the cover and your first hunt is a Red Deer. I am so glad for this service GameFly offers. I would have been really PO'd if I had bought this pathetic excuse for entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the reviews are right

posted by funonz1 (LEOMINSTER, MA) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

the first few cabelas dangerous hunts were good this one and the last one stink you cant free roam you have to stay on the path there is no thought involved. the makers are just lazy. i wouldnt play these games again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

"Have To Be Patient"

posted by John7997 (KEYESPORT, IL) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is fun, but it has its ups and downs first off it doesn't take that long to finish, two it's fun if you don't die every time when a cougar or a bear comes out of know where and kills you. But the worst thing is you hunt for the same animals it says on the box there is like twenty animals you can kill that is a lie here are some animals I remember from the game i killed. Red deer, Bear, Cougar,Elephant, Lion, Hyena, Alligator, Hippopotamus, Jaguar, Cheetah, and even those stupid hissing snakes and Constrictors. and the problem about the snakes are you don't know where they are because they don't show up on hunter sense, and if you get bit by one you'll die in a minute unless you get slugged by another animal. O.K. now where done with the bad parts lets get to the good parts. The graphics are pretty good, and the weapon choice is fine, my favorite part of this game is when you get to beat the game and you get all these guns that you haven't noticed were there the whole game because I realized I had like 20 guns/pistols in my inventory there is also this .700 rifle that will kill anything in maybe two shots with a elephant in the heart. but i was suprized either the animals are stronger in the game or they don't give the weapons credit. I wouldn't consider buying this game but I would rent it first and see how you like it but it is a pretty good game other wise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If you want to play this one and the 2010 then....

posted by TLC579 (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

If you want to paly both then make sure you play 2009 before 2010 or you will be very disappointed. But if you play this first you will love it. I still wish they would make a PS3 Firearm controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cabelas what has gone wrong

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Okay so this game is bad it is a hunting game i don't really like hunting but hunters beware of bears and this bad game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not very good

posted by bobo421 (ANAHEIM, CA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

my dad ordered this one and i thought it would be cool you know
like those hunting games at some arcades but no not even close it was very frightening so if it was up to me i would rent it for a day or so and then ship it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Old was better

posted by MD0814 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

on ps2< these were one of the greatest games. Now, they're terrible. The open world environment makes it difficult to find your objective. the shooting is off. Just a poor performance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse