Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.0

804 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING

posted by shurman007 (RADFORD, VA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first it was good but eventually it felt like repitition

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sucks

posted by Jackel249 (MILTON, FL) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What in the world happened to Cabelas games as of late? Where did the "Hunting" go ? this game and many others in its line have pretty much turned into "lets kill everything in sight" rather hunting .... VERY VERY BAD GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by tillerman7 (CINCINNATI, OH) May 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enjoyed the concept of the game. However, it was very slow and I lost interest fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be a LOT better..

posted by gamerlimited (DUNNELLON, FL) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The story mode is easy, the achievements are easy, and the gallerias are dumb. The controls are different, having LB to reload feels a little different. The loading between hunts has a commentary about what is going on, but the problem is you hear it every time and it gets really annoying, really fast. The sensitivity wasn't right for me. I tried to change it up and down but it didn't seem right especially with the predator ambushes. The story line is a little off as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great graphics, sub-par gameplay

posted by jimmy_pop15 (WILLIS, TX) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the graphics and realistic animals. however, I felt the game didn't give you any freedom. It has a story mode and an arcade mode. I played through the whole story mode in about 3 hours. It's pretty much just shoot everything that moves, not very realistic at all. You hunt on a "path" instead of walking around and choosing an animal to shoot and how you want to shoot it, lure it, etc. And don't get me started on the arcade. i played it for about 20 seconds and quit. Totally unrealistic in both modes to call itself a simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

IT'S FUN BUT TO SHORT.....

posted by Qball69 (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I give the game a 7 because its good but..... I liked the game and all but it was short. it fell short of what i was expecting. I was hopeing for more of a real hunt. something with a challenge it was kind of easy. the story was all right . What ever happened to the real hunting games gone. Ohh and it took me 3hrs. and game was done. got 1st in every hunt. but just rent don't buy its good for the first few hrs then it gets old quick. but its still a good game for the day. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Game

posted by rockstarz1 (WINDERMERE, FL) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The game lived up to my expectations of the series. I think the game is fun to play, but the mini hunts before you reach your destinations get a little repetitive. Is there a bird or fox left in the world when I'm finished?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great game...BUT.......

posted by chillindylan (LA HABRA HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

this game is very fun...but there are some problems..PROS:good graphics, lots of action, nice shooting...CONS:story is 2 hours long...after the story mode ur done with the game...only 4 diferent guns......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Graffics...short game.

posted by GiantJesse (STEVENSVILLE, MT) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overall this was a great game. Really great graffics and amazing settings. I liked that it started in Montana and the bow hunting aspect was really cool. The only complaint I have about the game is that its story mode is short, and after you finish the store mode there is not much to do. It is a renter and I'm glad I had gamefly where I could knock this game out in a couple of hours and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Big Game of the Year?

posted by mlc1018 (ALAMEDA, CA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Cabela's Big Game series is steadily developing into a game of annual installments that keep you wondering "wow - how will the development team top this experience next year?" 2012 is no exception.

2012 offers the riveting story of an elite hunting society entrenched in deep internal conflict over who will win the group's ultimate Big Game hunting challenge. Not only will you face the terrors of nature's most fearsome predators, but you must also deal with the human conflict of the world's greatest hunting competition - a competition which has life and death consequences not only for your prey, but for you and your comrades as well. Easily the most human experience of any hunting game thus far.

There are those who criticize the Cabela's series for the lack of legitimate online multiplayer options. To them I ask why bother with the bore of online human opponents? With the animal AI in this game, the enemy is a superior foe to any five-year-old against whom the Call of Duty or Halo series will place you.

Play this game and you'll be forgetting about headshots and bullet time - you'll be all about heartshots and hunter sense. If you're Big enough for the Game, then Big Game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever!

posted by Warbie56 (KALISPELL, MT) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of hunting/shooting games but this one was poor. The game looked good but the animals were improperly named( elk was named red deer and that was in Montana I live in Montana what a huge oversight). To add to it there was no challenge, very easy with no difficult settings to ramp up the skill levels. I felt like I was at the local bowling alley playing buck hunter .........needless to say I returned it ASAP! Do not wast your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cabela's Lame Duck

posted by Pawneejim (FRESNO, CA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Big Game Hunt 2012 was a great disappointment! This is the first one I've played in years. I think the best one ever produced was Big Game Hunt 2005. NOW that was a game with challenges in it. It was for Xbox but is a hard game to beat in compearsion to 2012. Come on Cabela lets try and due better in the FUTURE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by bakersfield77 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

how good this game is

posted by tridrops (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this is a very good game i loved it so much and the story line is good so i dont want to rune the game for u so get it and see the epicness that is cabelas big game hunter 2012 :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

big game dissapoitment

posted by humanhigh21 (GHEENS, LA) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

very boring and you spend more time loading than you do hunting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

well....

posted by jcgeib2010 (CANTON, MI) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

it was better than trophy bucks for sure...but i can remember a time when cabellas used to produce games that were more like a realistic hunt. sure the graphics weren't that great and there was no story line but who cares? as a hunter the most important thing to me in a hunting game is realism...not some lame story or an arcade shoot out blasting away at multiple animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012

posted by mike092066 (SALEM, MA) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Not as challenging as you would be led to believe but a fun game anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great game!

posted by synstershadow42 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is amazing it lasts almost 3 hours and the arcade hunts lasts half an hour!!! This game is a must rent for anyone with nothing else to do! I have never shot the same animal over and over again so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »