Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010 for Wii
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.1

471 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

It's pretty decent, but at the same time lacking.

posted by Mumserpal (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another solid Cabela's game!

This game has a "story" mode, where you play Jack Wilde, the latest initiate of a secret hunting order. You're tasked with hunting specific animals under specific conditions. Usually a "boss battle" of sorts ensues at the end of the level, between you and an apex predator. You are rewarded for your accuracy, distance from the animal, what gun you used, and whether or not you hit the "sweet spot" in the vitals. To open new levels you have to unlock them by accumulating enough points, and the fastest way to do that, is by getting gold medals. During one of these levels you will encounter spots where you can take a break to hunt rabbits, or ducks ala "Duck Hunt". The game rewards you paying attention to your surroundings. By investigating scrapes, tracks, and droppings you are rewarded with extra points. Do take care, because sometimes the environment around you, can be just as hazardous as an angry bear. You'll eventually lock a few new guns during the game. These missions are very finite in the amount of playability they offer.

The real replay value lies in the Wii-exclusive shooting galleries. There's not a lot of variety, but its hot-seat fun for up to four players, that is sure to please! The most challenging of these galleries are the ones where you fend off bears, and cougars.

They really put effort into the Wii version, the graphics are above average, and the controls work well. There are even options for the Wii Zapper, and Cabela's own "Top Shot" rifle attachment, which makes the Wii Zapper look quite puny.

I have two main gripes about this game, one is the dialog. There shouldn't be so much, its a hunting game! Second is that the shooting galleries could have stood to be fleshed out some more. Too much emphasis on Jack Wilde's exploits and not enough game.
It got a 7 instead of an 8, because at one point you'll only ever break it out when there's company over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best wii game ever!

posted by mariolover (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Before i start this review i have on thing to say. You need the gun accsesory to play the game the right way. The game is a realistic shooter. And for those of you who complain about getting killed by the 3 animals attacking you at once mission. You need a special gun. You need to be a certain rank to obtain. Anyways it is so realistic. It is full of great graphics, real guns, everything you want in a shooter.I played it for hours on end. If you are looking for the best cabela ever you have found it. The medals are hard to obtain. The animals scare easily. Leveling up isn't easy or grueling. Guns are powerful. Scope show vitals. What else could you want in a shooter? If you rent it again you need the gun accsesory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

posted by ALVYROCKS (COSHOCTON, OH) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was ok. I got to kill huge animals and had lots of Big kills.The maps they make are the best!I had a realy fun time playing on multiplayer with my brother and dad.If you like good hunting games you got to get Cabela Big Game Hunter 2010!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

worth the rental

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

first of all, this is not a hunting simulator. it's more an arcade shooter where you shoot animals instead of space aliens, spies, or dinosaurs. not a bad concept, but the execution lacks depth.

all in all, it's still a pretty good game, despite the fact that there is little to no challenge. sadly, even the last hunt only took me a dozen tries to complete. the most trouble i had was when i got drunk and shot my gun off accidentally, warning my prey. drunk in reality; you can't get drunk in the game. at least if you could that would make it more interesting.

solid 5. rent it if you were considering it. do not buy unless you feel you absolutely can't live without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Till The Lasy Hunt

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is Good until you get to the Very Lasy Hunt. Then the game is impossible to finish. There is no way to Kill 3 Animals that are attacking you. There is no way to kill even one of them before you are dead because there being 3 of them they attack at different times and nothing You Shoot them with can stop them even after 4 shots. As Far as This NOT being a Simulation The Critic was right it isnt and I dont think it is supposed to be. A Good game if you dont mind not being able to finish it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rent it, don't buy it

posted by smallhalo (BELLEVILLE, IL) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was actually fairly entertaining but lacked a lot depth to the game. as an average gamer i was able to complete it when in a couple days of playing. I didn't get gold medal on every hunt but I could see some with a stronger interest in hunting going back through the game to get the highest ranks possible.

Being that it sells in the local stores at $50 I am glad I didn't buy this game but renting was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An all right rental, not a keeper....

posted by down4six (Alamosa, CO) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As with most of the reviews so far, I agree it's a good rent. It's fun to play, and you don't have to be a hunter to enjoy. It is not a hunting game, it s a shooter, and there more emphasis on hitting more of the "cover areas" than shooting the animal themselves. The big issue is no option to put my gun away. I played without either of the gun accessories, so every time I flinched with the wii-mote, my screen would go crazy! (I did turn down the sensitivity. which helped but did not solve). Kind of hard to stalk around when you can't see where you are going. On the plus side, I did like the animal info and shot view where you aim on the organs to get the bonus. Overall, I like the game, but was left wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I loved it!!!!!!

posted by hhhajags33 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved It!!! Great game! It kept me intertained for hours at a time. I guratnee that you'll love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!!!

posted by hunthog (OGDEN, UT) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is awesome! it is the ultimate hunting game... I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

o.k. game

posted by pat9635 (BASTROP, LA) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

i a fun game for a little bit see at first u will think its fun but after a while it sucks because u do the same thing over and over again like u kill a deer but first u have to track it easy so u do that over and over that gets boring so if u like doing stuff over and over again get the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty entertaining stuff

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

gameplay doesnt really change, all u do is track animals and shoot em, but it is pretty addicting to get to new locations and kill different animals. worth a rente..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »