Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012 for Wii
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.5

161 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not Dangerous, but Still a Lot of Fun

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 4, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This version of Cabela may not be as dangerous as the last two versions, but it doesn’t mean it’s no fun.
Cabela’s Big Game Hunter 2012 has a story mode like last year’s installment. This time around, you play as a hunter in a contest to see who can bag the biggest and most game (certain animals like birds, deer, bears, and so on).
That mode is divided into 15 levels. Each level requires that you shoot certain animals with a certain weapon – and sometimes from a certain spot, or hit the animal in a certain location like the spine, heart or lungs.
Getting through the main mode of the game isn’t too tough – I’d say about five to six hours. Problem is, once you played three levels, you’ve played the rest; there isn’t anything new or fresh in the later levels. And there’s not much reason to go back and give this mode a second run through once I was finished all 15 levels.
Which is why this installment has another mode, the Gallery Mode. Here, up to four players compete as a team – or go against one another in thee mini games.
The first mini game is the Arcade mode which is the main mode, but on rails. Players have to shoot the right targets with the proper guns to score points. Most points wins.
The second mini game is Reflex. Here, you have to shoot specific animals – and you get more points if you hit them in a proper order. Most points wins.
The third mini game is a shooting gallery type where cardboard cutouts of animals pop out, and you shoot certain animals while avoiding others. Most points wins.
These three modes can really liven up a party – something not many hunting games are known for. If only the Story Mode had more excitement in it. Cabela’s Big Game Hunter is a definite rent, and fans of hunting games ought to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Nov 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this hunting game! You get to use stealth, marksmanship, cool guns, bows, and you get to hunt animals that are realistic and can smell and hear you. REALLY FUN! I totally recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

50% 50%

posted by jacob52 (SLIPPERY ROCK, PA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok first it all depends on if you like hunting or danger
im a danger person so not my favorite hunting game, but if you like normal hunting then you could like this game
. what i like is dangerous hunts 2011, but if you like normal hunting then you should try renting this game and see if you like it:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

never got to play it...

posted by jennasaurus925 (AUBURN, MA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

It should have mentioned that you needed a nunchuk to play. I couldn't find mine, so I never got to play which was a bummer. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Big game;)

posted by Hdi (STUART, IA) May 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I'll show you big game if you want to see big game!;) I played this and I saw a walrus and I shot its testicles off and its grandma kicked my buttox 10/10!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like it

posted by baseballbeast44 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I like this game because it has a lot of variety of guns, animals, and locations. I also like how there's a storyline. But the things I don't like about it is that if you shoot female game you have to restart. I also think it's kinda scary when the cougars or other dangerous animals jump out at you. This is a very good game and I would recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

too fast

posted by kal123 (KALKASKA, MI) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

This game is too fast .I don't have enuf time too shoot and reload .And you need a nuckuck to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Need other accessories

posted by junkmail (ODELL, OR) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I think this would be a good game, better than 2010 in story mode, but it's not a good rental because you need a new accessory to play it right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good

posted by allison86 (KENT, WA) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

its fun but a little to short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »