Rent Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Cabela's Big Game Hunter 2010

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.1

1654 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun while it lasted...

posted by ThisGuy13 (CARNATION, WA) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Despite the Fact that it was a very short game having only twelve levels which should only take about 2-4 hours this was an exciting game.

The Good,
A Decent amount of weapons
The hunting enviroments
the minigames
how you actually have to be stealthy

The Bad,
The graphics aren't to great
short gameplay that you can repeat but gets old fast
Moving around is hard to do ( you cant walk of of a 2 foot cliff) and slow
they set up the hunting enviroment for you, there are animals in set spots and are always there and you have to follow what they tell you to do you cant just wait in a tree or track any animal you want to.
You can stand right next to an animal without spooking them and they just stare then after about a minute it says oh no! they spotted me!

Over all good game decent graphics something you would want to play for a good time but that doesn't last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not to bad

posted by gamerxc (BENTON, AR) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game wasn't all that bad but it could be better. for one it does't let you free roam and find animals on your own like that one cabelas game did. but i give this game a 7 do to the lack of free roam. it is fun to play but it gets boring after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent game to rent

posted by Iceman2383 (SENATOBIA, MS) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're looking for a hunting game that requires skill this isn't the game for you. Everything you hunt in the game is laid out for you and easily found and killed. The levels are small and in some they crammed the hunts in the same areas. No tree stands or deer blinds, Just you and your guns on foot which isn't a big deal but I always like the hunting games with tree stands.

The graphics are surprisingly good, Every time I came to a river or stream it looked so good I wanted to go for a swim. If you're looking for easy achievements then this is definitely your game, I've had this game for 3 days and I already have them all.

Overall I enjoy this game a lot and recommend it for a rent. Don't go and buy it until you've rented it. But I'll warn you the replay value is non existent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Would have been better as a parody

posted by DDDLOTS (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First let me clear up that I'm not a hunter. Closest I've ever come is shooting birds and squirrels with a BB gun. So I obviously didn't rent Big Game Hunter 2010 because I wanted a good hunting simulator. I wanted to shoot animals and get easy gamerscore. And I did. So in that regard the game was good. Definitely not worth purchasing but a good rental for sure.
While playing the game I couldn't help but get the feeling that the game would appeal to a broader audience if it was a parody. For instance you're not supposed to shoot animals in the head. That basically contradicts everything video games have taught me. Also you find animal droppings on a regular basis, that's funny already. Lastly your guide Nathan is an omnipresent voice in your head guiding you on each hunt even though he isn't there. So you're telling me that hunters have access to technology that permits satellite tracking of individual humans and animals in the most remote locations around the globe...freaky.
I have only a few gripes. First the game assumes you know a thing or two about hunting weapons and can intelligently select the appropriate weapon for each hunt. You know what they say about assumption? Well I hope you do because Gamefly won't let me write it.
Lastly a little more production value would have gone a long way. The environments are very realistic so why does Jack wear the same camo for each environment? Why am I still tracking animal signs when I can clearly see the animal 20 yards away? I blame Activision for their sequel driven mentality. Activision is the devil!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cabelas big game hunter 2010

posted by woods244 (SAVANNAH, GA) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have always been a fan of these types of games . I love the cabelas's series. this game was sure to follow. The games graphics are very well made, and the story line is not too long but not too short. The choice of guns is pretty awesome, there a lot of gun's to chose from.

there are only a few things that troubled me while playing this game. one was that most of the animals looked like a fuzzy teddy bear than an actual animal. the other problem is that if you happen to miss there is almost no chance of hitting that animal before it runs away. all of these are very acute problems that should not affect the level of enjoyment all that much. this game is an awesome game all together, and also is the most realistic hunting game on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, Fast Paced Hunting Game

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found out about this game from a demo on X Box Live. I was impressed by the graphics, and it seemed fun so I had to check it out. The graphics are actually really good. Only problem is, they're so good that it kind of lags it out in spots. It never gets below 30 FPS, so it's not too choppy but coming from a PC gamer, I hate playing games below 60 FPS. I've never played any of the earlier versions of this game before but I remember some of the older hunting games that came out for the PC awhile back and you had to run around looking for 1 deer for like an hour. This game isn't like that. I actually beat the game in less than 5 hours, and probably more like 4 hours. You actually unlock later levels by earning XP on your kills. You also unlock better weapons by gaining levels. It's not hard to level either, I hit level 25, which is the max, on the 10th hunt. There are 12 hunts. But I ripped it up, getting gold on a lot of the hunts. You can run or sneak around the wilderness searching for tracks or any clue left by your prey. They have a hunters sense that allows you to see the clues or any cover areas which provide a bonus in XP for each kill. When you zoom in on an animal, it shows you a transparent view of their vital organs which allows you to pick your shots. This game was actually really fun for me. I preferred it to Modern Warfare 2 at some points and I just stood in line for an hour to get that game like 3 days ago. Got around 600 gamer score in achievements without too much trouble. Obviously you have to see what they are if you want to get some of them, so keep that in mind. I primarily play first person shooters and I never would have thought I'd be playing a hunting game, but I think anyone who is a fan of the genre should check it out. You'll probably like it. Good rental, not a good purchase due to the shortness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent

posted by meecea1 (ERLANGER, KY) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is a pretty sweet game. Easy controls and A LOT of easy achievment points. But after awhile it's the same ol thing over and over. The gun selection is kind of vauge and the game only goes to 12 levels with you complete in about 2 hours. Other than that - it's a nice game to take a break with

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not too happy

posted by r8derntn (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jan 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I remember playing a version of this on the original xbox and it was fun cause you could buy deer urine and various hunting accessories in order to actually hunt.....you would set up and wait and if nothing happened you moved on.....this version is so structured there is no feeling of tracking your kill cause its all mapped out for you, it was fun for a minute but gets old qwik.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring, Short, Repetitive...

posted by Cipher8 (TURTLE LAKE, WI) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

26 out of 36 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

PROs:
- Easy 1000 Gamerscore, if you like to get those Achievements.

CONs:
- Length of game amount of content worst ever
- Boring Repetitive gameplay
- Linear maps everything is scripted down to the last detail happens the same everytime
- Lack of variety of animals you hunt

I've played Hunting games that are 7 years old that are better then this.

First off the length of the game is the shortest I've ever played. There are $10 arcade games that have more gameplay in them then this. One night or about 10 hours is seriously all it takes to complete this game maybe a little longer if your going for 1000/1000. There's only 12 missions, which begs the question why does a hunting game have missions instead of territories you can roam around and hunt in? Also the missions are scripted so they are the same exact thing each and every time down to every last detail. Anyways each mission has a series of hunts you have to do, like 6 or so animals you have to kill. If you wound and animal instead of going to find it by tracking it down you must start the mission over. Depending on your shot you earn bronze, silver, or gold to gain exp and rank up unlocking new guns and new missions. Shoot this deer, shoot that deer, hunt ducks in this minigame, get attacked by a cougar mission complete X12. There's so many things I can say about how bad this game is but long story short it's the worst hunting game I've ever played which surprised me since it's made in 2009 whereas some games from around 2000 are way better.

Don't even Rent this, it's not worth it unless your just looking for 1000 gamerscore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Cabela game for 2010

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While i enjoyed the game, i feel i should rant about a few things that were an annoyance. For one, when you scare an animal herd, it's gone, they all run away which in the last game you just had to chase them around or find more but no, they all run away and you have to restart the darn hunt and redo all the cover spots you may have collected. I find it in bad or lazy design.

It's a hunting game, you should not expect a lot but the grapics were exeptionally good and the animals looked well done.. until you shot them that is. the gamerscore is very easy to earn but it will be frusterating getting it no matter how simple since when a herd is spooked you must waste your time to yet again restart.

All in all, i gave it a 6 it's not bad but nothing special, it will entertain you if you like blowing the lungs out of woodland creatures. Easy cheevments and pretty short lived.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game But not good enough to buy

posted by Robert9211 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Well first off this game is alright... Ill be short and sweet this game is a good one time through .. rent do not buy! Will be completely dull going through a second time . Graphics good! Alot of repeats but its really just worth a rent .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why so much hate?

posted by onebrwn (HOLTSVILLE, NY) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

let me start off saying i have never been hunting and dont know anything about hunting but i still liked this game.the graphics are very good.the guns look very real and so do the animals.i think this is a game to rent.i bought this at gamestop.You will get bored of this game after a week.kindof the same stuff over and over.
if you like hunting get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than you may think

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Aside from the fact that this game is short (you could easily beat it in an afternoon) I really did enjoy playing it. Sure the missions only take 10-15 to complete but if you want that 1,000 gamer score odds are you will have to replay various missions in order to get all gold medals; of course if you are careful the first time around you may never need to replay any missions.

I was quite impressed by the quality of the graphics, I have a very 3rd rate lcd and this game looks amazing on it.

The control setup is fine; however, the controls themselves seem a little flawed. I did not mess with the sensativity settings so perhaps that would have helped. In all, the right thumbstick controls felt a little stiff, not a problem in this game whatsoever but I guarantee controls like this would ruin a true FPS. Fortunately, in this game you mainly just stalk your prey from the bushes and it doesn't require quick aiming or fast, fluid reactions.

Definitely worth a rent if you have nothing else on your Q avail., plus you will probably beat it the day you get it so the turn around should be fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good achivement game plus nice gameplay

posted by C0dmaster (MILTON, NH) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a good hunting game. based on a man named jack trying to get into a league of extreme hunter. You hunt every thing from whitetail to rabbit, to geese to bear to caribiu to buffalo
TITLE BIG GAME HUNTER biggame from around the world

Gameplay 8/10
Length 6.5/10 beat it in about 5 hours
Graphics 7.5/10 8-9/10 on HD
Sound 8/10
Realism 5/10 not the realistic hunting game ive everplayed no call or stands fastpaced hunting game you hunting deer one minute now your running from a bear
Price 4/6 it not that of an expensive game id rather rent it from gamefly though its game that you get bored with after a couple of weeks thank good there only a million different cabela games out there.

8/10

ONE MORE BIG THING IS THAT EASY ACHIEVEMENTS
i GOT 600 GAMERSCORE IN THE FIRST COUPLE OF HOURS BUT THERE'S TWO ACHIEVEMENTS THAT ARE HARD LIKE BEAT EVERY HUNT WITH GOLD 200GAMERSCORE AND FIND 90 SIGN 160 GAMESCORE I HAVE EVERY OTHER ACHEIVEMENT EXEPT THOSE WHICH STILL ARE EASY IF YOU TAKE THE TIME AN EASY 1000 GAMERSCORE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its good cus their is nothing else

posted by wallpaper (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not that bad and their is not a game to challeng it so stop giving it bad reves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect.

posted by pjm716 (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

12 out of 47 gamers (26%) found this review helpful

PLain and simple. Another Cabela's smash hit-classic. In it's genre it stand alone. Quite simply. The perfect hunting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the slickest shooter

posted by xXTxXSTREM (JANESVILLE, WI) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

from the costumization to the slick kill cams this game is awsome & the graphics just add on to the fun
id say only hunters would like this game because non hunters usuly dont like these games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by DanePwns (GREEN BAY, WI) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 27 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

Best hunting game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste you're time

posted by Staringatfish (FALLBROOK, CA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game is plain boring its the same thing over and over just stay away theirs other games out their.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my game won't work

posted by lisas1309 (MCALLEN, TX) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

you people and what kind of people sends a scratch game and i mean what the heck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's okay

posted by atvchick95 (MUNCIE, IN) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Comparing This to Cabela's Big game hunter 2008(I've been out of the Game playing for a while) This game STUNK the only good thing about it was the Graphics!

When it comes to CAbela's games I am used to playing big game hunter 2008 & I have yet to find one that even comes close to that game! I liked that game very much! I liked having the lodges to go to, I also liked being able to change the camera view and actually see my "hunter" , I LOVED having Vehicles to "ride" I loved having multiple things to choose from to take on a hunt like you would in real life - Guns, variety of ammo, Calls, Scents, Tree Stands ETC.. This Game HAD NONE OF THAT! And that is all part of Hunting you don't just go out with a couple guns and stand in the wide open and shoot! You use Calls, Scents, You have ground cover, You have tree stands, I'm waiting on another Cabela's Hunting game to get here and IF its anything like this one I'll never Play another one made by them they're ruining their games! The only reason I am not still playing Cabala's big Game hunter 2008 is because our PS 2 broke and won't come on.. BUT if any one can tell me a title of one of their games that is just like Big Game Hunter 08' Please let me know!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cablas Big bGame Hunter 2010

posted by Bdixon1340 (PALM HARBOR, FL) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Really Good Hunting Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UHM????????

posted by skillfinder2 (CALCIUM, NY) May 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

Good concept, but way too short and way to easy. Could use more customization and imagination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good to kill the time

posted by Trae617 (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

This game was definitely much better than the previous cabelas games i've played. Guns looked/reacted much more realistically than in previous games.

Pro's:
1.guns looked/felt great. very true to life.
2.got to hunt a wide variety of animals.
3. locations/environment looked wayyyy better than prior cabelas games
4. not as repetative and annoying as prior games
5. this game actually did require a bit of stealth/practical thinking, not just walk follow the path, see the animal, shoot the animal, level over. yes, you can select the 700 heavy barrel and just decimate every animal from long range without problems, but that destroys the fun aspect of sneaking up on your target, and seeing how close you can get without alerting the animal and then pulling off a perfect shot with a handgun or crossbow. very entertaining using the muzzleloader.

cons:
1. voiceovers=unnecessary. nuff said.
2. if you're going to put in voiceovers, there's no need for captions...especially captions i cant turn off.
3. linear maps/waypoints. this game is definitely more open-ended that prior games and it does kill the wandering around trying to figure out what the F#%k to do, but still....i like having options besides "sneak to the left of the deer, or the right of the deer..."
4. why, in the duck/rabbit/foxhunt minigames, is ADS eliminated? these points in the game are fun, but could be A LOT more fun (not to mention slightly more realistic) if the hunter wasn't forced to fire from the hip with some amazing floating reticle telling them where to shoot. nowhere in the world will you ever find 200+ rabbits in one spot, just running in circles for you to shoot...especially with a magic shotgun that requires no aiming.
5. gun customization. you do get a decent selection of rifles/shotty's, and a crossbow. but i want to CUSTOMIZE. not just get a nice rifle with a crud scope.

all in all fun game, but def wouldn't buy. this one is for killing time between good games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ok

posted by isaacandquentin (HERRIN, IL) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

its an ok game. everythings really awsome. its the perfect hunting game. the only thing is that once you beat it isnt fun anymore. so dont get it and then keep it becuase you like it. great for renting though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse