Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012 for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2012

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

509 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best hunting title I have ever played

posted by alin0s (PALATINE, IL) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all I have never played a hunting game so call me naive, the closest thing I have played is a hunting game arcade cabinet and those don't compare at all to this!

Grapics are AMAZING

Shooting is easy and simple built in tutorial makes this simple

The game is very realistic while still maintaining a slight feel of arcade style shooting

Gameplay is plain enjoyable, it can be high stress or casual, you make the call!

those are the pros

cons

the noise you make can break the game for you gotta be quiet and slow which if your looking for fast pace, this can drive you crazy… you get game over / have to restart sections often if your not quiet and precise. but this is a simulation game people

Theres a lot of loading especially if you screw up!!! so dont screw up!

The number 1 screw up you will make is shooting female game, use detection mode CIRCLE to avoid this but even then you will sometimes think red is enemy blue is dont shoot… they should offer to invert the colors. but no.

Also be very careful with your shots. you need to make sure to use the scope and take your time, the animals dont move fast when just grazing but if you screw a shot up, it means starting the section over again! Or lots of reloading your gun!

Once you get past the tutorial it can be pretty difficult. The realism again is there in the gun shopping. Animal runs are horrendously difficult use detection mode period…

you can really appreciate this game for its graphics, just free roaming the wilderness is amazing. it is photo realistic. if you cant hunt or dont have a gun this is probably the next best thing

Graphics 10
Gameplay 7 hurt by the annoying restarts
Frustration level 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A realistic review

posted by The_Man_TLC (NEW DURHAM, NH) May 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So the start of the game is pretty cool and it got me interested. I started off with the 2 player mode with a buddy we found that the gun they sell with the sensor with this game is not the best controller to use as as the PS move was the better choice. Game graphics wernt that bad but they wernt that great either. The game play was alright for the first few playes but after playing for awhile I really wasn't looking forward to it. Not a great storyline and the upgrade your weapons well not that many upgrades. I would rent this only I don't think I would buy it because it gets old fast. great game to have friends over with and play with them for scores.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did it get worse???

posted by K2incog (PLAINFIELD, IL) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I must admit after the first 2 levels I sent the game back. It is the worst hunting game I have ever played. It is more of a "duck hunt" style hunting game. I'm not sure what is going on with the hunting games, but a few years ago I remember playing more "free-roam" style hunting games. Much more realistic, much more enjoyable.

Don't waste your time with this one, it is horrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BORING~

posted by ScottieB (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is VERY slow paced and repetitive! It takes a while to reload if you do not complete a mission too! Not worth your time!!! Controls are awkward .... you have to cycle through your gear in order to get to the gun you need!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never

posted by tkhunter (LAWRENCEBURG, KY) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is so boring it aint funny there is only 5 guns !!!!!and the story line is somthing a 7 year old cud wright

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ZZZZ thats all I can do

posted by NotabigWOW (NEWTON, KS) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that this game was extremely disappointing. I started playing and it really wasnt anywhere close to being amazing. Long way to go before they could ever get my vote. I mean honestly in this game you have to get so many points to be able to improve the guns and even then its not worth it. I mean putting something along the lines of what actually goes on like hunting seasons and a trophy wall might actually help make this game better. I mean competition is great and all but at least make it interesting and fill it with a bunch of zzzzzzzzzzz's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bring it back...

posted by flybygamer (MADAWASKA, ME) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I played it for about an hour until...you can't do what you want to do? Like hunt. Really...just bring it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Terrible

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Just plain terrible. I gave it a 5 because it's the only hunting game. LOL. If there was more to choose from I'd have given it a flat 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not terrible, but pretty bad

posted by CodeRed979 (TUCSON, AZ) May 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

I was expecting this game to be as good as the ones before it, but unfortunately this game was pretty weak.

Pros:
1. Plenty of animals to hunt
2. Pretty good story line
3. Good weapon customization

Cons:
1. Gets boring quick
2. PS2 quality graphics
3. Somewhat laggy at times
4. Very repetitive

Overall I rated this game at a four. I honestly wouldn't recommend this game unless you are a die hard Cabela's gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

big game hunter 2012

posted by lambert420 (TOLONO, IL) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

to eazy needs more hunts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its Good Expected Something More

posted by rjdingding (PERRYTON, TX) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

i liked the game the way it shows where to hit the animal i like how they added in the bird hunting too......but i liked the free roam i thought this was going to be a beast game its good i like it but its not as good as i thought it would be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by onkkathist (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

lame. absolutely lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »